April 27, 2024, 10:10:15 PM

Author Topic: Chile to face T&T in warm-up for Honduras  (Read 8708 times)

Chile to face T&T in warm-up for Honduras
« on: April 22, 2010, 07:53:35 PM »
Reuters

Chile have organised a World Cup warm-up at home to Trinidad & Tobago for May, local media reported on Thursday.

Coach Marcelo Bielsa sought the match, to be played in the northern city of Iquique on May 5, because the Caribbean side play a similar style to Honduras, Chile's first rivals at the finals in South Africa, the daily La Tercera said.

Chile, who kick off Group H against Honduras in Nelspruit on June 16 before facing Spain and Switzerland, have further warm-ups against Mexico away, Northern Ireland and Israel at home and New Zealand in South Africa.

Re: Chile to face T&T in warm-up for Honduras
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2010, 07:55:49 PM »
Reuters

Chile have organised a World Cup warm-up at home to Trinidad & Tobago for May, local media reported on Thursday.

Coach Marcelo Bielsa sought the match, to be played in the northern city of Iquique on May 5, because the Caribbean side play a similar style to Honduras, Chile's first rivals at the finals in South Africa, the daily La Tercera said.

Chile, who kick off Group H against Honduras in Nelspruit on June 16 before facing Spain and Switzerland, have further warm-ups against Mexico away, Northern Ireland and Israel at home and New Zealand in South Africa.

nice...ironically I was talking to a current national player today and he told me they are looking to play a game against Venezuela next month...

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2010, 07:58:23 PM »
I respect Bielsa, but this is f**kery. I have seen Honduras play, and I DO NOT recognize Trinidad & Tobago in the catrachos.

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2010, 08:02:27 PM »
Honduras is in a similar situation as tnt were in 2006 with players like suazo etc will be last wc. I do see similarities with Honduras both suck at football xD

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2010, 08:10:11 PM »
Coach Marcelo Bielsa sought the match, to be played in the northern city of Iquique on May 5, because the Caribbean side play a similar style to Honduras, Chile's first rivals at the finals in South Africa, the daily La Tercera said

England say the same thing about Jamaica in 2006...Peter Crouch had enough Robot Dance practice that day.. ;D

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2010, 08:18:44 PM »
Finally, something to look forward to!

« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2010, 08:24:35 PM »
If dis game come orf, we go be fielding a severely depleted side because Joe Public is scheduled to play San Juan Jabloteh in de CFU Club Champions Cup dat same night.

« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2010, 08:30:36 PM »
Hmmm i would like to see the best team available go to South America and represent us.

« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2010, 08:32:19 PM »
lol @ similar style to honduras,  ::)

« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2010, 08:39:05 PM »
We have a National Team?

« Reply #10 on: April 22, 2010, 08:58:19 PM »
ah start feeling shame already .

« Reply #11 on: April 22, 2010, 09:19:02 PM »
Finally, something to look forward to!

Doh get excited yet

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2010, 10:23:04 PM »
Chile need a confidence booster ah wah?

« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2010, 10:38:07 PM »
Aside from the flattering comparison with the Hondurans, what makes this friendly even more entertaining is that Chile has played Panama a couple times during Bielsa's tenure: to help them consolidate through South American qualifying, and earlier this year following their qualification for the WC. Of course, given Chile's fortunes at the time, Bielsa was likely mindful of finishing 5th in CONMEBOL and the prospect of facing a CONCACAF opponent. Made sense.

Now, I suppose Bielsa views the Panamanian exercise not worth repeating. That's understandable. But he's hedging with this fixture versus us. I think he's referring to particular similarities rather than overall play per se, but since he's a very meticulous coach we better be prepared to hold up our end of the bargain. We could do no worse than start by reviewing footage of either of those games between Chile and Panama ... regardless of what Bielsa has in mind.

Incidentally,  saw Panama play Honduras in the run-up to the Gold Cup ... and Panama eh no Honduras for sure either. The word 'vacant' comes to mind. Their attacking play was very one-dimensional, and uninspiring.

Anyway, I found the La Tercera article and Bielsa may also be looking at playing Mali orTogo, in addition to Mexico and the other teams mentioned. With no African team in Group H, we know what that's about. Fail to plan and yuh plan to fail.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2010, 10:41:13 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2010, 11:23:53 PM »
BM here...just play de fittball...thanks for small mercies

« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2010, 12:03:39 AM »
Finally a friendly.

Does the TTFF know this doh? Yuh know how it difficult at times fuh dem to keep abreast of all these kinda ting..especially with elections in de air.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2010, 12:17:24 AM »
believe it when you see it

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2010, 04:12:53 AM »
We shouldn't take this game lightly.We Nation & Coache's integrity depend on the way we perform in this friendly.It suggest that Chile based their decision on our 2006 performance and not our 2010 qualification games.They could have gone with CR or JAM but our performance at the last WC is what is on their minds.
We cyar let dem down.This is a chance to make up. WE CYAR LET WE DOWN.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 04:17:25 AM by mwanasoka »
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #18 on: April 23, 2010, 05:05:03 AM »
believe it when you see it

CO-SIGNNNNNN
ENTTTTTTTTTT

« Reply #19 on: April 23, 2010, 06:57:53 AM »
I will not believe this unitl I see it. Expect things to change soon.

Furthermore, no Joe Public and Jabloteh players, we heading for a beating, after de game (if it come off) they will not consider us similar to Honduras anymore but more like Guyana...  :rotfl:

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2010, 07:00:26 AM »
That is a FIFA date? Cause I really doh want to go with a total local based style who season now start and had about 5 training sessions together.

That just unprofessional and we will just be showing up for showing up sake and wasting Chile time. The side preparing for a World Cup, they want a serious warm-up. Imagine if Wales had just pick a non-England based side of men we never hear about to play we right before Germany?

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2010, 07:18:35 AM »
some ah alyuh real sick on hear,jus yesterday ah read how we aint play ah game since November now we get ah game nobody have anything good to say,Good luck to coach Latapy and the Warriors who take the field :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2010, 07:23:22 AM »
Bielsa musta read de newspapers and saw this ...We ready now !! ..maybe he no speake englis so good ?

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2010, 08:20:54 AM »
some ah alyuh real sick on hear,jus yesterday ah read how we aint play ah game since November now we get ah game nobody have anything good to say,Good luck to coach Latapy and the Warriors who take the field :beermug: :beermug:

What bout d friendly dat was schedule 4 April 2 day is d 23. It play yet. So because a friendly announce man just suppose to do cartwheels. Is d TTFF we dealin wit so pardon we less than enthusiastic response.

« Reply #24 on: April 23, 2010, 08:30:09 AM »
Hate to see we go down there and get 4

« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2010, 09:46:34 AM »
BM here...just play de fittball...thanks for small mercies

Healthy approach.  :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2010, 10:03:06 AM »
 :applause: an International game against first class opposition! Nuff said! :applause:

« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2010, 10:37:49 AM »

Doh start that, everyone happy, they just can't believe its true... they know how the TTFF operates, the game might more than likley be cancel... ?

Which I hope not...

« Reply #28 on: April 23, 2010, 10:45:13 AM »
Fixture on FIFA...

« Reply #29 on: April 23, 2010, 12:13:04 PM »
call me when the whistle blow....