April 28, 2024, 11:52:53 AM

Author Topic: Forensic audits for Petrotrin, UTT  (Read 753 times)

Forensic audits for Petrotrin, UTT
« on: June 04, 2010, 01:57:14 PM »
Forensic audits for Petrotrin, UTT
Donstan Bonn(Trinidad Express)

Friday, June 4th 2010 3:43 PM

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has confirmed that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan has been directed to take steps to secure foreign auditors to conduct forensic audits into Petrotrin and the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT).

Speaking at today’s post Cabinet media conference, Persad-Bissessar said Cabinet reviewed the affairs of both enterprises.

"Petrotrin is experiencing severe financial difficulties brought on by high cost overrun of its refinery upgrade and the $12 billion lawsuit filed by New York based fuel producer World GTL Inc.. We are looking at allegations of malfeasance in Petrotrin’s gas optimisation process and poor decision making in its procurement practices.

"While the manner of sourcing professors, certification of students, accreditation of the university, bid rigging, and the approval and tendering process for contracts are some of the issues affecting UTT."

Persad-Bissessar said Cabinet also approved a proclamation for the declaration of the convening of Parliament on Friday, June 18, 2010, at 1.30 p.m..

Re: Forensic audits for Petrotrin, UTT
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 04:04:42 PM »
what about getting one for the financial dealings of the Spetial Advithor to the TTFF

Now if you do that Kamla, I go tell all who will listen, to vote UNC for life :devil:

ah kno ya go tell meh "Never in ya Lifebouy" :D
« Last Edit: June 04, 2010, 04:10:10 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Forensic audits for Petrotrin, UTT
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2010, 07:20:09 PM »
curious to see the future developments