March 28, 2024, 11:17:22 AM

Author Topic: List WC Squads Here  (Read 15803 times)

Re: List WC Squads Here
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2010, 04:26:22 PM »

You were saying?

Did you miss it the first time?  Let's try again... when was the last international that he played in? 

Attempting a comeback isn't the same as being unretired. retired.
Hope that helps.

Fix it for you. You say the man retired about 3 years ago . So since yuh was so sure then post the annoucement he made about deciding to retire or the footage of him personally letting you know that he retired about 3 years ago..
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 04:39:52 PM by giggsy11 »

« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2010, 09:09:27 PM »
Ramires! Ramires! Ramires!

« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2010, 09:18:46 PM »
ARGENTINA:

Lista Preliminar de 30 jugadores convocados para la Selección Nacional

El director técnico de la Selección Argentina, Diego Maradona, dio a conocer la lista preliminar de 30 jugadores que integrarán el plantel que participará en el Mundial Sudáfrica 2010. El día 19 del corriente mes se dará a conocer la lista oficial de 23 jugadores que iniciarán el período de preparación en el Complejo Deportivo de Ezeiza a partir del día 20 de Mayo.

Los jugadores convocados son los siguientes:

AGÜERO, Sergio Club     Atlético de Madrid (España)

ANDUJAR, Mariano        Calcio Catania (Italia)

BLANCO, Sebastián       CA Lanús   

BOLATTI, Mario            ASF Fiorentina (Italia)

BURDISSO, Nicolás        AS Roma FC (Italia)

COLOCCINI, Fabricio      Newcastle United FC (Inglaterra)

DÁTOLO, Jesús             Olympiacos CFP (Grecia)

DEMICHELIS, Martin       Bayern Münich (Alemania)

DI MARIA, Ángel            Benfica FC (Portugal)

GARCE, Ariel                 CA Colón de Santa Fé (Argentina)

GUTIERREZ, Jonás         Newcastle United FC (Inglaterra)

HEINZE, Gabriel             Olympique Marseille (Francia)

HIGUAIN, Gonzalo           Real Madrid (España)

INSAURRALDE, Juan Manuel CA Newell’s Old Boys (Argentina)

LAVEZZI, Ezequiel           SC Sportiva Napoli (Italia)

MASCHERANO, Javier       Liverpool FC (Inglaterra)

MERCIER, Juan                AA Argentinos Juniors (Argentina)

MESSI, Lionel                 Barcelona FC (España)

MILITO, Diego                 Internazionale FC (Italia)

OTAMENDI, Nicolás          CA Vélez Sarsfield (Argentina)

PALERMO, Martin             CA Boca Juniors (Argentina)

PASTORE, Javier             Citta di Palermo Calcio (Italia)

POZO, Diego                  CA Colón de Santa Fé (Argentina)

RODRIGUEZ, Clemente      CA Estudiantes de La Plata (Argentina)

RODRIGUEZ, Maximiliano    Liverpool FC (Inglaterra)

ROMERO, Sergio              AZ Alkmaar (Holanda)

SAMUEL, Walter              Internazionale FC (Italia)

SOSA, José                    Bayern Münich (Alemania)

TEVEZ, Carlos                Manchester City (Inglaterra)

VERON, Juan Sebastián    CA Estudiantes de la Plata (Argentina)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2010, 09:22:29 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #33 on: May 11, 2010, 10:39:24 PM »

Fix it for you. You say the man retired about 3 years ago . So since yuh was so sure then post the annoucement he made about deciding to retire or the footage of him personally letting you know that he retired about 3 years ago..

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=559819&cc=5901

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0804/vannistelrooy.html

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=%7BB4CEE8FA-9A47-47BC-B069-3F7A2F35DB70%7D&newsid=39381

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1204576/index.html
Van Nistelrooy, 33, retired from international football after Euro 2008, but hoped to force his way into coach Bert van Marwijk's plans after making himself available for international selection again.

Not sure why I'm bothering... I'm sure the significance of those links, like much of everything else, will be lost on you.

« Reply #34 on: May 11, 2010, 10:40:56 PM »
Inter pair not in Argentina squad

Javier Zanetti and Esteban Cambiasso are set to miss the World Cup after not being included in coach Diego Maradona's 30-man preliminary squad.

The Inter Milan pair have been two of the key players for Serie A champions Inter Milan and have been integral in the team reaching the Champions League final against Bayern Munich.

Real Madrid midfielder Fernando Gago and Barcelona central defender Gabriel Milito are other prominent absentees.

Inter, though, will be represented by striker Diego Milito, defender Walter Samuel while Bayern defender Martin Demichelis has also been selected.

Five English-based players have been included - Manchester City striker Carlos Tevez, Newcastle pair Fabricio Coloccini and Jonas Gutierrez and Liverpool duo Javier Mascherano and Maxi Rodriguez.

Colon defender Ariel Garce - who has one cap - Lanus midfielder Sebastian Blanco and Newell's Old Boys defender Juan Manuel Insaurralde are the surprise players.

Martin Palermo could play in his first World Cup at the age of 36 after being selected following his achievements at Boca Juniors where he became their all-time top scorer.

Argentinos Juniors midfielder Juan Mercier, Colon keeper Diego Pozo, Estudiantes wing Jose Sosa (on loan from Bayern Munich) and Velez Sarsfield defender Nicolas Otamendi complete the nine-man home-based players list.

Maradona did not speak to the local media while the Argentinian FA revealed the list of players to fight for the 23 berths in the official squad to be revealed by June 1.

Argentina's provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Diego Pozo (Colon)

Defenders: Nicolas Burdisso (Inter Milan), Martin Demichelis (Bayern Munich), Walter Samuel (Inter Milan), Gabriel Heinze (Olympique Marseille), Nicolas Otamendi (Velez Sarsfield), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Juan Manuel Insaurralde (Newell's Old Boys), Clemente Rodriguez (Estudiantes), Ariel Garce (Colon)

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Liverpool), Sebastian Blanco (Lanus), Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes), Jesus Datolo (Olympiacos), Jose Sosa (Estudiantes), Maximiliano Rodriguez (Liverpool), Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina), Juan Mercier (Argentinos Juniors), Angel Di Maria (Benfica), Jonas Gutierrez (Newcastle), Javier Pastore (Palermo)

Forwards: Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid), Diego Milito (Inter Milan), Martin Palermo (Boca Juniors), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Napoli).

« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2010, 10:43:31 PM »
Nigeria provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Dele Ayenugba (Beni Yehuda FC), Bassey Akpan (Bayelsa United), Austine Ejide (Hapoel Petah Tikva)

Defenders: Taye Taiwo (Marseille), Elderson Echiejile (Rennes), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow) Onyekachi Apam (Nice), Joseph Yobo (Everton), Daniel Shittu (Bolton), Ayodele Adeleye (Sparta Rotterdam), Rabiu Afolabi (Salzburg), Peter Suswan (Lobi Stars)

Midfielders: Kalu Uche (Almeria), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham), John Obi Mikel (Chelsea), Sani Kaita (Alaniya), Lukman Haruna (Monaco), Ayila Yussuf (Dynamo Kiev), Peter Osaze (Lokomotiv Moscow)

Forwards: Yakubu Ayegbeni (Everton), Victor Anichebe (Everton), Chinedu Obasi (Hoffenheim), Nwankwo Kanu (Portsmouth), Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg), Ideye Brown (Sochaux), Ikechukwu Uche (Zaragoza), John Utaka (Portsmouth), Peter Utaka (Odense), Victor Obinna (Malaga).

« Reply #36 on: May 11, 2010, 10:45:34 PM »
Ivory Coast's provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Vincent Angban, Daniel Yeboah (both Asec Mimosas), Aristide Zogbo (Maccabi Netanya); Souleymane Bamba (Hibernian)

Defenders: Arthur Boka (Stuttgart), Emmanuel Eboue (Arsenal), Abdoulaye Meite (West Brom), Siaka Tiene, Benjamin Angoua (both Valenciennes), Kolo Toure (Manchester City), Steve Gohouri (Wigan)

Midfielders: Emerse Fae (Nice), Guy Demel (Hamburg), Romaric N'Dri Koffi, Didier Zokora (both Sevilla), Cheick Tiote (FC Twente), Yaya Toure (Barcelona), Gilles Yapi Yapo (Young Boys), Kanga Akale (Lens), Jean-Jacques Gosso (Monaco), Emmanuel Kone (International Curtea Arges)

Forwards: Aruna Dindane (Lens), Seydou Doumbia (Young Boys), Didier Drogba, Salomon Kalou (both Chelsea), Kader Keita (Galatasaray), Bakari Kone (Marseille), Gervinho (Lille), Lacina Traore (CFR Cluj).

« Reply #37 on: May 12, 2010, 12:50:02 AM »

No Nistleroy but Huntelaar make it?

Van Nistlerooy retire from international play nearly 3 yrs now.

Interesting how you hardly ever see ah England player from another league...they whole squad is domisticated  :D

Italy is a close second, with only G Rossi (Villareal) from another league.

He from a whole nother country... although some consider New Jersey to be a separate planet.

Agree with the comments on Domenech... he must have some world class blackmail pics of somebody.  Henry is a reach... but Cisse???  Ah mean, he tear up the Greek league... but is de Greek league we talking about here.

I think Cisse have two factors in he favour. He getting a sympathy vote for the break leg he get against China just before 2006, and is long time now Domenech freezing out Benzema (not that he do anything at Real to prove him wrong), so Cisse is the nail in the coffin.

The Benz is a much more versatile and complete striker, but on form alone, you can't fault the selection.

As for Nasri, Domenech is notorious for his preference for "solid water carrier type players" in front of creative midfield maestros (he played two dmids at home against Faroe Islands for the love of God!) hence the "black player favouritism" allegations (not saying black players are solid water carriers, just that most of the black French midfielders that their academies churn out fit that category)

Just, be glad he pick Gourcuff.
If France coulda qualify for 2006 without him, a little more again he woulda leave out Zidane!

« Reply #38 on: May 12, 2010, 12:56:17 AM »
* Cédric Carrasso (FCG Bordeaux)
* Mickaël Landreau (LOSC)
* Hugo Lloris (Ol. Lyon)
* Steve Mandanda (Ol. Marseille)

Défenseurs

* Eric Abidal (FC Barcelone)
* Gaël Clichy (Arsenal FC)
* Patrice Evra (Manchester United)
* Rod Fanni (Stade Rennais)
* William Gallas (Arsenal FC)
* Marc Planus (FCG Bordeaux)
* Adil Rami (LOSC)
* Anthony Reveillère (Ol. Lyonnais)
* Bacary Sagna (Arsenal FC)
* Sébastien Squillaci (Séville FC)

Milieux de terrain

* Vassiriki Diaby (Arsenal FC)
* Alou Diarra (FCG Bordeaux)
* Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid FC)
* Yoann Gourcuff (FCG Bordeaux)
* Yann M'Vila (Stade Rennais)
* Florent Malouda (Chelsea FC)
* Jérémy Toulalan (Ol. Lyonnais)

Attaquants

* Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea FC)
* Hatem Ben Arfa (Ol. Marseille)
* Jimmy Briand (Stade Rennais)
* Djibril Cissé (Panathinaikos)
* André-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse FC)
* Sidney Govou (Ol. Lyonnais)
* Thierry Henry (FC Barcelone)
* Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern Munich)
* Mathieu Valbuena (Ol. Marseille)

Now I ent no France man but you wanna tell me why the f**k Domenech still in Charge?

No Nasri...No Benzema...I guess you can even say no Viera...
In 2008, Nasri and Benzema were in a big fallout with Ribery that kinda split the squad down the middle. It could be more of a attitude thing, especially for the first one

« Reply #39 on: May 12, 2010, 08:09:22 AM »

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=559819&cc=5901

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0804/vannistelrooy.html

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=%7BB4CEE8FA-9A47-47BC-B069-3F7A2F35DB70%7D&newsid=39381

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1204576/index.html
Van Nistelrooy, 33, retired from international football after Euro 2008, but hoped to force his way into coach Bert van Marwijk's plans after making himself available for international selection again.

Not sure why I'm bothering... I'm sure the significance of those links, like much of everything else, will be lost on you.

I asked and you delivered, good for you.

« Reply #40 on: May 12, 2010, 08:30:43 AM »
Terry "suspected broken bone"

Scan tomorrow....hope its not serious. They said he was walking around without crutches in a protective boot so it may not be as bad as first thought

« Reply #41 on: May 12, 2010, 08:54:14 AM »

Scan tomorrow....hope its not serious. They said he was walking around without crutches in a protective boot so it may not be as bad as first thought

Eh... not so sure nah.

I was in ah "air cast" for 6 months after tearing two ligaments in mih ankle... plus Becks was in a "protective boot" a day after rupturing his Achilles.  I want to be optimistic too, but I ent ready to downplay the injury juss cause he walking around :-\

« Reply #42 on: May 12, 2010, 09:06:46 AM »

Eh... not so sure nah.

I was in ah "air cast" for 6 months after tearing two ligaments in mih ankle... plus Becks was in a "protective boot" a day after rupturing his Achilles.  I want to be optimistic too, but I ent ready to downplay the injury juss cause he walking around :-\

yea but apparently he was walking with no crutches.... When Wazza mash up his ankle in Munich he was on crutches for 2 days... Terry walk out of the training center with just the boot

I hope he's fit because he's a massive player and with Rio and King being dodgy I would hope at least 1 world class CB is ever present

« Reply #43 on: May 12, 2010, 09:17:51 AM »

yea but apparently he was walking with no crutches.... When Wazza mash up his ankle in Munich he was on crutches for 2 days... Terry walk out of the training center with just the boot

I hope he's fit because he's a massive player and with Rio and King being dodgy I would hope at least 1 world class CB is ever present

I agree... I'm not the biggest fan of Terry, but no denying his quality.  He has 3-4 weeks to get sorted out though, so hopefully as you say it's not too bad.  I also feel for Barry, a spot was his up until the weekend... and I really think we'll miss him.

« Reply #44 on: May 12, 2010, 09:46:56 AM »

I agree... I'm not the biggest fan of Terry, but no denying his quality.  He has 3-4 weeks to get sorted out though, so hopefully as you say it's not too bad.  I also feel for Barry, a spot was his up until the weekend... and I really think we'll miss him.

I think both will be fine...I'm no Barry fan but he's done a very commendable job in the holding role and deserves his World Cup chance...A fit Hargreaves would have been ideal... I cant see Huddlestone or Parker doing a job...Carrick's been utter shit this season but he has the experience and the class to do the job..Fabio has to get in his head..he's such a great passer of the ball and all round good player but he is way too casual and takes things for granted...

« Reply #45 on: May 12, 2010, 10:05:36 AM »
Sky Sources: NO BREAK FOR TERRY  :beermug:

Confirmed by Chelsea FC

I hope he doesn't play in the Cup Final on Saturday and injure it but if he's 100% fit by then fix yuh mix JT

Massive relief there..

« Reply #46 on: May 12, 2010, 10:06:56 AM »

I think both will be fine...I'm no Barry fan but he's done a very commendable job in the holding role and deserves his World Cup chance...A fit Hargreaves would have been ideal... I cant see Huddlestone or Parker doing a job...Carrick's been utter shit this season but he has the experience and the class to do the job..Fabio has to get in his head..he's such a great passer of the ball and all round good player but he is way too casual and takes things for granted...

Nah... you sleeping on fatman Tom.

« Reply #47 on: May 12, 2010, 10:29:46 AM »
Brazil stay focused - Argentina look muddled

Dunga's announcement of his Brazil squad for South Africa was a crushing defeat for the nation's media in one of its favourite sports - trying to force the inclusion of big names players on to the plane for this summer's World Cup.

But it was the perceived excesses of Brazil's stars that undermined their campaign in Germany in 2006 and paved the way for Dunga's appointment. He took over with a message that individuals might win matches but groups win titles. Over three and half years later, coherence has been maintained.

Before the squad was announced, clips were shown of some of Brazil's recent triumphs. Then came a declaration for Kaka, paying tribute to the spirit of union of the current team. It was a giant hint that there would be no last-minute surprises.

(continue)

« Reply #48 on: May 12, 2010, 03:24:04 PM »

reports say he good to go .. not as serious as suspected.  As an England supporter , hope the skipper is ok

« Reply #49 on: May 13, 2010, 07:06:09 AM »

Brazil stay focused, Argentina look muddled
« Reply #50 on: May 14, 2010, 01:35:54 PM »

Re: Brazil stay focused, Argentina look muddled
« Reply #51 on: May 14, 2010, 02:49:25 PM »

« Reply #52 on: May 15, 2010, 06:53:46 AM »
On the Mexican front, Aguirre has cut two players from the provisional list ... the victims are Topo Valenzuela and Aldrete ... Both suffer at the feet of the depth chart, although Aldrete according to Mexican TV commentators dropped the ball having stood a realistic chance, and not grapped it.

A wide swath of opinion on the net suggests that the next victim will be Adolfo Bautista. If that happens, it will surely be heartbreak for a gifted player who has sniffed WC team selection before, but has never made it.

« Reply #53 on: May 15, 2010, 12:56:26 PM »
On the Mexican front, Aguirre has cut two players from the provisional list ... the victims are Topo Valenzuela and Aldrete ... Both suffer at the feet of the depth chart, although Aldrete according to Mexican TV commentators dropped the ball having stood a realistic chance, and not grapped it.

A wide swath of opinion on the net suggests that the next victim will be Adolfo Bautista. If that happens, it will surely be heartbreak for a gifted player who has sniffed WC team selection before, but has never made it.

Who are you... and what have you done with asylumseeker?

« Reply #54 on: May 16, 2010, 02:17:13 PM »

Who are you... and what have you done with asylumseeker?

Haste is a dyslexic kidnapper.

Re: Germany pick surprise names
« Reply #55 on: May 17, 2010, 07:13:57 AM »
looks like ballack is out

Re: Germany pick surprise names
« Reply #56 on: May 17, 2010, 08:12:11 AM »
looks like ballack is out

The irony of it all ... who caused the injury, how, and the lead up to it. Germany will survive.

« Reply #57 on: May 17, 2010, 11:37:33 AM »
france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyon), Steve Mandanda(Olympique Marseille), Cedric Carrasso (Girondins Bordeaux)

Defenders: Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), William Gallas (Arsenal), Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla), Marc Planus (Girondins Bordeaux), Gael Clichy(Arsenal), Anthony Reveillere (Olympique Lyon)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid), Alou Diarra(Girondins Bordeaux), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Yoann Gourcuff (Girondins Bordeaux), Abou Diaby (Arsenal)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Djibril Cisse (Panathinaikos), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique Marseille)

« Reply #58 on: May 17, 2010, 01:17:39 PM »
france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyon), Steve Mandanda(Olympique Marseille), Cedric Carrasso (Girondins Bordeaux)

Defenders: Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), William Gallas (Arsenal), Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla), Marc Planus (Girondins Bordeaux), Gael Clichy(Arsenal), Anthony Reveillere (Olympique Lyon)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid), Alou Diarra(Girondins Bordeaux), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Yoann Gourcuff (Girondins Bordeaux), Abou Diaby (Arsenal)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Djibril Cisse (Panathinaikos), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique Marseille)

Lloris
Evra
Abidal
Gallas
Sagna
Lass
Gourcruff
Toulalan
Malouda
Henry
Ribery

« Reply #59 on: May 17, 2010, 02:06:38 PM »
france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Up there with the best I've seen on paper.