March 29, 2024, 03:18:42 AM

Author Topic: New York-Diamond League( June 12th)  (Read 5076 times)

Offline Aviator

New York-Diamond League( June 12th)
« on: June 07, 2010, 11:07:26 PM »
Some excerpts form the provisional start list.
http://www.iaaf.org/mm/document/competitions/competition/05/69/74/20100607085557_httppostedfile_agp2010schedule_20591.pdf

Western Union Men’s 100m A
WR: Usain Bolt (JAM) 9.58 (2009)
MR: Usain Bolt (JAM) 9.72 (2008)
Name
Nat.
Personal Best
2010 Best
Richard Thompson
TRI

Yohan Blake
JAM
Daniel Bailey
ANT
Trell Kimmons
USA
Marc Burns
TRI

Churandy Martina
AHO
10.03A
Rae Edwards
USA
Travis Padgett
USA
Ivory Williams
USA
Aaron Armstrong
TRI

Michael Rodgers
USA
Ryan Bailey
USA
10.09A
Derrick Atkins
BAH
Nickel Ashmeade
JAM
--
Keston Bledman
TRI

Race of the meet
adidas Men’s 400m Hurdles
WR: Kevin Young (USA) 46.78 (1992)
MR: James Carter (USA) 48.37 (2007)
Name
Nat.
Personal Best
2010 Best
Jehue Gordon
TRI

Javier Culson
PUR
Bershawn Jackson
USA
Michael Tinsley
USA
Felix Sánchez
DOM
LJ van Zyl
RSA
49.45A
Isa Phillips
JAM
Kerron Clement
USA

Visa Women’s 200m
WR: Florence Griffith-Joyner (USA) 21.34 (1988)
MR: Rachelle Smith (USA) 22.31 (2007)
Name
Nat.
Personal Best
2010 Best
Allyson Felix
USA
--
Bianca Knight
USA
Shalonda Solomon
USA
Kelly-Ann Baptiste
TRI

Emily Freeman
GBR
--
Charonda Williams
USA
Veronica Campbell-Brown
JAM
Debbie Ferguson-McKenzie
BAH
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

Re: New York-Diamond League( June 12th)
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 02:20:34 AM »
6 trinbagonians at a Diamond leage event! lol..I will enjoy it while it last...I am really curious to see how our teenage sensation (Gordon) does against the big gunz..

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2010, 01:42:58 PM »
Hmmm interesting comments & predictions about who will win the 100M over here..http://www.trackandfieldnews.com/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40118

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2010, 02:43:33 PM »

http://running.competitor.com/2010/06/news/gay-bolt-not-running-new-york-this-weekend_10415

Gay, Bolt Not Running New York This Weekend
by Running
June 08, 2010
Comments

Highly anticipated sprint showdown will have to wait.

The much ballyhooed 100-meter battle between sprint Usain Bolt and Tyson Gay this weekend at the IAAF Diamond League meet in New York is going to have to wait, as it has been announced that both athletes have withdrawn from the event.

“It looks very unlikely he will compete,” Gay’s agent, Mark Wetmore, told Reuters. “There’s a readiness (needed) to run the 100 metres, and he does not have that.”

Bolt, the reigning Olympic gold medalist and world record holder in both the 100 and 200 meters, pulled out of the New York meeting last week due to injury. Gay, who ran a world record 19.41 seconds for the rarely-contested straight 200 meter dash at an exhibition last month in England, is expected to compete at the next Diamond League meeting July 3 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon.

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2010, 03:39:26 PM »

http://running.competitor.com/2010/06/news/gay-bolt-not-running-new-york-this-weekend_10415

Gay, Bolt Not Running New York This Weekend
by Running
June 08, 2010
Comments

Highly anticipated sprint showdown will have to wait.

The much ballyhooed 100-meter battle between sprint Usain Bolt and Tyson Gay this weekend at the IAAF Diamond League meet in New York is going to have to wait, as it has been announced that both athletes have withdrawn from the event.

“It looks very unlikely he will compete,” Gay’s agent, Mark Wetmore, told Reuters. “There’s a readiness (needed) to run the 100 metres, and he does not have that.”

Bolt, the reigning Olympic gold medalist and world record holder in both the 100 and 200 meters, pulled out of the New York meeting last week due to injury. Gay, who ran a world record 19.41 seconds for the rarely-contested straight 200 meter dash at an exhibition last month in England, is expected to compete at the next Diamond League meeting July 3 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon.

I try to get tickets but but they are totally SOLD out for this affair.. I wonder how much Jamaicans who buy tickets statyin home now..I really wanted to see RT run this meet..but  say wah.. I go hadda settle for the USA -England game.. :beermug:

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 08:22:26 PM »
Blake, Bailey, Thompson promise hot men’s 100m in NY

link..http://www.trackalerts.com/?p=8972

Offline tia

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2010, 02:30:08 PM »
any link to watch our athletes live at this meet

« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2010, 02:41:09 PM »
any link to watch our athletes live at this meet

live on NBC

« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2010, 02:41:17 PM »
 adidas Grand Prix LIVE
Kwame Laurence in New York(Express)
Saturday, June 12 2010

Gordon against the  best

As I write, Jehue Gordon is going through his final preparations ahead of the men’s 400 metres hurdles.

The T&T teenager will run in lane seven. Gordon squares off against the best in the world – T&T-born American Kerron Clement, another American Bershawn Jackson, Puerto Rico’s Javier Culson, and 2004 Olympic champion Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic.

I can tell you the sun is beating down relentlessly on the Icahn Stadium track. Conditions are very Caribbean, which augurs well for Gordon and the other T&T athletes on show today.

Bledman bolts to personal best!

Good afternoon. Welcome to the Icahn Stadium, Randall’s Island, New York. Express Online is here for the adidas Grand Prix IAAF Diamond League meet.

There’s already good news for Trinidad and Tobago!

Keston Bledman clocked a personal best 10.01 seconds to finish second, behind American Rae Edwards (10.00). Another T&T sprinter, Marc Burns finished third in 10.11, his best run this season.

So, Bledman proving that his windy 9.93 in Florida last Saturday was no fluke, and Burns is back on track following a foot injury.

« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2010, 02:59:06 PM »
Alright cant wait to see KAB run..let me see what time she can bring out today

« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2010, 03:13:04 PM »
she came 4th hmmm needs to work on the 200m a bit

« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2010, 03:59:38 PM »
RT takes the 100m
 :applause: :applause:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2010, 04:03:19 PM »
RT takes the 100m

Yay!  ;D  :applause:  :wavetowel:
Time?

Edit: He won in 9.89  :beermug:
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 04:06:15 PM by boss »

« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2010, 04:16:49 PM »
RT takes the 100m

Yay!  ;D  :applause:  :wavetowel:
Time?

Edit: He won in 9.89  :beermug:
thanks for the time
all i catch was the run itself
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2010, 04:52:00 PM »
Yeh Thompson won his race in 9.89 seconds..Can anyone confirm what time did Gordon run in his race ?

« Reply #15 on: June 12, 2010, 05:13:38 PM »
Yeh Thompson won his race in 9.89 seconds..Can anyone confirm what time did Gordon run in his race ?

Gordon came in last! Did not see the race so don't know if he hit a hurdle or something!

http://www.diamondleague-newyork.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/400m-Hurdles-Men/

Rank Athlete Nation Result Reaction time Diamond Points Diamond Ranking
1 CLEMENT, Kerron USA 47.86 MR 0.171 10 1 
2 JACKSON, Bershawn USA 47.94 SB 0.147 8 2   
3 CULSON, Javier PUR 48.47  0.195 1 3   
4 SÁNCHEZ, Félix DOM 48.69 SB 0.193       
5 PHILLIPS, Isa JAM 48.98  0.198       
6 TINSLEY, Michael USA 49.52  0.190       
7 VAN ZYL, Louis J. RSA 49.79  0.195 1 3   
8 GORDON, Jehue TRI 49.96  0.184       

« Reply #16 on: June 12, 2010, 05:24:07 PM »
Looks like our lads won the men's 4 x 100m relay!

http://www.diamondleague-newyork.com/Live-StartlistsResults/Overview/4x400m-Men/

Rank Relay Nation Result Reaction time
1 TRINIDAD & TOBAGO  TRI 3:14.35  0.167
2 TEANECK  USA 3:15.61  0.213
3 PENNSYLVANIA  USA 3:15.62  0.209
4 BERGEN  USA 3:17.29  0.188
5 WOLMERS  JAM 3:19.17  0.188
6 SPARTA  USA 3:19.21  0.213
7 VERE TECH  JAM 3:20.96  0.280
  CAMPERDOWN  JAM DQ R 162.7   

Not sure who was on the relay squad though but sure that AB can confirm when he comes on here as he was commentating!  ;)

Offline Trini1

« Reply #17 on: June 12, 2010, 05:25:12 PM »
Wow mixed results but im still proud! To Jehue keep yuh head held high its a process and you're bound to lose some but just focus on growth and improvement. Miss KAB i wanted to see a faster time but well done for the seasons best. Congrats to mr thompson you are coming into form nicely and Keston Bledman wow 10.01!!!! The Brauman camp is working wonders!

Offline Trini1

« Reply #18 on: June 12, 2010, 05:38:28 PM »
I read wrong it was VCB that cramped and held on for the win.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 05:47:50 PM by Trini1 »

« Reply #19 on: June 12, 2010, 06:33:18 PM »

:applause: :applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :party: :party: :party:

« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2010, 07:45:03 PM »
Richard in 9.89 with a +2.4 wind.........not bad.

« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2010, 07:45:47 PM »
big trailing wind though, but ah good win nontheless

« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2010, 08:21:17 PM »
I watched the race with Baptiste.......  I cyah say I was impressed she looked stiff and almost robotic ...she was still in the scheme of things up to the bend somewhat but she looked soooo stiff and robotic I was like damnnn...............Alison Felix is so naturally fluent she impressed me alot VC did well to win it she is pretty strong lady ....but the best runner in that race is undoubtedly Alison Felix despite the loss

Offline willi

« Reply #23 on: June 13, 2010, 04:51:12 AM »
LoL

You do realize that VCB cramped up from the curve, no?

She is way ahead of AF at the moment.

« Reply #24 on: June 13, 2010, 06:54:17 AM »
Thompson wins 100m in Adidas Grand Prix
By STEPHON NICHOLAS Sunday, June 13 2010

TRINIDAD and Tobago’s Richard Thompson clocked a fast 9.89 seconds yesterday to win the gold medal in the Men’s 100m final at the Icahn Stadium, New York as the Diamond League continued with the Adidas Grand Prix.

Thompson, a silver medallist at the 2008 Olympics, showed his pedigree with a scorching but wind-aided 9.89 sprint, leaving Jamaican Yohan Blake in his wake.

Blake was second in a time of 9.91 seconds while Antiguan Daniel Bailey followed closely in third in 9.92 to complete a 1-2-3 Caribbean finish. Americans Trell Kimmons (9.92), Ivory Williams (9.98) and Michael Rodgers (9.99) placed fourth to sixth respectively.

Thompson received six Diamond points for his victory and is now second on the 100m Diamond Ranking.

Pan Am Junior gold medallist Keston Bledman was second in the Men’s “B” 100m final, crossing in 10.01 seconds in a scintillating finish with American Rae Monzavous Edwards.

Bledman won gold at the Star Athletics Sprint Series I last week in a wind-aided 9.93 seconds but just missed out on glory as Edwards pipped him for first place in 10 seconds flat. Marc Burns was third in 10.11 seconds.

There was no more success for TT at the meet as hurdler Jehue Gordon and sprinter Kelly-Ann Baptiste failed to medal. Gordon, a bronze medallist at the Ponce Grand Prix recently, had a disappointing showing in the Men’s 400m hurdles.

Gordon crossed the finish line in eighth place, stopping the clock at 49.96 seconds. American Kerron Clement, who holds four “world” gold medals, broke USA James Carter’s meet record with a sizzling 47.86 finish to take first place.

Compatriot Bershawn Jackson had a season best 47.94 time to take silver while Puerto Rico’s Javier Culson was third in a time of 48.47 seconds.

Kelly-Ann Baptiste just missed out a bronze medal in the Women’s 200m event, clocking a season best 22.82 to finish in fourth place. Baptiste has been in sensational form since switching camps recently, lowering her 100m personal best to an impressive 9.84 recently.

The former NCAA 100m champion, lowered her season best time over 200m but it was still not good enough to mount the rostrum.

Jamaican Veronica Campbell-Brown produced a world leading and met record time of 21.98 seconds to win the gold medal while Americans Allyson Felix (22.03) and Bianca Knight (SB 22.59) were second and third respectively.

Offline Aviator

« Reply #25 on: June 13, 2010, 05:49:02 PM »
Very late to this party, but  I am Loving everything that is coming out of that Brauman camp this year. I would be lying if I said I didn't expect a better 200m run from KAB, but this does nothing to confirm or deny her 100m run last week.

Big congrats to Bledman on his PR :beermug: :beermug: Would like to see him become the 5th trini to break the sub-10 barrier. Burns time says he has return to form/full health. Those times from Brazil were not pretty to see.

Even though it was windy I like the consistency in that 9.90 range by RT. A legal winded one will come soon enough. Looks like he has put on some much needed muscle too. Ato already called out his errors during the broadcast so no need to repeat, but he also benefited from Blake's foolishness celebrating before he crossed the line instead of dipping. Hope Mills thump him in his head. If/when RT adds the scalp of Dix to his list, I believe he would be able to call himself the best of the rest, but Blake, Bailey and Dix will not let him have it easy. Looking forward to hi 200m run in Prefontaine of July 3rd.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #26 on: June 13, 2010, 06:02:53 PM »
^^ Aviator you said Bledman can be the fifth Trini to break the 10 Sec barrier..I know the four others are Ato, RT, Burns and Brown...but I have a feeling Callender will break the 10 sec barrier before Bledman..

« Reply #27 on: June 14, 2010, 01:00:55 PM »
Bledman is next.

« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2010, 04:23:27 PM »
I agree it will be Bledman as well.....But I would not be surprised if Sorrillo comes close soon.

Cant wait to see that mens 100m at the T&T championships. I think this race will produce the best out of all of the current 100m contenders .....the results might even raise the timing question at HCS again! lol.

Last year was four 10.0s. For this year four sub 10s would not be surprising if all of the conditions are right. This race should definitely make the page on iaaf website.

Offline willi

« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2010, 03:39:46 AM »
I agree it will be Bledman as well.....But I would not be surprised if Sorrillo comes close soon.

Cant wait to see that mens 100m at the T&T championships. I think this race will produce the best out of all of the current 100m contenders .....the results might even raise the timing question at HCS again! lol.

Last year was four 10.0s. For this year four sub 10s would not be surprising if all of the conditions are right. This race should definitely make the page on iaaf website.

Bleddy stands a better chance, given his training season. Sorillo is likely tapped out by a hard college season, while Bledman is aiming to peak later for the money part of the season mid/late Summer.