March 29, 2024, 12:02:32 AM

Author Topic: Lara to Surrey?  (Read 2254 times)

Lara to Surrey?
« on: April 15, 2010, 05:27:14 PM »
Just heard on Sky Sports news, they did not disclose in what capacity, any info, anyone?

Surrey in shock move for West Indies great Brian Lara
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2010, 06:16:49 PM »
Surrey in shock move for West Indies great Brian Lara
By Paul Bolton (telegraph.co.uk)

Lara, who has not played competitive cricket for two years, trained at the Oval on Monday and Surrey are very hopeful he will play in the Friends Provident T20 which starts in June.

The contract talks are at an early and delicate stage but Paul Sheldon, Surrey’s chief executive, confirmed that an approach had been made to Lara. “We are talking to Brian about a possible future role in the club,” Sheldon said.

A short-term contract with Surrey might appeal to Lara who is understood to be seeking a contract in next year’s Indian Premier League.

At present Lara’s value at a possible IPL auction would be reduced by the fact that he retired from international cricket three years ago and from the first-class game after he had played two matches for Trinidad & Tobago in January 2008.

Lara’s age – he will be 41 next month – is another disadvantage and he has played little Twenty20 cricket with his only appearances in the short form of the game coming as captain of the Mumbai Champs in the inaugural Indian Cricket League two-and-a-half years ago.

Lara is no longer tainted by his involvement in that ‘rebel’ tournament and his inclusion on the judging panel for this year’s IPL Awards is a clear indication that he has been forgiven by the Indian authorities.

But Lara has kept himself in good physical condition since he retired and he batted well enough during Monday’s net session to persuade Surrey that offering him a contract for Twenty20 cricket might be more than a publicity stunt..

Last week Surrey signed former Australia all-rounder Andrew Symonds as a Twenty20 specialist and expect to have a vacancy for a second overseas player for the Friends Provident T20 because of leg-spinner Piyush Chawla’s international commitments with India.

If nothing else Lara should be good box office for Surrey if they can strike deal with the lawyer who is handling the contract negotiations on behalf of the player.

Lara is still the only batsman to have scored 400 in a Test innings and 500 in a first-class innings and he is second only to Sachin Tendulkar in the all-time list of Test run scorers.

In 1994 Lara broke two world records in the space of two months when he made 375 against England in Antigua followed by his marathon 501 not out for Warwickshire against Durham at Edgbaston.

Lara made more than 2,000 first-class runs, including nine centuries, during his first season in county cricket during which Warwickshire won three domestic titles and were beaten in the final of the NatWest Trophy.

But he was less successful when he rejoined Warwickshire as captain in 1998. He scored exactly half of the runs of 1994 and was also fined by the county after he missed a Sunday League match at Taunton when he arrived late back in England after an early-season break in the Caribbean.

Lara briefly lost his world Test record score to Australia’s Matthew Hayden but soon reclaimed it when he made an unbeaten 400 against England, again in Antigua, in April 2004.

Lara’s possible signing by Surrey should help to raise the profile of England’s Twenty20 competition after plans to create a Premier League, known as P20, failed because of difficulties in attracting the high-profile Indian players needed to secure a lucrative television deal on the sub-continent.

But there is a risk for Surrey in luring Lara out of retirement. Two years ago they persuaded former England all-rounder Chris Lewis to sign a contract aimed primarily at the Twenty20 Cup.

Lewis, then 40, had kept himself fit by playing club cricket in Nottingham but he played only two matches for Surrey, bowled eight wicketless overs which went for 80 runs and he was not picked again.

Re: Lara to Surrey?
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2010, 06:30:43 PM »
Read it on TrinidadExpress this morning

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2010, 06:43:13 PM »
 why not................big up the Prince of POS  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2010, 11:56:22 AM »
agreed..good for Lara

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2010, 12:02:54 PM »
diss might sound outa timin eh, but he literally hed EVERYTING! in dat safe or what, it jus have someting real............hollifield-ish about dis........ 41!......IPL contract! ???..........doh know nah ???

« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 11:07:12 PM »
At his age if he trains he still has a lot of cricket in him.

Show dem who is dey fadda Prince.

« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2010, 06:10:19 PM »

link http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161669867&weba=NWSSports

Fit Lara weighing options over return
Wednesday, May 19th 2010

Former world batting star Brian Lara has begun his preparation for a possible return to cricket as speculation continues over a stint with English County Surrey and a debut in the lucrative Indian Premier League (IPL) next year.

Forty-one-year-old Lara, one of the finest batsman to have played the game, told CMC Sports while he had made no concrete plans he was still keeping himself in shape and honing his skills. 

’It’s still early days. I’m playing cricket again which is good, I’m practicing which is great,’ Lara said. ’I’m still playing my golf, I’m still doing my business. At my age, you just do everything at a good pace and see where you get to.’

The prodigious left-hander has not played international cricket since his retirement three years ago but recent reports indicated Lara was willing to make a comeback in Twenty20s for Surrey later this summer.

Former IPL boss Lalit Modi also recently hinted during the just-concluded season in India that Lara could feature in the cash-rich tournament during the next edition.

Lara pointed out, however, that he was content to keep his options open regarding his future in the game.

’It’s nothing like where I’ve set goals or anything like that,’ said the former West Indies captain.

’I’m enjoying my life. I can still do a few things because I’m still feeling fit and capable of doing it.’

Lara had signed for the inaugural season of the Indian Cricket League, a move that had previously debarred him from signing up with the IPL. With the ICL now defunct, the batting genius is free to play in the IPL if he chooses.

Surrey chief executive Paul Sheldon said last month they were in discussions with Lara over a possible stint in the Friends Provident T20 tournament.

’We are still closely in contact with Brian and in talks with him,’ Sheldon was quoted as saying.

’The idea is that he will be involved in areas of the club other than cricket. But we are only talking to him about playing Twenty20 cricket for us.’

« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2010, 12:49:09 PM »

No Lara for Surrey

http://guardian.co.tt/sports/cricket/2010/05/20/no-lara-surrey

But the Telegraph reported yesterday that talks with Lara had fallen through and the county would no longer be pursuing his services. “We had discussions with Brian Lara but unfortunately we have not been able to come to an agreement, therefore we will not be engaging him,”