April 28, 2024, 08:13:27 PM

Author Topic: Colin Agostini  (Read 12014 times)

Offline Anbrat

Colin Agostini
« on: March 26, 2010, 08:30:34 PM »

COLIN FRANK AGOSTINI (Extreme left bottom row in photo)
1933-2010
R.I.P.

Colin Agostini, who died from pneumonia, early on Friday (26th. March 2010) morning, at Community Hospital, in his 77th year, was the “baby”, at 19, of the Trinidad & Tobago football team that toured the UK in 1952.
Colin came from a great sporting family and was an outstanding sportsman in his own right, in several different fields, football especially, as well as athletics, swimming and also horse racing, in which he was an acknowledged expert.
Colin captained St. Mary’s College (CIC) football teams in all age groups from Colts through to first class, playing either at inside left or at halfback, and did similarly for both North and the national teams too.
The CIC team he led in 1950 beat QRC 1-0 with the only goal being scored by his younger brother, Michael, who would go on to become one of T&T’s finest sprinters, whom Colin taught to kick with his “dummy” left foot, surprising the “Royalites” goal keeper, the late Marcus Minshall, another of T&T’s greatest all-round sportsmen.
In athletics, Colin became the first and possibly only person ever to win all running events from 100 yards through to one mile all on the same day at the CIC Annual Sports, along with the long jump, throwing the cricket ball and three legged race (with Michael), for one of his many Victor Ludorums.
Horse racing was another of his many passions, from bookmaking through to handicapping and even race calling at times; he was an astute punter who often won much more than he lost. 
While Michael focused on sprinting, becoming the first West Indian winner of the British Empire Games 100 yards, in Vancouver, B.C. Canada in 1954, as well as a double Olympic finalist (Melbourne, 1956), and much more, Colin’s major aim was to marry his childhood sweetheart, Jean Gomez (sister of the late Pat Gomez, one of T&T’s greatest football goalies), which they did in 1958. From this came six living children, Gerry and Marie-Therese, Sedley, Cathy (wife of Chico Govia, of hockey fame), Michele and Tricia (Mrs. Dane Fereira), and six grandchildren to date.
Besides his sporting achievements, and loving family relationships, Colin will also be remembered for being a scholar whom many say should have won an Island Scholarship, fine friend of many, especially card players at the Oval, knowledgeable raconteur and member of the Naturalists Club, hiker, mountain climber and strong swimmer in both still and sea waters.
His father, Sedley, captained T&T in football in the thirties, as also Shamrock which Colin led in the fifties after CIC.
Sedley senior and Michael “Mike” are both in the T&T Hall of Fame, Michael also recently inducted to the CIC Past Students Hall of Fame, both of which many agree Colin should also be in.
Their mother was the first of the 14 strong Govia family, several of whom played on representative teams, including top footballers “Sackie” and Henry (“Foxie”), one also once being the wife of the late Robert Hamel-Smith, another T&T football great.
Somewhere in that great playing field of the skies it is likely that Colin will be playing games of all sorts with his parents and relatives, now freed from the ravages of Parkinson’s Disease that destroyed so much of his last 15 years but never beat down his strong sportsman’s fighting spirit.
He will be missed by many, most of all his loving wife and family, who sat around his dying bed singing hymns as well as popular songs they loved (Jean was an outstanding soloist, as also were their daughters).   
« Last Edit: March 28, 2010, 07:26:49 AM by anbrat »

Re: Colin Agostini
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2010, 10:31:36 PM »
RIP .Ooh gosh how all dem men dying so one after de next? Mathew Nunes,Len Leggard,Tim Natziger and now dis man Colin Agostini.All in less than 2 weeks

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 06:20:51 AM »
When is your time.........it's your time! Happy that he led a long and fruitfull life.
RIP Papa!

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2010, 01:10:59 PM »
What's the source of this article?

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2010, 02:04:11 PM »

Mike Agostini, his brother, is the source of the information.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2010, 02:21:30 PM by anbrat »

« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2010, 06:27:53 PM »
Is that team Brazil or Trinidad &Tobago,if its not it surely is a good immitation. ;D

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2010, 07:26:17 AM »

I'm confused about something. The article says that Colin died in Australia, but the comment (supposedly by his brother Mike) at the bottom of the Express article says that he died in T&T.

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2010, 09:09:56 AM »
RIP
prays to his family
The reliable information that I got says that he died in TnT
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2010, 09:43:41 AM »
blessings

I know his daughter and son well

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2010, 02:05:34 PM »

I'm confused about something. The article says that Colin died in Australia, but the comment (supposedly by his brother Mike) at the bottom of the Express article says that he died in T&T.

The article within and that of the Express incorrectly stated that he died in Australia. He died in T&T. The error is regretted.

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2010, 06:45:08 PM »
I’m not a newbie to this forum (joined in 2007), but I haven’t posted here much. After some contemplation, I decided to add some more info to this thread. Since dey say a picture is worth a thousand words, here are a few, first of my father Sedley Eric Agostini, Senior (our eldest brother, Sedley Junior, died of rheumatic fever in 1948 at the young age of 16, also a past CIC boy), and one of Colin and his then new wife Jean (Gomez).  Our sister Noreen, who has lived in Australia since 1969 (I've been here since 1974), is still a veteran athlete and competed nationally and internationally for Australia on numerous occasions.

(All photos are courtesy of Colin’s eldest daughter, Marie-Therese Agostini)

Sedley is sitting, at left. I'm not sure who the others in the photo are, but I'm sure it will pick the brains of some of the history experts here.

As already noted, Sedley captained Trinidad in the 1930s. Sedley is on the right, introducing the team.

Colin and Jean.

As already mentioned, Colin was an outstanding all-round athlete. When I attended St. Mary's (CIC) from 1967-70, I competed in the first of two CIC Sports meetings in 1968, and Colin's long jump record of 21 feet 4 inches was still standing then, set, if I remember correctly, in 1951. It remained unbroken while I was at CIC, and I never really had a good shot at it as I transferred to Ireland in 1970 to finish my schooling. But even there I only managed to jump just over 20 feet. I moved from soccer to Rubgy Union (naturally, being at an Irish boarding school), and later represented T&T at under 19s and 23s, and also played for Caribs 1st XV (which was then captained by Pablo Plimmer).

An old anecdote about Colin is probably worth re-telling here. He came to see me run at the CIC sports in 1968, and was eventually persuaded, but very reluctantly decided to participate in the CIC Old Boys' race, and because he was so unfit finished near last. So he decided the next year he would make serious amends, and invited me to run with him about two or three times a week in the early mornings before work (and my school) at the CIC grounds.  This was a good opportunity for both of us to train while encouraging one another.

One thing I quickly learned is that Colin was a notorious "wind-bag" during early morning running. Run behind him at your own risk! Well, this did two things for me: 1) Avoided a very unpleasant "experience", and 2) Made me always stay ahead of him, thus making me run faster, and fortunately at that time, though Colin would probably have beaten me in a sprint once he attained a stronger level of fitness, the laps we did was my saving grace.  We often joked about this, that I wasn't just running to get fitter, but for my very life!

I agree with all of the kind things which have been said and posted here about Colin, and I thank you all for that. Unfortunately, any close association I had with him ended in February 1974, when I migrated to Australia, but all of my memories of him are good ones, filled with ever-consistent positive encouragement from him, and the very same could be said of our parents, Sedley and Ena.

He was truly, in my eyes, not only a treasured brother, but a real gentleman and a scholar. This world became a better place (and don't we ever need it more so today) with Colin's presence.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 09:54:09 PM by Ray Agostini »

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2010, 06:59:34 PM »
Mr. Ray,
    Condolences to your family. It is a pity we did not have videos of those times. But these pictures are PRICELESS, man. God Bless.

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2010, 07:05:14 PM »
Mr. Ray,
    Condolences to your family. It is a pity we did not have videos of those times. But these pictures are PRICELESS, man. God Bless.

Thanks, Deeks, I'll try to post a few more later, which I think will interest the history buffs.

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2010, 07:37:55 PM »
Mr. Ray,

Thanks, Deeks, I'll try to post a few more later, which I think will interest the history buffs.

Thanks, Ray and condolences.

Those photos are absolutely fantastic. What is the date of the wedding article? and any dates of the photos would be appreciated as well. Do you mind if I include them on ttfootballhistory.com?

I have three eight stories that mention Sedley:
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/454

some of his contemporaries were Arthur Wilkinson, Botha Tench, Ellis Achong, Harold Achong, Jack Merry, Lewis Bradshaw, Rolph Grant and Thompson Hadden

edit: who is "F." Agostini? - played in a corporate team 'Alston & Co.' in 1926:
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/node/2383
http://web1.dloc.com/ufdc/?m=hd23X&i=153091&vo=23&vp=0,475

« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 08:00:43 PM by E-man »

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2010, 07:49:46 PM »
Thanks, Ray and condolences.

Thanks, E-Man.

Those photos are absolutely fantastic. What is the date of the wedding article?

My information is that Colin and Jean were married 7 April, 1958, but unfortunately I don't have an exact date for the newspaper article. I'll eventually consult Marie (Colin's daughter) for more information, and of course other relatives aware of this thread may chip in with what they know. 

and any dates of the photos would be appreciated as well. Do you mind if I include them on ttfootballhistory.com?

I'll do my best to get accurate info to you later. The photos are all newsclippings (or official football photographs) in T&T newspapers, so therefore already in the public domain.

I have three stories that mention Sedley:
http://www.ttfootballhistory.com/taxonomy/term/454

some of his contemporaries were Arthur Wilkinson, Botha Tench, Ellis Achong, Harold Achong, Jack Merry, Lewis Bradshaw, Rolph Grant and Thompson Hadden

Very interesting, and thank you for the references. I'm quite busy with work today, but from tomorrow I will have more time to provide some more info.

« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 08:32:29 PM by Ray Agostini »

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2010, 08:01:44 PM »

Sedley is at left in the second row.

« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2010, 08:13:58 PM »
Priceless!!!!

« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2010, 08:14:42 PM »
Thanks Ray
(dem Carib Grasshopper days were my Best ;) )
« Last Edit: March 29, 2010, 08:29:26 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: March 30, 2010, 11:36:10 AM »
Thanks Ray

dais you in de coke bottle glasses west? :devil:

« Reply #19 on: March 30, 2010, 02:29:34 PM »
Is that Puss Achong front, far right?

« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2010, 04:44:43 PM »
Thanks Ray

dais you in de coke bottle glasses west? :devil:
I was reffering to Carib's high school rugby when I played with Ray
You is something else eh ;D that is a Football team :rotfl:
« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 05:13:19 PM by WestCoast »

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2010, 05:33:22 PM »
This photo and the accompanying article was published in the Evening News (Jan.3, 1985). The article was written by “Leonardo”, and titled “Days of Glory”, about Sedley’s 23 years in T&T first class football.  Colin is also mentioned. (Apologies for the slight crookedness of the photo and Part Two of the article, but the alternative was to chop up the full-page article.) I guess this may be in some archive, but it may have taken a lot of digging to find. I was not able to locate it online.

Part One:

Part Two:

« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2010, 06:14:22 PM »
Excellent,
Here is the photo rotated and I fixed the contrast a bit. How is Bob Govia related to Henry Govia who played at Shamrock in the 60's?

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2010, 08:27:00 PM »
Excellent,
Here is the photo rotated and I fixed the contrast a bit.

Thanks, E-man, but the original looks clearer to me.  ;)

How is Bob Govia related to Henry Govia who played at Shamrock in the 60's?

This is where I'm hoping (as far as your query is concerned) that if any of the Govias read, or are reading this, they will comment.  I'm only providing information sent to me by both Colin and my parents in the early-mid 1980s. According to Geni, I/we have 422 relatives in TT and various parts of the world, registered on that site, anyway. Ena (Govia) was the firstborn of a family of 15 children. The last one, Henry, was born in 1934, 20 years before I was born. Therefore, I'm not an expert in this area, but I'm hoping that someone who is will comment.

Sorry I can't answer your query, and would prefer that someone with a more detailed knowledge of Bob (Govia) comment. I'm only providing information that was given to me, which would unlikely be remembered unless it was revived "online", and I hope that those viewing it at least gain some insights, and in particular I'm hoping (or was) that names or biographical sketches would be provided of those who represented T&T in the 1930s, by the "history buffs" (Not too many seem to be around, so far).

(Footnote: The only reason I decided to comment on this thread is because it seemed as good as dead, and was going nowhere.)

« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2010, 03:19:10 PM »
Ray... thanks for commenting.  The sad truth is that many of us fans today don't know much about the early pioneers such as Colin and his contemporaries, and it is thru the efforts of individuals like the moderators of this site to preserve and share that history that we get little snapshots.  It is clear that Colin meant a great deal to you and I'm sure you took his passing with some difficulty. 

That being so I am personally thankful that you decided to join the conversation and provide some knowledge and clarification about his life and passing.  The vignettes you shared... and particularly the photographs are a real treasure.  Colin came about in an age when our athletes weren't specialist in one discipline, but all-rounders who displayed qualities across several pursuits... evidently for Colin that carried over into life as well.  You do great service to his legacy in recounting his exploits here for us.  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2010, 04:38:42 PM »
Ray,
          Priceless!!!!!

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2010, 06:09:18 PM »
Ray... thanks for commenting.  The sad truth is that many of us fans today don't know much about the early pioneers such as Colin and his contemporaries, and it is thru the efforts of individuals like the moderators of this site to preserve and share that history that we get little snapshots.  It is clear that Colin meant a great deal to you and I'm sure you took his passing with some difficulty. 

That being so I am personally thankful that you decided to join the conversation and provide some knowledge and clarification about his life and passing.  The vignettes you shared... and particularly the photographs are a real treasure.  Colin came about in an age when our athletes weren't specialist in one discipline, but all-rounders who displayed qualities across several pursuits... evidently for Colin that carried over into life as well.  You do great service to his legacy in recounting his exploits here for us.  :beermug:

Thanks, Bake. I may be back a little later to post another couple of clips I found. And yes, I do appreciate the Admin and moderators of the forum allowing all of this*. I also realise that much history is lost over time, and sometimes it's important to revive it. I do hope this thread keeps going and, more importantly, that people with a far greater knowledge of Trinidad's football and sporting past will eventually contribute.

Cheers.

And cheers to you too, Deeks.

*I'll be frank that my track record with mods over ten years of forum posting is a rather bleak one, and it's perhaps wrong of me to allow it to rub off here (once bitten...). I swore off boards a couple of months ago, but felt this was important enough to break the drought. So I may give myself an upper-cut and return a bit later.

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2010, 08:17:16 PM »

Offline Ray Agostini

« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2010, 09:21:57 PM »
Hi again.

On a separate note, I’m wondering when the T&T media will correct the “Colin Agostini dies in Australia” headlines. In spite of an early correction comment* to the Trinidad Express (March 28), The Guardian perpetuated the error three days later with “Agostini Dies ‘Down Under’” (March 31).

Are the T&T media really that incompetent?

The OP to this thread (from which the reports were derived) never mentioned “Vale”, nor suggested that Colin “died in Australia”.

Here is the OP:

Colin Agostini, who died from pneumonia, early on Friday (26th. March 2010) morning, at Community Hospital, in his 77th year, was the “baby”, at 19, of the Trinidad & Tobago football team that toured the UK in 1952.

Does anyone see “Vale”, or “Australia” there? Or have my eyes been Googled?

There is no suburb in Australia named “Vale”, but maybe a lazy editor thought that “Vale” was common enough to get away with, since "Vale" is a suffix to many suburb names, like Mona Vale, or Amber Vale. Or maybe he/she thought that “vale” was a good way to say goodbye?

Sorry if I sound sarcastic, but this has to be media incompetence at its apex. After seeing this unbelievable faux pas, I wouldn’t advise anyone to trust what they read in the T&T media. Not that I'm a fan of the media in general, not even here in Oz.

This must also be embarrassing to Colin's family, since he never even visited Australia.

*Comment to the Trinidad Express: "Colin actually died in Trinidad and has never been to Australia. Please correct this item accordingly. Thank you. Mike Agostini Sydney, Australia."
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 09:29:02 PM by Ray Agostini »

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2010, 09:56:40 PM »
 :praying: :praying: