April 18, 2024, 01:44:55 AM

Author Topic: Bovell 7th in Charlotte 100 freestyle Swim  (Read 1543 times)

Bovell 7th in Charlotte 100 freestyle Swim
« on: May 18, 2010, 12:41:00 PM »
Bovell 7th in Charlotte 100 freestyle swim
Nigel Simon
Published: 18 May 2010

George Bovell III
... placed third in the 50 metres freestyle.
Nigel Simon
Olympic bronze medal winner George Bovell III was seventh in the men’s 100 metres freestyle final at the Charlotte Ultra Swim Grand Prix at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Centre on Sunday night. Following a third place finish in the 50 metres freestyle on Saturday night in 22.61, the 26-year-old Bovell was hopeful of another podium finish.

However, his time of 50.76 seconds in the A-Final was only good enough for seventh place. Gideon Louw took the gold medal in 50.09 seconds to beat joint silver-medal winners, Ryan Lochte (50.29) and Peter Vanderkay (50.29). Josh Schneider, the winner of the 50 metres freestyle had to settle for fourth spot in 50.34 followed by Ricky Berens (50.55), Scott Robinson (50.61), Bovell and Robert Savulich (51.10).

Earlier on Sunday in the preliminary heats, Bovell III was eight fastest qualifier for the 100 metres freestyle final in 51.11 seconds. Lochte was the top qualifier with a time of 50.58 followed by Louw (50.67), Vanderkay (50.70), Robinson (50.75), Savulich (50.77), Schneider (50.85), Berens (50.98) and Bovell III. The top US quintet of Tyler Mc Gill (51.34), Nicholas Brunelli (51.36), Matt Grevers (51.40), Bryan Lundquist (51.55) and Garrett Weber-Gale (51.64) all failed to make the final.
Continue http://guardian.co.tt/sports/other-sports/2010/05/18/bovell-7th-charlotte-100-freestyle-swim

Re: Bovell 7th in Charlotte 100 freestyle Swim
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 11:25:59 AM »
T&T swimmer Bovell targets faster times
Nigel Simon
Published: 20 May 2010

George Bovell III
Nigel Simon
With the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games less than two months away, T&T Olympic bronze medal swimmer, George Bovell III said he is targeting doing faster times. Bovell III was speaking following his performances at the four-day Charlotte Ultra Swim Grand Prix which ended at the Mecklenburg County Aquatic Centre on Sunday night. The 26-year-old Bovell III picked up a bronze medal in the 50 metres freestyle in 22.61 seconds on Saturday and a day later he placed seventh in the 100m freestyle in 50.76. Speaking after the meet on Sunday, the top T&T swimmer said he hoped to improve his times in both the 50 and 100 metres freestyle events, but that did not happen. “Unfortunately you can’t be your fastest when you are working your hardest. You just get broken down, sore, heavy and without that easy speed.

“The speed comes when you rest later on, but in order to get the speed at the end of the season you have to grind it out and put in the work. This meet came in the middle of a hard training period for me.” With regards to his swim in the 50 metres freestyle, Bovell III said, “I was on track to be very fast but really slowed up in the last ten metres. My stroke rate dropped considerably, and my arms were a little wild. I remember feeling as if I was swimming in mud for those last few strokes. In the warm-up, I just didn’t have that spring that I feel when I know I am fast. “I also noticed some issues developing with my left arm recovery. I believe this to be because of a temporary lack of flexibility due to being stiff. All things considered, it was a learning experience, and I intend to get down to the low 22’s next month in Europe. “I followed this up with a 50.7 in the 100 freestyle the next evening to come seventh in the finals. “It’s ok for where I am right now in my season. I think next time I race this event with a little more rest I need to get down below 50 seconds.”
Continue http://guardian.co.tt/sports/other-sports/2010/05/20/tt-swimmer-bovell-targets-faster-times

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2010, 03:36:31 PM »
Bovell III wins 50 free bronze in Charlotte
Published: 23 May 2010

George Bovell III
Decorated T&T swim star George Bovell III won bronze in the 50-metre freestyle at the 26th Annual Charlotte UltraSwim which was held from May 13-16, 2010 at Mecklenburg County Aquatic Center in Charlotte, North Carolina. Bovell was among six T&T swimmers that participated in this Grand Prix Meet. Bovell, swimming for Auburn Aquatics, touched the wall in 22.61 behind Olympians Josh Schneider (22.38) and Cullen Jones (22.40). Joshua Mc Leod (24.12) of Atlantis Aquatics and Caryle Blondell (24.14) of Blue Dolphins qualified for the C final and placed seventh and eighth respectively. Bovell then went on to finish seventh in the 100m freestyle A final in 50.76. Mc Leod qualified for the C final in the event in a personal best 52.27, ahead of the likes of Jones. Mc Leod placed seventh in the C final in 52.96. Blondell placed 42nd in the preliminaries in 53.17.
Continue http://guardian.co.tt/sports/other-sports/2010/05/23/bovell-iii-wins-50-free-bronze-charlotte

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2010, 11:03:01 PM »
Congrats to George!!!. Hope the other follow in George's footsteps.

Offline Swima

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2010, 08:45:42 AM »
Hope Blondie gets through with Auburn. The dream of a 4 x 100 by Rio is beginning to take shape.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2010, 02:03:03 PM »
Hope Blondie gets through with Auburn. The dream of a 4 x 100 by Rio is beginning to take shape.

who name blondie?

so, since Bovell...Auburn scouts does be down in westmoorings on a regular or wha?

Offline Swima

« Reply #6 on: May 24, 2010, 04:36:35 PM »

who name blondie?

so, since Bovell...Auburn scouts does be down in westmoorings on a regular or wha?

Caryle Blondell. A southman swimming at Blue Dolphins in St. Clair. He is now our fastest Junior ever in the 50 and 100. Junior in swimming terms is under 18. He set those records late last year.
As for the scouts, they not here yet, but what we have coming behind Blondell not looking bad at all... for now at least.
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2010, 06:32:41 PM »
Thanx for the imfo, Swima. Is time we see a new breed of swimmers rise to the top. In a few years no more George. Then what?