March 28, 2024, 09:26:45 AM

Author Topic: The Official Song of the 2010 World Cup  (Read 17424 times)

The Official Song of the 2010 World Cup
« on: May 04, 2010, 03:32:19 PM »

Re: The Official Song of the 2010 World Cup
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 03:36:20 PM »
Shakira's World Cup song isn't going over so great

With all the problems facing this summer's World Cup in South Africa, the last thing it needed was trouble over something as silly as the tournament's official anthem, but that's exactly what Shakira's "Waka Waka (This Time for Africa)" is causing among South Africans and many others who have endured it.

The song hit radio stations last week, with Johannesburg locals responding with comments like "It's horrible" and "How is Shakira going to sing the African part of it?" (My guess is with her voice, but a Speak & Spell could be a fun choice, too.)

(continue)

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 06:48:11 AM »
I heard South Africans don't like it.

« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2010, 11:10:39 AM »
Isn't that what Fozzie Bear used to sing?

« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2010, 11:27:07 AM »
shakira song have moments. feel a lil socaish at times.

prefer wavin' flag by k'naan.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8__lUfx7zdo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8__lUfx7zdo</a>

« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2010, 09:44:11 AM »
i like both waving flag k'naan and oh africa by akon. i leaning a little bit towards oh africa though...

« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2010, 09:47:34 AM »

tough crowd.

« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2010, 03:55:49 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8__lUfx7zdo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8__lUfx7zdo</a>

This is best World Cup song I've heard.

« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2010, 04:00:22 PM »

The tempo and melody makes it sound a lot like soca.

« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2010, 06:17:05 PM »

« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2010, 09:07:41 PM »
Apparently dis is de song she sample it from

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s</a>
« Last Edit: May 08, 2010, 10:17:42 PM by E-man »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #11 on: May 11, 2010, 11:06:18 AM »

not surprising since soca is essentially african music exported to the caribbean.

« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2010, 11:44:45 AM »
Shakira Remixes African Hit for World Cup

As my colleague Celia Dugger reports, some South Africans were annoyed that a song by the Colombian singer Shakira was chosen as the official anthem of the 2010 World Cup, which begins in Johannesburg on June 11.

To fend off criticism, the organizers have pointed to the fact that the song, “Waka Waka (This Time for Africa),” is a collaboration between the Latin star and a South African band, Freshlyground.

For her part, Shakira Mebarak Ripoll has not invoked her credentials as a representative of the global meting pot — a Latina of Lebanese ancestry, she sings in both Spanish and English — but instead stressed the global nature of her effort to try to teach the world to dance the Waka Waka. She has a YouTube channel that encourages fans from every part of the planet to submit clips of themselves dancing to the song. Her official Web site points to video of recent “Waka Waka flash mobs” in Colombia and Venezuela and kids at a school she founded in her hometown  performing their version.

(continue)

« Reply #13 on: May 24, 2010, 12:00:38 PM »
Not bad. I prefer the original though, but maybe I just like the old-school.

The bigger context of the representation of South Africa is one I picked up on early. To me this is like having a remix of Bahia Girl as the official anthem of the 2014 world cup. Worse yet, The original is a song from Cameroon.

Maybe is a conscious decision to make this an African world cup and not a South African one. But It wouldn't sit well with me if some woman from 1/2 way around the world do a remix with a Jamaican and then they tell me that is the official song of a T&T event.

« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2010, 12:23:00 PM »
It's not the least bit uncommon to have the official World Cup song done by an artist who is not from the host country.

France 1998 - Ricky Martin (Puerto Rican)
Japan/Korea 2002 - Anastacia (American)
Germany 2006 - Il Divo Quartet (Spanish, Swiss, American, French)

I really don't see what all the complaining's about.

« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2010, 12:37:13 PM »
It's not the least bit uncommon to have the official World Cup song done by an artist who is not from the host country.

France 1998 - Ricky Martin (Puerto Rican)
Japan/Korea 2002 - Anastacia (American)
Germany 2006 - Il Divo Quartet (Spanish, Swiss, American, French)

I really don't see what all the complaining's about.

For some countries, music is closely identified with that country and the culture.

« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2010, 12:59:29 PM »

not surprising since soca is essentially african music exported to the caribbean.

yeah people have it back to front...dat eh sounding like soca...soca does sound like that!

« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2010, 01:07:56 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTJSt4wP2ME
English version. Big tune.

That world cup song is a remix of a K'naan song completely unrelated to football...(which is actually alot better than the World Cup version)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iC8V8S_REhk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iC8V8S_REhk</a>

« Last Edit: May 24, 2010, 01:10:04 PM by kicker »

« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2010, 02:47:15 AM »
Here is Brazil's official song for the 2010 World Cup:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/5xuRWYeZShw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/5xuRWYeZShw</a>

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2010, 03:37:16 AM »
Shakira at the World Cup opening ceremony. Waka waka, baby!  ;D

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4O5zxyQ8lwM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4O5zxyQ8lwM</a>

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2010, 06:45:11 AM »
HER HIPS DONT LIE

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2010, 08:02:32 AM »

tough crowd.

ENT

Now hear it 4 d 1st time on tv6 I like it.

« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2010, 02:45:24 PM »

He used 2 say it after he told a joke.

« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2010, 06:08:47 PM »

I taught dat was d official song

« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2010, 06:12:39 PM »
I thought so too
but
"The song, Wavin Flag, was chosen as Coca-Cola's promotional anthem for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, to be held in South Africa."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wavin'_Flag
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2010, 07:54:30 PM »
I thought so too
but
"The song, Wavin Flag, was chosen as Coca-Cola's promotional anthem for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, to be held in South Africa."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wavin'_Flag

Coca Cola Rule so c y we were convinced.

« Reply #26 on: July 22, 2010, 08:09:31 PM »
http://www.mediafire.com/?iqdmwmjzng2

K'naan's Wavin' Flag - Machel Montano mix with DJ Power

« Reply #27 on: July 22, 2010, 08:24:43 PM »
I only just realised that Coca Cola and Pepsi both had promotional themes that were rivalling the official theme for airplay...wow

I say Coca Cola won: I loved Knaan's song. Heard Kes d Band do a socaish version of it that was really good, and started wondering if we had any songs out there that would make a great world cup theme if we were hosting the Cup tomorrow ("fighter" doesn't count - too team specific)

ps Zeppo wasn't Toni Braxton with Il Divo in 06?
I didn't even realise there was a theme song in 2002 - don't really like Anastasia anyway

« Reply #28 on: July 23, 2010, 02:59:39 PM »
Apparently dis is de song she sample it from

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ibqtKBpSQ3s</a>

Both songs are good. But I would lean more to Waka Waka because of rhytm and I guess culture. Imagine coming thru Green Corner Jouvert Mornin' jamming this original version of Waka Waka.

« Reply #29 on: July 23, 2010, 03:29:59 PM »
I only just realised that Coca Cola and Pepsi both had promotional themes that were rivalling the official theme for airplay...wow

I say Coca Cola won: I loved Knaan's song. Heard Kes d Band do a socaish version of it that was really good, and started wondering if we had any songs out there that would make a great world cup theme if we were hosting the Cup tomorrow ("fighter" doesn't count - too team specific)

ps Zeppo wasn't Toni Braxton with Il Divo in 06?
I didn't even realise there was a theme song in 2002 - don't really like Anastasia anyway

Hot Hot Hot was the theme in the '86 cup. Socaish enough? Perhaps just not Trini enough  ;D
see above for Machel's mix of knaan's song.