April 18, 2024, 09:54:33 PM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA  (Read 33316 times)

Re: WC 2010 - Match 5 - Group C: England vs USA
« Reply #150 on: June 12, 2010, 08:04:35 PM »
was not impress with either team. i waiting to too the rest of teams, but i find teams under performing. Argentina pulls stones , England pull stones , Mexico Pull stones. who next? stueps South Korea actually look very potent. 

« Reply #151 on: June 12, 2010, 08:10:07 PM »
England woulda come out better if they had a wicket keeper in the goal.

« Reply #152 on: June 12, 2010, 08:12:01 PM »
simple mistake he didnt put his body behind d ball

You are absolutely right.  Me eh know what shit harkes talking.  His left leg that he had his knee on the grond is the leg was supposed to be behind the ball,not his right leg.  He did it at least once before and is the goalkeeping coach have to take some blame for hat because if he doing it in big WC game, he doing it on the training ground, too.

He had great position and everything, that technique he using to collect the ball is just a different school of thought. His main problem was taking his eyes off the ball. He apparently felt he had secured that ball and tried to get up too quickly. All he had to do was see the ball into his arms. This is similar to what Freidel did in the DC United vs Seattle game. You cannot take your eyes off that ball before it is secure.

Re: Wait nah, Robbie Findley starting for the US
« Reply #153 on: June 12, 2010, 08:13:30 PM »
Robbie Findley coulda well be in a better place. Big sweat vs Calidonia and he at the WC, not smart at all.

« Reply #154 on: June 12, 2010, 08:13:31 PM »
poor positioning, bad technique

I heard he is now d spokesman 4 Anchor Butter

« Reply #155 on: June 12, 2010, 08:21:17 PM »
poor positioning, bad technique

How is that poor positioning and bad technique?

« Reply #156 on: June 12, 2010, 08:22:12 PM »
@ Weary hahahaha.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:. I use to goal keep back in the day, for a professional keeper who playing in EPL, NOT to put yuh body behind the ball just wrong! that is like the first thing a coach will tell you, if it slip yuh body go stop it.
His whole body language going to the ball was slow, so he was out of position , added on to the fact he aint make a effort to cover the ball properly.

let me find the video ill be back.

edit look at the vid, the only thing behind the ball was one leg, but everyone makes mistakes

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cvyKmffnRXc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cvyKmffnRXc</a>
« Last Edit: June 12, 2010, 08:31:58 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #157 on: June 12, 2010, 08:28:42 PM »

Because that photo is from straight on... he never got his body behind the ball but was just off to the left (right in the picture).  He then proceeded to spill it to his right and into the net, as the video should show.

« Reply #158 on: June 12, 2010, 08:44:16 PM »
Not good PR for the glove maker  :devil: http://www.sellsgoalkeeperproducts.com/

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #159 on: June 12, 2010, 08:48:05 PM »
Typical England WC performance. Good on paper, level shyte on the field.  :devil:

As for the keeper, isn't he he same dude Shaka kept on the bench at West Ham?  ;D
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #160 on: June 12, 2010, 09:05:20 PM »

Because that photo is from straight on... he never got his body behind the ball but was just off to the left (right in the picture).  He then proceeded to spill it to his right and into the net, as the video should show.

As I said different school of thought on the gathering on the ball. Just like the W grip/O grip/ diamond grip. The most used save last world cup was the forward diving save. His technique would should allowing him to make that forward dive if he determines that he cannot handle the ball upright. That was a routine save.

The technique you all talking about that he should be using is the "k" stance that gets your body behind the ball, he did not attempt to use that technique. He just used a different technique that he is more comfortable with. Many Gks use this technique to gather that ball.

« Reply #161 on: June 12, 2010, 09:29:57 PM »
As I said different school of thought on the gathering on the ball. Just like the W grip/O grip/ diamond grip. The most used save last world cup was the forward diving save. His technique would should allowing him to make that forward dive if he determines that he cannot handle the ball upright. That was a routine save.

The technique you all talking about that he should be using is the "k" stance that gets your body behind the ball, he did not attempt to use that technique. He just used a different technique that he is more comfortable with. Many Gks use this technique to gather that ball.

Okay... he failed to use the technique that kept the ball out the back of the net then.

Typical England WC performance. Good on paper, level shyte on the field.  :devil:

As for the keeper, isn't he he same dude Shaka kept on the bench at West Ham?  ;D

That would be the keeper that this keeper kept on the bench this game.

« Reply #162 on: June 12, 2010, 09:32:01 PM »

Okay... he failed to use the technique that kept the ball out the back of the net then.

:rotfl:  They were real abusing this man on Sky sports news, one Englishman flat out say, "Me mother can save better than that, time to replace him w/David James", was piss poor boy, truly hard to believe, rookie goalkeeping error

Re: Thread for England vs USA
« Reply #163 on: June 12, 2010, 10:06:05 PM »
too much people falling for the power of the US media and the hype around their team. I'm schooled in media and know it's power to conveys people's minds.  So no USA hype here. 3-0 England

I think it has more to do with how both teams have played in recent games..people who follow football could care less about what the american media say regarding football but they have SEEN the teams play recently..and England has look shady and not convincing recently

And there's never any hype around the England team.

:devil: England right behind with that overrated Rooney n midfielders.

« Reply #164 on: June 12, 2010, 10:27:29 PM »
@ Weary hahahaha.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:. I use to goal keep back in the day, for a professional keeper who playing in EPL, NOT to put yuh body behind the ball just wrong! that is like the first thing a coach will tell you, if it slip yuh body go stop it.
His whole body language going to the ball was slow, so he was out of position , added on to the fact he aint make a effort to cover the ball properly.

let me find the video ill be back.

edit look at the vid, the only thing behind the ball was one leg, but everyone makes mistakes

Once again, DieHard, you are absolutely correck! Everything about what Green did here was wrong, including the decision to use that particular technique in the first place.  He coulda simply shuffle across one step, bend down from a standing position and scoop up the ball.  From there he coulda stand up straight or dive forward with the ball in his arms (like so many 'keepers like to do to kill time off the clock).   Hell, in fact, he coulda even simply trap de dam ball wit he foot and wiat 'til an american run up on 'im before he pick it up!  The technique he did actually use is better suited for a ball that is rolling all along the ground and not moving with so much pace because it takes a tad bit longer, by maybe a split second or two, to get your body in the proper position to receive the ball. His left leg is what was supposed to be directly behind the ball and from the still photo you can see even his hands were poorly positioned to gather the ball.  I fell this is the same thing he does on the training ground and I can only blame his coaches for not picking up on that, no pun intended.

Re: Wait nah, Robbie Findley starting for the US
« Reply #165 on: June 12, 2010, 11:12:47 PM »
Robbie Findley coulda well be in a better place. Big sweat vs Calidonia and he at the WC, not smart at all.

;D ...

What's the story behind his non-inclusion during qualifying?

« Reply #166 on: June 12, 2010, 11:34:57 PM »
Capello din want to waste a sub on him or destroy him mentally ... but it must have taken all of Fabio's resolve not to pull him da bleep off the field.

« Reply #167 on: June 13, 2010, 01:09:02 AM »
simple mistake he didnt put his body behind d ball

You are absolutely right.  Me eh know what shit harkes talking.  His left leg that he had his knee on the grond is the leg was supposed to be behind the ball,not his right leg.  He did it at least once before and is the goalkeeping coach have to take some blame for hat because if he doing it in big WC game, he doing it on the training ground, too.

He had great position and everything, that technique he using to collect the ball is just a different school of thought. His main problem was taking his eyes off the ball. He apparently felt he had secured that ball and tried to get up too quickly. All he had to do was see the ball into his arms. This is similar to what Freidel did in the DC United vs Seattle game. You cannot take your eyes off that ball before it is secure.

You mean Keller....yeah that was painful to watch  >:(

« Reply #168 on: June 13, 2010, 04:12:52 AM »

Wayne Rooney left frustrated as Americans keep striker subdued

As the seconds ticked by before England’s World Cup started, before the release of weeks of tension, build-up, expectation and desire, Wayne Rooney gave a little indication he was feeling the pressure. He licked his lips in that dry-mouthed, edgy way that showed the enormity of what he was about to embark upon was hitting home. His eyes darted. He was feeling it.

This could still be Rooney’s World Cup. He is 24, he has 61 caps, it is six years since he threatened to overwhelm all-comers at Euro 2004 before injury which was the only thing that appeared capable of stopping him, denied him.

He is England’s main man. One of the world’s best. They talk of the Big Five when it comes to safaris in these parts but Rooney is part of the Big Four - along with Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaka (with a doff of deference to that talented little Spanish quartet of Villa, Torres, Xavi, Iniesta).

(continue)

« Reply #169 on: June 13, 2010, 04:21:33 AM »
World Cup 2006 - USA draw 1-1 with Italy in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Italy win the World Cup

World Cup 2010 - USA draw 1-1 with England in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Come on England!  ;D

« Reply #170 on: June 13, 2010, 04:29:30 AM »
World Cup 2006 - USA draw 1-1 with Italy in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Italy win the World Cup

World Cup 2010 - USA draw 1-1 with England in the Group Stages thanks to an own-goal. Come on England!  ;D

Last night's wasn't an own-goal. Dempsey scored.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061466/index.html

« Reply #171 on: June 13, 2010, 04:45:24 AM »

Last night's wasn't an own-goal. Dempsey scored.

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/matches/round=249722/match=300061466/index.html

ah know alyuh americans does have trouble  wit "technical" humor eh, but dis borders on ridiculous  :D :D

« Reply #172 on: June 13, 2010, 05:19:26 AM »
Heskey hit straight at the keeper, ok it happens. We hae already seen Haiguain, Gouvou and Forlan miss a far easier chances. As a matter of fact they did not even hit the target.
Heskey to his credit set up the goal nicely for Gerrard. Far to many England players went missing. Rooney, Lampard, Lennon were all out of the game for far too long.

« Reply #173 on: June 13, 2010, 05:26:26 AM »
Sorry forget to add look out for a Rooney Gerrard combination for the next game. Heskey will be out and Capell will push Gerrard close to Rooney>

« Reply #174 on: June 13, 2010, 05:26:58 AM »

That must be his favourite way of picking up the ball cuz he did the exact same thing earlier in the game but I guess it may have been correct positioning on his part at that point.....or he just too clueless to know when to change body position......whatever.....on to the next game.....

« Reply #175 on: June 13, 2010, 06:50:43 AM »

That must be his favourite way of picking up the ball cuz he did the exact same thing earlier in the game but I guess it may have been correct positioning on his part at that point.....or he just too clueless to know when to change body position......whatever.....on to the next game.....

:rotfl:I remember him picking up the ball same way earlier in the game and was saying to myself  'is cricket the man playing'  But as you say, on to the next game

« Reply #176 on: June 13, 2010, 07:00:58 AM »
Heskey hit straight at the keeper, ok it happens. We hae already seen Haiguain, Gouvou and Forlan miss a far easier chances. As a matter of fact they did not even hit the target.
Heskey to his credit set up the goal nicely for Gerrard. Far to many England players went missing. Rooney, Lampard, Lennon were all out of the game for far too long.

Yeah, but Higuain and Forlan have scored and will continue to score goals at an acceptable rate for their position.  Heskey is just a big, useless labourer.  He is lacking in technical ability (damned near every ball played to him becomes an event) He is big and supposedly strong but he only seems to be advantage smaller opponents and as far as him setting up the goal, the ball was basically put on a platter for him to set up gerrard.  If he woulda mess dat up then he couldn't butter a slice of bread.  (Let we not even include gouvou in this nuh?)

« Reply #177 on: June 13, 2010, 07:08:55 AM »

:rotfl:I remember him picking up the ball same way earlier in the game and was saying to myself  'is cricket the man playing'  But as you say, on to the next game

hhhhahahaha would you believe i was saying the same thing during d game, i thought i as alone in noticing that

« Reply #178 on: June 13, 2010, 07:17:13 AM »

hhhhahahaha would you believe i was saying the same thing during d game, i thought i as alone in noticing that

Nah man, I think all ah we see it, I saw it too......is just, as the game being played nobody eh expecting it would play out in the result.....poor fella......poor henglund!

« Reply #179 on: June 13, 2010, 07:33:58 AM »
Capello should have used Defoe instead of  Peter f*ckin Crouch-because even more so than with Heskey is highballs to his lengay arse for him tuh knock down. So predictable. Defoe would have made USA's defence work a little with his movement. I waitin tuh see which team will give them the cutarse that will finally shatter the myth that dey are a quality side. Should be great to watch!