April 29, 2024, 03:52:53 AM

If T&T make it to the play-offs who do you feel should be given a call-up or trial.

Anthony Rougier
7 (7.4%)
Cornell Glen
45 (47.9%)
Evans Wise
15 (16%)
Collin Samuel
1 (1.1%)
Arnold Dwarika
3 (3.2%)
Andre Boucaud
3 (3.2%)
Ricky Shakes
5 (5.3%)
Leave Team As Is.
15 (16%)

Total Members Voted: 93

Author Topic: Thread for the TRI v MEX Game.  (Read 64086 times)

Thread for the TRI v MEX Game.
« on: October 10, 2005, 07:17:11 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the game vs Mexico will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at;

1. SW Online Forum.

2. SW Online Live Chat.

3. Fifaworldcup.com.

4. Homeviewtnt/CT105fm.

5. i955fm.com.

TRI/MEX scorers in the Hex:

Trinidad & Tobago
4 - Stern John (PAN 2 - GUA 2).
1 - Dennis Lawrence (PAN 1).
1 - Angus Eve (USA 1).
1 - Carlos Edwards (GUA 1).
1 - Russell Latapy (GUA 1).

Mexico
6 - Francisco Fonseca (CRC 1 - PAN 1 - GUA 4).
4 - Jared Borgetti (USA 1 - TRI 1 - CRC 1 - PAN 1).
2 - Jaime Lozano (CRC 2).
2 - Antonio Naelson (USA 1 - GUA 1).
2 - Luis Perez (TRI 1 - PAN 1).
1 - Pavel Pardo (PAN 1).
1 - Guillermo Franco (GUA 1).
1 - Rafael Marquez (PAN 1).
1 - Ramon Morales (PAN 1).

WCQ - Head to Head battle

vs Mexico:
P   W   D   L    GF    GA
8    2   1   5     7     19

Leo Beenhakker Stats:
P    W    L    D    GF    GA.
13   5    6    2    14     15.

Leo's Break Down Stats:

Friendly Games: 4.
2 wins - Bermuda (H - 1-0, 4-0).
2 lose - North East Stars (H - 2-0), Alianza Lima (H - 1-0).

World Cup Qualifiers: 5.
3 wins - Panama (H - 2-0, A - 1-0), Guatemala (H - 3-2).
3 lose - Mexico (A - 2-0), United States (A - 1-0), Costa Rica (A - 2-0).

Gold Cup Games: 3.
2 draws - Honduras (A - 1-1), Panama (A - 2-2).
1 lose - Colombia (A - 2-0).

Current Standings.
Standings.

T&T Team:

Goalkeepers:
Kelvin Jack, Shaka Hislop, Clayton Ince.

Defenders:
Atiba Charles, Marvin Andrews, Cyd Gray, Anton Pierre, Dennis Lawrence, Avery John.

Midfielders:
Russell Latapy, Anthony Wolfe, Densill Theobald, Christopher Birchall, Silvio Spann (out), Carlos Edwards, Aurtis Whitley.

Forwards:
Dwight Yorke, Jason Scotland, Stern John, Scott Sealy, Kenwyne Jones.

Mexico Team:[/color]

Goalkeepers:
Oswaldo Sanchez, Moises Munoz.

Defenders:
Mario Mendez, Francisco Rodriguez, Carlos Salcido, Ricardo Osorio, Hugo Sanchez, Oscar Rojas, Israel Lopez.

Midfielders:
Juan Pablo Rodriguez, Gerardo Torrado, Gonzalo Pineda, Jaime Lozano, Luis Ernesto Perez, Carlos Morales.

Forwards:
Jesus Arellano, Rafael Marquez Lugo, Alberto Medina, Francisco Fonseca, Guillermo Franco.

TV-Listing:
US - Telemundo, 8pm EST.
T&T - Coming Soon.
UK - No.
CRC v GUA - (Closed-Circuit TV, 8pm EST).

News Room/Build-Up:
Game Preview.

Scenarios For 4th Spot:
TRI/GUA Points comprehensive breakdown and possible scenarios.

Official big-Up.
Big-Up T&T.

Meet-Up/Support/What To Wear.
Strike Squad 89 Replicas.

Football Polo T-Shirt.

More updates to follow.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2005, 11:48:43 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the TRI v MEX Game.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2005, 07:45:31 AM »
Andre Samuel, and cowen we lookin to reach dere from 4 -  4:30... Take a lil drink up, and then heead eeen side ..... Link up as usuall.. Allyuh come up early so we could get the lime on.!

yuh could bring ting if yuh warnt too cause iz big lime aftah!!!!

Every odda forumites ennvited toooo... jess bring ting.. to help replenish de supply... No Wuk thurday for us I figure...

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2005, 08:27:05 AM »
t & t results vs. mex.

Mexico (MEX) 2:0 (0:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone  MONTERREY MEXICO - 08.06.2005 

Mexico (MEX) 3:0 (1:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone  PUEBLA MEXICO - 13.10.2004 

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 1:3 (1:2)  Mexico (MEX) 
FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone  PORT OF SPAIN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 08.09.2004 

Mexico (MEX) 3:0 (2:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF  MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 05.09.2001 

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 1:1 (1:0)  Mexico (MEX) 
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF  PORT OF SPAIN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 25.04.2001 

Mexico (MEX) 7:0 (4:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF  MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 08.10.2000 

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 1:0 (0:0)  Mexico (MEX) 
FIFA WC 2002 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF  PORT OF SPAIN TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO - 23.07.2000 

Mexico (MEX) 4:0 (1:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
CONCACAF Gold Cup 2000  SAN DIEGO USA - 13.02.2000 

Mexico (MEX) 4:2 (1:0)  Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 
CONCACAF Gold Cup 1998  OAKLAND USA - 04.02.1998 

Trinidad and Tobago (TRI) 4:0 (2:0)  Mexico (MEX) 
FIFA WC 1974 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF  PORT-AU-PRINCE HAITI - 14.12.1973
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 08:33:42 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2005, 08:45:44 AM »
4-5-1 v MEX:

Jack
Edwards, Andrews, Lawrence, Avery
Theobald, Birchall, Latapy, Yorke, Scotland
                       John

Subs:
Jones for Theobald 46th.
Sealy for John 75th.
Wolfe for Scotland 75th.

If we winning:
Atiba for Theobald letting Carlos move back to right wing.
Whitley for Scotland.
Anton for Latapy.

Yorke and Birchall have to play center and concentrate on winning de ball. Scotland and Theobald should de good on de wing, Birchall to slow for that wing, and we need him center because Mexico does go through de center, they smart they wouldn't go through de air, but still we cant take de chance. Jones we need him forward, de man could play right wing or right back, but he to valuable to we attack and he will add spark when he come on.... and we need that spark to lift de team, so its important to have a good bench...

For the last time Beenhakker, Latapy is not a forward, twice he prove that to you.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 08:50:57 AM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 09:04:14 AM »
I like that line up and changes.

I also notice men real real talking about Guatemala and how the CR team will be weak and hos it unfair to us.

Is it jus me, but dont we have our own destiny in our hands?

Simple.
Win and advance.
You at home, yuh team improving by the game, riding a high etc etc.
Yuh know what result u need.
Why concentrate on the Cr-Guat game????????????????????????????????????

If we cyah win on Wed and Guat win, we will be sad yes, but we just got pipped by a better team.
It was our fault alone we get 5 in Guatemala.

Enough of the other game, lets go and win on Wed.
Is big man out dey, if they cant summon up that will to win knowing the prize, we have not learnt from Nov 19th.
We should have the mentality even if is Brazil or france we playing at home on Wed and they stand between us and the WC, they getting wet still.
Mexico is better than us, we all know this, but you dont have to be better to win at this level.

We hadda play like a pack of hungry dog, and fight 100% for every single ball and run like we never run before.

« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2005, 10:09:35 AM »
WELL SAID TRINI I HEVE FAITH IN DE WARRIORS

VICE PRESIDENT OF STERN FOR GOALS COMMITTEE

« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2005, 10:29:02 AM »
i calling:

trinidad 1, mexico 0.

i hope they eh coming to play. hopefully, it will be like when they play jamaica in 1997 in the last game of qualification. they wasn't even trying.

« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2005, 11:04:23 AM »
I just see that the Mexican channel bringing the game on Wednesday for the US based.  8pm is the time they give.

« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2005, 11:44:15 AM »
what channel iz dat breds?

« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2005, 11:45:32 AM »
Telemundo

« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2005, 01:59:03 PM »
YOU PROBABLY EH REALIZE DAT IF COSTA RICA BEAT GUATEMALA DEN WE TAKE 4TH SPOT...MAYBE DAZ Y WE HAVE TO CHECK OUT THE GUATEMALA GAME TOO....
I KNOW IT MIGHT BE HARD FOR SOME OF U FELLAZ BUT THINK MAN THINK

You miss the point of the man's post completely and then tell him that he not thinking.

« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2005, 03:16:52 PM »
good one  ;D

« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2005, 05:52:46 PM »
That 8pm is eastern time, 7pm central.

« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2005, 05:56:00 PM »
i calling:

trinidad 1, mexico 0.

i hope they eh coming to play. hopefully, it will be like when they play jamaica in 1997 in the last game of qualification. they wasn't even trying.

I second this TRI 1 -MEX 0 (although I feel Dwight or Latas might put one in for us. I feel them two working that set again like in 2000 when Latas bus one on Campos

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2005, 07:17:29 PM »
LATAS GO CRACK ONE FORM 25 YARDS OUT. WE BEATING MEXICO 2-NIL. DONE TALK.
COSTA RICA GO WIN ALL I WANT IS THEM TO PLAY WANCHOPE THEY COULD PLAY THE C SIDE JUST LET WANCHOPE STRIKE HE BOUND TO SCORE 3 ON GAUTEMALA

TNT GOING GERMANY.
WE GOING TO GERMANY.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 08:12:45 PM by TnTVillan »

« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2005, 07:31:50 PM »
LATAS GO CRACK ONE FORM 25 YARDS OUT. WE BEATING MEXICO 2-NIL. DONE TALK.
COSTA RICA GO WIN ALL I WANT IS THEM TO PLAY WANCHOPE THEY COULD PLAY THE C SIDE JUST LET WANCHOPE STRIKE HE BOUND TO SCORE 3 ON GAUTEMALA

TNT GOING GERMANY. BAHWHO AND UZBEKISWHO
WE GOING TO GERMANY.

aye yuh sure yuh ent Jloyd Samuel in disguise?
look we almost qualify and is now he talking bout "WE"  ;D

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #16 on: October 10, 2005, 08:32:26 PM »
All Ya have room for me and bobby in the squad or what?

« Reply #17 on: October 10, 2005, 08:34:56 PM »
All Ya have room for me and bobby in the squad or what?

yeah man always have room so long as i starting :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: October 10, 2005, 08:43:23 PM »
yuh know i just realize 'de bomber' due again..maybe is he they have lock up now..if not ah hope he patriotism go take over and he start behaving helself..especially when we on the brink of qualification..de country can't handle dat badness this week yes..or ever again for dat matter.

« Reply #19 on: October 10, 2005, 08:43:57 PM »
tnt villian u an bobby doh wa come an play for we so im sorry it hav no room

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #20 on: October 10, 2005, 08:57:15 PM »
Ya sure all ya ent have room. me and bobby go real strengthen the squad i see some highlights from the costa rica game all ya real need help at left back, this feller cox getting real string up. i go hold down the left fort for all ya.

« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2005, 08:59:50 PM »
cool it i iz ah left footer

Offline TnTVillan

« Reply #22 on: October 10, 2005, 09:06:43 PM »
I does play in the English Premiership. What league you in. I am one of the best left backs in all of england. All ya sure ya doh need meh

« Reply #23 on: October 10, 2005, 09:20:07 PM »
wat we need is comitted players i rather a player dats comitted to the team throughthick or thin nut one who only wa cum wen tnt dun qualify

again thanks mister left back but no thaks we good whree we is :devil: :beermug:

« Reply #24 on: October 11, 2005, 02:02:28 AM »
4-5-1 v MEX:

Jack
Edwards, Andrews, Lawrence, Avery
Theobald, Birchall, Latapy, Yorke, Scotland
                       John

Subs:
Jones for Theobald 46th.
Sealy for John 75th.
Wolfe for Scotland 75th.

If we winning:
Atiba for Theobald letting Carlos move back to right wing.
Whitley for Scotland.
Anton for Latapy.

Yorke and Birchall have to play center and concentrate on winning de ball. Scotland and Theobald should de good on de wing, Birchall to slow for that wing, and we need him center because Mexico does go through de center, they smart they wouldn't go through de air, but still we cant take de chance. Jones we need him forward, de man could play right wing or right back, but he to valuable to we attack and he will add spark when he come on.... and we need that spark to lift de team, so its important to have a good bench...

For the last time Beenhakker, Latapy is not a forward, twice he prove that to you.

Excellent Sam... !!!!

PREVIEW-Soccer-Houghton confident Uzbekistan can win in Bahrain.

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 11 (Reuters) - Uzbekistan coach Bobby Houghton is hoping Bahrain will feel the urge to attack in front of their home fans in the second leg of the Asian Zone World Cup qualifying play-off in Manama on Wednesday.
Houghton watched his side fail to make the most of their chances in a disappointing 1-1 draw in Tashkent on Saturday in the first leg, which was replayed after the original match on September 3 -- which Uzbekistan won 1-0 -- was nullified by FIFA because of a refereeing error.
"The 1-1 draw may seem like a bad result but I am confident that they will play to win the next leg and will come forward, giving us more space to counter-attack," Houghton, the former China national coach, told reporters.
"We can win 1-0, we can draw 1-1, we can draw 2-2 maybe, who knows."
Bahrain need only a 0-0 draw to win on away goals and set up a play-off with the fourth-placed team from CONCACAF -- either Trinidad & Tobago or Guatemala -- for a place in the World Cup finals.
Houghton, however, believes Bahrain are unlikely to risk sitting back on their away goal.
"Believe me, we are still in with a good chance," he said. "It is very difficult for them to play for a 0-0 draw which would take them through." Bahrain coach Luka Peruzovic, meanwhile, must decide whether to field star striker Ala'a Hubail in the second leg.
Ala'a was the joint top scorer at last year's Asian Cup but has just recovered from a knee injury that has sidelined him since February. He played just 15 minutes against Uzbekistan on Saturday.
"Ala'a showed that he's in very good condition, but I cannot say if he is going to play in the second leg or not. A player's condition changes everyday so I can only answer this question one hour before the match," said Peruzovic.
Neither Bahrain nor Uzbekistan have previously played in the World Cup finals and would be Asia's fifth representative if they did qualify. Japan, Iran, South Korea and Saudi Arabia have filled Asia's four automatic qualifying places.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 03:59:25 AM by Flex »

Up date from Mexico....
« Reply #25 on: October 11, 2005, 04:50:05 AM »
From de MEX site.....

The members of the Mexican team practiced yesterday movements, formation and possible line-up before leaving for Port of Spain, Trinidad. The Mexican technical director Volpe requested movements to the team of how they must play against the Trinidadians", he declared the mediocampista Luis Perez with respect to practice this Monday before leaving for Trinidad. Volpe assured that this encounter with the Caribbean team will dispute with the same seriousness and commitment of the previous games. I believe that it is the same commitment with which we are going to face this team, because it is part of the eliminatory one and because we want to win and to top the first place of the hexagonal group", declared Ricardo Volpe.

The Mexicans will have to play with intelligence by the fact that the premises will develop futbol hard and ríspido. "We must develop a team with much mobility, dynamics and fast touch to express the ball, to avoid the strong contacts" from Trinidad. Jaime Lozano will stay on with the Mexican team, we want to have up to two or three players in a position, reason why the moment will be clearer to him for making the decision from whom is going to be the chosen one for Germany. Volpe has said that it will be at the beginning of April when he presents the list the selected players that will participate in the final stage of preparation. More than likely Rodriguez, Méndez, Osorio and Pineda will start the attack from the back and Lopez, Torrado, Perez and Lozano will lead through the midfield while Fonseca and Guillermo will look to sneak pass Trinidad's defense and score, the Mexicans will try to force the Trinidadians to make mistakes and take advantage of it, we must have a strong midfield and have many options going forward. Trinidad is going to be a complicated team and the Mexicans will have to play with greaty intelligence.

In the mind of Argentine born forward #10 Frank Guillermo (Francisco "Kikin" Fonseca) he is focusing only on a win tomorrow against Trinidad and Tobago. Now we must try to finish first in the group, that is most important, and for me taking advantage of the opportunity that Mexico has given me". "I am going to take advantage of the opportunity said Guillermo". "We must only think about Mexico, which we are going to go to do, how we are going to work and to face them, let Trinidad and Tobago worry about that".
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 05:18:06 AM by Flex »

« Reply #26 on: October 11, 2005, 07:43:45 AM »
I remember when Najjar was talking about playing 4-5-1. Man on the board say all kind ah thing. One f*$#@^* man up front. What kind ah Sh*&* is dat etc etc. Now man calling for Beenie to play 4-5-1. :cursing:

« Reply #27 on: October 11, 2005, 01:22:57 PM »
Question - If we down to the 88 minute and we tied and Guatemala winning, and BAM! We get a penalty, who will take it?
I know Yorke is traditionally an extremely poor penalty kick taker.
Latas might be off the field, although if we still not on top I dont know if Leo will sub him.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #28 on: October 11, 2005, 04:24:39 PM »
Question - If we down to the 88 minute and we tied and Guatemala winning, and BAM! We get a penalty, who will take it?
I know Yorke is traditionally an extremely poor penalty kick taker.
Latas might be off the field, although if we still not on top I dont know if Leo will sub him.

Yorke a poor penalty kick taker??? dat man take som sweet pens in his time. i would have givin him first choice then latas, but then again latas on rel fire right now so he will be confident to step up.

« Reply #29 on: October 11, 2005, 05:14:42 PM »
I remember when Najjar was talking about playing 4-5-1. Man on the board say all kind ah thing. One f*$#@^* man up front. What kind ah Sh*&* is dat etc etc. Now man calling for Beenie to play 4-5-1. :cursing:

You so f**king stupid its a shame, you have to be either related to Najjar or close friends with him.... nothing more.... like Najjar dropping some serious Serian prick on yuh...

Different teams, different style (different strokes for different folks), a 4-5-1 formation can become 4-4-2, 4-3-3- or 3-5-2... is Mexico we playing... not Canada... we need to take pre-cautions...
« Last Edit: October 11, 2005, 05:16:17 PM by Flex »