March 28, 2024, 06:31:21 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Chile Game (05-May-2010).  (Read 21493 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Chile Game (05-May-2010).
« Reply #180 on: May 06, 2010, 10:06:17 AM »
from the pieces I saw, I was not entirely bad. Somewhat respectable..many expected an onslaught from the South Americans.. the young fellas stand up well..

One to the next game.. which is when ????

Remember we played a U23 team :beermug:

« Reply #181 on: May 06, 2010, 11:40:38 AM »
Chile actually had 8 u-23s in their squad of 17 last night. Of the 8... 3 started and 4 were subbed on.

Chile: - Luis Marín [26], Carlos Labrin [19] (Kevin Hartbotle[19] 46th), Sebastián Toro[20], Hans Martínez [23], José Pedro Fuenzalida[25] (Juan Carlos Espinoza[18] 68th), Gary Medel[22], Roberto Cereceda[25], Pedro Morales[24] (Rafael Caroca[20] 82nd), Fernando Meneses[24], Daúd Gazale[25] (Francisco Pizarro[20] 76th), Emilio Hernández[25].

« Reply #182 on: May 06, 2010, 12:26:48 PM »
Bad result... TNT looks really scrappy... defensively... and nothing going forward.. Latas is  a terrible coach.

« Reply #183 on: May 06, 2010, 12:42:26 PM »
You could see Chile was working on one thing all night. They kept doing that over and over and over. They did not really try to play a complete game, as from what i see they were trying to get a certain attacking scheme down consistently, weren't even to worried about defending.

We need to work on keeping the back 4 shape while defending in wide positions.

The defenders join in the attack. Last night in the 2nd half we had a lot of opportunities to get the fullbacks overlapping and we did not even attempt to do that.

We need to work on showing patience after winning the ball.

Not to disappointed though.

Online Peong

« Reply #184 on: May 06, 2010, 12:58:48 PM »
On the first goal the man hit the ball slightly into the ground and it JUST jump up over the defender's outstretched foot.
The striker was a little bit lucky.
The pass for the 2nd was boss though.  Look like one of mine :)
In the last 30 mins of the game we had a lot of shots on goal but that could have been because the Chilenos already switched off.

« Reply #185 on: May 06, 2010, 02:25:46 PM »
Second goal was a gift, de #2 was supposed to step up long time and leave that striker offside...

but all in all a creditable result for a makeshift side playing against a side in world cup preparations.. yuh cant argue with 2-0 away from home for a hash together XI..

« Reply #186 on: May 06, 2010, 02:34:28 PM »
Awful defending on both goals!!! did kern cupid play? BC to me he's ah much better option than that keston williams. this williams guy is ah real mess! he's slow unfit and clueless. rather cupid any day as the left full back, but then again, is ah blind coach we dealin wid.

« Reply #187 on: May 08, 2010, 06:38:05 AM »
as we talking bout blind JC...Cupid did play...at right back...Williams played as center back

« Reply #188 on: May 18, 2010, 01:23:59 PM »
Only FIVE men who play against T&T for Chile was named in Chile Provisional World Cup squad....

just for informational purposes

Chile Squad:

1. Luis Marín UNIÓN ESPAÑOLA
2. Chistopher Toselli UNIVERSIDAD CATÓLICA

3. Hans Martínez UNIVERSIDAD CATÓLICA
4. Rafael Caroca COLO COLO
5. Sebastián Toro COLO COLO
6. Roberto Cereceda COLO COLO
7. Carlos Labrín HUACHIPATO

8. Fernando Meneses UNIVERSIDAD CATÓLICA
9. José Pedro Fuenzalida COLO COLO
10. Rodrigo Millar COLO COLO
11. Gary Medel BOCA JUNIORS
12. Emilio Hernández ARGENTINOS JUNIORS
13. Pedro Morales DÍNAMO ZAGREB

14. Kevin Hartbottle O'HIGGINS
15. Daúd Gazale HUACHIPATO
16. Francisco Pizarro UNIVERSIDAD CATÓLICA

Goalkeepers: Claudio Bravo (Real Sociedad), Miguel Pinto (Universidad de Chile), Luis Marin (Union Espanola).

Defenders: Waldo Ponce (Universidad Catolica), Gonzalo Jara (West Bromwich Albion), Gary Medel (Boca Juniors), Mauricio Isla (Udinese), Pablo Contreras (PAOK Salonika), Ismael Fuentes (Universidad Catolica).

Midfielders: Marco Estrada, Manuel Iturra (both Universidad de Chile), Roberto Cereceda, Rodrigo Millar, Jose Fuenzalida (all Colo Colo), Arturo Vidal (Bayer Leverkusen), Carlos Carmona (Reggina), Jorge Valdivia (Al Ain), Matias Fernandez (Sporting Lisbon), Jean Beausejour (Club America), Pedro Morales (Dinamo Zagreb), Gonzalo Fierro (Flamengo), Charles Aranguiz (Colo Colo), Jaime Valdes (Atalanta), Rodrigo Tello (Besiktas).

Strikers: Humberto Suazo (Real Zaragoza), Esteban Paredes (Colo Colo), Hector Mancilla (Toluca), Alexis Sanchez (Udinese), Fabian Orellana (Xerez), Mark Gonzalez (CSKA Moscow).