April 28, 2024, 07:49:31 PM

Author Topic: Ramdin get dropped and no comment?  (Read 1671 times)

Ramdin get dropped and no comment?
« on: March 07, 2010, 01:55:19 PM »
Frankly I'm suprised that the 2nd ODI came and went with the dropping of Ramdin and not a comment was made on this board. What happen? Men lose their Trini pride or what?  :devil:

While I thought it harsh to drop him based solely on the T20 and 1st ODI he's been very fortunate that the wicket keepers in the region are rubbish. To make the decision worse he was dropped for a guy who has done even less than him and wasn't even in good form in the domestic competition. Not sure how that made sense to them and the fruit bared for all to see.

Smith shouldn't have been in the side at all and showed his pedigree in getting bowled playing that abysmal shot. I doubt we've seen the last of him, which I think is unfortunate.

At the end of the day the guys won the match, even though they tried hard to lose it. I'm happy for the win and actually will take an ugly win anyday once they out number the losses. On to St. Vincent now for the last 3 ODIs.

Re: Ramdin get dropped and no comment?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2010, 06:05:23 PM »
what comment would you like sah? that the selectors are duncy, namely butts and he doesnt know how to select a squad bc hes biased.

whats the point talking about this garbage selection policy, it never made sense and we know why.

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2010, 07:00:28 PM »
Danesh dropping the ball big time .I remember jeffez saying hes cocky ,I hope hes taking his position seriously .Cause if Fletcher ketch fire after those ducks Ramdins goose could be cooked .

« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2010, 07:12:09 PM »
make noise for what? i dont which one worse...the selectors or the inconsistent players?  at the end of the day it does not make a difference, the result is the same until a lot of things change.

« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2010, 02:05:43 AM »
Drop his ass for d whole Zimbabwe series....let him rest..spend some time in d nets chill out...spectate ah little bit...reflect ah little...

Cant remember d last time he take ah break....

He has been playing pretty much since TNT went to India, Australia, returned to TNT to play domestic cricket and then return to Australia...

Recharge he batteries for d series against South Africa

« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2010, 07:48:27 AM »
Frankly I'm suprised that the 2nd ODI came and went with the dropping of Ramdin and not a comment was made on this board. What happen? Men lose their Trini pride or what?  :devil:

While I thought it harsh to drop him based solely on the T20 and 1st ODI he's been very fortunate that the wicket keepers in the region are rubbish. To make the decision worse he was dropped for a guy who has done even less than him and wasn't even in good form in the domestic competition. Not sure how that made sense to them and the fruit bared for all to see.

Smith shouldn't have been in the side at all and showed his pedigree in getting bowled playing that abysmal shot. I doubt we've seen the last of him, which I think is unfortunate.

At the end of the day the guys won the match, even though they tried hard to lose it. I'm happy for the win and actually will take an ugly win anyday once they out number the losses. On to St. Vincent now for the last 3 ODIs.
No need to worry guess who get picked to keep on wed.  ::).Dont call it a comeback ,he never left just rested ,yah hater .
« Last Edit: March 08, 2010, 11:55:00 AM by Quags »

« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2010, 10:08:33 AM »
I think the lower order batsmen had a very difficult job to do especially in the last two ODIs,people like Pollard,Ramdin and Smith were faced with a wicket that was helping the spinners and in cases like that you just cannot go and fling yuh bat.It was quite plain to see that even Gayle and Bharat needed lots of time to get going,in Bharat's case he didn't even get going,Gayle by his standard was very restrained.Gayle had several near misses and was dropped twice by Taibu.I feel Pollard and Ramdin should go higher up the order,cowlasher Smith should be out of it but if he is in the team he also should bat higher.Ramdin has quite a wide range of shots to match with any batsman in the Caribbean and he bats to low down the order.We should not be playing limited overs cricket on pitches like those recent ones.

« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2010, 09:14:33 PM »
I don't agree that Ramdin or Smith should bat higher. I think Pollard should for sure... on the one hand there is talk of not turning him into a T20 or 50 over specialist, but that is exactly what they're doing when he bats at 6 or 7 and has to come in with no time to build an innings. That being said, that's no excuse for some of the shot selection. I expect nothing better from Smith and even Pollard to a lesser extent, but I think Ramdin is smarter than that.

As for the pitch, Zimbabwe played on the same pitch so I not bringing that into the equation. It didn't play lower or higher for either team so really it comes down to who is willing to play intelligently.

Got some of the usual drivel from the usual suspects. Gotta love a Trini, oui.  :D

« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2010, 10:53:22 PM »
Ramdin's batting has faltered over the years but his keeping in Australia was very good.  He had some good if not great catches. Part of the problem is that the WI is using him fo20 ODI and Tests an he should be used in the Tests and ODI only, and work on his batting.  The T20 specialist should be Fletcher, the "vooper," but the WI selection has been helter-skelter anyway so Lawd help them!

« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2010, 12:31:02 PM »
Sorry ,I also meant to say Pollard should also bat higher up the order,he can be a great asset to our test team in the future but he must not be turned into an "out and out" hitter in the shorter versions.He batted high in one of the ODI and batted with great skill making a very good 60 something.

« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2010, 09:27:40 PM »
so who wicketkeep real not in d loop boi.

« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2010, 12:19:18 PM »
Coach Gibson backs Ramdin
KINGSTOWN

Sunday, March 14th 2010

Despite his slumping batting form, wicketkeeper Denesh Ramdin has been given a vote of confidence by new West Indies coach Ottis Gibson. 

The 25-year-old is the region’s first choice gloveman but has struggled with the bat of late in both Tests and One-Day Internationals, raising questions about his continued place in the side..Read the rest..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161608012