March 29, 2024, 03:55:27 AM

Author Topic: 2nd ODI: West Indies v South Africa  (Read 1454 times)

2nd ODI: West Indies v South Africa
« on: May 24, 2010, 03:27:17 PM »
Closing overs.
SA score 300

West Indies 278/8
Sammy just turn up the heat.  56 runs in 21 balls.
This match was all but lost. Now the windies have a shot...

Re: 2nd ODI: West Indies v South Africa
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 03:35:48 PM »
283 all out.
But what a superb effort once again by Sammy.

As I said before. if the rest of the team had the heart and drive of this fella, we wouldn't be losing these games. Time for too-cool-for-school Gayle era to end.

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 03:48:47 PM »
Bitter yuh have rhel patience fuh Windies Cricket boy lol

« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 07:03:06 PM »
283 all out.
But what a superb effort once again by Sammy.

As I said before. if the rest of the team had the heart and drive of this fella, we wouldn't be losing these games. Time for too-cool-for-school Gayle era to end.
That was something eh ...been a while as a west indian fan ,Sammy for Cappo .

« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2010, 02:22:00 PM »
unfortunately I decided to watch this (another) version of the soap opera "watch us lose" written and directed by the West Indies cricket team. Imagine the #8 player- who is selected primarily as a bowler, makes 50 runs in 20 balls 'Yay!!' and the players selected primarily as batsmen #s 1-5 fail to make decent scores. and again- did you check the expression on Gayle's face. His body language is just dreadful. Not inspirational or motivational at all. what is he doing there? the man is selected because he can bat and make runs, and when he doesn't and the rest of the team doesn't his comment is:'the rest of the guys didn't step up'. Of course they didn't, so why didn't you? His attitude is each man must contribute so why isn't he? something is wrong - again- with this team. they are not playing like a team at all.

The 2-tier system of rating is sounding better and better. maybe if the Windies team has to work hard to gain the 'honour' of playing in the first tier of teams, this may mean something to them.

Shame again. How long will the WICB hear the cries of the supporters without reacting? These people must act. Cricket is dying and the crowds are disappearing....unless of course you are a stupid supporter like me and keep hoping that 'this time' we'll play to win. HA! that and GOD face! >:(

« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2010, 02:23:03 PM »
can we please win one game  >:(

« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2010, 02:53:03 PM »
unfortunately I decided to watch this (another) version of the soap opera "watch us lose" written and directed by the West Indies cricket team. Imagine the #8 player- who is selected primarily as a bowler, makes 50 runs in 20 balls 'Yay!!' and the players selected primarily as batsmen #s 1-5 fail to make decent scores. and again- did you check the expression on Gayle's face. His body language is just dreadful. Not inspirational or motivational at all. what is he doing there? the man is selected because he can bat and make runs, and when he doesn't and the rest of the team doesn't his comment is:'the rest of the guys didn't step up'. Of course they didn't, so why didn't you? His attitude is each man must contribute so why isn't he? something is wrong - again- with this team. they are not playing like a team at all.

The 2-tier system of rating is sounding better and better. maybe if the Windies team has to work hard to gain the 'honour' of playing in the first tier of teams, this may mean something to them.

Shame again. How long will the WICB hear the cries of the supporters without reacting? These people must act. Cricket is dying and the crowds are disappearing....unless of course you are a stupid supporter like me and keep hoping that 'this time' we'll play to win. HA! that and GOD face! >:(

In defence of Gayle. The rest of the team did not step up. In defence of Lara, the rest of the team never used to  step up, including Gayle himself. But honestly, the team lack talent. Maybe we are a tier-2 team. That is kind of hard to swallow. But it is true.

The REAL reason is the regional competition is not competitive enough.