Where is your vote going?

PNM
UNC Partnership
NNV
Not sure
Not voting - all jokers
Not voting - dont care

Author Topic: T&T General Elections Thread  (Read 168568 times)

Re: T&T 2015 General Elections Thread
« Reply #330 on: March 28, 2015, 11:42:11 AM »
So despite the family speaking on the issue Moonilal insist Rowley still have questions to answer. He is playing politics.This is obviously an election tactic being used to prolong this issue for months and months until election day with the hope of tarnishing Rowley image.

« Reply #331 on: March 28, 2015, 01:50:42 PM »
Dana don't you think if these people would go solo they would kill people .

« Reply #332 on: March 29, 2015, 07:17:36 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/WE--WILL-297906161.html

WE WILL SURVIVE
Vasant: Vernella will not be fired; it’s no scandal

By by asha javeed asha.javeed@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 28, 2015 at 9:23 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 28, 2015 at 9:23 PM ECT
Rape statements under the protection of parliamentary privilege and the public outcry which followed it are not enough to remove Minister of State in the Ministry of the People and Social Development Vernella Alleyne-Toppin from her post.

For now, Communications Minister Vasant Bharath says Alleyne-Toppin will retain her portfolio despite a call from former independent senator Martin Daly SC, Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner and the Women’s League of the People’s National Movement (PNM) and others that she be fired.

Bharath told the Sunday Express yesterday the only person who can fire Alleyne-Toppin is Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar yesterday did not respond to texts from the Sunday Express on whether she would accede to the public outcry and fire Alleyne-Toppin.

On Wednesday, Alleyne-Toppin, in her contribution to the no-confidence motion against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley in the Parliament, claimed Rowley was a child of rape and a rapist himself.

On Thursday, Alleyne-Toppin, the Member of Parliament for Tobago East, apologised for her comments about Rowley being a child of rape but called on him to answer questions about a teacher who fathered a child with a pupil in Tobago.

In an exclusive interview with the Express the next day, Roselyn Alleyne, the woman Alleyne-Toppin referred to but did not name in Parliament, said the Tobago East MP’s statements were all lies.

Roselyn Alleyne, the mother of Rowley’s son Garth, further claimed she was offered a bribe to sign an affidavit stating Rowley had raped her.

Bharath denied the claim of bribery.

Questioned yesterday whether he thought the Government could survive the fallout from the statements so close to a general election, Bharath answered: “We can survive this. I don’t think it’s a scandal. The remarks are regrettable and many people are appalled. But I am sure we will be judged on our track record of performance in office,” he said.

On Friday, Persad-Bissessar said while she condemned the statements made, she had also accepted Alleyne-Toppin’s apology.

Persad-Bissessar was not in the Parliament Chamber during Alleyne-Toppin’s contribution.

“I would like to add my voice to the voices of concern and condemnation for parts of the statement that the honourable minister made and so I want to make that point up front,” she said.

Yesterday, Warner issued a statement, which said Persad-Bissessar’s reluctance to fire Alleyne-Toppin “demonstrated a callous lack of compassion and sensitivity towards the victims of sexual abuse in her speech to the Parliament on Wednesday”.

He described Alleyne-Toppin’s contribution as “planned, deliberate and calculated”.

He said: “Without even waiting for the tidal wave of condemnation and outrage at Alleyne-Toppin’s statement triggered, Persad-Bissessar who professes to be a champion of women and the mother and grandmother of the nation, ought to have revoked Alleyne-Toppin’s appointment to the Ministry of the People and Social Development immediately, having already failed to intervene to stop Alleyne-Toppin from making her disgusting statements in the first place.

“The Prime Minister’s position on the matter is strictly and completely informed by political expedience since she believes that she cannot afford to lose another African person from her Government – yet alone a Tobagonian female; albeit that Alleyne-Toppin is now being described as the biggest disgrace to the people of Tobago.”

But Secretary General of the Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha, Sat Maharaj, says Alleyne-Toppin is being pilloried and that the behaviour meted out to Rowley in Parliament was one he invited when he made reference to the Prime Minister recently.

At a PNM political meeting in Brazil Village, Rowley made a statement: “She could jump high, she could jump low, she could drink this, she could drink that, she could bark at meh dog, I go ignore she cat,” Rowley said in reference to Persad-Bissessar.

Persad-Bissessar had condemned Rowley’s comments and labelled it is an attack on every woman in the country.

Maharaj defended Alleyne-Toppin: “Why should she be fired? (Rowley) is a public person and why are we now hearing that he has a son who is forty-something years old? This was whispered for years now and she just confirmed it,” he said.

Asked whether he felt parliamentary privilege was abused to attack Rowley, Maharaj observed: “It was under parliamentary privilege that Rowley went and read out supposed e-mails which maligned the Prime Minister and members of her Cabinet.”

Leader of Government Business Dr Roodal Moonilal has also defended Alleyne-Toppin: “I think people are trying to kill the messenger and not looking at the important questions being raised. Dr Rowley has questions to answer.”

Congress of the People Leader Prakash Ramadhar, Public Administration Minister Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan and Finance Minister Larry Howai all objected to parts of Alleyne-Toppin’s speech but said there were questions for Rowley to answer.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #333 on: March 29, 2015, 09:59:09 AM »
http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/PM-Supporters-297567081.html?m=y&smobile=y

I am now starting to understand how the current government won the last elections in 2010. A lot of knuckleheads now reside in T&T who don't have much of a political education and who will give their votes for crumbs or a yellow t-shirt.

The knucklehead, sycophantic, diehard party faithful  have always been there and will always be...but they weren't the ones who decided the outcome of the last election and they wouldn't decide the outcome of the next election either. It's the younger, educated masses who see beyond party colours and vote on the issues ....they will decide the outcome. However, they aren't the ones who are being pandered to, they aren't the ones being addressed by the political parties....but they are the ones who will have the biggest impact come elction day.

« Reply #334 on: March 30, 2015, 05:41:42 AM »
Very informative speech from opposition leader Dr. Rowley.
This is the sort of information the public wants to hear on the election campaign platforms rather than nonsense we have been hearing from the UNC recently to distract the public from the real issues at hand to do with good governance.

Dr. Keith Rowley Speech St Joseph March 24th 2015
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/F0zBDpEZRAg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/F0zBDpEZRAg</a>

« Reply #335 on: March 30, 2015, 08:14:19 AM »
Now listen to our PM on one of her distractive election campaign Monday Night Fo-rums and not really dealing with the serious issues facing the country to do with good governance.

PM Kamla Persad-Bissessar, MNF Debe Junction (Mar 23, 2015)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/q7FB1Xpjwhk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/q7FB1Xpjwhk</a>
NB: The video plays so don't be misled by the blank screen before pressing play.

Things are warming up but I suspect that our PM will not give us an election date until all her party's voter padding measures are soundly in place.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2015, 09:06:44 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #336 on: March 30, 2015, 08:48:44 AM »
People here believe that politics in T&T are different than so called first world countries. But it's just the same elsewhere. People have the same complaints and criticisms. Right or wrong, politics is politics worldwide. As social media evolves, we become more informed than previous generations. We are more aware, more vocal, but in reality, it's always been this way. This is what the British electorate is seeing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbLGG5UGEKw

« Reply #337 on: March 30, 2015, 07:50:32 PM »

KAMLA PROMISES SECONDARY SCHOOL FOR BAPTISTS  :)

« Reply #338 on: March 30, 2015, 08:21:41 PM »

KAMLA PROMISES SECONDARY SCHOOL FOR BAPTISTS  :)

She believes that most Afro-Trinidadians are dotish and are for sale for these elections.

We will eventually see if she is correct in her assertions or not.

« Reply #339 on: March 31, 2015, 08:04:34 AM »
Baptist lash for PNM
Archbishop Burke compares Opposition to abusive husband who did nothing for her faith

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 30, 2015 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 31, 2015 at 9:37 AM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/baptist-lash-FOR-PNM-298082441.html

Comparing the People’s National Movement (PNM) to an abusive husband, Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke yesterday urged members of the Spiritual Baptist faith to vote for the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership and embrace the love shown to them by the Prime Minister.

Gray-Burke, who is sometimes appointed by Government to act as a temporary senator, was speaking at Spiritual Shouter Baptist Liberation Day holiday celebrations at the Empowerment Hall, Maloney.

The pulpit seemed transformed into a political platform, with Burke telling fellow Baptists the PNM, since the days of Dr Eric Williams, never gave the Baptist faith anything.

She heaped praise on former prime minister Basdeo Panday who, under a United National Congress (UNC) government, gave the Baptists the land to build their school.

She noted it was Persad-Bissessar who, as former education minister, turned the sod at the site and the Baptists had to wait until she became Prime Minister of this country for the promise of the school to be made a reality.

She said the PNM never built the school although a million dollars was left by the former UNC government for the school’s construction.

“If we have a husband and we are in an abusive situation, when he work, he gone to the rum shop, drink his rum, he come and he beat me and beat the children, licks like peas, won’t you not get out of that abusive situation?” asked Gray-Burke as the crowd shouted, “Yes!”.

“What have they done for us? Would we go back to that abusive sit­uation?” asked Gray-Burke.

“I’m calling on you all to be grate­ful...grateful to the UNC Partnership,” she continued.

Gray-Burke said Persad-Bissessar has shown nothing but love to the Baptist people and will do more.

“We have a mother here, a grandmother here, which is our Prime Minister, which can do all of this.

Will you like to be placed in those dark days again?” she asked.

She said the PNM has not been a friend to the Baptists. “Just under the PNM in 2003, one Aaron from Arima was arrested...he was arres­ted so don’t figure you all clear, the holiday give us some clout but I want to tell you all, please, study what you doing,” she said.

Gray-Burke said in 1956 when Dr Eric Williams came into power, he lasted there for all the years and he never acknowledged the Baptists.

She said when the Baptists marked 25 years, they marched from Calvary Hill to Woodfrod Square, and then Williams promised a holiday which he and the PNM never gave.

She said she knows there were Baptists who have the PNM in their hearts, but she urged them to “love with sense”.

“My Prime Minister has shown love to us,” said Gray-Burke, disclo­sing last Thursday, Persad-Bissessar announced the Baptists will be on the table of presidents—which meant every event that happens, the Baptists must be invited.

Gray-Burke said she has always had a “slot” so when visiting digni­taries came to this country such as Winnie Mandela, she was able to greet them.

She said no other Baptist can go to these events but now, the Baptists have their own slot.

Gray-Burke further urged the congregation to “not be fooled by all those radio programmes...hold fast for what we have; we have a mother, a grandmother, somebody who is warm, somebody who is loving, who is able and she will chart our way,” said Gray-Burke, adding the Prime Minister will deliver the secondary school and trade school to the Baptists.

“I want to tell you all, love this lady. Don’t study what no media say,” said Gray-Burke.

« Reply #340 on: March 31, 2015, 09:10:05 AM »
Baptist lash for PNM
Archbishop Burke compares Opposition to abusive husband who did nothing for her faith

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 30, 2015 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 31, 2015 at 9:37 AM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/baptist-lash-FOR-PNM-298082441.html

Comparing the People’s National Movement (PNM) to an abusive husband, Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke yesterday urged members of the Spiritual Baptist faith to vote for the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership and embrace the love shown to them by the Prime Minister.

Gray-Burke, who is sometimes appointed by Government to act as a temporary senator, was speaking at Spiritual Shouter Baptist Liberation Day holiday celebrations at the Empowerment Hall, Maloney.

The pulpit seemed transformed into a political platform, with Burke telling fellow Baptists the PNM, since the days of Dr Eric Williams, never gave the Baptist faith anything.

She heaped praise on former prime minister Basdeo Panday who, under a United National Congress (UNC) government, gave the Baptists the land to build their school.

She noted it was Persad-Bissessar who, as former education minister, turned the sod at the site and the Baptists had to wait until she became Prime Minister of this country for the promise of the school to be made a reality.

She said the PNM never built the school although a million dollars was left by the former UNC government for the school’s construction.

“If we have a husband and we are in an abusive situation, when he work, he gone to the rum shop, drink his rum, he come and he beat me and beat the children, licks like peas, won’t you not get out of that abusive situation?” asked Gray-Burke as the crowd shouted, “Yes!”.

“What have they done for us? Would we go back to that abusive sit­uation?” asked Gray-Burke.

“I’m calling on you all to be grate­ful...grateful to the UNC Partnership,” she continued.

Gray-Burke said Persad-Bissessar has shown nothing but love to the Baptist people and will do more.

“We have a mother here, a grandmother here, which is our Prime Minister, which can do all of this.

Will you like to be placed in those dark days again?” she asked.

She said the PNM has not been a friend to the Baptists. “Just under the PNM in 2003, one Aaron from Arima was arrested...he was arres­ted so don’t figure you all clear, the holiday give us some clout but I want to tell you all, please, study what you doing,” she said.

Gray-Burke said in 1956 when Dr Eric Williams came into power, he lasted there for all the years and he never acknowledged the Baptists.

She said when the Baptists marked 25 years, they marched from Calvary Hill to Woodfrod Square, and then Williams promised a holiday which he and the PNM never gave.

She said she knows there were Baptists who have the PNM in their hearts, but she urged them to “love with sense”.

“My Prime Minister has shown love to us,” said Gray-Burke, disclo­sing last Thursday, Persad-Bissessar announced the Baptists will be on the table of presidents—which meant every event that happens, the Baptists must be invited.

Gray-Burke said she has always had a “slot” so when visiting digni­taries came to this country such as Winnie Mandela, she was able to greet them.

She said no other Baptist can go to these events but now, the Baptists have their own slot.

Gray-Burke further urged the congregation to “not be fooled by all those radio programmes...hold fast for what we have; we have a mother, a grandmother, somebody who is warm, somebody who is loving, who is able and she will chart our way,” said Gray-Burke, adding the Prime Minister will deliver the secondary school and trade school to the Baptists.

“I want to tell you all, love this lady. Don’t study what no media say,” said Gray-Burke.

Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke is not a true Spiritual Shouter Baptist as no true Spiritual Shouter Baptist would advocate voting for such a corrupt government that actually has a long term racist agenda against Africa people in T&T that is quite obvious.

Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke is a typical Negro house slave and yes they still exist as is evident in her case.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 12:55:39 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #341 on: March 31, 2015, 10:44:45 AM »
She is correct that they never built any baptist schools. But they built plenty schools for citizens of Trinbago. Muslims, Hindus and Catholics built schools. These communities raised funds to build their schools. Yes they got assistance thru the Concordat. Why the Baptist community did not raise funds to build schools. Was their discrimination against Baptist long ago. Yes. Even Afro-Trinis had their own issues with the faith. But I will not come down on the Archbishop. It is what it is. If she has no love for PNM, there nothing they can do about that. Let she and the Baptist vote where they feel they will get "more love". That is their RIGHT.

« Reply #342 on: March 31, 2015, 01:06:33 PM »
She is correct that they never built any baptist schools. But they built plenty schools for citizens of Trinbago. Muslims, Hindus and Catholics built schools. These communities raised funds to build their schools. Yes they got assistance thru the Concordat. Why the Baptist community did not raise funds to build schools. Was their discrimination against Baptist long ago. Yes. Even Afro-Trinis had their own issues with the faith. But I will not come down on the Archbishop. It is what it is. If she has no love for PNM, there nothing they can do about that. Let she and the Baptist vote where they feel they will get "more love". That is their RIGHT.

This is the same PPG government who has been stopping Baptists via the CDA from doing any Baptisms in their traditions stomping grounds of Chaguaramas Bay and this fake Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke who is supposed to be fighting for the interest of Spiritual Shouter Baptists has not had a word to say on the issue.

She has obvious been bought by the PPG and is looking after her own personal interest rather than the interest of true followers of the Spiritual Shouter Baptist faith.
Woman is a total disappointment to all true followers of the faith, she is a shameless sellout.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2015, 01:12:39 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #343 on: March 31, 2015, 01:53:25 PM »
People here believe that politics in T&T are different than so called first world countries. But it's just the same elsewhere. People have the same complaints and criticisms. Right or wrong, politics is politics worldwide. As social media evolves, we become more informed than previous generations. We are more aware, more vocal, but in reality, it's always been this way. This is what the British electorate is seeing:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbLGG5UGEKw

What happened last Wednesday would never happen at the House of Commons. So it way different.

« Reply #344 on: March 31, 2015, 07:17:24 PM »

Baptists disagree with Barbara Burke

‘Members can vote how they want’

By Michelle Loubon

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Baptists-disagree-with-Barbara-Burke-298235481.html

“I will not be held to ransom.”

Patriarch Stephen Julien, Head of the National Congress of Incorporated Spiritual Baptists/Spiritual Leader at Isaiah Temple, Preysal, Couva, and archbishop of Mt Zion Independent Spiritual Baptist Churches of Trinidad and Tobago, Church Street, Diamond Village, San Fernando, made this comment in response to Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke’s call for the Baptist community to re-elect Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

On Monday, during Spiritual Shouter Baptist Liberation Day holiday celebrations at the Empowerment Hall, Maloney, Gray-Burke urged members of the faith to vote for Persad-Bissessar and embrace the love shown to them by her.

In a telephone interview yesterday, Julien added: “I never encourage them. The members are free to vote as they want. I am not a politician. Everybody is free to vote according to their conscience. That is Burke’s opinion. I cannot fight her for her viewpoint. Not because a government has done something for me means, I am going to tell everybody to vote for them. It is up to the leaders and congregation to vote for whoever they feel is best equipped to rule the country. I might vote for PNM or UNC. But I am working with God.”

An elder who claimed she was speaking on behalf of three churches, in Chase Village, Chaguanas, said: “Getting a school is fine. But sticking with her is not my kettle of fish. In my view, the government is there to work for the people. They have a responsibility to make us happy and comfortable. But to say we have to stick with her, I think it is a “no...no.” Burke and people who are in her inner circle may be benefiting. But the majority of us are not.”

The religious elder also went on to explain that when Persad-Bissessar promised the churches a grant, they proceeded to sign up. They said they had also approached former minister of the People and Social Development Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh. She said: “We begged Glenn. But yet no one was assisting us.”

Deacon Edwin Pantin, Mt Bethel Spiritual Baptist, Church, Carapichaima, said: “We will accept the school. I don’t agree with Burke. I don’t agree with it. They would say anything to get what they want no problem. But they can’t hold me to ransom.”

Rev Hazel Ann Gibbs de Peza/Assistant Prof of the University of Trinidad and Tobago and Herman Parris Spiritual Baptist Southland School of Theology said: “I will not agree with Burke. The religious community cannot be bought with gifts. The first school was given to Burke. Persad-Bissessar did not give it to the community. If she is giving her a second school, she is not giving it to the Spiritual Baptist community.”

She also said the Spiritual Baptists could exercise their franchise as they saw fit. She said: “Persad-Bissessar making a promise to them does not have an impact on them exercising their franchise. Burke cannot call upon the faith to act as a political unit. We will not accept that. We don’t deny the PNM did not help. That is the modus operandi of politicians. We will not allow the promise of a secondary school to influence our decision.”

On the flip side, Bishop Roland Gulston, Angel Michael Healing Tabernacle/Hostel for Youths, Egypt Extension, Chaguanas, said: “We support anything positive for the nation’s children because right now, the country is in turmoil. Mostly black children are getting killed. We want to support Persad-Bissessar in every way. We want to support something positive.”

« Reply #345 on: April 04, 2015, 07:35:19 PM »

All ah we is one family  :)

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/-OLD-FRIENDS-298689001.html

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, left, greets former prime minister Basdeo Panday, while his wife Oma Panday looks on, during the ‘Celebration and Thanksgiving’ for the life of the late entrepreneur Robert Theophilus Yorke, at Holy Trinity Cathedral, Port of Spain, yesterday. See Page 11. –Photo: ISHMAEL SALANDY

« Reply #346 on: April 10, 2015, 12:38:34 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/l15RkIO_tIA#t=47" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/l15RkIO_tIA#t=47</a>

« Reply #347 on: April 10, 2015, 09:23:39 PM »
Check this overhead metro in Hyderabad. IF PNM was to get back in power they could consult with the Hyderabadese.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=459134&page=597

Jack Warner launches Warner TV
« Reply #348 on: April 14, 2015, 02:47:56 PM »
Jack Warner launches Warner TV to promote his IPL party's 2015 general elections campaign.

Here is the link: http://www.warnertv.net/

« Reply #349 on: April 16, 2015, 12:47:15 PM »

Rowley outlines plans for T&T to energy execs

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-04-16/rowley-outlines-plans-tt-energy-execs

In outlining his plans should he become the next Prime Minister of T&T, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says he will strengthen diplomatic relations with Caricom and the international community so as to expand T&T's energy industry. Speaking on his intentions for the challenged energy sector at the Energy Chamber’s conference at Cara Suites Hotel and Conference Centre yesterday, Rowley promised to open new doors for both state and private sector companies with the signing of several Memorandums of Understanding (MOU).

Special focus will be placed on the United States, United Kingdom, Venezuela, Ghana, Germany, China, Saudi Arabia, India and Caricom members. He hinted at seeking a possible MOU with the Barbados government for offshore hydrocarbon exploration with T&T being a processing market. “We expect from a PNM standpoint to be the next government of Trinidad and Tobago and I commit very early to lead the requisite delegations to Ghana, in particular, where we lost some significant opportunities; Suriname, Guyana and Barbados to ensure we get those opportunities.

Especially in Suriname, Guyana and Barbados, I am going to make sure that we offer them a platform where we can work together so when they do put out the energy that we have now, Trinidad and Tobago can play a significant role in it, from use of our technical expertise,” Rowley said.

He added, “With the advent of shale gas and the impact it will have on the global energy sector, the discovery of substantial natural gas reserves in Africa—Tanzania, over 60 tcf, Mozambique over 150 tcf—the development of new technologies that will allow natural gas to become the feedstock for products traditionally associated with oil such as transportation fuels, including diesel and gasoline [and] the plastic industry, Trinidad and Tobago may be presented an opportunity to increase its role in the global energy industry.

One of his challenges will be the remodelling of major state companies such as the National Gas Company and Petrotrin, which he said had spent substantial funds outside their core business that should have been used on investment programmes. He said key roles would be assigned to those companies in expanding the sector.

He also hinted at a human resource shake-up, saying that his government would put the best people to head state companies, while the Ministry of Energy and Energy Affairs would be staffed with experienced and qualified professionals.

« Reply #350 on: April 17, 2015, 05:33:21 AM »
Not sure about Caricom..and I thinking in terms of Petrocaribe. In fact..at the recently held summit of the Americas..Jamaica signed a LNG contract with USA...while our PM was right there. Not that I saying that efforts probably werent made (while it wouldnt surprise me) Caricom seems to prefer to pay more than they could because they expect us to give them it for next to nothing.

Expertise to head companies should be expected. Fairness too. The folly of stopping several Petrotrin projects like the GTL plant and others for political expediency is just one reason Petrotrin in the state it in. I've also been reliably informed that out of an employee pool of approximately 5500, approximately 1800 are in the Human Resources department. Which certainly isnt feasible.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #351 on: April 19, 2015, 01:42:49 PM »
^^ Good points Bourbon especially so many employees in the HR department being not feasible.

« Reply #352 on: April 19, 2015, 01:47:02 PM »
http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/Rowley-Addresses-PNM-Candidates-8998---300590641.html

Rowley Addresses PNM Candidates

We already know who most of the People's National Movement's candidates for the upcoming general election are and today they got to mingle with each other, while being addressed by the man who'll be leading them into the upcoming election battle.

« Reply #353 on: April 19, 2015, 10:39:20 PM »
Somebody or so e group has done a splendid job in creating a "Tribal Political War" in TnT . Ne re before have I seen such stupidity and blatant disharmony. Look at which political parties unified to form the Coalition government!

Look at the ethnic divide among the parties on the outside fighting among themselves - which ethnicity is most represented by those parties? Now we have another splintered group the AOI?  All this would do is strengthen the PP-

There appears to be internal battles in the PNM- Mr. Row leh will have a heck of a time to unify the loose fragments led by Beckles in the Esat,Amoryin the west and all the inner fighting by those who got rejected in the screening!

This does not bode well- ILP AOI - not to mention trade union and NJAR all these parties fighting for ah bone and PP laughing - keep these people divided and yuh know what - they back on top! Never seen so much chupid people falling for the politricksters and the rhetoric of this government- people getting used people getting bought out people just like clowns partying laughing and  dancing waving hands in the air yet so seemingly oblivious of what is going on around them.
People wake up and realize how divided we have become and the conquerors sitting back and taking it all in!

« Reply #354 on: May 04, 2015, 07:42:18 AM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/_QDLeyuVwGM&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/_QDLeyuVwGM&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>

« Reply #355 on: May 04, 2015, 09:20:44 AM »
politics in TT is a joke... :D

them men does be drinking and liming with one another outside parliament... taking people for fools who really feel there is tension...

there is zero tension... that's why it is called political theater

« Reply #356 on: May 04, 2015, 10:10:12 AM »

them men does be drinking and liming with one another outside parliament... taking people for fools who really feel there is tension...

So if you were to join a political party or form your own, you will  not talk to  or attend functions where the opposition is attending. At some point you have to talk with one another on non-political issues. Kama gave Rowley a cupcake the other day at some function. You mean to tell me Rowley should have refused it and say he watching he diet?

« Reply #357 on: May 04, 2015, 11:07:58 AM »

So if you were to join a political party or form your own, you will  not talk to  or attend functions where the opposition is attending. At some point you have to talk with one another on non-political issues. Kama gave Rowley a cupcake the other day at some function. You mean to tell me Rowley should have refused it and say he watching he diet?
Well the truth is Rowley give the cupcake to a child after she left the room  :)... But on a serious note, Contro talking sh!t. Of course there is tension and real tension too. Yuh doh talk bout people being rapists and how dey born on a cool head. It have real stuff riding on an election, from ultimate power to mad money, so you cah say it have 'zero tension', please!!

« Reply #358 on: May 04, 2015, 01:02:04 PM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Duke-launches-campaign-for-Tobago-East-302366691.html

Duke launches campaign for Tobago East
By Elizabeth Williams
Story Created: May 3, 2015 at 9:29 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 3, 2015 at 9:29 PM ECT
Roxborough

Public Services Association (PSA) president Watson Duke officially launched his candidacy for Tobago East yesterday in his hometown, Roxborough.
He said he will not resign his post as PSA president, as a conflict of interest does not arise. Duke’s launch took place in the vicinity of Pirate’s Boat Yard.
Duke also said once he wins Tobago East, he intends to start a political party.
Executive members of the PSA were there to support him and he also had the support of his 81-year-old father, Wadsworth Duke, who stood at his side.
“There is nothing in the Constitution to suggest or advise on anyone resigning from their position because they are seeking to represent a bigger community,” Duke said.
Duke said his campaigning for Tobago East is one about serving the people, similar to his PSA post. He knocked previous representative of the People’s National Movement (PNM) Eudine Job-Davis and sitting MP Vernella Alleyne-Toppin for what he termed a lack of service to the people of Tobago East.
He then served this warning on the PNM: “I want London to take notice that we come to take control, and we taking control of Tobago East.”
Duke said his first order of business, once elected winner of the Tobago East seat, will be internal self-government for the people of Tobago. He said he was called by God to serve.
“We intend to get internal self-government one year after election. It will not be something we will sit and wait on. We are going to take it.”
Duke said PSA funding is not being used in his campaign.
“My campaign is being funded by myself, my friends and people around me. Is a grassroots thing this.”

« Reply #359 on: May 05, 2015, 12:32:50 PM »
Kamla calls for candidate nominations

By \\\\\ Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

GUAICO

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar last night called on her troops to get ready with an open call for nominations for candidates from May 11.

Speaking at the Guaico Government Secondary School at the United National Congress’ Monday Night Forum, she noted that on May 24 the People’s Partnership Government marks its fifth year in office and was ready for re-election for another term.

Still keeping the election date a secret, Persad-Bissessar said the election was at hand and from May 11, nomination forms will be available at the UNC’s Rienzi Complex, Couva, headquarters during working hours Monday to Friday.

She invited persons to collect the forms and propose nominees for general elections 2015.

The Prime Minister confessed that both she and her Government have made mistakes which they have learnt from and she vowed to continue developing the country and its people.

“For me and for many of you the last five years have not been easy,” said Persad-Bissessar as she reminded her audience that she took the tough decisions to fire people whom she trusted which was not easy.

“…I did it because I believe in maintaining the integrity of any government I lead, which must be accountable to the people,” she said.

“I am proud of the fact that with every tough decision I had to take I have grown stronger and better prepared to lead our country for the next five years,” she said as she stressed that her Government needs another terms to build on the work they have done.

She said there have been tough times which were overcome, adding that under the former People’s National Movement (PNM) there were nine years of stagnation and wasted opportunities.

The Prime Minister said that although the statistics show that crime is not growing at the rate it was, the crime fight will be a priority.

With respect to future plans, Persad-Bissessar disclosed that the Guaico/Sangre Grande area has been identified by Town and Country Planning for Medium Intensity Development — this mean that this region will be developed to provide all satellite services which include banking services, financial services, buildings up to six storeys high, professional offices, retail trades, restaurants, entertainment facilities, market development and of course Government services.

These decisions, she said, have already been taken by Cabinet.

PM responds to Moody’s downgrade

Persad-Bissessar said the economy was in a better state today than it was in 2010.

She pointed out that her Government dealt with the CLICO/HCU mess and put back the economy on a stable path.

She said despite the Moody’s downgrade from stable to negative, her Government remains confident of stability, growth and progress.

She noted that Moody’s said the decline in oil prices and the diversification of the economy were also reasons for their move.

Persad-Bissessar said even as spending was adjusted because of the decline in oil prices, revenues for the first half of the current fiscal year were just five per cent below the original budgeted target.

The Prime Minister added that instead of a deficit projected at over $3 billion for the first half of this fiscal year, there was a recorded surplus.

She said further that investments in the energy sector continue to be strong.

« Last Edit: May 05, 2015, 12:35:23 PM by weary1969 »