April 20, 2024, 04:19:38 AM

Author Topic: T&T women win first match in Korea  (Read 3784 times)

T&T women win first match in Korea
« on: April 05, 2010, 10:36:03 AM »
T&T women win first match in Korea.
TTFF Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 17 Women’s team began their three-match series against South Korea with an impressive 3-1 victory over the hosts at the National Football Centre in Paju on Monday.

Goals from Kayla Taylor.Jo Marie Lewis  Khadidra Debesette  ensured the Soca Princesses secured a momentous win against the Asian Champions.The first half saw T&T struggle to settle with several of the players still adjusting to the time difference and a few suffering from jet lag having arrives only 24 hours prior to the match. The Koreans took advantage and went ahead after only ten minutes.

But this goal woke up T&T as the visitors gradually settled into stride and began to pressure the hosts.

Their efforts paid off in the 22nd minute when Taylor was able to convert a free kick from 20 yards out for the equalizer.

Less than five minutes later the T&T girls were once again charging into the Korean defense and Lewis ran past at least three players before clinically placing the ball past the Korean goalkeeper to give T&T a 2-1 lead on 27 minutes.

The Koreans, already through to the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup, pressed for the equalizer but T&T held their own at the back and eventually got a third goal to seal the victory when  Debesette completed an attack near the goal as she collected and hit home into the far corner.

Pellerud said today’s result provided a well needed confidence booster to his team

“Defeating the Asian Champions is no small feat. We have sent a strong message to the Koreans and by extension the world, Trinidad and Tobago has a very competitive Women’s team and we will not roll over very quickly. Many of these girls arrived only yesterday but despite the setback we played our best and the

best created our favorable result,” Pellerud told TTFF Media.

“I am not sure who was the most surprised team here in Seoul today. The first 15 minutes SK was all over us and we seemed to be greatly suffering from late arrival and major jet-lag issues.

FIFA Vice President and Special Advisor to the TTFF Jack Warner, who is also in Korea to  attend a meeting with the Korean President , congratulated the team saying it is a sign of greater things to come for women’s football.

This team was able to beat the Champions of Asia, that in many areas is a herculean task. But despite the challenge our U-17 Women’s team was able to rise above it and declare a 3-1 victory This result serves as a testament to the success policies formulated for the women’s programmes in Trinidad and Tobago.”

Both teams will meet again in the second match on April 7.

Re: T&T women win first match in Korea
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2010, 10:40:48 AM »
Curious to know how these two new players gel with the team ??..http://ctntworld.com/SportArticles.aspx?id=19606

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2010, 10:58:00 AM »
WOW nice result girls  :applause: , i would like to see some highlights of that game

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2010, 11:32:35 AM »
Good. Congrats.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2010, 11:46:19 AM »

« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2010, 12:27:33 PM »
dem Asians must be thought they would of mash we up, i sure we surprise them

« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2010, 01:29:56 PM »

I think we surprise we selves.
This is no small feat - with jet lag to boot.
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2010, 01:38:52 PM »
keep working...play allyuh fitball

« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2010, 04:45:45 PM »
Great result.  Still have to question why they arrived only 24 hours before this match.

« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2010, 07:56:36 PM »
Maybe they send the tickets to Glenroy by accident :)

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2010, 08:52:54 PM »
What I'd like to know is if this win was against a full-strength SK team! Otherwise, this win doesn't mean much.

« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2010, 09:07:16 PM »
oh gosh carenage...wait for the second page nah

« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2010, 09:24:09 PM »
Well done ladies.  :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2010, 01:41:30 AM »
What I'd like to know is if this win was against a full-strength SK team! Otherwise, this win doesn't mean much.

Probably not as this was the first match of a series.
But it was still the Korean team against jet lagged Trinis.

Vb

« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2010, 05:53:50 AM »
 :applause:
good luck on the nex 2!  good job.

« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2010, 05:59:08 AM »
Even the T&T coach surprised . Well done ladies, we beat a big international side. Lesson for latapy- please play some international friendlies and then you will see who can step up.

« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2010, 06:15:21 AM »
Well done.

I can't believe it, maybe Korea use a small side.

But still...

Congrats.

« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2010, 07:05:38 AM »

I think we surprise we selves.
This is no small feat - with jet lag to boot.
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

And they woulda change at least 3-4 airplanes. Way to go girls. S. Korea takes their football serious enough for this to be a pat on the shoulder for you all.
Cheers.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2010, 08:46:11 AM »

Curious to know how these two new players gel with the team

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

According to their Dad, Nia played the complete game, but Amira, the younger sister, did not play.  The both girls seem to be having fun and bonding with the team. 

Trevor

« Reply #19 on: April 06, 2010, 04:35:37 PM »
Great result.  Still have to question why they arrived only 24 hours before this match.

from what i understand .....there was a mix up with the flight re how many were booked. Half the team flew out a day or 2 later.

« Reply #20 on: April 06, 2010, 04:37:39 PM »

Steupse...like yuh make up yuh mind already.. :D

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #21 on: April 06, 2010, 07:06:04 PM »
A win is a win ir-regardless of who wearing the uniforms. But I can tell you the Koreans are up to their tricks once again :)
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME