April 25, 2024, 11:41:57 AM

Author Topic: France starting to crack already...  (Read 1313 times)

France starting to crack already...
« on: June 10, 2010, 09:20:57 AM »
... And Holland next watch and see.. 2 sides who could never keep it together..

France on brink of implosion as Henry and Diaby selections split entire squad

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/World-Cup-France-on-brink-of-implosion-as-Thierry-Henry-and-Abou-Diaby-selections-split-entire-squad-ahead-of-Uruguay-opener-article454661.html

France's World Cup plans have been thrown into turmoil by divisions within their squad over whether Thierry Henry should start against Urguguay tomorrow.

Senior French players, led by Nicolas Anelka and Franck Ribery, have put pressure on coach Raymond Domenech to include Henry ahead of Sidney Govou, and Abou Diaby in place of Yoann Gourcuff.

Those players pressing for Henry's inclusion from the start in the Group A opener in Cape Town claim the former Arsenal forward's experience and presence demands he is named in France's starting line-up.

Although Henry remains France's record goalscorer, the 32-year-old became a peripheral player at Barcelona last season and can no longer rely on being an automatic choice for his country.

The disharmony within the French ranks is said to be such that Anelka refused to pass to Gourcuff in a recent friendly against Costa Rica, while Ribery allegedly took the ball from the young Bordeaux star as he prepared to take a free-kick.

France midfielder Jeremy Toulalan admitted relationships were strained among some of the players within the squad, but insisted it did not mean Domenech's players would not be able to perform effectively in South Africa.

"In any time your relationships with certain people can be much stronger than with others," said Lyon midfielder Toulalan. "But on the pitch you don't have to the best friends in the world to play with somebody."

France full-back Eric Abidal, one of those who has supported the inclusion of his Barcelona team-mate Henry, said: "We can try and put our ideas together and try and find a middle ground but in the end it's the manager who decides."

And Arsenal defender Bacary Sagna admitted no amount of player pressure on Domenech would force the famously stubborn coach to change his mind about what his starting line-up should be.

Domenech sprung a major shock when he refused to include Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema and Arsenal playmaker Samir Nasri in his final 23-man squad, while also resisting calls from senior players to recall veteran midfielder Patrick Vieira, now at Manchester City.

"There is no debate," said Abidal. "The coach has to make his decisions and everyone has to accept it. We can maybe give him some advice or help but, even if we were to offer it, I don't think he would listen. The most important thing is the team."

France goalkeeper Hugo Lloris has warned his team-mates they will come unstuck in their World Cup opener against Uruguay - just as they did in 2002 in losing to Senegal - if they underestimate their South American opponents.

"We must be wary of the whole Uruguay team," said Lloris. "For us, the most important thing is to take our game and provide the means to win. We know the importance of this first game."

France have not had the most impressive of World Cup build-ups in terms of results, losing 1-0 to China last Friday, having come from behind to beat Costa Rica 2-1 and only managing a 1-1 draw with Tunisia in their previous warm-up games.

But Lloris said those results would have no bearing on how France perform in South Africa. "They're warm-up matches," said Lloris. "They're there to make mistakes. The most important thing is to do the basics well, to analyse things and make improvements immediately in the next game.

"Today, in the squad, everyone is saying the same thing - everyone has the same ideas and the same goal. We know where we're going. What we need to improve is our efficiency in the final 35 metres, the final pass, what choice to make.

"Even though everyone is aware that there are still areas for improvement in the group, the atmosphere is good. The group is serene and confident. We will need everyone. In this kind of competition, matches are won not by 11 players but by 23."

Chelsea and France winger Flourent Malouda said: "We have to create links between players. We can't just think: 'I'm not interested in what others do'. We're going to look ridiculous if, as we did at Euro 2008, each player stays in his comfort zone aiming only for good marks from the media to the detriment of the team."

Re: France starting to crack already...
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2010, 09:33:12 AM »
It good.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2010, 10:33:43 AM »
... And Holland next watch and see.. 2 sides who could never keep it together..

:shameonyou: :shameonyou:
Aye, yuh is mih boy doh let we fall out eh..... :)

As for France, I with you Bourbon....dey eh going ah damn place in this tournament!!  TIEF!!!  TIEF!!!

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2010, 01:56:21 PM »
Nah man...the negro element missing from Holland this rounds. That is where most of the animosity is come, along racial divides.

France going out in the first rounds. Why? Cause no host nation were ever eliminated in Round 1 and because Mexico always progress as well.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2010, 04:00:05 PM »
ah wonder what Domenech astrology charts have to say bout this? France looking good for an early flight home.

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2010, 04:12:04 PM »
nah man, this soundin like the trinidad mirror.  france going and take the cup. watch the ride.

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2010, 09:23:01 PM »
nah man, this soundin like the trinidad mirror.  france going and take de first flight home during the cup. watch the ride.

Ah fix it dey fuh yuh.

Let dommenech and he obeah man sit down with all de papers in south africa and figure out what dey going and do. In fact..he eh care..ent he contract up after dis tournament anyhow?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2010, 02:05:05 AM »
France is my team since tigana platini and tresour wore the red white and blue, but ah have tuh say, for ah team wid all this SUPER TALENT they really underachieving this rounds.

mr bourbon, we go see who going out when the time come, ah bet allyuh big beloved teams who doing so well in their practice games will cry before le blues.