March 28, 2024, 11:30:30 AM

Author Topic: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread  (Read 64148 times)

Re: Nicki Minaj Appreciation Thread
« Reply #180 on: August 01, 2012, 09:04:32 AM »
this video exemplifies what is wrong with many music videos. There appear to be very few scenes that run more than 2 seconds (if that).

The constant transition from scene to scene detracts from the flow (especially when yuh trying to focus om the dancers playing mass in high heels).  But that is the nature of the beast I suppose.

« Reply #182 on: August 02, 2012, 01:20:34 PM »
i see Nikki put her family in the vid at the end

« Reply #184 on: March 21, 2013, 01:47:09 PM »
T&T no different from Liberia says Minaj

Yvonne Baboolal
Published: Friday, March 1, 2013, Trinidad & Tobago Guardian Online

Trinidad-born rapper Nicki Minaj compared T&T to Liberia on television on Wednesday, saying she didn’t think she would get out alive. Liberia is known for having endured bloody civil war during the past two decades, in which more than 200,000 people died and a million sought refuge in neighbouring countries.

Tourism Minister Stephen Cadiz said yesterday he could not comment on Minaj’s latest comment on the “nothing” place she came from, since he was not sure exactly what location she was referring to. Minaj, on the American Idol show last Wednesday, likened her own underprivileged background to that of contestant Zoanette Johnson, a Liberian refugee living in the US, the UK Daily Mail reported yesterday.

Minaj said, “I’m so proud that this place gives people like you and people like me, who came from absolutely nothing, a place that we didn’t think we’d make it out alive from, it gives us the chance. Thank you.” The story in the Mail said: “Trinidadian-born rapper Nicki Minaj wasn’t born with much, and she fought tooth and nail to gain her stardom. “That could be why the Pink Friday singer got so emotional on American Idol this week, when a Liberian refugee, Zoanette Johnson, brought the house down with Circle of Life.”

Zoannette, 20, has been in the US since she was two, after escaping from her war-torn motherland, the newspaper reported. “Listen, Zoanette, you make me so emotional, you came from Liberia, all those siblings, they are going to get a chance to see you on this show. I am so proud of you. So proud of you,” Minaj said.

Minaj, born Tanya Onika Maraj, is from Bournes Road, St James. She lived there with her grandmother until the age of five, when she migrated to Brooklyn, New York, to be with her parents.Cadiz said he could not comment because he was not sure whether Minaj was referring to a hard life she lived in Brooklyn or in St James. “I have no idea what her family life was like,” he said.

Cadiz said he would not like to think of St James as a “nothing” place and noted that Minaj would have had some kind of good opportunity in order to reach the US. “I am not casting aspersions on Brooklyn but I don’t know if she had a hard life in the States...She would have to explain what she meant,” he said. The minister recalled that not long ago Minaj spoke about the high number of Aids cases in T&T and quoted totally erroneous figures.

In November, she was quoted in the UK Guardian as saying 250,000 people in T&T were living with the disease. The actual figure is reported as being a tenth of that.

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-02-28/tt-no-different-liberia-says-minaj

« Reply #185 on: March 21, 2013, 02:54:32 PM »
No way she coming back here.

« Reply #186 on: March 21, 2013, 03:46:24 PM »
this lil bitch now seein fame and money and want to shit on we.....she leave trini when she was 5,life was good......come to the mighty usa,daiz when hell start....hungry lil bitch with ah alcoholic fadda....try to kill u lil c**t and yuh mooma too.......ah wish she could read this......haul yuh modda c**t

« Reply #187 on: March 24, 2013, 05:52:11 PM »
this lil bitch now seein fame and money and want to shit on we.....she leave trini when she was 5,life was good......come to the mighty usa,daiz when hell start....hungry lil bitch with ah alcoholic fadda....try to kill u lil c**t and yuh mooma too.......ah wish she could read this......haul yuh modda c**t

take it easy before yuh buss ah blodd vessel... ;D

i agree with yuh, she is ah real imps, she should be talking about her ass implants that making her body look deformed.

« Reply #188 on: March 24, 2013, 09:58:21 PM »
She said she came from "nothing" and people interpreting that to mean that she saying Trinidad is "nothing"?  Allyuh is imps or what?

steups

« Reply #189 on: July 29, 2013, 08:01:46 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/7Pk0-3i4Tsg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/7Pk0-3i4Tsg</a>

« Reply #190 on: January 26, 2015, 02:52:48 PM »
trinidem girls
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ihEgs--GPDc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ihEgs--GPDc</a>

« Reply #191 on: January 26, 2015, 03:03:08 PM »
Good song  :thumbsup:

« Reply #192 on: December 04, 2015, 11:03:00 PM »

« Reply #193 on: March 30, 2017, 08:38:18 AM »

Footage from 2012 showing Nicki Minaj explaining how to wine when you in Trinidad

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/videos/1390054971069360/

« Reply #194 on: June 22, 2018, 07:17:20 AM »

Nicki Minaj: 'I Was An illegal Immigrant From Trinidad'

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2018/06/nikki-minaj-i-was-illegal-immigrant.html

« Reply #195 on: July 07, 2019, 08:58:05 AM »

« Reply #196 on: July 12, 2019, 08:55:05 AM »

Nicki Minaj Had A Surprise Moment With Fellow Trinis

https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2019/07/nicki-minaj-had-surprise-moment-with.html
Cool. Jimmy Fallon drink de man rum and coke yes :rotfl:

« Reply #197 on: September 02, 2019, 11:28:01 PM »

Minaj shout out her Trini roots on Independence Day

https://www.instagram.com/p/B11w0BcnW0O/

« Reply #198 on: February 17, 2020, 05:58:33 AM »

Nicki Minaj Excited To Return Home To Trinidad For Carnival

Trinidad-born American rapper and singer, Nicki Minaj, will be returning to her native Trinidad and Tobago for the Carnival season. She made the announcement in a brief Instagram post last week. Read More https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2020/02/nicki-minaj-excited-to-return-home-to.html

« Reply #199 on: February 26, 2020, 05:10:11 AM »

Nicki Minaj Declares Her TRINI PRIDE During Trinidad Carnival

With her Carnival costume decked and ready for the Trinidad Carnival  Tuesday road, Trini-Born American Hip Hop Superstar Nicki Minaj declared her love and pride for her native country of birth Trinidad and Tobago. Read More https://socamusictv.blogspot.com/2020/02/nicki-minaj-declares-her-trini-pride.html

« Reply #200 on: February 28, 2020, 08:42:44 PM »
Nicki Minaj Donates US$25,000 To St Jude's Home For Girls
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRUa22raWVQ&amp;feature=emb_title" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRUa22raWVQ&amp;feature=emb_title</a>

« Reply #201 on: March 05, 2020, 04:10:03 PM »
Nicki Minaj's hubby arrested for failure to register as a sex offender
looptt

Nicki Minaj's husband Kenneth Petty could be facing more jail time for failing to register as a sex offender.

According to celebrity gossip website TMZ, Petty was arrested for failing to register as a sex offender in California.

Petty served almost four years in a New York state prison for a 1995 conviction for first-degree attempted rape. He and his victim were both 16 years old at the time.

TMZ said while Petty is registered as a sex offender in New York, he failed to register in California where he and Minaj now live.

US Marshals reportedly arrested and released Petty on a US$20,000 bond last year for failing to register.  He remained unregistered and was indicted in federal court today for the same offense. If convicted, Petty faces up to 10 years in prison according to TMZ.

Just a week ago, Petty found himself in hot water with Trinidadians after video footage captured him pushing away Iwer George's hand while the singer was performing on a music truck next to Minaj.

Nicki Minaj and Kenneth Petty enjoyed Carnival celebrations in her native Trinidad a week ago.

« Reply #202 on: February 17, 2021, 07:02:51 AM »
Read that her dad died in a hit run accident in Queens this past week. Condolences to Niki and her family.

« Reply #203 on: February 17, 2021, 09:25:42 PM »
Read that her dad died in a hit run accident in Queens this past week. Condolences to Niki and her family.

Yup but I thought it happened in New Jersey

« Reply #204 on: September 16, 2021, 02:48:48 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/2uxRsd3EI1I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/2uxRsd3EI1I</a>

« Reply #205 on: September 16, 2021, 11:53:30 PM »
Man oh man!!!!

« Reply #206 on: September 20, 2021, 05:43:56 AM »
In light of Nicki Minaj cousin balls drama, some say global media exposed

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/6014515391956605

And there is some humour in this regarding T&T brand getting more global exposure  :D

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/6014836368591174