March 28, 2024, 09:53:33 AM

Author Topic: Glen vs Defoe, Sealy vs Gudjohnsen  (Read 3996 times)

Glen vs Defoe, Sealy vs Gudjohnsen
« on: April 23, 2010, 05:50:32 AM »
Quakes to Play Tottenham Hotspur
Earthquakes Media Relation

The San Jose Earthquakes announced today they will play club partner Tottenham Hotspur from the English Premier League (EPL) on Saturday, July 17 at Buck Shaw Stadium. The kick-off time will be announced at a later date.

Season ticket holders should use their Bonus Game “B” ticket for the match. Season ticket holders will also be able to purchase additional individual tickets and groups from April 21-28. From April 29-May 9, fans can purchase mini-plans that include the Tottenham Hotspur and Los Angeles Galaxy match, before tickets go on sale to the general public on May 10. Tickets range from $20-$50 and can be purchased by calling (800) 225-2277 or by logging on to sjearthquakes.com.

“This match will be a great experience for our players, the fans and the community,” said Earthquakes Executive VP of Business Operations David Alioto. “Our partnership with Spurs has been very beneficial and this game is another example of that. This provides the Bay Area and its soccer fans the ability to see our team take on some of the top players in the world in July. We would like to thank our partner club Tottenham Hotspur for making this happen.”

Tottenham Hotspur, also known as Spurs, signed a club partnership agreement in 2008 with the objective of creating a long-term bond between the two clubs. The relationship focuses on both soccer and commercial development by exchanging and implementing the best practices from both organizations. The partnership to date has seen Earthquakes technical staff visiting Spurs Lodge on numerous occasions, with the team using the Tottenham Hotspur training facility as a base for this season’s pre-season preparations. The Quakes also played and won two closed-door matches with West Ham United and Spurs’ reserve sides.

Harry Redknapp, Tottenham Hotspur manager said, “The summer camp will be a very important part of our preparations for the new campaign and we’re looking forward to heading out to the United States."

The scheduled fixture will be the first time that the Earthquakes will play against Tottenham Hotspur. The last and only time San Jose hosted an EPL team came in 1997 when the Quakes earned a 1-1 draw with Aston Villa in front of 13,522 fans at Spartan Stadium. Shawn Medved scored the lone goal for San Jose in that match.

As part of Tottenham Hotspur’s training visit to the U.S. they will also compete in the 2010 New York Football Challenge at Red Bull Arena in New Jersey. The 2010 New York Football Challenge will be a four-team tournament involving fellow Barclays Premier League side Manchester City and MLS outfit New York Red Bulls, as well as a soon-to-be-announced fourth team. The tournament will take place from July 22-25.

Tottenham Hotspur was founded in 1882 and is known as the Club of firsts - becoming the first club to achieve the League and FA Cup Double, winning both competitions in the 1960-61 season; in 1963 they became the first British club to win a major European trophy - the European Cup Winners' Cup. Victory in the 2008 League Cup Final meant that Spurs achieved the feat of winning a trophy in each of the last six decades, a record matched by only one other Premier League club.

The team is currently placed in the top four of the EPL table after recent wins against Arsenal and Chelsea. Spurs players include English internationals Aaron Lennon, Jermaine Defoe and Peter Crouch along with young Welsh superstar Gareth Bale, Russian forward Roman Pavlyuchenko and Croatian international Luka Modric.

Tottenham Hotspur features in the top 15 of the Deloitte Football Money League, which ranks football clubs by revenue generated from football operations. The Club currently play their home games at White Hart Lane in North London and recently submitted plans for a new stadium development project that will see them move into a 56,000 capacity world-class stadium. This year the Club also began works on a new state-of-the-art training centre that will be one of the best in Europe. Tottenham Hotspur has a large fan base in the United States with established supporters’ clubs in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago and San Francisco and played in the United States as recently as 2003 participating in the Capital Cup against MLS side DC United. For more information visit the Club's website.

Honors
-League Champions: 1950-51, 1960-61
-FA Cup Winners: 1901, 1921, 1961, 1962, 1967, 1981, 1982, 1991
-League Cup Winners: 1971, 1973, 1999, 2008
-European CWC Winners: 1963
-UEFA Cup Winners: 1972, 1984

Re: Glen vs Defoe, Sealy vs Gudjohnsen
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 09:59:53 AM »
Glen would have recovered from his injury by then.  :beermug:

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 02:27:09 PM »
I hopin Sealy rediscover form too though

« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2010, 06:15:40 AM »
Live on ESPN today at 4 PM EST.

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2010, 07:23:01 AM »
I'll be in front the tele for this one

Offline fish

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2010, 02:45:20 PM »
Cornell start. He had a shot across goal.
Now in the 23rd minute

Offline fish

« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2010, 02:57:29 PM »
Cornell beat one def, 2 in d box, shoot and Cudicini pull off a save.
He doing well with his touches but he could have pick a pass far post or had a better shot

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2010, 03:00:50 PM »
Glenn resemble fine wine juss now.Is only ah matter ah time.
An dey saying Sealey iz slammin ! Juss doh sub Glenn.
Bote ah dem !
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

Offline fish

« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2010, 03:27:38 PM »
Yeh boi. Both forwards replaced. Sealy and Johnson on

Offline fish

« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2010, 03:37:24 PM »
Sealy looking like he in the midfield

« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2010, 03:42:25 PM »
what the ass i seeing .. Sealy pulling the strings in MIDFIELD ...

Offline fish

« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2010, 04:08:06 PM »
Sealy have some rel nice touches. In the midfield, he was making simple passes, but effective.
He is up top now.

Offline fish

« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2010, 04:13:24 PM »
Result is 0-0

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2010, 04:38:57 PM »
Sealy have some rel nice touches. In the midfield, he was making simple passes, but effective.
He is up top now.
what the ass i seeing .. Sealy pulling the strings in MIDFIELD ...

Ah tink Sealy was lookin forward to the Glenn chemistry

but he opt for de nex bess thing; gallery yuh midfield prowes.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2010, 07:35:00 PM »
Go T&T!!!!  :applause: :wavetowel:
We boys real representin'
Redknapp mus' be sayin': hmmmm  :thinking:

C'mon Glen:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9Tcw_wtMaU

« Last Edit: July 17, 2010, 07:55:04 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2010, 12:17:11 PM »
He is up top now.

THANKS! Glad to hear somebody ELSE besides me recognizing the man could play... now if we National Coach could just check out the talent in the US, maybe, just maybe we could assemble a decent team before the end of year!

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2010, 02:00:34 PM »
He is up top now.

THANKS! Glad to hear somebody ELSE besides me recognizing the man could play... now if we National Coach could just check out the talent in the US, maybe, just maybe we could assemble a decent team before the end of year!

:beermug: :beermug: We have real talent outside dat beggin fuh chances, but, is how??? How to get the powers dat be to see dem and understand this... 
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #17 on: July 18, 2010, 03:41:55 PM »
He is up top now.

It's ah shame we have ah coach who ignored some of our BEST players last campaign for ineptitudes like clyde leon and devon jorslin. no disrepect tuh devon , but he can't hold ah candle tuh scott.

« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2010, 06:10:39 PM »
i missed this one

« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2010, 09:29:51 PM »
He is up top now.

Come nah man. You self. Yuh know de fella eh do heself justice when he get pick.

« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2010, 12:26:02 PM »
ouch, fans weren't too happy no-one scored

so who is the biggest donkey of our forwards?

Johnson, then Sealy followed closely by Glenn. The Three Stooges of soccer. [/size]

Offline fish

« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2010, 12:30:33 PM »
Dem fans kicksy.

Glen was out injured then he was benching for a long while. Johnson not in form at all and bench the past couple of games. I think he was injured a bit as well. Sealy has probably come off the bench less than 5 times this year. Not to mention, he is listed as a forward but clearly on the field he didn't start off playing up top. If I not mistaken, he played mid for a bit when he was in Israel, ent? And Wondo having a good season, but check all the goals he score and how he score it.

« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2010, 12:42:13 PM »

« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2010, 11:14:54 PM »
sealy would make a better mid than striker imo

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2010, 08:07:46 AM »
agreed :beermug:

Offline fish

« Reply #25 on: July 20, 2010, 08:58:01 AM »
Yup

« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2010, 09:06:00 AM »

i agree...i like his work rate and his passing abilities..he was never clinical with his finishing at no level of football...i remember in the WCQ against de US in CT, he was the only player that hustled, ran off the ball and put in any kind of effort.

Cornell and Earthquakes VS Tottenham Hotspurs
« Reply #27 on: July 21, 2010, 07:50:32 PM »
Watching a replay of Tottenham vs San Jose Earthquakes we boy looking good. Check it out on espn3.com go to soccer/ replay

Offline fish

« Reply #28 on: July 21, 2010, 08:23:01 PM »
He could hold up pretty well and his passing is good. I think he scored 9 times in a season twice for KC Wizards. But he always was outshadowed for Eddie Johnson, who I find is shit. They always hype dah man up