October 03, 2024, 07:17:39 AM

Author Topic: Elections Results thread  (Read 37763 times)

Re: Elections Results thread
« Reply #150 on: May 25, 2010, 08:53:40 AM »
But seriously a man had a 26-15 majority in parliament, then called a snap elections and lose 29-11. :rotfl:

De man give Daft Trini and them what they want. Milk and Honey flowing in T&T this morning Uncle Pato ride out.

Hush yuh arse... I voting PNM since I turn 18... was a die forking hard pnmite eh until manning started becoming full of heself.... me eh too happy with this Coalition shyte... but fuh now it go have to do... Hope PNM employ the leadership of Rowley and Beckles and let manning preach in the sunset...

proud to say we never vote UNC... NEVER!

« Reply #151 on: May 25, 2010, 09:08:00 AM »
Snap Election iS HELL part 2.

Manning just prove he is a dunce. The onlyting keeping manning in favour was th efact that Panday was on the other side.

It was a real ego trip for him to think he woulda walk this one, especially so soon after Kamla's victory.

At the end of the day things might be better off for everybody if he get deposed at political leader and both parties benefit from constructive opposition and and not this "lesser of two evils" paradigm that has been in play for the past 20 years. I not holding my breath though.

The coalition cannot last AND be successful. If Kamla operate witha strong hand to keep the scoundrels in check and buck the corrupt status quo she will have defections. If she curries their favour she can't govern effectively.

« Reply #152 on: May 25, 2010, 09:11:08 AM »
Hush yuh arse... I voting PNM since I turn 18... was a die forking hard pnmite eh until manning started becoming full of heself

ENT!

« Reply #153 on: May 25, 2010, 09:12:46 AM »
But seriously a man had a 26-15 majority in parliament, then called a snap elections and lose 29-11. :rotfl:

LOL  :D, is actually 30 - 10 now i hear , later it should be clearer

I am soooooo hoping Colm Imbert loses his seat   :praying: :praying:....that pompous leprechaun....

« Reply #154 on: May 25, 2010, 09:20:33 AM »
Hush yuh arse... I voting PNM since I turn 18... was a die forking hard pnmite eh until manning started becoming full of heself

ENT!

Who calls an election two and half years before the 5-year term ended?  :frustrated:

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #155 on: May 25, 2010, 09:23:16 AM »

LOL  :D, is actually 30 - 10 now i hear , later it should be clearer

CTNTWORLD reporting it as 28-13. It saying Arima went to the PNM.
I don't know which is correct: 29-12, 28-13 or 30-11.
Anyone???

The People's Partnership has swept the 2010 General Elections with 28 seats
Tuesday 25th May, 2010
http://www.ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=20984

Under the umbrella of the People's Partnership , Kamla Persad Bissessar, the following seats were won: Barataria/San Juan, St. Augustine, Toco/Sangre Grande, Diego Martin North East, St. Joseph, Lopinot/Bon Air West, Chaguanas East, Chaguanas West, Cumoto/Manzanilla, Caroni Central, Couva South, Tabaquite, Mayaro, Moruga/Tableland, Naparima, Siparia, Fyzabad, Pointe-a-Pierre, Oropouche East, Oropouche West, Princes Town, San Fernando West, Arouca/Maloney, Tobago East, Tobago West, Tunapuna, D'Abadie/O'Meara, La Horquetta/Talparo and Tabaquite.

The outgoing party, the People's National Movement retained only 13 seats.

These seats are Diego Martin West, Diego Martin Central, Port of Spain North/St. Ann's, Port of Spain South, Laventille West, Laventille East/Morvant, St. Ann's East, Arima, Arouca/Maloney, Point Fortin and San Fernando East

And the outgoing Prime Minister Patrick Manning who conceded to defeat around 10.40 pm says he wishes the People's Partnership well. He says though his view on a coalition party will take time.

Mr. Manning has promised to move out of the Diplomatic Centre as soon as he can.

He says the best decision will be taken in the interest of the People's National Movement.

He thanked the young people for coming out and supporting the party and he hopes that the social programmes of young students will still be sustained.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2010, 09:29:27 AM by Boodsy »

« Reply #156 on: May 25, 2010, 09:25:35 AM »
It seems UNC win Arima by a handful...

« Reply #157 on: May 25, 2010, 09:27:20 AM »
NAH Pnm get mash up in Arima

« Reply #158 on: May 25, 2010, 09:28:55 AM »

I don't know which is correct: 29-12, 28-13 or 30-10.
Anyone???

actually it should be 30-11, my correction

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #159 on: May 25, 2010, 09:31:11 AM »

I don't know which is correct: 29-12, 28-13 or 30-10.
Anyone???

actually it should be 30-11, my correction

I just noticed that too
It was corrected  :)

« Reply #160 on: May 25, 2010, 09:33:00 AM »
arrogant manning again, Arima wanted Beckles instead and he didnt listen.

« Reply #161 on: May 25, 2010, 09:34:05 AM »
..ah wonder what Dr Eric Williams saying in his grave ?.. :devil:

« Reply #162 on: May 25, 2010, 09:35:02 AM »
arrogant manning again, Arima wanted Beckles instead and he didnt listen.

it only have one person he does listen to....................

« Reply #163 on: May 25, 2010, 09:39:09 AM »
Yes 30-11 , Imbert loss he seat, i saw it on tv6 ticker tape

« Reply #164 on: May 25, 2010, 09:39:52 AM »
..ah wonder what Dr Eric Williams saying in his grave ?.. :devil:

He was a free mason... he was not buried but burned.... his ashes lay at the bottom of the Bocas  :beermug:

« Reply #165 on: May 25, 2010, 09:45:25 AM »
they reporting 29-12 on the papers, if its really 30-11, watch out for the many changes, kamla will only be in for 2 terms max and all others that follow, the ebc will also change, along with the bobol that still exists in the constitution.
no more building homes in marginals and an end to many fallacies. either way i believe the speaker will vote with the unc making it 30 and one of the opposition if its 29-12.

« Reply #166 on: May 25, 2010, 09:45:39 AM »

before I   :rotfl:..are you sure ??..cause CNMG have him as winning his seat

« Reply #167 on: May 25, 2010, 09:48:17 AM »

yeh well this morning i see it, but i waiting for later to confirm, but that is what they had

« Reply #168 on: May 25, 2010, 12:05:11 PM »

yeh well this morning i see it, but i waiting for later to confirm, but that is what they had

I'm waiting on the EBC to say that Colm lose...I figure that if he did, we would have heard more definitive word by now......

« Reply #169 on: May 25, 2010, 01:10:40 PM »

ENT!

Who calls an election two and half years before the 5-year term ended?  :frustrated:

PATRICK MANNING

« Reply #170 on: May 25, 2010, 01:11:59 PM »

ENT!

PATRICK MANNING

De Project Manager not Patrick Manning :devil:

« Reply #171 on: May 25, 2010, 01:14:55 PM »

ENT!

PATRICK MANNING

De Project Manager not Patrick Manning :devil:

Bruce Golding say he did what he did as Leader of the JLP not PM all dem fellas have split personality

« Reply #172 on: May 25, 2010, 03:04:03 PM »
Official Results (according to Express)

Here is a full list of the 2010 general election winners:

1. Arima: Rodger Samuel - COP.

2. Arouca/Maloney: Alicia Hospedales - PNM

3. D’Abadie/O’Meara: Anil Roberts - COP

4. Diego Martin Central: Dr Amery Browne - PNM

5. Diego Martin North/East: Colm Imbert - PNM

6. Diego Martin West: Dr Keith Rowley - PNM

7. La Brea: Fitzgerald Jeffery - PNM

8. La Horquetta/Talparo: Jairam Seemungal - UNC

9. Laventille East/Morvant: Donna Cox - PNM

10. Laventille West: Nileung Hypolite - PNM

11. Point Fortin: Paula Gopee-Scoon - PNM

12. POS North/St Ann’s West : Patricia McIntosh - PNM

13. POS South: Marlene McDonald - PNM

14. San Fernando East: Patrick Manning - PNM

15. St Ann’s East: Joanne Thomas - PNM

16. Tobago West: Dr Delmon Baker - TOP

17. Toco/Sangre Grande: Dr Rupert Griffith - UNC

18. Caroni Central: Dr Glenn Ramadharsingh - UNC

19. Caroni East: Dr Tim Gopeesingh - UNC

20. Chaguanas West: Jack Warner - UNC

21. Couva North: Ramona Ramdial - UNC

22. Couva South: Rudranath Indarsingh - UNC

23. Cumuto/Manzanilla: Collin Partap - UNC

24. Fyzabad: Chandresh Sharma - UNC

25. Naparima: Nizam Baksh - UNC

26. Oropouche East: Dr Roodal Moonilal - UNC

27. Oropouche West: Stacy Roopnarine - UNC

28. Princes Town: Nela Khan - UNC

29. Siparia: Kamla Persad-Bissessar  - UNC

30. St Augustine: Prakash Ramadhar - COP

31. Tabaquite: Dr Suruj Rambachan - UNC

32.  Barataria/San Juan: Dr Fuad Khan - UNC

33. Chaguanas East: Stephen Cadiz - UNC

34. Lopinot Bon/Air: Lincoln Douglas - COP

35. Mayaro: Winston Peters - UNC

36. Pointe-a-Pierre: Errol McLeod - UNC

37. Moruga/Tableland: Clifton DeCoteau - UNC

38. San Fernando West: Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan - COP

39. St Joseph: Herbert Volney - UNC

40. Tobago East: Vernella Alleyne-Toppin - TOP

41. Tunapuna: Winston Dookeran - COP

« Reply #173 on: May 25, 2010, 03:10:43 PM »

I'm waiting on the EBC to say that Colm lose...I figure that if he did, we would have heard more definitive word by now......

Imbert seat and Arima getting recount . UNC ask for a recount on Imbert seat and PNM ask for Arima. i think it have 1 more seat UNC ask for a recount, but i cant remember which one.

« Reply #174 on: May 25, 2010, 05:55:19 PM »

Imbert seat and Arima getting recount . UNC ask for a recount on Imbert seat and PNM ask for Arima. i think it have 1 more seat UNC ask for a recount, but i cant remember which one.

Pt. Fortin that one was real close.....

« Reply #175 on: May 25, 2010, 06:07:01 PM »
I read something in the Express that said there are still somethings that the coalition wont be able to do even with a constitutional majority....

Here it is.....

"The People's Partnership now have a constitutional majority which would  enable it to pass legislation which affects rights.  It also has a two thirds majority which would empower it to alter certain entrenched sections of the Constitution, such as those sections relating to the JLSC and the Auditor General.  But it cannot change those critical provisions relating to the President and his powers, the Parliament and the electoral system. It would need 31 of the 41 votes in the Parliament for that."

I take it this doesn't apply to things like implementing a fixed date for elections, term limits for a PM and referendum and recall??....  I'm thinking that referendum part might fall under changes to the electoral system??....

« Reply #176 on: May 25, 2010, 06:21:40 PM »
I read something in the Express that said there are still somethings that the coalition wont be able to do even with a constitutional majority....

Here it is.....

"The People's Partnership now have a constitutional majority which would  enable it to pass legislation which affects rights.  It also has a two thirds majority which would empower it to alter certain entrenched sections of the Constitution, such as those sections relating to the JLSC and the Auditor General.  But it cannot change those critical provisions relating to the President and his powers, the Parliament and the electoral system. It would need 31 of the 41 votes in the Parliament for that."

I take it this doesn't apply to things like implementing a fixed date for elections, term limits for a PM and referendum and recall??....  I'm thinking that referendum part might fall under changes to the electoral system??....
The one thing that sold me on kamla is the fact that she thought the judicial system was out dated and called for ah renewal, also the appealant court system moving away from the privy council. ah hope she keeps her promise.

« Reply #177 on: May 25, 2010, 06:39:29 PM »
Yuh see that moving away from the Privy Council thing.  De last UNC administration was for it.  They ended up in the opposition and changed their minds.

Ever since then we still going to the Privy Council.  I don't remember Kamla saying that they would bring legislation to make the CCJ our highest court, which would be going back to their original position.  It was one of the questions I had and was hoping it would have been answered during the campaign season....

« Reply #178 on: May 25, 2010, 07:11:58 PM »
they reporting 29-12 on the papers, if its really 30-11, watch out for the many changes, kamla will only be in for 2 terms max and all others that follow, the ebc will also change, along with the bobol that still exists in the constitution.
no more building homes in marginals and an end to many fallacies. either way i believe the speaker will vote with the unc making it 30 and one of the opposition if its 29-12.

it isn't as easy as dat.Dais why yuh have de Senate,whose allocations doh change.

« Reply #179 on: May 25, 2010, 07:15:06 PM »
Yuh see that moving away from the Privy Council thing.  De last UNC administration was for it.  They ended up in the opposition and changed their minds.

Ever since then we still going to the Privy Council.  I don't remember Kamla saying that they would bring legislation to make the CCJ our highest court, which would be going back to their original position.  It was one of the questions I had and was hoping it would have been answered during the campaign season....
http://www.caribbeancourtofjustice.org/about.htm

can someone explain why TnT still uses the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council?
Thanks
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.