April 29, 2024, 03:15:03 AM

Author Topic: F. Cool (allyuh gaming jumbies)  (Read 2682 times)

F. Cool (allyuh gaming jumbies)
« on: April 01, 2010, 10:34:51 AM »
So here this April joke

I got an e-mail question on the history website from somebody in France this morning asking:

"I have an old video game FIFA: Road to World Cup 98. In this video game the
goalkeeper of trinidad and tobago is F. Cool. Have you got information
about this player : club career, international career with T&T.
yours sincerely"

Anyone here had that game? Are any of the T&T players in that game legit?

Re: F. Cool (allyuh gaming jumbies)
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2010, 10:37:12 AM »
So here this April joke

I got an e-mail question on the history website from somebody in France this morning asking:

"I have an old video game FIFA: Road to World Cup 98. In this video game the
goalkeeper of trinidad and tobago is F. Cool. Have you got information
about this player : club career, international career with T&T.
yours sincerely"

Anyone here had that game? Are any of the T&T players in that game legit?

lololol, he didnt ask yuh how was D. Yaorkay too?

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2010, 10:49:55 AM »
I trying to remember doh...from wha i remember FIFA 98 :RTWC 98 had real player names.
De detail it had for Trinidad and Tobago was kinda impressive.
De stadium was fairly good....even had the old abandoned oil tanker in the background.
Had players name and ting.
De intro before going to the game screen had some shots of carnival and holiday inn by wrightson road.

I wonder if i could find a old copy dat working and see.

Buh yeh.....Cool fake.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2010, 11:09:47 AM »
 :rotfl: I have this same game for Nintendo 64, it was a great game back in the day.  I believe they made up some names.  I remember there was a really good player for the Bahamas named "P. Lee."  I don't think he actually exists though.  I will post some screenshots.

EDIT: I am looking back and they have many names right, even for many Caribbean countries which is usually rare.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2010, 11:18:16 AM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #4 on: April 01, 2010, 11:11:50 AM »
Cool was an anomaly. All the other players were real down to Shurlan David and Dwarika. The commentator used to say Dwareeeka.lol And pronounced Roughier like Riffier

That is my favourite game ever.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2010, 11:14:00 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2010, 11:24:14 AM »

I remember my brother and I would edit some players we didn't know and put ourselves in the team.

« Last Edit: April 01, 2010, 11:34:28 AM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #6 on: April 01, 2010, 11:40:33 AM »
oh so all the names were legit? Well then its pretty obvious...

F.COOL = TROY MARQUIS :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: April 01, 2010, 12:11:44 PM »
Thanks for the screen shots, F'in Cool.

Ross Russell isn't there at all.  ???

« Reply #8 on: April 01, 2010, 12:44:45 PM »
Weeeeey....de graphix were really dat $hit??

At d time I remember tinkin de graphix was bess!  :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2010, 12:52:05 PM »
Yeh I always wondered how they come up with our goalie's name.

« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2010, 01:05:38 PM »
I remember looking up F Cool at the time....there was a French goalie named Fabien Cool who I think it was meant to be...no idea why he was made an honourary Trini though.

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2010, 02:01:56 PM »
oh so all the names were legit? Well then its pretty obvious...

F.COOL = TROY MARQUIS :rotfl:

it must be!  :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2010, 02:11:32 PM »

Buh at de time it was besss lol

« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2010, 02:17:17 PM »

De utter best. De amount of days i spend playing FIFA oui. Qualify for world cup....create me....all kinda ting. I was rel proud seeing de ole tanker in de background too..i say...whey......dem rel study we. FIFA 98 was de best.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2010, 02:20:34 PM »

De utter best. De amount of days i spend playing FIFA oui. Qualify for world cup....create me....all kinda ting. I was rel proud seeing de ole tanker in de background too..i say...whey......dem rel study we. FIFA 98 was de best.

I use to ha Angus wukkin like ah beast in dem games.  Is rell hours I log on da game.  I still remeber the in game music and all

« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2010, 02:27:36 PM »
I use to ha Angus wukkin like ah beast in dem games.  Is rell hours I log on da game.  I still remeber the in game music and all
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iwilfNqxoT8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iwilfNqxoT8</a>

« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2010, 02:42:34 PM »

was this the FIFA that had the "chambawamba song" as the game music..

yuh know what real sad? up to this day if i hear that in a club i nudging my breddren, "eh hoss, daiz de fifa song!"

that game was bad though... ahh the memories.

« Reply #17 on: April 01, 2010, 02:57:00 PM »
No, the music was Blur's "Song 2"

« Reply #19 on: April 01, 2010, 03:28:28 PM »
No, the music was Blur's "Song 2"

Ah man who kno he scenes boy!!!! ;D

« Reply #20 on: April 01, 2010, 07:44:47 PM »

it had a special World Cup version of the game that Tubthumping was the song for.  I think it was just the 32 teams that qualified for the cup in that one.

edit: it had 8 additional teams that didn't qualify.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Cup_98_(video_game)

« Reply #21 on: April 01, 2010, 08:25:31 PM »
I started playing it and its all coming back to me...I remember all the commentary, double tap B for a chip (or for a bicycle attempt on a cross), one of the C buttons to do the little hop (it works well if you're in 1 on 1 with the keeper), slide tackles always work (you can even slide tackle the goalie's punts and sometimes win them).  Took me awhile to remember how to score but now I'm back to my old ways. ;D

« Reply #22 on: April 01, 2010, 08:41:50 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iwilfNqxoT8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iwilfNqxoT8</a>

BIG TUNE  :beermug: that is a rel classic game

« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2010, 08:56:22 PM »
but alyuh forget this theme intro also. this was the theme song my copy start up with

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ZRVnNFwFdUM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/ZRVnNFwFdUM</a>