January 14, 2025, 06:28:48 AM

Author Topic: AC Milan v. DC United  (Read 3649 times)

AC Milan v. DC United
« on: May 26, 2010, 06:06:05 PM »
About to begin on Comcast Sports Network- Channel 642 on DirecTV (US).

Seems a weird time for an international club friendly... MLS in the middle of its season still; Milan's season ended just a couple weeks ago; many stars away on international duty... of course Ronaldihno playing  :D

Would expect this match in August or something... after the World Cup.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2010, 06:28:09 PM by Bake n Shark »

Re: Inter Milan v. DC United
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2010, 06:24:07 PM »
AC not Inter

Re: Inter Milan v. DC United
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2010, 06:29:05 PM »
AC not Inter

Thanks, mental block dey...

Searching but can't find a link online

1-0 DC Luciano Emilio in the 20'

Re: AC Milan v. DC United
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2010, 06:32:35 PM »

« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2010, 06:42:39 PM »
Thanks...  I search JustinTV before and couldn't find a link.

2-0 DC... Danny Pontius in the 30'

Offline Andre DosSantos

« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2010, 06:57:52 PM »
what was the final score of the game?

« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2010, 07:16:34 PM »
what was the final score of the game?

Still 2-0 DC in the 49'

« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2010, 07:53:48 PM »
3-2 DC in the 86'

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2010, 12:53:02 PM »
highlights. .

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ebsOJcNfi4I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ebsOJcNfi4I</a>
allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....

Offline Andre DosSantos

« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2010, 12:59:13 PM »
is Seedorf still playing with the netherlands for this worldcup or did he get cut from the squad?

« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2010, 01:02:49 PM »
is Seedorf still playing with the netherlands for this worldcup or did he get cut from the squad?

seedorf gone long time. he eh even make de 30-man squad.

« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2010, 01:36:11 PM »
Was that game played in DC? If so that would've been a good game for me to drive to DC and take in.

« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2010, 01:51:44 PM »
I don't like to watch these games. The International team does be on a stroll and have nothing to prove. They does be on vacation.

« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2010, 09:16:07 PM »
False hope. 

« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2010, 09:50:42 PM »
False hope. 

Disagree... DC is a young and inexperienced team and they been getting level cutarse from everybody this season.  Even if that was Milan's reserve team (and it wasn't) they came to play and played hard... they didn't gift anything to DC.  Playing well and getting a win against a big squad like Milan should go a long way towards instilling some confidence in that team.

« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2010, 11:49:15 PM »
False hope. 

Disagree... DC is a young and inexperienced team and they been getting level cutarse from everybody this season.  Even if that was Milan's reserve team (and it wasn't) they came to play and played hard... they didn't gift anything to DC.  Playing well and getting a win against a big squad like Milan should go a long way towards instilling some confidence in that team.

True....  But whoever feel that that is some barometer on the high level of the MLS and DC United (and u know they quick to jump there) will be fooling themselves.  And if something was at stake AC was killing them. 

« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2010, 11:14:57 AM »
True....  But whoever feel that that is some barometer on the high level of the MLS and DC United (and u know they quick to jump there) will be fooling themselves.  And if something was at stake AC was killing them. 

Agreed, this is no barometer of the league's quality... and yeah, I think Milan definitely approach this as ah off-season "goodwill" game.  It must be dat, b/c it sure ent about conditioning at this point in the season.  Ah hear turnout was 30-40,000 though, ah imagine de "goodwill" came with a nice fat check too.

« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2010, 11:16:48 AM »
False hope. 

It will give them confidence if they could mentally compartmentalize and treat the game as if they played against a Milan that wanted to win... I sadly don't think that those guys are that naive especially if as you say they've been getting destroyed this season.  Those guys know what's up....To think that they suddenly found the quality overnight to beat AC Milan would as preacher put it be a false hope that could likely be dashed by the next cutarse (or string of cutarses they get in the MLS).

I think that there are both mental and physical aspects to "playing hard", and physically I don't doubt that Milan would have respected their opponents (to some reasonable extent), but mentally, chances are they didn't care.  Individually and collectively I wouldn't be surprised if their heads were not in it... I also wouldn't be surprised if in the 10 days since their last season game that their training sessions (if they had any) have been anything more than a going through the motions sorta cool down... I don't know the facts, but smart money says that the night(s) before the game were not spent inkeeping with the strictest of pre-match curfew protocols.... Things like movement off the ball, and collective discipline in closing space and marking would fall of significantly in a mentally relaxed atmosphere...and those subtle differences allow a team like DC United to rub shoulders with a team like Milan in a game like this...same reason why T&T would probably stand against the U.S. in a WCQ after the U.S has already qualified even if the U.S. appears to be "playing hard, and not gifting us anything"...Then on an even mental playing field we look like we don't belong on the same field....

If this game boosts DCU to a new level of confident winning play, I'd say they did a good job of compartmentalizing what's real and what's not... I guess time alone will tell.

« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2010, 11:28:42 AM »
i not saying this game will serve as some kinda panacea for all that (mentally) ailing DC... and I doh necessarily think no big setta compartmentalization necessary either.  Every player wants to step onto the field and know that they could hold their own against the best.  Ronaldinho was out there doing he thing... he force keeper into making a save, force ah defender to scramble a ball off the line... hit the upright with a bicycle.  He and the rest of them mightn'a had the focus the night before or even during the game of a Champions League game... but them men was out there defending hard and trying to score themselves.  The game wasn't no weekend kick-around from my untrained eye... it was a competitive affair.

For a struggling DC team, a valuable lesson to be learned is that when they go out and play hard anything can happen, they just have to keep their competitive spirits and believe in themselves as professionals that they are never as good as they seem when they're at their best, and never as bad when they're at their worst.  A result like this can show them that they're still capable of inspired performances... and I think regardless the stage of Milan's season, for DC this has to count as an inspired performance.  They easily could have gone out there in awe and ketch ah 5-0 cutass.