March 28, 2024, 05:30:59 PM

Author Topic: List WC Squads Here  (Read 15805 times)

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
Re: Germany pick surprise names
« Reply #60 on: May 17, 2010, 02:11:32 PM »
Germany should get out of their group

Neville critical of squad selection
« Reply #61 on: May 18, 2010, 05:15:17 AM »
Neville critical of squad selection
May 18, 2010

Gary Neville has hit out at Fabio Capello's squad selection for the World Cup finals, and accused him of being "desperate" in trying to talk Paul Scholes out of international retirement.

Neville was thought to be in with a chance of making the England squad for this summer's tournament in South Africa, but Capello opted to take Jamie Carragher, who has not played for his country since 2007, as back-up for Glen Johnson.

Capello is not the first coach to attempt to coax Scholes back into an England shirt, in fact every coach has attempted to persuade him to return since his retirement after the Euro 2004 finals. But Neville was clearly not impressed with the move.

Manchester United defender Neville told the Sun: "I wouldn't say I'm overly disappointed not to be in the initial 30-man England World Cup squad. I thought there was a chance I could get in but I was under no illusions how tough it would be, after not being named in the squad for a year.

"I'm slightly surprised there is only one right-back in the entire squad, but I'm probably more surprised Wes Brown isn't in the 30.

"Capello spoke to Paul but he retired a few years ago and he's not the type to go back on that. I'm not surprised Capello tried to get him out of retirement because, if there is one player I would try to bring back, it is Scholes.

"Capello maybe got a bit desperate at the last minute and wanted Scholes because he is still probably the country's best midfielder - but Scholes stuck to his guns."

Re: List WC Squads Here
« Reply #62 on: May 19, 2010, 02:25:08 PM »
maradonatina 23 man side:

Squad:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Diego Pozo (Colon).

Defenders: Nicolas Otamendi (Velez Sarsfield), Martin Demichelis (Bayern Munich), Walter Samuel (Inter Milan), Gabriel Heinze (Marseille), Nicolas Burdisso (AS Roma), Ariel Garce (Colon), Clemente Rodriguez (Estudiantes).

Midfielders: Jonas Gutierrez (Newcastle), Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes), Javier Mascherano (Liverpool), Angel Di Maria (Benfica), Javier Pastore (Palermo), Maxi Rodriguez (Liverpool), Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Diego Milito (Inter Milan), Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid), Martin Palermo (Boca Juniors).

« Reply #63 on: May 20, 2010, 08:11:57 AM »
looks like senna and guiza get drop ....

Spain 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David De Gea (Atletico de Madrid), Diego Lopez (Villareal), Pepe Reina (Liverpool, England), Victor Valdes (Barcelona)

Defenders: Raul Albiol (Real Madrid), Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Osasuna), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal, England), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Javier Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), Marcos Senna (Villarreal), David Silva (Valencia), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)

Forwards: Santiago Cazorla (Villarreal), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Juan Manuel Mata (Valencia), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Daniel Guiza (Fenerbache, Turkey), Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao), Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla), Fernando Torres (Liverpool, England), David Villa (Valencia).

« Reply #64 on: May 20, 2010, 12:23:31 PM »

Spain 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David De Gea (Atletico de Madrid), Diego Lopez (Villareal), Pepe Reina (Liverpool, England), Victor Valdes (Barcelona)

Defenders: Raul Albiol (Real Madrid), Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Osasuna), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Midfielders: Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal, England), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Javier Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), Marcos Senna (Villarreal), David Silva (Valencia), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)

Forwards: Santiago Cazorla (Villarreal), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Juan Manuel Mata (Valencia), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Daniel Guiza (Fenerbache, Turkey), Fernando Llorente (Athletic Bilbao), Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla), Fernando Torres (Liverpool, England), David Villa (Valencia).

I lovbe Senna, want to see if they will have the same effect as in the euros. remmeber a major part of their success was Senna's passing accuracy.

« Reply #65 on: May 20, 2010, 12:28:18 PM »

Spain 23-man squad:

They have no excuse for failure.

« Reply #66 on: May 20, 2010, 01:47:44 PM »
Senna get drop? Cyar say i agree with dat nah.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #67 on: May 20, 2010, 01:53:53 PM »
Me neither. But that side is still the most talented on the planet without him. Spain is the bomb squad for this tournament.

« Reply #68 on: May 20, 2010, 02:41:43 PM »
Me neither. But that side is still the most talented on the planet without him. Spain is the bomb squad for this tournament.

Busquets..in place of senna? Who offers a threat from distance with a shot? A rel good passer and very good defensively? I know good men likely to get leave out all over buh....hmmm.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #69 on: May 20, 2010, 03:05:06 PM »
maradonatina 23 man side:

Squad:

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania), Diego Pozo (Colon).

Defenders: Nicolas Otamendi (Velez Sarsfield), Martin Demichelis (Bayern Munich), Walter Samuel (Inter Milan), Gabriel Heinze (Marseille), Nicolas Burdisso (AS Roma), Ariel Garce (Colon), Clemente Rodriguez (Estudiantes).

Midfielders: Jonas Gutierrez (Newcastle), Juan Sebastian Veron (Estudiantes), Javier Mascherano (Liverpool), Angel Di Maria (Benfica), Javier Pastore (Palermo), Maxi Rodriguez (Liverpool), Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Diego Milito (Inter Milan), Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid), Martin Palermo (Boca Juniors).

To tack off of Dinho's posting regarding the defenders ... the attacking selections are really supportable. While I think Higuain's temperament could work in either direction ... I think Maradona's exclusion of players like Lucho is not unreasonable ... unless one makes the case that Palermo is window-dressing.

I like Di Maria. In the last 2 years he's brought it in much the same way I think Stuart Holden has with respect to the US.

« Reply #70 on: May 20, 2010, 11:45:44 PM »

Busquets..in place of senna? Who offers a threat from distance with a shot? A rel good passer and very good defensively? I know good men likely to get leave out all over buh....hmmm.

Looks like Alonso is the only questionable midfield call though, moreso than Busquets I think.  Hard to make an argument for Senna over Alonso though with the kinda season he had at Madrid.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2010, 11:47:19 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #71 on: May 20, 2010, 11:51:31 PM »

Yes they is and I glad to see my boy, Victor Valdes, finally get the Vindication he deserve.  For years men (and even Barca fans) been callin' him a shit 'keeper and I have been in stubborn disagreement....NOBODY startin' in front of Casillas and hard, even fuh me, to make a case against Pepe Reina being the first-choice-backup but his inclusion in the final 23 gives him the respect I felt he's been warranted all along.    

« Reply #72 on: May 21, 2010, 06:25:51 AM »

Yes they is and I glad to see my boy, Victor Valdes, finally get the Vindication he deserve.  For years men (and even Barca fans) been callin' him a shit 'keeper and I have been in stubborn disagreement....NOBODY startin' in front of Casillas and hard, even fuh me, to make a case against Pepe Reina being the first-choice-backup but his inclusion in the final 23 gives him the respect I felt he's been warranted all along.   
Myself included. He some real clangers in the past. Today he is remarkably improved.

« Reply #73 on: May 21, 2010, 02:42:00 PM »

Yes they is and I glad to see my boy, Victor Valdes, finally get the Vindication he deserve.  For years men (and even Barca fans) been callin' him a shit 'keeper and I have been in stubborn disagreement....NOBODY startin' in front of Casillas and hard, even fuh me, to make a case against Pepe Reina being the first-choice-backup but his inclusion in the final 23 gives him the respect I felt he's been warranted all along.   
Myself included. He some real clangers in the past. Today he is remarkably improved.

I agree that he has made some mistakes in the past, but Every 'keeper does.  To me, his agility, reflexes, bravery, distribution and energy, always more than made up for those mistakes.  I think that people tended to focus more on those mistakes than was fair to him (and this includes some of his own Barca fans) and say the man was "shitty" and that Barca should replace him.  :shameonyou: (people was sayin' the same thing about Tottenham's Gomes in his first year in the EPL).  Shitty, at the professional level is what I woulda call.....maybe Almunia   This isn't the first time Valdes has been called up to the senior team, but it's the first I can remember he made the final cut of a major tournament.  :beermug:

« Reply #74 on: May 21, 2010, 08:51:05 PM »

I agree that he has made some mistakes in the past, but Every 'keeper does.  To me, his agility, reflexes, bravery, distribution and energy, always more than made up for those mistakes.  I think that people tended to focus more on those mistakes than was fair to him (and this includes some of his own Barca fans) and say the man was "shitty" and that Barca should replace him.  :shameonyou: (people was sayin' the same thing about Tottenham's Gomes in his first year in the EPL).  Shitty, at the professional level is what I woulda call.....maybe Almunia   This isn't the first time Valdes has been called up to the senior team, but it's the first I can remember he made the final cut of a major tournament.  :beermug:
Yeah this is the first time he making the final cut. It will be good if he could open the account the 3rd group match.

« Reply #75 on: May 22, 2010, 10:00:18 AM »

Yeah this is the first time he making the final cut. It will be good if he could open the account the 3rd group match.

:D Well, even as (probably) his biggest supporter, I eh see him gettin' dat bligh. Dat would be wishful thinking but it eh happening......I didn't used to be no fan of Pepe Reina either, especially in light of the Chelsea-liverpool rivalry, but I have to give him his credit, he rel good and is the incumbent No. 2.  I eh sure he go let Valdes leapfrog him so easy nuh.....

« Reply #76 on: May 22, 2010, 05:47:47 PM »
france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyon), Steve Mandanda(Olympique Marseille), Cedric Carrasso (Girondins Bordeaux)

Defenders: Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), William Gallas (Arsenal), Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla), Marc Planus (Girondins Bordeaux), Gael Clichy(Arsenal), Anthony Reveillere (Olympique Lyon)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid), Alou Diarra(Girondins Bordeaux), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Yoann Gourcuff (Girondins Bordeaux), Abou Diaby (Arsenal)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Djibril Cisse (Panathinaikos), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique Marseille)

Up there with the best I've seen on paper. 

Football doh play on paper, and you forget de most important position

« Reply #77 on: May 22, 2010, 08:57:45 PM »
diarra out with a stomach ailment. diarra ketch diarrhea  :D

france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Goalkeepers: Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyon), Steve Mandanda(Olympique Marseille), Cedric Carrasso (Girondins Bordeaux)

Defenders: Bacary Sagna (Arsenal), Patrice Evra (Manchester United), William Gallas (Arsenal), Eric Abidal (Barcelona), Sebastien Squillaci (Sevilla), Marc Planus (Girondins Bordeaux), Gael Clichy(Arsenal), Anthony Reveillere (Olympique Lyon)

Midfielders: Lassana Diarra (Real Madrid), Alou Diarra(Girondins Bordeaux), Jeremy Toulalan (Olympique Lyon), Florent Malouda (Chelsea), Yoann Gourcuff (Girondins Bordeaux), Abou Diaby (Arsenal)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (Barcelona), Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), Andre-Pierre Gignac (Toulouse), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich), Sidney Govou (Olympique Lyon), Djibril Cisse (Panathinaikos), Mathieu Valbuena (Olympique Marseille)

« Reply #78 on: May 23, 2010, 06:23:16 PM »

Senna's season was largely disrupted by injuries. Don't agree with excluding him for Busquets, in fact i don't even know why Yaya is excluded for Busquets at Barca but if the man say he pick he side strictly on performances over the season yuh cyah really argue dat.

« Reply #79 on: May 23, 2010, 06:25:26 PM »
france updated squad.

boss side on paper.

France squad:

Up there with the best I've seen on paper. 

I find when yuh watch that side good, they short in the central defense department.. Besides Gallas who coming off injury, who partnering him in the hole? It looking like they planning to chook Abidal in there but he is a left back, or they might put Toulalan but he is a defensive mid..

Diarra apparently has a blood condition related to sickle cell.. I wonder if the altitude they were training at cause that to act up, if so then even though he might see it as a real hard luck it could also be a blessing in disguise.

Wouldve like to see Mexes. Aside from that the side looking like a bomb on paper.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2010, 06:32:12 PM by dinho »

« Reply #80 on: May 24, 2010, 01:21:50 AM »
I have doubts regarding what Les Blues will bring. Ah honestly feel dey going to bring de blues to dey supporters ... fortunately for them, they are in a group that could allow them to ketch a stride .... however, if the game v Uruguay positions itself to be a draw, there'll be problems in that camp (unless Mexico doh poison South Africa in the opener).

« Reply #81 on: May 26, 2010, 11:42:34 AM »
Just heard that Findley made the final cut for the U.S. team.

Two "Trinis" on the U.S. roster... ;D

« Reply #82 on: May 26, 2010, 02:45:09 PM »

GOALKEEPERS Tim Howard, Brad Guzan, Marcus Hahnemann.

DEFENDERS Carlos Bocanegra, Oguchi Onyewu, Jay DeMerit, Jonathan Spector, Jonathan Bornstein, Steve Cherundolo, Clarence Goodson.

MIDFIELDERS Landon Donovan, Clint Dempsey, Stuart Holden, Michael Bradley, Ricardo Clark, Maurice Edu, Benny Feilhaber, DeMarcus Beasley and Jose Francisco Torres.

FORWARDS Jozy Altidore, Edson Buddle, Hercules Gomez and Robbie Findley.

Happy for Robbie Findley... imagine, from TTFF castoff to WC player, talk about sticking it to the TnT selectors.

Offline black chinee

World Cup 2010
« Reply #83 on: May 26, 2010, 05:30:40 PM »

Onyewu survives Bradley cut
(FIFA.com) Wednesday 26 May 2010

Getty ImagesUSA coach Bob Bradley announced his final 23-man squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ live on American television today. Included in the squad are AC Milan defender Oguchi Onyewu, who is still fighting for fitness after injuring knee ligaments back in October, all-time top scorer Landon Donovan and UEFA Europa League finalist with Fulham, Clint Dempsey. Glasgow Rangers pair DaMarcus Beasley and Maurice Edu, both of whom have battled with big injuries and poor form of late, are both in Bradley’s final list.

“We’ve had strong preparations, we’ve played well,” Dempsey, who sat out last night’s 4-2 loss to the Czechs along with a bevy of other regular starters, told FIFA.com. “We finished top of our qualifying group, we went to the final of the Gold Cup and the final of the Confederations Cup last year, so there’s no reason we can’t get out of our group in South Africa. We’re one step closer to getting to the World Cup and getting down to the serious business.

“The chemistry in this 23-man team is very good,” Coach Bradley went on. “We have a good mix of experienced players and new guys and I believe this is one of our main strengths.”

We’re one step closer to getting to the World Cup and getting down to the serious business.USA's Clint Dempsey
The coach, who led the Americans to a runner-up finish at last year’s FIFA Confederations Cup, also included Mexico-based pair Herculez Gomez and Jose Torres while cutting veteran striker Brian Ching, Eddie Johnson and Sacha Kljestan. “When you have to make a decision like this and cut a team down, you’ll invariably have three or four names for only one spot and you go through it as well as you can while respecting every angle that goes into it,” Bradley said after the squad announcement. “Getting our final team of 23 sorted is an important step.”

The USA will meet fancied England in their South Africa 2010 Group C opener in Rustenburg on 12 June, followed by games with Slovenia and Algeria in what is considered by many to be a manageable section. Their next warm-up match will be played on 29 May, when they will hope to rebound from last night’s loss to the Czechs against Turkey in Philadelphia.

The final USA squad:
Goalkeepers: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Marcus Hahnemann (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Tim Howard (Everton)

Defenders: Carlos Bocanegra (Stade Rennais), Jonathan Bornstein (Chivas USA), Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Jay Demerit (Watford), Clarence Goodson (IK Start), Oguchi Onyewu (AC Milan), Jonathan Spector (West Ham), DaMarcus Beasley (Rangers),

Midfielders: Michael Bradley (Borussia Monchengladbach), Ricardo Clark (Eintracht Frankfurt), Clint Dempsey (Fulham), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Rangers), Benny Feilhaber (AGF Aarhus) Stuart Holden (Bolton), Jose Torres (Pachuca)

Forwards: Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy), Robbie Findley (Real Salt Lake), Herculez Gomez (Pachuca), Jozy Altidore (Villarreal)

*Please note that squad lists only become official after they have been submitted to and announced by FIFA.

Offline black chinee

Re: World Cup 2010
« Reply #84 on: May 26, 2010, 05:31:09 PM »
Only 4 MLS players in the 23

Offline black chinee

« Reply #85 on: May 26, 2010, 05:35:12 PM »
k my bad..we can have it merged then

« Reply #86 on: May 26, 2010, 10:46:00 PM »

4 MLS players... and 11 first or second-generation immigrants.  Imagine that, half the talent imported  :D

« Reply #87 on: May 27, 2010, 07:57:38 AM »

4 MLS players... and 11 first or second-generation immigrants.  Imagine that, half the talent imported  :D
We stickin.

« Reply #88 on: May 27, 2010, 09:44:48 AM »
Netherlands 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Sander Boschker (FC Twente), Michel Vorm (Utrecht).

Defenders: Andre Ooijer (PSV Eindhoven), Vurnon Anita (Ajax), Khalid Boulahrouz ( Stuttgart), Edson Braafheid (Celtic), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (Hamburg), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax).

Midfielders: Wesley Sneijder (Inter Milan), Otman Bakkal (PSV Eindhoven), Mark van Bommel (Bayern Munich), Wout Brama (FC Twente), Orlando Engelaar (PSV Eindhoven), Ibrahim Afellay (PSV Eindhoven), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (AZ Alkmaar), David Mendes da Silva (AZ Alkmaar), Rafael van der Vaart (Real Madrid), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax).

Strikers: Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Eljero Elia (Hamburger SV), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Jeremain Lens (AZ Alkmaar), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (AC Milan).

« Reply #89 on: May 27, 2010, 02:00:13 PM »

GOALKEEPERS Tim Howard, Brad Guzan, Marcus Hahnemann.

DEFENDERS Carlos Bocanegra, Oguchi Onyewu, Jay DeMerit, Jonathan Spector, Jonathan Bornstein, Steve Cherundolo, Clarence Goodson.

MIDFIELDERS Landon Donovan, Clint Dempsey, Stuart Holden, Michael Bradley, Ricardo Clark, Maurice Edu, Benny Feilhaber, DeMarcus Beasley and Jose Francisco Torres.

FORWARDS Jozy Altidore, Edson Buddle, Hercules Gomez and Robbie Findley.

Happy for Robbie Findley... imagine, from TTFF castoff to WC player, talk about sticking it to the TnT selectors.

Where the creativity coming from, Donovan, Dempsey, Torres? Freddy should have been on this side, this team way to safe. We will see what they will do.