March 28, 2024, 03:09:15 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 21 - Group D: Germany vs Serbia  (Read 4741 times)

WC 2010 - Match 21 - Group D: Germany vs Serbia
« on: June 17, 2010, 07:50:18 PM »
Germany-Serbia preview

The bus championing Germany for gold as they kicked off their 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™ campaign was largely unpopulated. However just 90 minutes later the bandwagon was well and truly bustling, the consequence of a 4-0 rout of Australia. Serbia, by contrast, have gone from dark horses to reach the latter stages of the tournament, to outsiders for a place in the knockout stage, the result of a 1-0 defeat by Ghana.

Joachim Low and Radomir Antic will now send their charges out for a second time, with the Germans out to all but guarantee a place in the Round of 16 and Serbia simply needing something from the game to retain realistic hope of progression.

The match
Germany-Serbia, Nelson Mandela Day Stadium, Friday 18 June, 13.30 (local time)

Mesut Ozil, Thomas Muller, Lukas Podolski and Miroslav Klose ran riot first time out, and will now strive to put Serbia to the sword and enhance the emerging view that Germany are international football’s new entertainers. The Beli Orlovi lacked invention against Ghana, and will be hoping wingers Milos Krasic and Milan Jovanovic find their rhythm.

If Serbia lose and Ghana take something from their meeting with Australia, Antic’s team will take no hope of advancing into their final Group D game. Marko Pantelic, who spent four successful seasons in the Bundesliga before joining Ajax last year, and his towering strike partner Nikola Zigic will do their best to unravel a resolute German defence, while their defensive team-mates attempt to negate an attack which humiliated a team that conceded just one goal in eight games in the final round of Asian Zone qualifying.

Players to watch
Miroslav Klose v Nemanja Vidic

The Germany No11 served notice of his return to form with a goal against Australia. He now needs just four to equal Brazilian Ronaldo as the FIFA World Cup’s all-time leading marksman – a target he is intent on realising in South Africa. Vidic, one of the world’s finest centre-backs, will be out to nullify Klose in a battle of two players renowned for their aerial ability.

The stat
4 – The number of Serbia squad members who play their football in Germany: Antonio Rukavina (1860 Munich), Neven Subotic (Borussia Dortmund), Gojko Kacar (Hertha Berlin) and Zdravko Kuzmanovic (Stuttgart).

What they say
“We are not the fantastic team which everyone makes us out to be, but we have every reason to look forward to the Serbia game with quiet confidence. It will be a different type of game as they desperately need a win. We won't win every game 4-0, but we have nothing to fear,” Thomas Muller, Germany forward.

“Germany were very impressive against Australia. They have made the biggest impact at the World Cup so far. They are like a machine, they have seven players going forward. If we want to upset them, we will have to show no fear and play the best we can, because we face a better team,” Milan Jovanovic, Serbia winger.

Voice of the fans
“Everything is possible! Go Go Go Serbia! Gojko Kacar will be our main new star against Germany!” Bokisha84 (Serbia), FIFA.com user.

“It will get very difficult for Serbia against our boys. I do not want to be arrogant and I think that Serbia is stronger than Australia, but a win for Germany is realistic," ChinChillah (Germany), FIFA.com user.

The questions
Will Germany produce another emphatic display? Will Serbia manage a huge upset?

Re: WC 2010 - Match 21 - Group D: Germany vs Serbia
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 05:39:01 AM »
Serbia is not Australia for sure. But they could still get 2 or 3 goals.

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2010, 05:49:54 AM »
This ref feel he in a Casino?
How he only showing cards so.

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2010, 05:54:55 AM »
This ref feel he in a Casino?
How he only showing cards so.

« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2010, 06:08:57 AM »
well look ting..Klose off...damn ref
and now Germany down a goal and a man!

« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2010, 06:10:08 AM »
Oh oh...it is not a good day for Germany.....but ah still backing them....

COME ON DEUTSCHLAND!!!....

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2010, 06:10:51 AM »
Steups. Serbia score yes.

A Serbia win will make things more difficult for Ghana

Come on Germany, draw this game
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2010, 06:11:05 AM »
How come the blackjack dealer ent give a card for jumping over the boards?

I feel this is the last time we seeing he.

« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2010, 06:14:06 AM »
yeah this ref was way to trigger happy to start with the cards..

« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2010, 06:14:53 AM »

And with the way he was dishing out them cards earlier, doh be surprised if somebody else get send off.....steups.   I hate it when a ref influence the outcome of a game with a setta dotish cards....

« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2010, 06:17:14 AM »
Damn it, damn it....it come off the frigging post!!!

« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2010, 06:17:44 AM »
no worries...germany go still at least pull off a draw!
man done rock the crossbar to end the half

« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2010, 06:17:52 AM »
He rell spoil the game; because the game was shapin up to be good test for Germany now he give the advantage to Serbia. Krajiac seems a little one demensional in his dribbling style- United doh need anymore one dementional right side players.

« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2010, 06:24:10 AM »

And with the way he was dishing out them cards earlier, doh be surprised if somebody else get send off.....steups.   I hate it when a ref influence the outcome of a game with a setta dotish cards....

Ent!  this referee has been consistently shit in Spain and now shit in Africa. 7 cards in 37 minutes in a game that cannot be described as ovely physical or nasty. Why referees have lost the art of managing a game (players) is beyond me. You telling me he could not call Klose aside and talk to him. Yesterday the referee in the France Mexico game showed good management and did exacly that with Franco.

« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2010, 06:27:45 AM »
That's not the last red card we seeing this game, I'm figure the sides will even up in the second half.

« Reply #15 on: June 18, 2010, 06:33:01 AM »
He needed 2 get sick so dey could change him. Dat eh happen so plan B hope he get cramps.

« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2010, 06:46:46 AM »
It is not Germany's day....steups!!!

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2010, 06:47:31 AM »
From the time I see that wild man Podolski taking that penalty, ah say feel this man go miss.

He throw way 3 so far
Ketch footballitis

« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2010, 06:50:52 AM »
It is not Germany's day....steups!!!

ENTTTTTTTTT

« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2010, 07:21:34 AM »
Steups!!!...ah sour and is the referee fault.  He rob me of a good game....kakahole!!
Now Klose goh miss the next game...real idiot...

« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2010, 07:22:51 AM »
LAWDDDDDDDDD d only ting 2 make 2day a good day is England and d US get it. I mean if germany could get licks who iz dem 2.

« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2010, 07:24:00 AM »
well this game was thoroughly spoilt by the ref...ah well
still think germany will go through. Want Ghana to hammer the Aussies, then lose to germany and let Serbia and Aus play to a dull draw

« Reply #22 on: June 18, 2010, 07:25:01 AM »
Steups!!!...ah sour and is the referee fault.  He rob me of a good game....kakahole!!

I thought the game was pretty good actually although I can't understand how it only one goal in it.

« Reply #23 on: June 18, 2010, 07:33:05 AM »

I thought the game was pretty good actually although I can't understand how it only one goal in it.

Yeah it was good, but the actions of the referee leaving a sour taste in mih mouth....whey the fell FIFA find he??...steups...

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #24 on: June 18, 2010, 07:52:06 AM »
 :'(  I have almost lost all faith in referees... unless they're Latin American. They seem to be the only ones who are performing well.

« Reply #25 on: June 18, 2010, 10:30:54 AM »

Yeah it was good, but the actions of the referee leaving a sour taste in mih mouth....whey the fell FIFA find he??...steups...

Buh A A....how you so gung ho (daz a term..I eh callin yuh one ;D) on Germany all of a sudden?

Lemme see...

Holland
Germany
Birchall

Coincidence?  :devil:

« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2010, 10:39:34 AM »

Buh A A....how you so gung ho (daz a term..I eh callin yuh one ;D) on Germany all of a sudden?

Lemme see...

Holland
Germany
Birchall

WAIT NAH!! IS MILK SHE LOOKING FOR TO PUT WITH DE SUGAR DEY??!!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #27 on: June 18, 2010, 02:58:58 PM »
Germany were playing with 10 men and you coulda barely tell. I not worried for them. Blame that one on the ref.

« Reply #28 on: June 18, 2010, 03:04:27 PM »
Anybody see E-Man? Hard luck dey bro  :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: June 18, 2010, 03:43:38 PM »

Lemme see...

Holland
Germany
Birchall

Stop.  Minding. mih busines..... ;D