April 27, 2024, 11:47:10 PM

Author Topic: 26 MLS players living in poverty  (Read 6014 times)

26 MLS players living in poverty
« on: March 18, 2010, 06:48:39 AM »
Have a whip-round! 26 MLS players living in poverty!

That’s the “goal bonus” sticking out… perhaps

Of course, Premier League players take it all for granted. Just look at Joe Cole and Shaun Wright-Phillips - both recently reported to be kicking up a fuss because they only get about £80,000/week for occasionally playing a bit of footie.

But, over in America, recent salary reports make for slightly less glamourous reading. At the last count, 26 MLS players were earning just $20,100/year for their services - converted into Her Royal Highness’s chosen currency, that’s around £13,243.72/year. To the nearest pence.

It’s a world away from Becksie’s $32million (£21million) for five seasons - which works out at around £4million/season, maths fans. And even falls way below the calculated average US annual salary of around £33,115.24.

These men are literally living on or below the breadline. Hence the players union is considering some kind of strike.

Here is a list of those in the greatest need:

CHICAGO FIRE
Peter Lowry
Austin Washington

CHIVAS USA
Justin Braun
Gerson Mayen
Chukwudi Chijindu
Lance Parker

COLUMBUS CREW
Kevin Burns
Alex Grendi
Cory Elenio

COLORADO RAPIDS
Michael Holody
Ross Schunk

DC UNITED
Milos Kočić
Brandon Barklage
John DiRaimondo

HOUSTON DYNAMO
Erik Ustruck

KANSAS CITY WIZARDS
Matt Marquess

THE GALAXY
Kyle Patterson

NEW YORK RED BULLS
Danleigh Borman
Nick Zimmerman
Matthew M’Buta

REAL SALT LAKE
Raphael Cox
Tino Nunez

SEATTLE SOUNDERS
Sanna Nyassi

SAN JOSE EARTHQUAKES
Brandon McDonald
Michael Zaher

TORONTO FC
Gabe Gala
Now you know why some claim that MLS stand for Must Leave Soonest.

http://www.thespoiler.co.uk/index.php/2010/03/18/have-a-whip-round-26-mls-players-living-in-poverty#more-11549

LINK ABOVE
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 06:53:41 AM by Flex »

Re: 26 MLS players living in poverty
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 07:16:29 AM »
What is considered the breadline?

I guess someone needs to tell these fellas that football is not for them at this point and get a better paying job if they can. That is what average people do when they can't survive on the wage they're making.

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 07:24:04 AM »
If they cut 1 million from other players' salaries or elsewhere, each of these players could get $38k more a year.

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2010, 09:07:48 AM »
how much we local pros getting ? dais we problem ???

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2010, 10:47:33 AM »
What is considered the breadline?

I guess someone needs to tell these fellas that football is not for them at this point and get a better paying job if they can. That is what average people do when they can't survive on the wage they're making.

I don't know what they used to make the above list, but the 2008/9 poverty threshold was $10,830 for a single person and $22,050 for a household of four (gov't agency numbers)

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2010, 10:56:42 AM »
Yeah, $20K per year is a crap salary, but it's hardly below the poverty line.

Typical British tabloid journalism at work here.

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2010, 11:41:20 AM »
I know a lot of families that would accept 20k for 9 mts of work

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 11:43:27 AM »
about 5 or 6 years ago, I was in Kansas for a week. I went to the mall and ended up in a Sports Store looking at some football kits. The store associate who was assisting me end up talking football as I realize men from Kansas dont really have a vast knowledge about the sport like this one. Then the man ups as say he does work partime cause he plays for the Kansas City Wizards. At first I didnt beleive him. When I get back to hotel I went on the website and bamm. the man was on the roster.

Recently I check the site and realize that he no longer in the league..

So it just goes to show..if u have a expenses, family, commitments etc. That league minimum probably just dont cut it in many instances..

Not Good !!!

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 12:59:53 PM »
While it is unacceptable that professional players have to scrunt most of these guys do supplement their income through coaching so it really isn't actually that low.
 Part of the problem is that the MLS owns the player's contracts and this has allowed for the sustainability of the league otherwise richer teams would just buy up all the best players and the league would have gone the way of the old NASL by now.

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2010, 03:02:33 PM »
If someone offered me $20k, or any money, to play football professionally, I wouldn't have to think twice. Not everyone gets to do what they love for a living. If I had to work part-time to support my dream job, so be it.

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2010, 03:07:13 PM »
If someone offered me $20k, or any money, to play football professionally, I wouldn't have to think twice. Not everyone gets to do what they love for a living. If I had to work part-time to support my dream job, so be it.

Even if someone on that same team who is like 35 and almost retired being paid 200k for doing the same work as your are or less?

Is not really the salary, but the discrepancy in which it is distibuted among players.

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2010, 03:13:02 PM »
I your skills cyah pay the bills find a trade.  We does do it.

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2010, 03:17:07 PM »

Even if someone on that same team who is like 35 and almost retired being paid 200k for doing the same work as your are or less?

Is not really the salary, but the discrepancy in which it is distibuted among players.

Flikin socialist. If yuh was as good as the 35 yr old, you woulda be getting paid more.
In truth though, is a fre market, them men didn't have to actually sign for the minimum, they coulda go and wuk at wal-mart (before the recession). So is not like they in slavery. Men make a choice based on the belief that they could move up the pay scale.

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2010, 03:55:18 PM »

Flikin socialist. If yuh was as good as the 35 yr old, you woulda be getting paid more.
In truth though, is a fre market, them men didn't have to actually sign for the minimum, they coulda go and wuk at wal-mart (before the recession). So is not like they in slavery. Men make a choice based on the belief that they could move up the pay scale.

ah know u Bitter  ;D but believe me, there are players who are better than the 35 yr old and still not getting as much...

in the MLS if you is ah International player, doh matter how shitty, then you get paid more...dais jus how it works  :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2010, 10:21:03 PM »
hmmmmm...which players in the MLS better than the 35 year old?

« Reply #15 on: March 21, 2010, 09:51:18 AM »
Simple! They offer you a job at a certain salary. If you say Yes, then don't complain. You made the choice.
I agree with Jumbie.  After all in a resturant they have the Chef and dish washers, they don't get the same pay. It have nuff man playing football for free.

« Reply #16 on: March 21, 2010, 10:35:22 AM »
Simple! They offer you a job at a certain salary. If you say Yes, then don't complain. You made the choice.
I agree with Jumbie.  After all in a resturant they have the Chef and dish washers, they don't get the same pay. It have nuff man playing football for free.

or passa passa

« Reply #17 on: March 21, 2010, 10:14:59 PM »
I don't know where the poverty line lies but being a professional athelete and earning 20K per year in 2010 is :bs:
Furthermore there are players on developmental contracts making 12-13K and living in places like LA and DC, even more :bs: 
Then again some people love the game and will play under those conditions but the MLS can't be paying those players that types of salaries so I support these players with the strike.

« Reply #18 on: March 21, 2010, 11:01:24 PM »
$1600 before tax per month is good money for a big man?  You have to be single and don't need much to be on that.

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2010, 12:40:20 PM »
Yeh buh most ah dem fellas gettin free housing, free meals. Yuh money just stickin in yuh pocket, so at the end of the day dem making more money dan actual workin men.
Buh d league do ah good move dey by uppin yuh money on ah real.

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2010, 01:24:47 PM »
IMO There's no justification for a player to be making 4million a year, while it have players either playing against or with that same player and making 20,000 . I agree better players make better money but not to a point where is almost minimum wage . Is either yuh cud cut it in the profession or yuh can't .The MlS shud set a standard ,so that the quality of the league/players will rise . No top league in the world have players making that kind of money .If a player feel he so good he shud be getting more money and the MLS not recognizing his talent, then take yuh biznes abroad to another league and show what yuh have . I still feel is either yuh cud play to a standard that commands good money or yuh find another profession .

« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2010, 01:51:29 PM »
Most of these men not really playing and getting big minutes they just these as developmental so in a year or two they could fold into the team if they develop.

« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2010, 04:06:34 PM »
While it is unacceptable that professional players have to scrunt most of these guys do supplement their income through coaching so it really isn't actually that low.
 Part of the problem is that the MLS owns the player's contracts and this has allowed for the sustainability of the league otherwise richer teams would just buy up all the best players and the league would have gone the way of the old NASL by now.

Not a whole lot being added by coaching ... buh ah hear yuh

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2010, 08:47:23 PM »
With the new bargaining agreement they just signed almost a week ago things should be a little better financially for the players
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

« Reply #24 on: April 01, 2010, 04:27:00 AM »
Some of you taking the writer's words too literally. The point was that these players' salaries are comparitively small. Perhaps he should have shown the comparison to the lowest played EPL player rather than established internationals because I not seeing Donovan or any US nationals on the list. Why compare Joe Cole to Peter Lowry (who the hell is that?)?

And Beckham is among the top recognised footballers internationally, hence the justification for his salary. If Lowry could pull crowds the same way then he wouldn't be making $13,000/year.

« Reply #25 on: April 01, 2010, 06:46:37 AM »
The comparison to established players is not the important part.
$20k a year, that is de kicker.

Free housing is worth around $1000/month so that might make their employment package worth about $32k a year.
Is it confirmed that they all get free housing?

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #26 on: April 01, 2010, 08:45:24 AM »

Not a whole lot being added by coaching ... buh ah hear yuh
[/quote]

Yuh sure bout that Asylum seeker? I know most of the private clubs pay between $100 and $200 per session for youth coaches that are qualified. Some of these fellas end up doing so much coaching, dey performance on de field slip and dey end up out of de league just coaching
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #27 on: April 05, 2010, 07:49:49 AM »
Yuh sure bout that Asylum seeker? I know most of the private clubs pay between $100 and $200 per session for youth coaches that are qualified. Some of these fellas end up doing so much coaching, dey performance on de field slip and dey end up out of de league just coaching

I disagree with that assertion.

However, that aside, some questions arise with respect to coaching as providing income supplementary to income derived from playing. You touch on one: frequency. Perhaps a distinction should be made between private sessions paid for by parents etc. and what I'll refer to for now as 'other arrangements'. 
« Last Edit: April 05, 2010, 08:02:01 AM by asylumseeker »