April 19, 2024, 10:51:37 PM

Author Topic: Boy uses gaming skills to save sister  (Read 1003 times)

Boy uses gaming skills to save sister
« on: June 02, 2010, 06:40:53 PM »
from: http://technology.canoe.ca/2010/06/01/14210871.html

Boy uses gaming skills to save sister
By QMI Agency

If anyone's ever told Hans Jorgen Olsen that video games are a waste of time, they'll have to eat their words.

Olsen, 12, saved his sister from a moose using the knowledge he gained playing World of Warcraft, reports the Norwegian online newspaper Nettavisen.

The pair were walking through the woods in the central Norwegian town of Leksvik when they came face-to-face with an angry moose.

Olsen knew what he had to do, thanks to the countless hours spent playing WOW, a multi-player online role-playing game.

First, he taunted the animal to get it away from his sister. In WOW, players use taunting to get monsters off their less well-armed team members.

Then, when the beast came after him, he played dead.

"When you reach level 30, you learn a trick called the fake death. That's what I did - I pretended I was dead, and then the moose lost interest," he said. "It went really well."

Re: Boy uses gaming skills to save sister
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 10:10:17 PM »
let him go try that with a grizzly next

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2010, 12:53:39 AM »
Brave 12 year old.

I do dat with a horde of potongs once in TT.
Worked just as well.

« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2010, 02:40:10 AM »
Brave 12 year old.

Worked just as well.

Was that in World of Warcraft Barataria?
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2010, 06:01:49 AM »
Brave 12 year old.

Worked just as well.

yuh jus drop, and play dead in front of ah horde of potong??....that coudnt have ended well