April 23, 2024, 02:13:50 AM

Author Topic: TnT's best central defenders  (Read 8694 times)

TnT's best central defenders
« on: March 29, 2010, 05:05:18 PM »
central defenders eh...of course lots to put in perspective... level played...class,,technique...reading...heading...and a big point is pre back pass rule and post back pass rule...etc etc

my opinion...and i watching from mid 70's...

Marvin Andrews
Dennis lawrence
Brent Sancho
dexter Francis
Clayton Morris
Richard Therdore
and im Tipping Robert Primus to be added to this list soon...very soon

Re: TnT's best central defenders
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2010, 05:20:37 PM »
central defenders eh...of course lots to put in perspective... level played...class,,technique...reading...heading...and a big point is pre back pass rule and post back pass rule...etc etc

Marvin Andrews
Dennis lawrence
Brent Sancho
dexter Francis
Clayton Morris
Richard Therdore

and a big point is pre back pass rule and post back pass rule...etc etc This is discriminatory.

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2010, 05:37:50 PM »
Good stuff Big Mag. Yuh know yuh ball.
Leh me put in meh 2 cents before the shit talkers start disruptin' the contributions in de thread

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2010, 07:50:35 PM »
Wasn't Theodore left back ?

Add marvin lee to that list

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2010, 08:03:57 PM »
theodore played central defender for the world cup under 20 squad and i recalled he did the same for defence force but I could be wrong about his club team...one of the best defenders until that unfortunate accident.

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2010, 08:44:18 PM »
Deeks...and a big point is pre back pass rule and post back pass rule...etc etc This is discriminatory.

why yuh say so ??..i study it a while after i post it
its not meant to say that pre back pass defenders werent better...its strange really...

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2010, 11:27:26 PM »
I'd add Ancil Elcock in there in my opinion one of our better defenders ....... and Anthony Rougier though a midfielder when he played there in the defense was probably one of our best ever defenders!

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2010, 11:43:38 PM »
D man say CENTRAL defenders (ie no elcock or rougier).

Also, Marvin Lee(RIP) never play senior ball so let's leave sentiment out of this one

« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2010, 05:45:28 AM »
Sorry...Big Mag Here ( SM does cuss meh fuh dis...lol)

Ngozi right...roughier and elcock did play some games at CB...
« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 06:11:32 AM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2010, 06:49:56 AM »

Marvin Andrews
Dennis lawrence
Brent Sancho
dexter Francis
Clayton Morris
Richard Therdore

Big Mag, wha bout Garnet Craig?
« Last Edit: March 30, 2010, 02:09:14 PM by College »

« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2010, 08:49:25 AM »
Sedley Joseph

« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2010, 08:50:29 PM »
colloege...Craig was solid...must say...
and Maxg and others...give we some feedback on some of the older era players please

« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2010, 09:23:37 PM »
and Maxg and others...give we some feedback on some of the older era players please

Selris Figaro and Ray Moraldo 

« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2010, 10:01:38 PM »
Selwyn Murrain and Russel Texeira.

« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2010, 10:16:47 PM »
Selwyn Murrain and Russel Texeira.

Deeks although Texeira played central defence,wasn't he really a right back for Trinidad? One of the best defence I've scene for TnT was Figaro,Moraldo in the centre and Gordon Husbands left back and Texiera righr back,Kelvin Barclay and Earl Cater were the keepers,Edgar Vidale was the national coach in those days.   

« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2010, 06:34:25 AM »

Selris Figaro and Ray Moraldo 

Two big players yuh call! I would add Lawrence Rondon

« Reply #16 on: March 31, 2010, 06:57:45 AM »
Some of the old timers calling some big names...but from who i saw play, my top three clayton morris, rougier when he was called to play there and theodore. All three men had a sense of calm amidst all the chasos in the defense and also had a level of skill in playing the position. they wasnt no hatchet men only, ball at their feet they could ah play too.

honourable mention i'll say dog because he definitely was a pressence in that position.

« Reply #17 on: March 31, 2010, 09:16:07 AM »
Some of the old timers calling some big names...but from who i saw play, my top three clayton morris, rougier when he was called to play there and theodore. All three men had a sense of calm amidst all the chasos in the defense and also had a level of skill in playing the position. they wasnt no hatchet men only, ball at their feet they could ah play too.

honourable mention i'll say dog because he definitely was a pressence in that position.

when yuh talk about calm I sorry most of you'll didn't see Figaro and Moraldo.In my oppinion from the 70's - now that tandem was the best we've had.
I also heard in the '60's we had some very good CB's too remember we beat Brazil in '67 Pan American games,then took the silver medal.

« Reply #18 on: March 31, 2010, 09:41:12 AM »
May be i think a little different,when we talking about best central defenders it can't be about players that play a couple games in that position,we have to look at players who that was their position eg Selwyn Murain,Selris Figaro,Clayton Morris,Raymond Moraldo,Lawrence Rondon to name a few

« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2010, 09:50:57 AM »
For me from what i saw in my time, its Dexter Francis and Marvin Andrews...

But the best central defensive partnership was Dog and Tallest, when we had Rougier at RB and Elcock at LB under Porterfield.. We had so many great players in their prime on that team, if only they couldve had some discipline and get their act together...

Offline Trevor

« Reply #20 on: March 31, 2010, 09:52:18 AM »
What about the Tank?

« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2010, 10:22:10 AM »
What about the Tank?

if its De La Bastide you're referring to,he was a left back.

« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2010, 10:37:15 AM »
Dexter Francis. To be crowned king of T&T central defenders, I say.  ;D
Ress dong a poll nah  :'(

« Reply #23 on: March 31, 2010, 12:55:41 PM »
What about the Tank?

You sure?i'm just going by what i've seen.

« Reply #24 on: March 31, 2010, 04:04:57 PM »
For me from what i saw in my time, its Dexter Francis and Marvin Andrews...

But the best central defensive partnership was Dog and Tallest, when we had Rougier at RB and Elcock at LB under Porterfield.. We had so many great players in their prime on that team, if only they couldve had some discipline and get their act together...
Yuh mad?? dog and tallest was the worst central defender partnership we ever had! dog is an absolute disaster, and this is coming from one of his few fans, just look @ the shyte he pulled in the hex, real text book shyte snake mistakes.

lawrence on the other hand was good with the ball @ his feet, and had some nice touches, he could really bring that ball with confidence and his passing was neat, but that was the best part of his game.

the defensive part of his game was extremely suspect! his aerial defending was very good, but defending in the box with the ball @ his feet was total chaos, he was easily beaten and often commit himself with reckless abandonment.

i would have tuh say, the best TNT defence i ever saw was the strike squad, and marvin faustin and brian williams was the best full backs we ever had!  JMHO.

« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2010, 04:35:07 PM »
What about the Tank?

Tyronne "tank" did play stopper for TT when captained the around 69/70. He and Selwyn played in the hole. I remember him playing both stopper and left back for Maple after he retired from the national team. He reminded me of Roberto Carlos. He captain TT for the 1970 WC.  TFA decided to play all the games away due to lack of funds.  
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 07:42:07 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #26 on: March 31, 2010, 06:41:10 PM »
What about the Tank?

Tyronne "tank" did play stopper for TT when captained the around 69/70. He and Selwyn played in the hole. I remember playing both stopper and left back for Maple after he retired from the national team. He reminded me of Roberto Carlos. He captain TT for the 1970 WC. TT ot TFA decided to play all the games away due to lack of funds.  
       Thanks,Royal and Deeks,i mean i saw Maple and Tyrone play so many times and is like he always played in the hole, may be it was so long i lost him there.

Offline christiano

« Reply #27 on: March 31, 2010, 07:17:04 PM »
Craig Demin

« Reply #28 on: March 31, 2010, 07:19:41 PM »

Marvin Andrews
Dennis lawrence
Brent Sancho
dexter Francis
Clayton Morris
Richard Therdore

Wit no disrespeck meant...."BEST" is a stretch wit dem names called.

All a dem tres ordinary in CONCACAF.  Have we ever had a really good international central defender?   

« Reply #29 on: March 31, 2010, 07:41:50 PM »
Wit no disrespeck meant...."BEST" is a stretch wit dem names called.

All a dem tres ordinary in CONCACAF.  Have we ever had a really good international central defender?   

Yea, Abu Bakr....  :rotfl:

I remember Dwarika played a good central defender under Simoes once....  :rotfl:

The only defenders from T&T I ever respect (the I saw) was Theodore, Morris and Lawrence. Andrews and Sancho to some extent... and maybe Keyeno.

Marvin was heart and soul, but he was never a world class central defender. He lacks the basics...

In de wing backs position, ah like Brian Williams, Avery, Faustin and Cyd....

But in central defence, we soft.... we players just to slow and does not have the brain to play on a technical aspect. Just a boom kick and hope.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2010, 07:57:44 PM by Sam »