April 29, 2024, 02:23:04 AM

Author Topic: Wome asked to take penalty, says Eto'o  (Read 4813 times)

Wome asked to take penalty, says Eto'o
« on: October 10, 2005, 08:19:07 PM »
 ???

MADRID, Oct 10 (Reuters) - Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o said he did not take the penalty against Egypt in Saturday's World Cup qualifier because his team mate Pierre Wome asked to instead.

Defender Wome blasted the injury-time spot kick against the post, costing Cameroon the chance of an African record sixth World Cup finals appearance in Germany next year.

'Why didn't I take the penalty? I went to take it but Wome came up to me and said he was really confident of scoring,' Eto'o told Spanish sports daily Sport on Monday.

'You have to accept that these things happen in football sometimes,' added the Barcelona player.

The game finished 1-1 and allowed Ivory Coast, who beat Sudan 3-1, to go top of Group Three and qualify for the finals for the first time.

Cameroon took the lead against Egypt through striker Rudolph Douala after 21 minutes but Mohamed Shawky equalised late in the second half.

Inter Milan's Wome missed the chance to put Cameroon through in the fifth minute of injury time, after Salomon Olembe went down in the area.

'It is very hard to have had everything in your own hands and throw it all away in the final seconds,' Eto'o said.

'I am sad for my country, my colleagues and for myself.

'There is only one remedy for it all and that is to do well in the African Nations Cup, to give everyone who is suffering with us now a great lift.'

The African Nations Cup finals take place in Egypt between Jan. 20 and Feb. 10, 2006.

Source:Soccernet

Re: Wome asked to take penalty, says Eto'o
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2005, 08:29:43 PM »
thats why teams is have pre-designated dead ball takers...just to avoid glad men like them getting a vaps and feel they going to be a hero.

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2005, 08:31:41 PM »
thats why teams is have pre-designated dead ball takers...just to avoid glad men like them getting a vaps and feel they going to be a hero.

man ketch ah vaps get hyper hyper and run up and trow way i woulda beat it outta him. we go hear bout he inna timin ;D

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2005, 08:34:00 PM »
I JUS HOPW BEENE DUN HAV A SPECIFIC SPOT KICK MAN FOR WE GOD FORBID A TRINI THROW WAY THAT CHANCE THE STADIUM GO MASH UP

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 08:40:30 PM »
we wont have that problem, Yorke will finish in style if it come to dat

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2005, 08:43:55 PM »
Followed by Latapy.

It depends on who get take down. If Latapy get take down Yorke will kick it.

Stern is a good penalty taker as well but I doe think his confidence there.

Yorke does hardly miss.

BTW........TT winning wed 1-0 on a Yorke penalty. After Stern goes down in the box ;D

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2005, 08:44:32 PM »

man ketch ah vaps get hyper hyper and run up and trow way i woulda beat it outta him. we go hear bout he inna timin ;D

boy Morv he lucky he ent end like Escobar yes lol

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2005, 08:49:09 PM »
boi he might end up worse, dem cameroon does move differnt, dem dont shoot man dey does stone yuh.

« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2005, 08:57:11 PM »
boi he might end up worse, dem cameroon does move differnt, dem dont shoot man dey does stone yuh.

or make a trip to de witch doctor and put a curse on yuh gun...

« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2005, 08:58:43 PM »
Followed by Latapy.

I usually agree with you 100% Touches, but the Latas penalty in Gold Cup semis against Canada was one of the worst Ive seen.  i fraid he since then ;)

« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2005, 09:24:27 PM »
stern good at takin them but ah hope whoever it is d pressure aint get to them larrrd d stadium aint go be playable for a while if he missss

« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2005, 09:30:47 PM »
yorke was in the biggest tournaments in the world i think he could handle positive pressure :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2005, 09:41:35 PM »
Followed by Latapy.

I usually agree with you 100% Touches, but the Latas penalty in Gold Cup semis against Canada was one of the worst Ive seen.  i fraid he since then ;)

Nakhid miss that penalty boy

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2005, 09:49:19 PM »
warriors score any blasted penalty please a really cyar take d heart ache dat gold cup was sumtin else

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2005, 09:55:22 PM »
Followed by Latapy.

u is ah kinda jokey man? nahkid rush and take dat penalty against canada in de gold cup, not latas!!

you blaspheming "de general" good name!!!

« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2005, 10:05:03 PM »
Followed by Latapy.

u is ah kinda jokey man? nahkid rush and take dat penalty against canada in de gold cup, not latas!!

you blaspheming "de general" good name!!!

Forgive me fellas, my mistake!!

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2005, 11:40:37 PM »
WC spot on de line...as de best player on de team and certainly a world class talent, Eto'o go give way to a defender...and de coach go allow dat?

« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2005, 04:37:21 AM »
so Naked do a Wome too eh?..he really was a gladman too  ;D

« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2005, 07:55:35 AM »
BTW........TT winning wed 1-0 on a Yorke penalty. After Stern goes down in the box ;D

Dat scenario will never come to pass.  We all know Stern doh fall down for nutting in de box, de man does come like Rocky taking licks and staying on he feet when is a sure penalty if he go down.
Outside de box however, a small breeze pass and he does trip on the nearest blade of grass and bawl REF!

« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2005, 08:24:39 AM »
Allyuh real kicksy here oui.
When was time to take the penalty Nakhid, Yorke and Latas discuss it an Nakhid step forward an take the penalty, I suppose he accept the responsibility because he was captain. Shit does happen in any game, the bigger the game the bigger the hurt. Remember Italy in 94 ?

« Reply #20 on: October 11, 2005, 08:30:03 AM »
Followed by Latapy.

Yuh crazy or wa?  Nakhid try to take a stutter-penalty and didn't know what he was doin.

« Reply #21 on: October 11, 2005, 10:05:11 AM »
I fraid Yorke taking penalty.. I am sure he missed the last 2 he took for T&T... I am sure 1 was against the US on the anniversary of Nov19th.

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #22 on: October 11, 2005, 10:14:33 AM »
    Nakhid did real screw up and take that penalty when he run and stop he himself forget what was going on and he kick a real buller shot at the keeper. Hence he and BSC were immediately dropped from the team. However, I will ignore that for now, and I know Nakhid has probably helped the team in its training and in how NOT to kick a penalty hahah. As for Stern for sure he WILL BE FALLING DONG that is he in print, but for we getting a penalty I eh know yes, them blasted thiefing refs and them yes!! Nah I think Yorke or Latas safe, but at least have others running in, just in case of any rebound. By the way, when was the LAST time T&T ever even GET a penalty!?!?!? Bout 2 years now?? Lorsh I think we must be hold some darmn record in not getting a penalty in more than 20 games played or something yes. I know we gave away a penalty in our 5-1 win over St. Kitts in Mannie Ramjohn last year.

Jason.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

Offline truthseeker

• Goal in yuh rucc**tunse
Wome said: Eto was afraid to take penalty (UK Guardian)
« Reply #23 on: October 11, 2005, 10:47:57 AM »
Cameroon's Wome says angry fans could have killed him
MILAN, Oct 11 (Reuters) - Pierre Wome, whose missed penalty cost Cameroon a place in the World Cup finals, says he could have been killed by fans after Saturday's match and that his family is now living under police protection.
Wome, who plays for Inter Milan, struck an injury-time penalty against the post in the qualifier against Egypt, leaving the game to finish 1-1 and allow Ivory Coast to qualify for the finals ahead of Cameroon.
"It could have ended very badly indeed," Wome told the Italian news agency ANSA after returning to Inter's training camp on Tuesday. "They wanted to and could have killed me.
"Even though I am a tough lad and I have never been afraid of death, my concern was about the safety of my relatives," added Wome, who joined Inter from Bologna this season after playing in England for Fulham and in Spain for Espanyol earlier in his career.
Wome said that some fans had mistakenly attacked vehicles they thought belonged to him and that his family in Cameroon were now being protected by police.
The defender disputed Cameroon captain Samuel Eto'o's version of Saturday's events in which the Barcelona forward said he had not taken the penalty because Wome wanted to convert it.
"I'm very angry with Eto'o because what he said isn't true," he said. "We did not talk on the pitch but I took into account that he and the captain didn't feel up to it so I went to take it myself given that I was on the list of penalty takers."

« Reply #24 on: October 11, 2005, 10:51:07 AM »
I fraid Yorke taking penalty.. I am sure he missed the last 2 he took for T&T... I am sure 1 was against the US on the anniversary of Nov19th.

One was in the Gold cup in.....2001??
When he chip the ball in, make the keeper dive TWICE and still couldn't get to it.  Then had to retake it because Wise run in de box, and the retake hit the crossbar. 

I was real vex.

CAMAROON STAR FRIGHTEN!!
« Reply #25 on: October 11, 2005, 01:39:27 PM »
www.foxsports.com

Pierre Wome said he is worried for his family's safety after missing a penalty that left Cameroon out of the World Cup finals.

"It's unbelievable that they destroyed cars and houses they thought were mine," Wome said after rejoining Inter Milan on Tuesday.

The Indomitable Lions, the first African team to reach the quarterfinals at the 1990 World Cup, needed only to beat visiting Egypt on Saturday to secure an African record sixth appearance in soccer's biggest tournament.

With the score level 1-1, Cameroon was awarded a penalty in the fifth minute of injury time. When Wome missed, Ivory Coast qualified instead.

Wome said he was also bothered by reported comments from FC Barcelona striker Samuel Eto'o.

Tuesday's Gazzetta dello Sport quoted Eto'o as saying he was preparing to take the penalty when Wome waived him off.

"He told me he felt sure of scoring it," Eto'o was quoted as saying.

Wome remembers it differently.

"Nobody, not Eto'o, not our captain, wanted to take that penalty because they knew what could happen in case of an error," Wome said, according to Inter's Web site. "I've always been skilled (at penalties) and so I went up to the mark.

"At the end of the game I spoke with the police to see how my family was. They assured me they were being guarded," Wome said, adding that his family is still under security escort.

Wome was escorted out of the country by police and arrived in Milan on Monday.

Re: CAMAROON STAR FRIGHTEN!!
« Reply #26 on: October 11, 2005, 01:58:00 PM »
dig yuh hole now lie in it.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #27 on: October 11, 2005, 02:02:11 PM »

Dat scenario will never come to pass.  We all know Stern doh fall down for nutting in de box, de man does come like Rocky taking licks and staying on he feet when is a sure penalty if he go down.
Outside de box however, a small breeze pass and he does trip on the nearest blade of grass and bawl REF!

« Reply #28 on: October 11, 2005, 02:08:28 PM »
These guys almost literally carry the weight of the nation on their shoulders....can't imagine what that feels like....

« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2005, 02:09:40 PM »
Now how could he go back and play for them in the future?  The fans chasin away a good player.