Where is your vote going?

PNM
UNC Partnership
NNV
Not sure
Not voting - all jokers
Not voting - dont care

Author Topic: T&T General Elections Thread  (Read 168573 times)

Offline Trinione

T&T General Elections Thread
« on: May 13, 2010, 07:03:13 PM »
10 days to go... how everyone voting??   ???
« Last Edit: May 22, 2010, 07:53:42 PM by Trinione »

Re: How yuh voting?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2010, 03:59:12 AM »
it had a poll floating somewhere around here a few weeks ago

Offline Trinione

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2010, 06:51:08 PM »
not voting is comfortably in the lead... it would be nice if that meant we could remove all of dem and start again with a new bunch.

Offline bill

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2010, 06:29:48 PM »
Well people, this elections looking like it might be close. Go out and vote if yuh voting and remember the in depth policies of both parties in the booth.... namely "we will rise" and "we love you so we care for you".
I for one voting for de best party.

T&T General Elections Thread
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2014, 09:40:17 AM »
Rowley: PNM to roll out Vision 2030 policy in two weeks
By Anna Ramdass (T&T Express)
Story Created: Oct 26, 2014 at 10:39 PM ECT

In two weeks time the People’s National Movement (PNM) will share its policy document “Vision 2030” on the way forward for this country, political leader Dr Keith Rowley has said.

He was speaking at the PNM’s 45th annual convention at the Hyatt Regency hotel, Wrightson Road, Port of Spain yesterday where hundreds of party delegates attended to discuss policies as they relate to the various sectors in the country such as national security, health, education, etc.

Rowley said the question has been asked as to what are the PNM’s policies and plans.

He said history has shown that the PNM has always been prepared for government and to conduct the business of the State.

Rowley said you would never find a PNM government coming into office and Ministers are doing their own thing, creating policy ‘’on the hoof” and a Prime Minister having to reshuffle the Cabinet every nine months because of incompetence.

He said as the country moves forward to general elections 2015, the PNM can state with confidence that it knows what to do to improve the lives of the people of the country.

Rowley said the PNM was not just about contesting and winning elections or bad mouthing their opponents, “we are about doing what’s best for Trinidad and Tobago and that’s why we stayed the course”.

He said the PNM will not run from problems but will address them head on.

Crime, he said, will always remain the number one priority of any government.

Noting the over 300 murder rate for the year so far, Rowley said the people of this nation need to feel secure and the PNM is committed to “rolling back crime”.

He said a PNM government will also ensure a stable economy and work at establishing a revenue authority.

He said revenue collection is important as these monies are used for the development of the country.

Rowley added that a PNM government will also address the traffic woes as he noted that the former PNM government had created a plan for a mass transportation system while another government rejected it.

“The PNM’s approach is to identify the problem, identify workable solutions, put our shoulder to the wheel and get the job done,” said Rowley.

“The next PNM government will make some fundamental changes to Trinidad and Tobago’s governance,” he added as he reiterated that the Local Government Ministry would be abolished and the system would be re-organised to allow the delivery of goods and services to the local level thereby giving more autonomy and responsibility to the local bodies.

Rowley said the PNM will also work on breaking the cycle that exists where pupils from the primary school level enter into the secondary school system and there are a lot of drop outs.

He said there is also a “frustration index” that some say is directly related to the supply of criminal elements in the country.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2020, 11:15:12 AM by Flex »

PNM promises Constitutional reform
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2014, 10:01:23 AM »
PNM promises Constitutional reform
Gail Alexander (T&T Guardian)
Published: Monday, October 27, 2014

Constitutional reform will be on the cards if a PNM government  implements the one man-one vote system at national level “as we must,” Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley signalled yesterday. Rowley hinted at this during yesterday’s People’s National Movement (PNM) delegate convention at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain. At the meeting delegates fine-tuned the Manning Vision 2020 plan for PNM’s Vision 2030 package. Decisions from discussions will form the basis of PNM’s 2015 manifesto.

The opposition party’s policy may  be ready in two weeks. Rowley said Vision 2030 will focus on “the road ahead” since PNM will not look back after it is elected to government. He said the next PNM government will make fundamental changes to delivery. He said people liked the one-man one-vote system the PNM used in its May internal election and if the party has to do it at national level “as we must”—since some adjustment were needed—constitutional reform might be involved.

Saying revenue collection is very important, Rowley reiterated PNM’s Revenue Authority plan and expressed concern about mass transportation problems. He also reiterated plans to abolish the Local Government Ministry giving more responsibility to local government bodies and to focus more on primary schools and rolling back crime. Rowley said “pretenders” weren’t giving the truth and the real story on crime is more than the figures “out there.” “The criminal element has too much room to manoeuvre,” he said.

Noting that the Eric Williams’ PNM involved what he said were captains of industry, the professional class, barefoot people, others from St Patrick, Caroni and other areas, Rowley said today’s PNM, adding youths and experienced people, was getting close to its “original moorings as it was in 1956.” He said a vision wouldn’t always go to plan, but when things went wrong, one addressed it, built and stayed the course. He said the PNM hadn’t been the perfect opposition but was vibrant. Rowley said some had felt the PP would last one or two years only, but it seemed likely to last five years. He said no other party has done what PNM did with yesterday’s delegate planning deliberations. PNM chairman Franklin Khan asked delegates to take into consideration T&T attitudes on issues including dependency, lack of self reliance, productivity, space and environmental protection.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 10:04:09 AM by Socapro »

Rowley: Govt has collapsed on job
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2014, 10:32:12 AM »
Rowley: Govt has collapsed on job
Gail Alexander (T&T Guardian)
Published: Sunday, October 26, 2014

The Government has collapsed on the job and abandoned the Parliament which is not functioning and areas of accountability there are not being used, Opposition Leader Keith Rowley said yesterday.  He made the point to reporters following the first day of the People’s National Movement’s convention at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain. The delegate meeting was held to discuss and make recommendations for the opposition party’s Vision 2030 document. This will be the basis of its 2015 general election manifesto. Expressing concern about the non-resumption of Parliament after a break over the last three weeks, Rowley said Government had changed strategy and was “now setting out to brainwash the population.” “The Prime Minister is speaking about herself, what a wonderful Prime Minister she is, how democratic she is and how participatory she is and they’re spending hundreds of millions of dollars on their ‘education campaign’ in T&T. You can’t turn on a television without the Government’s agents being in your face telling you about the Government ‘working for you’ and at the same time the government has abandoned the Parliament.”

Rowley added: “So I want to draw to the population’s attention that the Parliament isn’t functioning. The Government is absent from the job and areas of accountability aren’t being utilised (such as) the question time for the Prime Minister and the Opposition’s Private Members Day—we haven’t had that. And the Government is just happy to go along as if these were not part of our expectations,
“This Government has made it clear, it doesn’t pay attention to good order and all the Opposition can do, is draw to your attention that the Government has collapsed on the job. These are matters the population will have to take into account when you deal with your managers who are now mismanaging our affairs,”

Commenting on the impasse between Government and Highway Reroute Movement leader Dr Wayne Kublalsingh, Rowley said this was “an on-going tragi-comedy between the Prime Minister and persons they mislead. They’ve hoisted themselves on their own petard.” “The tragedy of this, whatever it ends up as—the expense to the state and cost to taxpayers—this is as a result of persons…members of the Government, when they were in opposition, they took irrational and misleading objection to some elements of national development.” Rowley said the PNM was amazed  to see Government spokespersons “paying money to tell the population what wonderful benefits will come to the people of the areas by passage of a highway.”

Rowley said these were the same people who, while in opposition, had organised pressure groups to prevent  highway creation in that part of T&T by the PNM since they felt it would have served the PNM politically. “They had no difficulty organising resistance and obstruction then. Now they’ve created this monster, they’re now telling the population what wonderful benefits will come from a highway there now,” he said. Rowley also said it would not matter when Government’s procurement legislation returned to the Parliament (for final deliberations) since Government had “carefully ensured they did all their contract misconduct outside the existence of the remit of the new bill. If they pass it tomorrow, it means all the contracts they’ve mishandled and handled, won’t be subject to the provisions of this law, so it doesn’t matter if they pass it or not.”

Addressing delegates after deliberations by seven groups on various policy issues for governance, Rowley dismissed a social media caption about him and “big shots” at the Hyatt. He said the party would take all recommendations expressed yesterday to the general membership when the second leg of the convention is held on November 16 at the Queen’s Park Savannah. He said the hierarchy will “tweak, prune and massage” recommendations made yesterday. He said yesterday’s event showed those who felt nothing was happening in the party that things were happening.
After November 16, he said, PNM’s working group would be in a position to produce a work programme for government.

That exercise will dovetail with PNM’s screening sessions. Rowley said PNM held no malice or ill will towards its political opponents  since they, like the PNM, were also offering themselves for service. PNM chairman Franklin Khan said just over 700 delegates attended the event and it was “probably the largest ever PNM delegate convention.” He called for party members to mobilise 10,000 to attend the November 16 event.

Rapid rail over PBR
Discussion on a mass transit system moving above the Priority Bus Route was among issues discussed at yesterday’s delegates’ convention, PNM PRO Faris Al-Rawi said. Also discussed were the movement and circulation of what he deemed the “rapid bus transport system.”  He said delegates sanctioned a feasibility confirmation for the rapid rail system. A federal type of self government for Tobago was also recommended, as well as allowing the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) hands-on authority on port operations and broadening the air and sea bridge.

Al-Rawi said there was heated discussions on local government versus central government, national security, education and infrastructure development out of the 14 policy areas deliberated upon. Delegates were concerned about the need to ensure harmony on roll-out of expenditure from central government to local government and other aspects. National security deliberations included on strengthening the Police Complaints Authority and the appointment process for a police commissioner. A “real” form of diversification for the energy sector was suggested.

Re: T&T 2015 General Elections Thread
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2014, 12:35:26 PM »

Socapro is this going to be a PNM thread or general election thread?  :D

« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2014, 12:42:23 PM »

... or could be bait for socafighter.

« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2014, 02:07:26 PM »

What other party can we really take serious and which also has a good chance of winning the next elections if the people of T&T have woken up and want a future?!
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 02:10:26 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2014, 03:15:57 PM »
this is a pnm thread disguised as an election thread...

please merge this thread if it is not going to be objective and articles pertaining to both parties...

no room for partisan politics in a small nation as ours, just objectivity

« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2014, 03:17:41 PM »

What other party can we really take serious and which also has a good chance of winning the next elections if the people of T&T have woken up and want a future?!

at least you have an popular vote  'excuse' if the outcome is not as you wish.

« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2014, 06:34:22 PM »
Why don't you lazy fools post stuff from the other political parties and stop complaining. 

Some of you people remind me of folks who are always waiting for handouts and don't do enough for yourselves and then turn around and try to blame the government for your position in life.

« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2014, 06:44:09 PM »
 :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  waiting for handouts - that's rather PNM of you!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Doh worry, the dogs of war monitoring your movements or was that the Guyanese living in gov't housing... nah it was the "stupid" trinbagonians who don't support your point of view (whatever that may be)
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 06:46:57 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2014, 07:40:18 PM »
:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  waiting for handouts - that's rather PNM of you!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Doh worry, the dogs of war monitoring your movements or was that the Guyanese living in gov't housing... nah it was the "stupid" trinbagonians who don't support your point of view (whatever that may be)

But honestly jumbie, this is a free forum. Go ahead and post the alternative views.  Yes we have to follow the forum rules, but post PP, COP, Jack's, Abdullah's  proposals if you or anybody have them. Simple.

« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2014, 07:51:00 PM »

But honestly jumbie, this is a free forum. Go ahead and post the alternative views.  Yes we have to follow the forum rules, but post PP, COP, Jack's, Abdullah's  proposals if you or anybody have them. Simple.

« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2014, 10:01:06 PM »

why should he bro, he not supporting any party, plus why should he post an article on a particular party and be labelled a partisan supporter of that said party... jumbie didn't start an elections thread and plaster it with PNM propaganda in big bold red italics... what happened to posting a neutral article that discusses both sides???

schupsss, that's why the nation is so divided... too much damn ignorance

« Reply #17 on: October 27, 2014, 10:48:42 PM »

why should he bro, he not supporting any party, plus why should he post an article on a particular party and be labelled a partisan supporter of that said party... jumbie didn't start an elections thread and plaster it with PNM propaganda in big bold red italics... what happened to posting a neutral article that discusses both sides???

Contro you can post the PP/UNC propaganda in here too breds. Is one love for our yellow jersey wearing brothers  :)

« Reply #18 on: October 27, 2014, 10:56:09 PM »

Why don't you stop being a cry baby and post stuff to add the balance you are complaining about?

This forum and thread is open to anyone to contribute but I know it will be difficult for lazy fools to contribute anything of substance.

The thread is young and it will be as balanced as we decide to make it. The power is in your hands.

PS: I am not supporting any particular party neither as I am not based in T&T nor have I ever voted for PNM or UNC or any of the other parties. However I do care about the country of my birth and its future.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2014, 11:01:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2014, 08:01:55 AM »

where did I have grievance against what's posted? I'll leave the copy and paste to our friend who has issues with our law enforcement, our military, Guyanese people (gentle way of saying Indian), "stupid" Trinbagonians and let us not forget.. gays.

Like my friend claims to be, I don't support one party or the other. What I do support is a safer Trinidad and Tobago, where the citizens can get the opportunity to enjoy a more rewarding life. Something I'm yet to see any one political party come close to delivering. I dislike people who back democracy, then turn rong and say "well allyuh voted for them". As if it's only those who voted in that party have to deal with the current climate. We as a people never put Trinidad and Tobago first and political affiliations 2nd.

BTW.. ever notice on here that people never claim to back the UNC or any other party beyond the PNM.. as if they have to be apologetic for such.

« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 08:10:55 AM by Jumbie »

« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2014, 09:03:15 AM »

Contro, whether or not you are for a party, that should not matter. We should be mature enough to post any thing, relevant or propaganda, of any political party. This is a news, info and education forum of TT and its diaspora. What is difficult about that? Take of your partisan cap and post the damn thing. Dude, and TT is not the only country that have that kind of issues. We have done better than most. But we must never take things for granted. We must always be vigilante in maintaining harmony in our country.

« Reply #21 on: October 28, 2014, 09:19:33 AM »

Contro you can post the PP/UNC propaganda in here too breds. Is one love for our yellow jersey wearing brothers  :)

exactly what I was talking about... I am not a PP supporter and all of a sudden people jump to that conclusion because I stated to post neutral election info...

If I was a pp supporter or pnm supporter I would post their propaganda, I have no fear of anyone and don't give a damn really what people have to say if I had political affiliations, but that is far from the case...

socapro can post whatever he wants, but start a pnm thread, why start an elections thread in disguise to post pnm propaganda???

« Reply #22 on: October 28, 2014, 09:20:21 AM »

where did I have grievance against what's posted? I'll leave the copy and paste to our friend who has issues with our law enforcement, our military, Guyanese people (gentle way of saying Indian), "stupid" Trinbagonians and let us not forget.. gays.

Like my friend claims to be, I don't support one party or the other. What I do support is a safer Trinidad and Tobago, where the citizens can get the opportunity to enjoy a more rewarding life. Something I'm yet to see any one political party come close to delivering. I dislike people who back democracy, then turn rong and say "well allyuh voted for them". As if it's only those who voted in that party have to deal with the current climate. We as a people never put Trinidad and Tobago first and political affiliations 2nd.

BTW.. ever notice on here that people never claim to back the UNC or any other party beyond the PNM.. as if they have to be apologetic for such.

exactly brother  :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: October 28, 2014, 09:21:53 AM »

I have got Indian relatives son and in fact when my Dad remarried after he split up with my Mum (who migrated to the UK to do nursing and midwifery) he got remarried to a very nice Guyanese East Indian.
Apart from that I have other East Indian relatives as well as Whites and Chinese and many mixed-race relatives in my family. So I have nothing against Guyanese or any other nationality but I am against illegal nationalities of any race who are living in T&T being given housing and land in front of born and bred Trinis.

I also have nothing against Gays just don't agree with the promotion of Gay sex to our children as normal and healthy both via our media and our schools.
Also based on the Bible that most Christians follow I don't believe that God condones Gay marriage.

But continue to do your best to misrepresent my views on issues to fit in with your warped imagination but note it is a rather dumb way to try to seek to have an intelligent argument.

Regards your dotish comments about my copy and paste skills if you had an ounce of intelligence you would realize that we have to post articles from the political parties to this thread giving their views and policies for us to then debate and discuss. That would require most contributors to do a copy and paste of articles reporting on the political parties views and policies so we can then discuss the merits or lack of.

The fact that I need to explain to you something that is so obvious says a lot.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 11:12:01 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #24 on: October 28, 2014, 09:24:14 AM »

Contro, whether or not you are for a party, that should not matter. We should be mature enough to post any thing, relevant or propaganda, of any political party. This is a news, info and education forum of TT and its diaspora. What is difficult about that? Take of your partisan cap and post the damn thing. Dude, and TT is not the only country that have that kind of issues. We have done better than most. But we must never take things for granted. We must always be vigilante in maintaining harmony in our country.

breds, socapro started a neutral thread... post neutral articles first, not a bias opinion... he should just start a pnm thread, ok how about this, since socapro started the thread, ask him to post articles on the PP as well  :D

« Reply #25 on: October 28, 2014, 09:26:30 AM »

Why don't you stop being a cry baby and post stuff to add the balance you are complaining about?

This forum and thread is open to anyone to contribute but I know it will be difficult for lazy fools to contribute anything of substance.

The thread is young and it will be as balanced as we decide to make it. The power is in your hands.

PS: I am not supporting any particular party neither as I am not based in T&T nor have I ever voted for PNM or UNC or any of the other parties. However I do care about the country of my birth and its future.

so pro my brother, post articles about PP as well, since you started an objective and neutral thread to inform the board of the run up to elections...

both jumbie and i and not affiliated to any political parties, so it is irrelevant for us to post anything that is not neutral... since you started the thread post something from both sides.. I think that is fair isn't it? ;)

« Reply #26 on: October 28, 2014, 09:29:03 AM »

so pro my brother, post articles about PP as well, since you started an objective and neutral thread to inform the board of the run up to elections...

both jumbie and i and not affiliated to any political parties, so it is irrelevant for us to post anything that is not neutral... since you started the thread post something from both sides.. I think that is fair isn't it? ;)

I was going to but I've changed my mind now because I don't like being told what to do by lazy complaining people who can easily do what they asking me to do.

PS: I started this thread for everyone to contribute and not just for me to contribute and if you were intelligent you would have worked that out and started to make a positive contribution. I do not feed lazy people as I am not anyone's servant.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 09:41:21 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #27 on: October 28, 2014, 11:27:23 AM »
 :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

"ounce of intelligence" - true to nature, name calling when you're exposed.

Check this.. I'm gay, Indian.. half guyanese and stupid trinbagonian, who have ties with the military and protective services.  I'm the "guy" you have nightmares about! BTW, my family is moving into a beautiful Gov't flat in tarouba this coming weekend.

'intelligent argument"  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl: 

WTF, like I on Ancestry.com!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 12:00:08 PM by Jumbie »

« Reply #28 on: October 28, 2014, 02:08:54 PM »
:rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

"ounce of intelligence" - true to nature, name calling when you're exposed.

Check this.. I'm gay, Indian.. half guyanese and stupid trinbagonian, who have ties with the military and protective services.  I'm the "guy" you have nightmares about! BTW, my family is moving into a beautiful Gov't flat in tarouba this coming weekend.

'intelligent argument"  :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :rotfl: 

WTF, like I on Ancestry.com!  :rotfl:  :rotfl:

Thanks for confirming you have nothing of substance to add to this thread.
You would have been better off refraining from posting to this thread and complaining while making wrong assumptions and instead try to get on with your life which we have no interest in hearing about but such is your mental capacity that I doubt you would ever get the message.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 02:14:48 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #29 on: October 29, 2014, 05:52:34 AM »
if only I paid attention in school I'd know how to cut and paste like a 'pro'