April 29, 2024, 05:46:24 AM

Author Topic: Forget Rooney, magical Messi is the world's best  (Read 20073 times)

Offline sinned

Re: Forget Rooney, magical Messi is the world's best
« Reply #60 on: March 21, 2010, 03:59:21 PM »
A couple years ago Kaka was the best, now he's not.
Nobody stays on top forever.
By your logic if C Ronaldo start playin shit in the next couple years then all the praise he earns now will be unwarranted.
That's not true.

Exactly. By that logic, Ronaldinho's praise was unwarranted too?

Point is - Ronaldinho was great then, Kaka was the best at a certain point in time and then CR.

Right now however, the best in the world is undoubtedly Messi and the fact that he's only 22 could lead one to believe that his best days are yet to come (as crazy as that sounds).

BTW big props to Rooney this season - to be even considered in a debate with Messi at the moment is a big deal - but Messi's still the best.

« Reply #61 on: March 21, 2010, 04:02:49 PM »

Man United didn't play to thier potencial it is true Barca played well and had alot of luck, if the reds had scored first it would have been a completely different game against Dunga's Brazil

I and all lost wid da post ???

« Last Edit: March 21, 2010, 04:15:38 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #62 on: March 21, 2010, 04:05:38 PM »
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

lol vs a relegation bound Zaragoza team...

give me a break

who did rooney score his hat-tricks against?

Offline sinned

« Reply #63 on: March 21, 2010, 04:06:07 PM »
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

ok we'll not count the 3 rooney scored against portsmouth too then.

8 goals in 1 week. yet the haters hate

« Reply #64 on: March 21, 2010, 04:14:26 PM »
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United...he scored vs Villa in the Final..so 5 out of the 6) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea on April 3rd... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope..maybe he will on April 10th but who knows... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL
« Last Edit: March 21, 2010, 04:16:12 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #65 on: March 21, 2010, 04:16:20 PM »
good point.

Offline sinned

« Reply #66 on: March 21, 2010, 04:21:28 PM »
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL

If I recall last year CL final...

I like how Valencia gets a LOL yet spurs and city are "massive" teams. not to mention the hot mess that is liverpool this season.

« Reply #67 on: March 21, 2010, 04:23:29 PM »
Flikin Messi!

Talk Done!

give me a break

na you could count the goals...All I know is Rooney scored goals vs Spurs,City,Arsenal,Liverpool (4 of the 6 teams behind United) this season in the league so far..and still has the opportunity to do so against Chelsea... he's also scored 4 against AC Milan

Has Messi scored against Real Madrid? nope... Which "massive team" has he scored against? ... Stuttgart? Valencia? Zaragoza?

LOL

If I recall last year CL final...

I like how Valencia gets a LOL yet spurs and city are "massive" teams. not to mention the hot mess that is liverpool this season.

the man asked which massive team he scored against.. How Manchester United reach in that? lol

« Reply #68 on: March 21, 2010, 04:24:35 PM »
good point.

I not looking to chop the man down because he is absolute Class but its a set of shit teams he scoring against...yea Wazza score a hat trick vs Pompey and 4 against Hull but I calling his major goals

4 against AC Milan in 2 games
2 against Arsenal in 2 games
1 against Liverpool today
1 against Spurs in 1 game
1 against Villa in the Carling Cup Final
2 against Manchester City ..one in the prem one in the Carling Cup semis

*and 3 against Fulham and Birmingham who are in the top 10...

Rooney has scored vs everyone in the top 10 except Chelsea

Has "King Leo" done that in La Liga?(I really dont know cuz I dont watch Barca).... And Rooney's done that in the EPL with the meanest defenders and little space to work with...ask the little fragile Messi to do that in EPL.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2010, 04:28:32 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #69 on: March 21, 2010, 04:31:44 PM »
yeh La liga is shit  :devil: thats the bottom line , i would love to see him in England week in week out or yeh he cah defend either

Offline sinned

« Reply #70 on: March 21, 2010, 04:33:44 PM »
good point.

I not looking to chop the man down because he is absolute Class but its a set of shit teams he scoring against...yea Wazza score a hat trick vs Pompey and 4 against Hull but I calling his major goals

Has "King Leo" done that in La Liga?(I really dont know cuz I dont watch Barca).... And Rooney's done that in the EPL with the meanest defenders and little space to work with...ask the little fragile Messi to do that in EPL.

This is just a EPL vs La Liga argument again and is obvious you biased because you said you don't watch Barca.

Is a wonder Barca and the fragile little Messi won the champions league last year especially against those mean EPL defenders - what a cinderella story

« Reply #71 on: March 21, 2010, 04:34:29 PM »
:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

Shit spewing out here on a Sunday afternoon.

« Reply #72 on: March 21, 2010, 04:37:53 PM »
good point.

This is just a EPL vs La Liga argument again and is obvious you biased because you said you don't watch Barca.

Is a wonder Barca and the fragile little Messi won the champions league last year especially against those mean EPL defenders - what a cinderella story

No i'm just pointing out that Rooney's scored vs the top 10 teams in his League...it was for the thread..read the thread title

And I never fought down that Barca didnt deserve the Cup last season..we were poor on the day..tactics were shit and we missed Fletcher... we had no ball winners and we were careless and sloppy...We could have buried them in the first 10 minutes..instead Eto'o scored against the run of play and we couldnt get over it and they grew in confidence

We will set it right this year if we meet again..you could believe that

« Reply #73 on: March 21, 2010, 04:39:03 PM »
good point.

well they should not have been in the final if Chelsea didn't get rob , but let me leave that there that is another story

« Reply #74 on: March 21, 2010, 04:39:30 PM »
:bs: :bs: :bs: :bs: :bs:

Shit spewing out here on a Sunday afternoon.

just like at Ewood Park...

go and watch El Hadji buss yuh net you Chelsea/Barca/Whoeverelse wagon man...

« Reply #75 on: March 21, 2010, 04:42:18 PM »
hahahahahahahahahaha. lord   :D

« Reply #76 on: March 21, 2010, 05:01:30 PM »
highlights..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ</a>

« Reply #77 on: March 21, 2010, 05:09:37 PM »
highlights..

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/RCJq90GZEeQ</a>

For the second goal...his balance is superhuman. Look how he just skip past dat first challenge as if de fella was a non-issue...didnt even break stride.

« Reply #78 on: March 21, 2010, 05:43:02 PM »
good point.

Not a ligit argument because both players are playing in different leagues. One may argue that Henry scored 41 goals one season in the EPL and cannot do the same in La Liga. Torres best season in the La Liga was 19 goals etc etc. One may also say when the two teams met in the CL final, Messi did his thing and was the Victor. All rather BS arguments IMHO, they are both great players in form at the moment.

Offline xixgon

« Reply #79 on: March 21, 2010, 05:53:08 PM »
We go see who does more in the World Cup.

As good as Messi is he isn't nearly effective when away from Barca's system with Argentina.

Rooney is the best player on England - and they rely on him almost as much as Utd does.

On both their days, Messi is probably the most unplayable at the moment in club football though.

Let's jus say SAF and Guardiola sayin prayers that them men stay fit - else da cud be d season for both teams yes.

« Reply #80 on: March 21, 2010, 06:45:20 PM »
messi 2nd goal today was a beauty.

« Reply #81 on: March 21, 2010, 07:48:21 PM »
Of course d man go score a hat trick. Steups. i feel he's real check this site

Offline sinned

« Reply #82 on: March 21, 2010, 09:07:01 PM »
Of course d man go score a hat trick. Steups. i feel he's real check this site
messi mustbe "pulling a Richard Thompson"   :)

« Reply #83 on: March 21, 2010, 11:03:18 PM »
Rooney miss a penalty today, de shit-snake.

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #84 on: March 22, 2010, 04:16:21 AM »
not to take any thing away from ronnie but he is just simply in form and form passes as oppossed to messi which is pure class and class is permanent.

to me ronnie cant evan be compared with Messi, if i will give ronnie 1 thing is he has a fighting spirit and will run hard full 90+  evan if his side 5 down but he's not a player that can give a moment of brilliance to entertain or to create a goal scoring chance like messi or evan Cr.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oWvfk8r5UlM
watch how much ppl messi actually passes compared to CR and ppl does want to rate him higher than messi all he doing is dancing
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #85 on: March 22, 2010, 05:36:45 AM »
For the second goal...his balance is superhuman. Look how he just skip past dat first challenge as if de fella was a non-issue...didnt even break stride.

And to win the ball and fight off the defender he sure showed a lot of strength. Especially for a little guy.

« Reply #86 on: March 22, 2010, 08:19:12 AM »
Did anyone see the Messi show yesterday ? For all that was written I still dont think they did Messi's performance justice. I am now in a doubt as to the best player I have ever seen play football.

Yesterday the spanish commentators were calling for Leo Maradona ! ...and all this from a man on painkillers for a tootache !!

For me Maradona could do anything with a ball and against any opponent So I had him as the best I had seen ..now Messi is forcing me to think again ....for all the previous discussion I have read on this thread folks are bringing the argument down to who scores the most goals ???

Also the impact of Messi on the game of football goes far beyond the argument about which is beter EPL or La Liga.

A world cup without Messi would certainly be tarnished just as in the era of Pele and Maradona. These players have to be there for you to claim that football is the greatest game on earth. The skill and daring of Leo Messi is what draws fans to the game...this is no safe player ...this is a cunning, skillful destroyer whose reputation makes you wary but who you are powerless to stop.

Many decry his size saying that he would not stand up to tough defenders but the Sttutgart defender who boasted that they were not afraid of Messi must have wondered what hit them !
Imagine you study this player , his every move, his every step , his positioning , yet you cant seem to be able to stop him ???

Messi is the michael Jordan of football if you are a basketball fan and the USAIN BOLT , if athletics is your beef.
His performance yesterday showed how much superior he is even to his own Barcelona team mates who are themselves world beaters. There is no doubt in the coach's mind or even in the mind of the Barcelona who rules the roost. The look of disbelief in the face of Keita and others after Mess's second goal yesterday told the tale ...how does he do that ???

Messi could have scored 7 yesterday but being a team player he tried desperately to get Ibra on the scoresheet...he pased off to Ibra when it was much easier to score on many ocassions. It was as if he did not need to score ...He could do that anytime ...goals are the battle the bigger picture is the war . That is the reason I find that discussing who scores more goals between Messi and anybody is just to major in minors.

The penalty that Messi allowed Ibra to take showed how much of a team player he is ....Christiano would not have given that up so easily and with Messi's talent and his mind set would have scored 50 goals already.
Messi smiled as Ibra moved to take the kick calmly stepping aside when he had done everything to get that goal.
I would have done the same thing as the Zaragoza defender ...for if he had not fouled Messi then and there I am afraid the game of football would have had to undergo a serious revision to ensure that no player ever makes it look that easy again.

It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis ! As a spectator in front of my TV I could not sit down.  I felt like I was seeing something special. After so many years of watching football surely nothing could surprise anymore ...but the neighbours must have been wondering if I was going mad...
Sorry for ranting folks but I dont believe Messi and anyone is in the same class right now ....he does not have to prove himself as the world's best he has already been aclaimed as such ...from youth level to seniors ..he has demonstrated his class ..he is now at the level of making others great ....

Leo messi was born to play football ...he could not adapt to the game in such a manner if he wasn't. He  is akin to mohammed Ali , Tiger woods and Michael jordan. To all those who challenge thesse players I say one thing ...Just tell them it cannot be done ! ..as Mesi's header in the champions league final or that Lara could not break the World record twice !

Offline judge101

• If it is to be, then it is up to me
« Reply #87 on: March 22, 2010, 11:22:00 AM »
Did anyone see the Messi show yesterday ? For all that was written I still dont think they did Messi's performance justice. I am now in a doubt as to the best player I have ever seen play football.

Yesterday the spanish commentators were calling for Leo Maradona ! ...and all this from a man on painkillers for a tootache !!

For me Maradona could do anything with a ball and against any opponent So I had him as the best I had seen ..now Messi is forcing me to think again ....for all the previous discussion I have read on this thread folks are bringing the argument down to who scores the most goals ???

Also the impact of Messi on the game of football goes far beyond the argument about which is beter EPL or La Liga.

A world cup without Messi would certainly be tarnished just as in the era of Pele and Maradona. These players have to be there for you to claim that football is the greatest game on earth. The skill and daring of Leo Messi is what draws fans to the game...this is no safe player ...this is a cunning, skillful destroyer whose reputation makes you wary but who you are powerless to stop.

Many decry his size saying that he would not stand up to tough defenders but the Sttutgart defender who boasted that they were not afraid of Messi must have wondered what hit them !
Imagine you study this player , his every move, his every step , his positioning , yet you cant seem to be able to stop him ???

Messi is the michael Jordan of football if you are a basketball fan and the USAIN BOLT , if athletics is your beef.
His performance yesterday showed how much superior he is even to his own Barcelona team mates who are themselves world beaters. There is no doubt in the coach's mind or even in the mind of the Barcelona who rules the roost. The look of disbelief in the face of Keita and others after Mess's second goal yesterday told the tale ...how does he do that ???

Messi could have scored 7 yesterday but being a team player he tried desperately to get Ibra on the scoresheet...he pased off to Ibra when it was much easier to score on many ocassions. It was as if he did not need to score ...He could do that anytime ...goals are the battle the bigger picture is the war . That is the reason I find that discussing who scores more goals between Messi and anybody is just to major in minors.

The penalty that Messi allowed Ibra to take showed how much of a team player he is ....Christiano would not have given that up so easily and with Messi's talent and his mind set would have scored 50 goals already.
Messi smiled as Ibra moved to take the kick calmly stepping aside when he had done everything to get that goal.
I would have done the same thing as the Zaragoza defender ...for if he had not fouled Messi then and there I am afraid the game of football would have had to undergo a serious revision to ensure that no player ever makes it look that easy again.

It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis ! As a spectator in front of my TV I could not sit down.  I felt like I was seeing something special. After so many years of watching football surely nothing could surprise anymore ...but the neighbours must have been wondering if I was going mad...
Sorry for ranting folks but I dont believe Messi and anyone is in the same class right now ....he does not have to prove himself as the world's best he has already been aclaimed as such ...from youth level to seniors ..he has demonstrated his class ..he is now at the level of making others great ....

Leo messi was born to play football ...he could not adapt to the game in such a manner if he wasn't. He  is akin to mohammed Ali , Tiger woods and Michael jordan. To all those who challenge thesse players I say one thing ...Just tell them it cannot be done ! ..as Mesi's header in the champions league final or that Lara could not break the World record twice !

beatifully spoken  :'( :'( :'( :'( except 4 d bible better words have neva been put together :applause: :applause:
wise men talke because they have something to say,fools talk because they have to say something

« Reply #88 on: March 22, 2010, 12:06:11 PM »
jai john yuh sound like you were moved spiritually, nice speech yuh give dey.

I like this part, this is how his play looks to me too.
It was as if all Messi had to say was ...gimme dat ball ...and just watch dis !

Over and over again he blows past 2-3 players in a single run.
Nobody else does that today.

« Reply #89 on: March 22, 2010, 02:18:10 PM »
Good post Jai. 

Messi is it right now... Tomorrow it might be someone else, but Messi is it right now...

Different players along the way have had their time (long or brief) to sit at the top and be the undisputed best:

Maradona
Romario
Ronaldo
Rivaldo
Figo
Zidane
Ronaldinho
C. Ronaldo

....Now it's Messi. 
« Last Edit: March 22, 2010, 02:23:00 PM by kicker »