April 25, 2024, 09:42:21 AM

Author Topic: Suggestion for Mods/Board Members  (Read 2993 times)

Suggestion for Mods/Board Members
« on: May 29, 2010, 11:54:36 PM »
I'm sure this has come up in some form or another indirectly, but what do you guys think about having a separate child board for the Proleague and/or local football

Re: Suggestion for Mods/Board Members
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 06:16:22 PM »
I think the correct protocol is to PM the mods...

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 06:34:27 PM »

whoops. My apologies. I kind of wanted to see what the rest of the board thought of it as well...

but i will pm them in due course

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2010, 06:53:38 AM »
Its ok, these stuff is good for public...

I like the idea as I have always wanted to do this from the getgo, the problem was, our member was to small at the time and I wanted to keepo everyone together.

I want to read more feedback on this...

Thanks Midknight !!

« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2010, 07:37:50 AM »
nah, i think that is jus a extra board to go into.  threads within this board seem to be wukkin for me.

« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2010, 07:43:05 AM »
i eh know nuh, i think its risky in that people might just hit the main board and ignore the child board for local football..

imo dont think the main board for socawarriors.net should have only international threads..

« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2010, 07:47:20 AM »
I think this main board IS the local football board...

Keep it so!!

« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2010, 08:10:55 AM »
I like it this way...
Some may not be as inclined to go to the separate board for local football, but when they come here at least they can see what is going on locally!

« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2010, 10:18:17 PM »
You're welcome Flex,

I hear ProudTrinbagonian, Dinho and FF. That is the other side of the coin and I studied it already.
However, the way I look at it is this:

Unless you seriously following a team, most of the info you come across about the Proleague you come across it by accident on the main board...

A article comes up about Ma Pau and Southend FC game (about 3 days late as usual). It might get one-two replies, and then unfortunately, as is CL/UC/WC night, a set of threads on those other games are published and relegate the Proleague game to second page real fast.

I'm not going to get back into the debate about whether foreign matches/teams should have their own board, but i'm more concerned about the archiving implications - it just real hard to locate past threads on Proleague matches in any kind of systematic way.

At present, you will find articles on the appropriate section of the news page, but a lot of our information about the Proleague comes from the loyal local based who attend matches
Maybe a compromise might be to have a "mirror" board, whereby all those threads can be copied from the main board and kept in storage, or something similar?

Just wondering.

« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2010, 11:30:18 PM »
I'm sure this has come up in some form or another indirectly, but what do you guys think about having a separate child board for the Proleague EPL and/or local all other Foreign football
Midknight, fixed it for you ;)
« Last Edit: June 02, 2010, 11:31:54 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2010, 10:14:34 AM »

Could PM mean project manager?

« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2010, 12:06:48 PM »

personal message. 

« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2010, 01:05:16 PM »
Keep it as is. The main board is for Trinidad and Tobago Football. If anything, move all the eurpopean club threads into their own subforums, i.e., liverpool forever, arsenal up the ass, i heart shitclub fc.

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2010, 03:26:59 PM »
i eh know nuh, i think its risky in that people might just hit the main board and ignore the child board for local football..

imo dont think the main board for socawarriors.net should have only international threads..

I agree..I say keep it as it is..having local footbal on the main board will give it more attention rather than having it in a sub forum where most people may not even bother visiting..on the flip side if the mods decide to put all the international Man U /Arsenal/ La Liga football in a sub forum then we may have a sub/child forum that is more actve than the main forum/board..
« Last Edit: June 07, 2010, 03:28:46 PM by AirMan »

« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2010, 05:20:53 PM »

personal message. 
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2010, 06:07:20 PM »
As a Trinbagonian meh heart say  the sub forum should be international teams but what will happen when the proleague on break and the national team not playing?

Maybe the sub forum for pfl and articles copied over might be the best solution.

« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2010, 06:59:43 PM »
I think this main board IS the local football board...

Keep it so!!
cosign