April 26, 2024, 12:31:43 PM

Author Topic: Interesting observation on the results thus far  (Read 1836 times)

Interesting observation on the results thus far
« on: June 14, 2010, 01:36:35 PM »
Disclaimer: I'm a mathematician, so I like to over-analyse things  ;D

10 games so far, 7 have had outright winners, the other 3 being draws.

Of the 7 wins, 6 of the winners qualified for the WC before or at the same time as the loser. Perhaps not suprising, since there should be a strong correlation between strength of team and speed of qualification. But interesting that, at kickoff time in several of these games, the eventual winner was not the favourite (South Korea,Japan, Ghana, Slovenia).

Korea qualified before Greece
Argentina qualified on the same day as Nigeria
Slovenia qualified on the same day as Algeria
Ghana qualified before Serbia
Germany qualified after Australia
Netherlands qualified before Denmark
Japan qualified before Cameroon

So using that this as a prediction technique for the remaining opening matches, Paraguay should beat Italy...halftime score is 1-0  ;)

Re: Interesting observation on the results thus far
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2010, 06:42:04 PM »
Disclaimer: I'm a mathematician, so I like to over-analyse things  ;D

10 games so far, 7 have had outright winners, the other 3 being draws.

Of the 7 wins, 6 of the winners qualified for the WC before or at the same time as the loser. Perhaps not suprising, since there should be a strong correlation between strength of team and speed of qualification. But interesting that, at kickoff time in several of these games, the eventual winner was not the favourite (South Korea,Japan, Ghana, Slovenia).

Korea qualified before Greece
Argentina qualified on the same day as Nigeria
Slovenia qualified on the same day as Algeria
Ghana qualified before Serbia
Germany qualified after Australia
Netherlands qualified before Denmark
Japan qualified before Cameroon

So using that this as a prediction technique for the remaining opening matches, Paraguay should beat Italy...halftime score is 1-0   ;)

All that mathematical analysis and yuh still get it wrong?!  :o

So what are your predictions for the remaining opening games:

Ivory v Portugal
Brazil v North Korea
Honduras v Chile
Spain v Switz

Please pleasure entertain us...  8)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2010, 07:24:53 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2010, 06:56:22 PM »
Pro on he own with that pleasure talk

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2010, 07:27:46 PM »

Ok, I've made it clearer so yuh doh misconstrue what I meant!  8)

Good one though!  ;D

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2010, 05:31:20 AM »
He was right...half time score was 1-0.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2010, 07:39:43 AM »

The prediction was that Paraguay should beat Italy!

He quoted the half-time score because that was the actual score at the time he posted which he implied was an indication that his prediction was about to come true by full-time.

As we all know the full-time score was Italy 1 - 1 Paraguay so the formula did not hold up.

I want to see the remaining predictions by Ryan posted on here beforehand to see if his formula can prove to be correct for the remaining games!  ;)

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2010, 11:00:29 AM »

« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2010, 01:29:29 PM »

The prediction was that Paraguay should beat Italy!

He quoted the half-time score because that was the actual score at the time he posted which he implied was an indication that his prediction was about to come true by full-time.

As we all know the full-time score was Italy 1 - 1 Paraguay so the formula did not hold up.

I want to see the remaining predictions by Ryan posted on here beforehand to see if his formula can prove to be correct for the remaining games!  ;)

Well, it doesn't predict draws, which is all we've had since yesterday.....but North Korea qualified before Brazil....half time 0-0, so look for Korea to blaze dem in second half  ;D

« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2010, 01:36:17 PM »
I also used a mathematical tool to predict the winners.  But it only produced a Gaussian distribution  ;D

« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2010, 07:45:28 PM »
leave the maths out of the world cup

one of my friend who is an argentina supporter say the last time Alegeria played, Argentina won.

another friend who is ah England supporter say the last time North Korea played, England won.

another friend who supports Italy say the last time Honduras and New Zealand was in de world cup, Italy won.

so i guess this world cup Argentina, england and Italy winning the world cup.

last world cup their was some mathematical calculation that worked for eevry world cup which predicted a Brazil win and we all know what happened.