March 29, 2024, 03:56:52 AM

Author Topic: The Corruption Situation in T&T.  (Read 21617 times)

The Corruption Situation in T&T.
« on: March 24, 2010, 10:14:35 PM »
Canadian unionists on TTRA:
It will not get rid of corruption

There is likely to be more corruption in the proposed T&T Revenue Authority (TTRA). This is the view of two Canadian trade unionists who were in T&T last week on an invitation from the Public Services Association (PSA). Betty Bannon, president, Union of Taxation Employee (UTE), a component of the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSA-C), said many of the issues that the Government is looking at, the Canadian government was also looking at in the 1990s. “Our government was looking at similar things, just like the T&T Government is looking at things like greater efficiency, the words are almost identical out of your Government’s mouth. The only thing is that there was no reference to corruption by our government,” Bannon said. She said creating a new agency will not automatically get rid of corruption.
 Read the rest http://guardian.co.tt/business/business-guardian/2010/03/11/it-will-not-get-rid-corruption-bg

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/J4A2WbHqdss" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/J4A2WbHqdss</a>

Offline signal

Re: The Corruption Situation in T&T.
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2010, 09:04:59 AM »
Canadian unionists on TTRA:
It will not get rid of corruption

There is likely to be more corruption in the proposed T&T Revenue Authority (TTRA). This is the view of two Canadian trade unionists who were in T&T last week on an invitation from the Public Services Association (PSA). Betty Bannon, president, Union of Taxation Employee (UTE), a component of the Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSA-C), said many of the issues that the Government is looking at, the Canadian government was also looking at in the 1990s. “Our government was looking at similar things, just like the T&T Government is looking at things like greater efficiency, the words are almost identical out of your Government’s mouth. The only thing is that there was no reference to corruption by our government,” Bannon said. She said creating a new agency will not automatically get rid of corruption.
 Read the rest http://guardian.co.tt/business/business-guardian/2010/03/11/it-will-not-get-rid-corruption-bg

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/J4A2WbHqdss" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/J4A2WbHqdss</a>

lol...once yuh talking about T&T custom officers..yuh better put that word in.
If...
chief justice ivor archie say so
ex-chief justice sharma say so
law assoc pres martin daly say so
transpareny institute say so
Ken Gordon say so
jones p say so....then is so!!!

Re: The Corruption Situation in T&T.
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2010, 09:37:01 AM »
Society of corruption
By ALEXANDER BRUZUAL Saturday, March 20 2010

Trinidad and Tobago (TT) has been described as “a society of corruption” by TT Transparency Institute (TTTI) chairman Victor Hart after ranking 72 out of 180 countries in the annual Global Corruption Report of Transparency International.

During a breakfast meeting yesterday at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain, Hart said the public may seem complacent to corruption because it was “commonplace” in society.

“We have all grown up in a society of high corruption on an everyday basis. There are everyday instances of where we (as a people) facilitate payments to get goods cleared on ports, or get building plans approved, or install WASA connections.
Read the rest http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,117633.html

Roodal: PNM to blame for corruption rating
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2011, 08:50:26 AM »
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

The scandals and corrupt practices of the former People's National Movement (PNM) administration have attributed to this country being ranked at its most corrupt point ever by the Transparency International, says Government Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal.

Trinidad and Tobago has been ranked at 91 out of 183 on TI Corruption Perception Index, the lowest ranking it has ever received.

Moonilal, in a statement to the Parliament at Tower D, Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain yesterday said the Government has taken notice of TI report and was cognisant of the "conversations" that were generated as a result.

"We have also studied the perception index and can establish a direct link between this Government's work in uncovering and revealing many issues revolving around serious allegations of corruption by the former administration," said Moonilal.

He named some of these contentious issues such as the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDeCOTT), the Clico and Hindu Credit Union matter, eTeck, Petrotrin, the sale of BWIA slots, University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT), scholarship fund inequity and the purchase of three multi-million Offshore Patrol Vessels (OPV's).

"This Government continues to unearth and unravel many issues causing great concern to us, and many times these issues will be fully ventilated in the public domain- and once such issues are mainstreamed, it becomes an issue of public perception- regardless of which administration would have been the perpetrators," said Moonilal.

He added that one must note the time period of the perception report which treats with information compiled from December 2009.

He said the People's Partnership Government has been working to clean up the corruption.

He added that recommendations of the Uff Commission are being implemented.

Moonilal said a steering committee was established to oversee the implementation of the recommendations.

RACKET IN TNT THREAD
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 08:28:34 AM »
One month after graduating with an Executive Master’s of Business Administration (EMBA) post-graduate degree from the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business (GSB), the school’s executive director Miguel Carrillo wrote House Speaker Wade Mark asking that he contact him urgently on a matter that had arisen at the business school.

Continuing Express investigations have also unearthed e-mail exchanges between director Miguel Carrillo and programme director Brian Ghent following Mark’s October 25 graduation from the institution.
In an e-mail dated November 20, Carrillo wrote Mark stating: “I would like you to contact me urgently on a matter that has arisen at the business school. We would also like to have a private and confidential e-mail address and a physical address that we can use to send you a formal letter.”

The correspondence was copied to acting academic director, Dr Ron Sookram, Ghent and director of academic development, Kamla Mungal.
In his response, Ghent said: “I think that is the right thing to do as well as to protect ALJ (Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business) from any questions being raised. I think it takes real courage to do this, to try and right the wrong.”
Carrillo responded saying: “I agree with you. I spoke to the student already and we are getting the ball rolling.”

Contacted yesterday to ascertain exactly what the school needed to speak to Mark about, Carrillo indicated he was in a meeting and the Express should “call back within an hour”.
Efforts to reach Carrillo twice thereafter failed as he did not answer his cell phone.
The Express has in its possession e-mails that were also exchanged following Mark being awarded the degree, with concerns being raised over his lack of course work being submitted.
The exchanges were between Carrillo, Ghent, learning assurance officer (EMBA and MBA SEM) Kavita Siewraj, lecturer and programme director Balraj Kistow, Mungal and first examiner Howard Dottin.
In fact, when queries were conducted into how Mark was assessed, the concerns were directed to Carrillo.

On October 31, an e-mail written by Ghent to Kistow, stated: “I refer to your e-mail dated September 25th to Kavita Siewraj directing her to award Mr Mark a Course Work mark of 28/40.”
Ghent then asked that the particular assignment that constituted the course work, the assessment criteria which formed the basis of the mark awarded, Mark’s assessed performance against this criteria, the submitted text/script/project, the date the course work was assigned, the date the assignment was submitted be shown to him (Ghent).

Ghent also asked Kistow to account for why and under what circumstances and authority “you recommended that he (Mark) be nominated for graduation”.
In responding to Ghent, Kistow copied his response to Sookram stating he had acted under the “authority and direction of the executive director. As such, I would suggest that on this matter that you consult with the executive director for any information”.

Twenty-two minutes later, Ghent informed Kistow he would take his advice, but only on the issue of the recommendation, but he still wanted the information pertaining to Mark’s assessment.
On November 5, in a detailed response to Kistow and copied to Sookram, Ghent said he did not understand why he ought to communicate with Carrillo, since the course is being conducted under him and as such all matters relating to students engaged in the course is open to him.
Ghent also questioned why such matters relating to Mark is “sensitive”.
Ghent then wrote to Carrillo seeking an audience with him to discuss the matter. This was copied to Sookram. To date, Carrillo is yet to respond, sources say.
On November 13, Ghent submitted his resignation letter to Sookram.

His letter stated: “In keeping with several discussions we had, I believe it is important that I record here my deepest concern with the circumstances surrounding the award of the EMBA degree to Mr Wade Mark, as well as, the subsequent responses to me since I raised the matter.”
Ghent’s resignation comes on the heels of e-mails between senior officials at the GSB which indicate that Mark did not fulfil all the requirements for his Executive Management Business Administration (EMBA) degree.

The e-mails suggest that concessions were made by the graduate school to accommodate Mark and in some cases revealed that Mark did not complete several core course work which would have enabled him to graduate.
Mark has denied that he did not complete his course work.

Re: RACKET IN TNT THREAD
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2013, 08:31:24 AM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

Miss World/Trinidad and Tobago 2013 Shereece Villafana has been stripped of her crown.
A press release yesterday from the Miss World Trinidad and Tobago Organisation, headed by director Athalia Samuel stated: “This dethronement has become necessary as a result of unsettling reports brought to the attention of the organisation.

“These reports concern conduct that is not in keeping with the high moral and ethical obligations the Miss World Trinidad and Tobago Organisation strives to maintain,” the release stated.
When contacted by the Express, Samuel confirmed that Villafana, who represented T&T at the Miss World Pageant a month ago at the Bali Nusa Dua Convention Centre in Bali, Indonesia, was formally released from her responsibilities as Trinidad and Tobago’s Miss World representative.

Samuel said the decision to strip Villafana of her crown came after the organisation received a letter from the Office of the Prime Minister informing them that Villafana received $200,000 in sponsorship money to help with preparations for the Miss World pageant.
Samuel said Villafana received the money without informing the Miss World Trinidad and Tobago Organisation.

“Prior to leaving for the pageant, I asked various agencies and organisations for sponsorship and every time I asked for assistance they would respond that they already gave money, which I found to be strange because we never received any money,” said Samuel.
“I didn’t know what they were talking about and at times I felt embarrassed because I had no knowledge of receiving any of the monies they said they gave. I eventually questioned Shereece about receiving any monies, which she denied.

“Eventually, we received sponsorship through various events, as well as from a company in London who eventually paid for our airfare, hotel accommodation and spending money.
“Before we left to go to Miss World in Indonesia, there was some disturbing information that we were aware of but we were not able to confirm anything before leaving. After initially denying that she received $200,000 from the Office of the Prime Minister, Shereece eventually admitted during our recent post-mortem meeting to receiving the money after I showed her the letter from the Office of the Prime Minister.
“Her reply was, ‘So what, everybody tells lies’.

“What Shereece did was dishonest and embarrassing to the Miss World Trinidad and Tobago Organisation. She has to account for the money she received. The contract clearly tells you that all monies that you receive should be handed over to the organiser, that is the person responsible for your affairs and getting you prepared for the pageant,” Samuel said.

“We still have people to pay for her dress and so forth and little tokens that the Miss World Trinidad and Tobago Organisation wants to send out for the people who helped us.”
When contacted, Villafana had no comment to make on the matter.

« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2013, 08:43:01 AM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

:rotfl:  brazen brazen

« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2013, 09:18:35 AM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

ENT

« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2013, 09:54:24 AM »

PNM Baby

« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2013, 07:54:36 PM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

ENT

The so called leaders of the country droppin it bold bold same way..and gettin troo nicely

twas only a matter of time before regular folks take de cue.

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2013, 08:07:58 AM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

ENT

The so called leaders of the country droppin it bold bold same way..and gettin troo nicely

twas only a matter of time before regular folks take de cue.

U mean PNM people

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2013, 05:23:51 PM »
Dethroned
By Verdel Bishop

WTF!!!???

What I don't understand is how she get all dis money and it wasn't unknown. You'd thin the govt. would want to get some PR for it. Give them credit they didn't lie when asked.

"Everybody tells lies." Nah...SMH... well if she didn't want to respond, she look for what happens thereafter. She can't say the Press didn't give her a chance to clear herself.

ANXIOUS’ MARK
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2013, 07:32:25 AM »
ANXIOUS’ MARK
...House Speaker threatens to sue ‘Express’, University officials explain why House Speaker received EMBA exam concessions

By Denyse Renne denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Nov 27, 2013 at 10:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 28, 2013 at 8:38 AM ECT
House Speaker Wade Mark was allowed to sit in a room by himself to complete his final Executive Masters of Business Administration (EMBA) degree exam because he may have been anxious.
This was the explanation given yesterday by University of the West Indies (UWI) Principal Prof Clement Sankat, executive director of the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business (GSB) Miguel Carrillo and Dean of the Faculty of Social Science, Errol Sims.
The three officials were interviewed yesterday by the Express at GSB’s Mt Hope offices at their request.
In seeking to clear the air on the circumstances surrounding Mark’s graduation, the trio admitted that Mark was granted two concessions, having failed the Management Accounting course twice in the past. When Mark took the final exam, according to a document obtained by the Express, he topped the class.
The Express asked whether Mark was granted any concessions by the school.
Carrillo responded: “One of the most important parts of being a student-centred institution which we are in the West Indies is that we will help the students, it doesn’t matter who they are, to be successful academically. We will support them and whenever we have a student who is actually taking the last course to graduate, those are in special circumstances where we, as they request, we might consider some concessions and those concessions are nothing special and are things that happen regularly in the UWI system.”
The Express queried exactly what were the concessions afforded to Mark.
Carrillo: “Basically we are talking about a special sitting. It’s that he requested to sit by himself and not with the other cohorts for the final exam. It was requested and approved. The student (Mark) didn’t have to come to class, however. He requested tutoring which is a normal practice in the UWI based on particular circumstances of the student and it was difficult for him to attend class.”
Carrillo added that the final examination administered to Mark was “properly invigilated by UWI and not the Arthur Lok Jack School.
“It was a regular examination. The others (students) were writing the exam at the same time. It wasn’t like we set a special exam for Mr Mark, others were doing the exam at the same time.”
Sankat explained as well that UWI also made such concessions for its students.
“They may have time constraints and they appeal to UWI, we listen and set exams for one person,” he said. Sankat said such concessions are made for students who may attend a funeral or whose “father or mother may have died”.
What was Mark’s reason for wanting to be in a room by himself?” the Express asked.
Carrillo: “There was no particular excuse, he just requested that and we passed that request along. But we have to understand he was sitting down alone with a lot of people he didn’t know and the other part, most important, is the kind of pressure, because it’s his last opportunity to pass and to graduate”.
Sims said: “It could very well have been anxiety. It was his final attempt. If he had failed the exam, he would be gone.
Sankat: “It got to him…anxiety.”
Carrillo: “Anxiety.”
Sims said the heads of departments and boards normally dealt with such requests and in the past there have been lots of cases where special exams have occurred but in Mark’s case, this was not the case.
The Dean explained that the examination consisted of two parts, the more critical being “ownership of the exam and the outcome is the written final exam. This is rated much more heavily than the course work”.
“The final exam is administered by the university in a written form, except in the case with persons with handicaps and so forth. But in written form it is invigilated by the university (UWI),” he said.
On the controversial issue of whether Mark was exempt from course work, Sims said with the course work there is greater flexibility whereby it is essentially the responsibility of the first examiner. He said the course work can take many forms which consist of group, individual or a combination of both.
Mark, however, was excluded from this and given an oral examination instead, according to Carrillo.
“Yes, he was, but it was part of the course work and the written final exam. Oral exams consist of questions that will reflect the general understanding of the concepts of the student,” Carrillo said.
Asked about the framework of such questions, Carrillo said: “We don’t have a framework on what the oral exam should consist of, it depends a lot on the nature of the course and perspective of the examiner so there is not necessary a standard.”
Sims said this was Mark’s third attempt at course work in the Accounting Management course and the oral was administered to him for a reason. He added that in the past, Mark had completed the other course work required.
He said the school had documentary evidence to show where a lecturer as required by university regulations essentially refused to carry out the instructions of the director to set the course work exam.
“The academic programme director who also has overall responsibility for the student also did not carry out his responsibility to see that the student is given the opportunity to do his course work. The regulations require that the gentleman (Mark) should be given his course work before his final exam.
“These two gentlemen..... for whatever reason contrived not to carry out the instructions of giving this man (Mark) his course work assignment,” Sims said.
Asked why they would do this , Carrillo said he did not know.
Carrillo was also asked to explain e-mails sent to Mark requesting that he contact him urgently and also what was the “wrong which needed to be made right” as stated in an e-mail Ghent sent him last Wednesday.
Carrillo said: “I wanted to let him know the programme director was raising questions for his course work and let the student know he complied with all the requirements.”
That e-mail to Mark had stated: “I would like you to contact me urgently on a matter that has arisen at the business school. We would also like to have a private and confidential email address and a physical address that we can use to send you a formal letter.”
The Express observed that the concerns, according to the e-mail exchanges were raised from July to August about Mark’s course work, so why was there need to contact Mark one month later.
Carrillo responded: “Because the programme director only communicated that to me on November 11 in an e-mail which is not published. Three hours after I replied that all course work will be available to him.”
Adding that all senior staff members once authorised have access to course work marks, Carrillo said he could not explain why checks done by Brian Ghent turned up none.
On November 13, programme director Brian Ghent submitted his resignation letter to academic director Ron Sookram.
His letter stated: “In keeping with several discussions we had, I believe it is important that I record here my deepest concern with the circumstances surrounding the award of the EMBA degree to Mr Wade Mark, as well as, the subsequent responses to me since I raised the matter.”
Sources said that Ghent’s resignation came on the heels of e-mails between senior officials at the GSB suggesting that Mark did not fulfill all the requirements for his EMBA degree.
The e-mails suggest that concessions were made by the graduate school to accommodate Mark and in some cases stated that Mark did not complete several core course works which would have enabled him to graduate.
Mark has denied that he did not complete his course work.

Re: ANXIOUS’ MARK
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2013, 08:22:47 AM »
u know what ..............I glad I chose to study with UOL, ah ketchin some arse, but ah still glad,.... not trying to disparage legit UWI grads, but it hard enough on d international job market with a UWI degree as is............there are even people who go through d expense of international Post Grad qualifications not only to further their education, but ALSO  backup their UWI degrees with internationally recognized certifications as well..........stories like this not only damages d credibility of the school but also the students that actually EARNED their degrees..........this is just crazy.....is like we being lead by a bunch of pirates and mercenaries.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2013, 08:26:07 AM by lefty »

« Reply #16 on: November 28, 2013, 09:09:50 AM »
... even foreign institutions make accommodations for examinees. The issue is the integrity with which such accommodations are provided, rather than the accommodations in the abstract.

« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2013, 09:53:18 AM »
u know what ..............I glad I chose to study with UOL, ah ketchin some arse, but ah still glad,.... not trying to disparage legit UWI grads, but it hard enough on d international job market with a UWI degree as is............there are even people who go through d expense of international Post Grad qualifications not only to further their education, but ALSO  backup their UWI degrees with internationally recognized certifications as well..........stories like this not only damages d credibility of the school but also the students that actually EARNED their degrees..........this is just crazy.....is like we being lead by a bunch of pirates and mercenaries.
You really can't go wrong with UoL.

I graduated with this fella. If you see the big big hug he get from Sankat and dem. The school has taken a big hit from this and I can't believe Carillo is still there. I know that I have to do additional studies at a foreign University to avoid this kind of embarrassment. It brings the quality of our qualifications into question. It's worse as I'm looking for a job now.

When I saw this and the names of the people involved in the email thread it shows you how embedded and intertwined corruption is in this place. One them was my Ethics lecturer smh. I think about how the country is being run and while I think we could do with a better government I know its much bigger than that.

« Reply #18 on: November 28, 2013, 09:58:42 AM »
... even foreign institutions make accommodations for examinees. The issue is the integrity with which such accommodations are provided, rather than the accommodations in the abstract.

yeah I know all that, I am somewhat disabled and receive consideration, but nobody does leave me unsupervised or pass me without coursework plus when yuh consider d amount of people busted with false qualifications in recent times, it makes u wonder just how much gov't influence is playing a part in the the granting of degrees............also consider that other students taking that course are also starting to ask questions of the admin in this respect

yet another day yet another can of worms SMH............students should band together and launch a legal challenge to be offered those same said concession as Mr. Mark or demand that a full and transparent airing of this issue is done
« Last Edit: November 28, 2013, 10:21:31 AM by lefty »

« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2013, 10:19:56 AM »
You really can't go wrong with UoL.

I graduated with this fella. If you see the big big hug he get from Sankat and dem. The school has taken a big hit from this and I can't believe Carillo is still there. I know that I have to do additional studies at a foreign University to avoid this kind of embarrassment. It brings the quality of our qualifications into question. It's worse as I'm looking for a job now.

When I saw this and the names of the people involved in the email thread it shows you how embedded and intertwined corruption is in this place. One them was my Ethics lecturer smh. I think about how the country is being run and while I think we could do with a better government I know its much bigger than that.

sad sad times in this country :( :( :( >:(

Offline congo

« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2013, 01:13:00 PM »
They lower than a  razor blade on the floor. Imagine all this just to get a pat on the back. These people never got hugs from their parents or something. It reminds me of the two dummies who went and give themselves silk. Poor Sankat, all of them in a mess. Look where Tewarie is now. These sickening people boy. They really leave sour taste in your mouth sometimes.

Is not the corruption I really care about, it's the stubbornness and they doing it with no shame. Say what, today for me and tomorrow for you.

« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2013, 02:30:09 PM »
Wrong is now right and only murder is crime. Mr Kieth Noel 136 say he eh want 2 further embarass his family so he eh call in the Fraud squad when the man print his own certificate.

« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2013, 02:39:27 PM »
jah gol i remember u were finishing ur degree not too long ago.   this thing is pressure oui.  a pardna of mine posted about this today on fb, he both studied and was on the faculty of uwi i believe...the responses from ppl were the most disheartening tho, realll ppl get shafted by uwi it seems...really unfortunate.  i remember when my aunt studied there in the early 80s we revered that institution.  this whole thing is really sad. 

« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2013, 03:10:27 PM »
I'm looking to do a Ph.D. in Economics at UWI to stay close to the girlfriend, so I'll try my best when lecturing! I've been lecturing in a London Uni for three years now and I know just how hard it can be to be a lecturer, but some of this stuff sounds depressing :(

« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2013, 10:39:05 PM »
We thought Manning was bad so we move him and put the drunkin master and she 4king crew, now they 4kingup everything and anything they touch

« Reply #25 on: November 29, 2013, 02:35:32 AM »
jah gol i remember u were finishing ur degree not too long ago.   this thing is pressure oui.  a pardna of mine posted about this today on fb, he both studied and was on the faculty of uwi i believe...the responses from ppl were the most disheartening tho, realll ppl get shafted by uwi it seems...really unfortunate.  i remember when my aunt studied there in the early 80s we revered that institution.  this whole thing is really sad. 
The workload was quite overwhelming sometimes. I sacrificed a great deal financially and personally to complete the programme. They don't know how their actions affect others or they just don't care.

« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2013, 07:28:15 AM »
Ghent: I had to preserve my integrity
By Denyse Renne denyse.renne@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Nov 28, 2013 at 11:46 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 29, 2013 at 9:17 AM ECT
Former programme director at the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business (GSB) Brian Ghent says he resigned his position because he could not get a satisfactory response about a degree and had to preserve his integrity.

He was responding to allegations against him made by GSB officials following the award of the Executive Master of Business degree (EMBA) to House Speaker Wade Mark in October.
Ghent, in a brief interview with the Express yesterday afternoon, was asked to comment on allegations made by executive director at the GSB Prof Miguel Carrillo and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences Errol Simms that he breached the school’s regulations.

“My lawyers have advised me to make no comment. However, in terms of my resignation I first sought clarification on the process used for the award of a degree granted by the Arthur Lok Jack Graduate School of Business. I was unable to get a satisfactory response and in order to preserve my integrity, I tendered my resignation,” Ghent said.

In an Express interview at the GSB’s Mt Hope campus on Wednesday, Simms said the school had documentary evidence to show where a lecturer essentially refused to carry out the instructions of the director to set the course work exam.

“The academic programme director (Ghent) who also has overall responsibility for the student, also did not carry out his responsibility to see that the student is given the opportunity to do his course work. The regulations require that the gentleman (Mark) should be given his course work before his final exam,” Simms had said.

Sources say Ghent tendered his resignation on November 13, and according to his contractual agreement with the GSB, cannot speak about school or student affairs in the public domain.
His resignation takes effect on December 13.
During Wednesday’s interview, Carrillo said he had conversations with Ghent asking that he reconsider his resignation.

The Express asked Carrillo why he would seek to retain Ghent after alleging that he went against the school’s regulations.
Carrillo said: “Well, he had been here only a year and he made a mistake.”
Ghent’s resignation letter which has been obtained by the Express is addressed to the acting academic director Dr Ron Sookram.

In the letter, Ghent stated: “In keeping with several discussions we had, I believe it is important that I record here my deepest concern with the circumstances surrounding the award of the EMBA degree to Mr Wade Mark, as well as the subsequent responses to me since I raised the matter.”
Ghent’s resignation followed a decision by school officials to grant concessions to Mark.

The Express is in possession of e-mail exchanges which have raised questions over the concessions.
Mark graduated from the GSB with the EMBA degree on October 25. This was Mark’s third attempt at course work in the Accounting Management course and an oral exam was administered to him.
 Sources said that Ghent’s resignation followed a trail of e-mail exchanges between senior officials at the GSB suggesting that Mark did not fulfill all the requirements fo

« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2013, 08:02:51 AM »
« Last Edit: November 29, 2013, 08:06:10 AM by lefty »

« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2013, 09:08:45 AM »
We thought Manning was bad so we move him and put the drunkin master and she 4king crew, now they 4kingup everything and anything they touch

All yuh was around when this lot was in power 1995-2001? Well all d Manning haters gave dem d mandate 2 mash up d place.