March 28, 2024, 03:45:18 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA  (Read 32845 times)

WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA
« on: June 10, 2010, 06:52:16 PM »
I predict an exciting game with Uncle Sam coming out on top..

first upset for World Cup 2010
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 10:26:46 AM by E-man »

Re: Thread for England vs USA
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 06:55:34 PM »
I predict an exciting game with Uncle Sam coming out on top..
first upset for World up 2010

:puking:

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 07:00:26 PM »
U.S.A: 2   England:1

Uncle Sam has done a lot work to get to the level they are at currently and it has a name, it's called project 2018 or 2022.

Modern high tech sporting science and decisions by the U.S technical staff is a major player throughout this tournament once the players follow directions of the staff and taking into consideration that 13 of them play in Europe. One concern, how far in the tournament can Oguchi Onyewu play? but on the other hand it will not be a walk in the park for the colonial masters on Saturday.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2010, 01:02:59 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 07:01:20 PM »
3-1 england

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 07:02:58 PM »
Plus England play enough shit football the last two months to convince me USA could win this game

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 07:45:57 PM »
3-0 Engle-lund  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2010, 10:21:04 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/P_jTrG83U_Q&amp;playnext_from=TL&amp;videos=SJrYpi2lvY4&amp;feature=featured" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/P_jTrG83U_Q&amp;playnext_from=TL&amp;videos=SJrYpi2lvY4&amp;feature=featured</a>

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2010, 02:10:08 AM »
If makeshift TNT almost beat inglan, and the USA master we from top tuh bottom, then i belieive that england could katch ah suprise beating, plain and simple.

« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2010, 06:07:59 AM »
3-0 Engle-lund  :beermug:

Nah sah....we revoking yuh residency.... Upset 1-0 USA

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2010, 06:17:44 AM »
USA
USA
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2010, 07:56:43 AM »
BooSA going down  :devil:

3-1 Rooney  :devil:

« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2010, 08:03:47 AM »
 :puking: :notlistening: :puking: :flamethrower: do even want to watch diss, goh take ah draw doh, might help d odder 2 team get out d group

« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2010, 08:06:25 AM »
this time the colonials will lose.4 nil for the breteesh.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2010, 10:21:03 AM »
My money on USA, not a fan of the team but have a few good players and repping for CONCACAF.... USA 3-1, dempsey with 2

« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2010, 10:33:15 AM »
:puking: :notlistening: :puking: :flamethrower: do even want to watch diss, goh take ah draw doh, might help d odder 2 team get out d group

Ah like yuh attitude! Yuh hate both ah dem!  8)  :thumbsup:

« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2010, 11:48:52 AM »
Anybody but Usa! Will never hear the end of it if dey actually win! Lord I might have tuh leave the country!

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2010, 11:49:55 AM »

« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2010, 11:54:10 AM »

WELL SAIDDDDD

« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2010, 01:16:55 PM »
this time the colonials will lose.4 nil for the breteesh.
buh wah de arse, whey yuh been?

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2010, 01:50:14 PM »

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2010, 06:28:35 PM »
VIDEO of Bob Bradley saying "We do not fear England"..(Scroll to the bottom of the

page)...http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2010/8723182.stm

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2010, 07:07:09 PM »

One of the greatest upsets in sports history was the US defeat of England in the 1950 World Cup, and the hero of the story was the Haitian Joe Gaetjens.  A version of the story is attached below.  Jozy Altidore has been playing very good ball for Hull, and  before his recent injury, I thought that he could shine at this world.  Still hoping that the soccer gods smile on him!

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&

A little story about:
Joe Gaetjens

The "american" who scored the goal against England in the 1950 World Cup for USA.

The following story is made by:
By Patricia Zengerle
Reuters

Haitian made U.S. sport history, vanished in prison

MIAMI, April 28, 1998
- As U.S. soccer players prepare for this summer's World Cup, they may spare a thought for a little-known Haitian who scored a goal nearly 50 years ago that gave them what is still their greatest victory ever.

Soccer has soared in popularity in the United States since those days, but
its hero, Joe Gaetjens, was destined for a tragic end in a dictator's dungeon in his homeland. On June 29, 1950, 39 minutes into what was supposed to have been England's World Cup blowout of the United States, Gaetjens dove an estimated 12 feet (4 metres) to strike a shot from teammate Walter Bahr with his head, changing its direction enough to catch English goalkeeper Bert Williams wrongfooted.

Gaetjens did not see the result of his header -- his headlong leap left him
lying face down in the turf at Brazil's Belo Horizonte stadium -- but it got
past Williams and gave the Americans a 1-0 lead over the team that had been the world leader of the sport. The slim lead held up, to the raucous delight of 30,000 Brazilians packing the stadium. At the end, the English team congratulated the Americans as spectators carried Gaetjens and his teammates shoulder-high. "It was a big upset. We knew it was an upset. Of course we were excited about it," Bahr told Reuters in a telephone interview, recalling that day nearly 48 years ago. "Things went our way, and in the run of play they (the English) should have won the game, (but) they didn't score. As the game went on, we got a little bit better and they got a little bit more panicky. Nine times out of 10 they would have beaten us. But that game was our game."

GREATEST WORLD CUP UPSET OF ALL TIME
The game would be considered the greatest World Cup soccer upset of all
time. The English side included greats such as Tom Finney and Billy Wright
and was expected to beat the U.S. eleven by at least seven goals. Only one American player, halfback Ed McIlenny, was a full-time professional. The others were semipros -- Gaetjens an accounting student and dishwasher, Bahr a teacher, and goalie Frank Borghi a hearse driver for his uncle's funeral home.

The team had lost to Italy 9-0, Northern Ireland 5-0 and Scotland 4-0 before
the World Cup. When the first teleprinter reports on the game's outcome
reached London editors threw them out, assuming it was a misprint for a 10-1 English victory.

"Before World War II, England was the unquestioned leader of the sport in
the world. This game might have been said to be the first nail in the coffin
of that superiority," said Roger Allaway, president of the Society for
American Soccer History. But the victory, which coincided with the U.S. entry into the Korea War, went almost unnoticed in the United States. The Americans did not return to play in the World Cup until 1990.

Gaetjens, playing as an American under the era's loose eligibility rules,
never became a U.S. citizen and was virtually forgotten in the United
States. In Britain, an erroneous press report called him "Larry" Gaetjens,
and he remains misnamed in many record books.

RETURNED TO HAITI IN 1954
He played in France for the first division Paris Racing Club after the World
Cup, returning to Haiti in 1954 to run a dry cleaning business, play weekend
soccer and coach youth teams, Jean-Pierre Gaetjens, his younger brother,
said. "He was still active and well-known in the sport area in Haiti," Gaetjens told Reuters. "Joe is the kind of person that he arrived in a group of people talking, they've never seen him before, and after 10 minutes it looks like he had been friends with them for the past 20 years."

Joe Gaetjens was not political but his family worked for Louis Dejoie, a
rival to Haitian dictator Francois "Papa Doc" Duvalier in his 1957 run for
the presidency. Gaetjens' mother and a brother were arrested after
Duvalier's victory and most of the family fled the country. But Joe stayed in Haiti, said his brother, who now lives in Spain. "Joe did not care much about the politics and things like that," Jean-Pierre Gaetjens said.

Other members of the family campaigned outside of Haiti against Duvalier,
who made himself president for life in 1964. The last time Joe Gaetjens was seen by any friend or relative was on July 8, 1964, when he was arrested at work by Duvalier's gangster militia, the Tonton Macoute, which his family considered retaliation for their political activism.

"When he arrived, they rushed to his car, put a gun on his head, got in his
car and drove to ... the Port-au-Prince police station," Jean-Pierre
Gaetjens said. "His wife, who lives in Florida now, received the
authorization to get the car three or four days after ... and from there we
have no trace from him." Gaetjens' family tried for years to determine his fate but heard nothing from Haiti or from U.S. officials they asked to intercede. But Jean-Pierre Gaetjens returned to Haiti after Duvalier's son, Jean-Claude, fell from power in 1986 and met a man who had been at the notorious Fort Dimanche prison with his brother but was transferred shortly afterward.

"Three or four days later one of the prison guards told him ... you were
lucky because last night they had killed everybody at Fort Dimanche,"
Gaetjens said. "That's when, we think, that he must have been killed, around mid-July. But we never knew. They had destroyed any evidence on everybody that was killed at the time under Duvalier, they burned or destroyed everything."

Some did not forget Joe Gaetjens. He was honored at a New York Cosmos game in 1972 and enshrined in the U.S. Soccer Hall of Fame in 1976, the same year the Organization of American States condemned Haiti's government for his arrest.

Last year, Haiti authorized the issue of a stamp in his honor. Jean-Pierre
Gaetjens, who continues to campaign so his brother will be more widely
remembered, described his joy during a visit to Belo Horizonte in April when he was featured in the local newspaper and met people who remembered the game. "I was overwhelmed," he said.

« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2010, 07:17:23 PM »
If makeshift TNT almost beat inglan, and the USA master we from top tuh bottom, then i belieive that england could katch ah suprise beating, plain and simple.

In what universe did we almost beat England?

« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2010, 07:23:28 PM »
Papa Doc and dem fellas was real demon and Baby Doc still livin in he Chateau in France. LOUDEST OF STEUPS

« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2010, 07:35:59 PM »
It have real Trinis out there wishing there was a way that two teams could lose a match against eachother

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2010, 07:51:58 PM »
It have real Trinis out there wishing there was a way that two teams could lose a match against eachother

1ST ON DAT LIST

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2010, 11:20:22 PM »
too much people falling for the power of the US media and the hype around their team. I'm schooled in media and know it's power to conveys people's minds.  So no USA hype here. 3-0 England

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2010, 11:24:13 PM »
too much people falling for the power of the US media and the hype around their team. I'm schooled in media and know it's power to conveys people's minds.  So no USA hype here. 3-0 England

I think it has more to do with how both teams have played in recent games..people who follow football could care less about what the american media say regarding football but they have SEEN the teams play recently..and England has look shady and not convincing recently

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2010, 11:37:54 PM »

I think it has more to do with how both teams have played in recent games..people who follow football could care less about what the american media say regarding football but they have SEEN the teams play recently..and England has look shady and not convincing recently

And there's never any hype around the England team.

« Reply #29 on: June 12, 2010, 01:08:10 AM »

In what universe did we almost beat England?
Sar, doh read to much into slack talk nah man. it's ah cyber lime, not to be taken sooooo seriously. relax we limin. :beermug: