April 28, 2024, 07:20:47 AM

Author Topic: Anelka sent packing & other French news.  (Read 22686 times)

I just want dem forfeit...and South Africa go get 3-0...and den mexico carve up Uruguay 4-0.

There is a real possibility that some of the players will refuse to play.

Beleaguered France coach Raymond Domenech admitted on Monday night that he fears some of his mutinous team may refuse to play in their final Group A game against South Africa on Tuesday.

As the 2006 finalists’ embarrassing World Cup campaign went from bad to worse on Monday, there was a suggestion in France that captain Patrice Evra may be considering his stance ahead of the game at the Free State Stadium.

Asked if some players would refuse to play, Domenech said: ‘It is a possibility.’

Evra was thought to have been one of the ringleaders when Domenech’s players refused to train on Sunday in protest at the French Football Federation’s decision to send home Nicolas Anelka in the wake of the 2-0 defeat to Mexico.

Other players known to have endorsed the striker are William Gallas, Thierry Henry, Eric Abidal and Franck Ribery.

The French trained as planned on Monday ahead of a game they must win well if they are to have any chance of qualifying for the next stage.

Domenech said: ‘To say the least, this game has been difficult to prepare for.

‘On Sunday I tried to convince the players of the unprecedented stupidity of what they were about to do. I completely support the expulsion of Nicolas Anelka.’

In another blow to France, two major sponsors have pulled out of deals with the FFF. The players trained without their sponsor’s name on their shirts.

Bank Credit Agricole cancelled its TV campaign while fast-food company Quick have stopped using an advertising film featuring Anelka.

Legend Zinedine Zidane, who is known to dislike Domenech, denied he had encouraged the strike.

He said: ‘Thinking I can call the players to put pressure on the coach four years after I have retired is serious.’

France president Nicolas Sarkozy sent sports minister Roselyne Bachelot to confront the players saying: ‘I told the players they had tarnished the image of France and they could no longer be heroes for our children.’

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldcup2010/article-1288510/WORLD-CUP-2010-Raymond-Domenech-fears-French-squad-refuse-play-South-Africa.html#

Re: Anelka sent packing & other French news.
« Reply #91 on: June 22, 2010, 07:18:24 AM »
It go be interesting to see when EPL time how Evra tackle Anelka after all this.

If he go say yuh MuthaF yuh f&*Kup meh captaincy. Take Jammin  :devil:

« Reply #92 on: June 22, 2010, 07:26:17 AM »
I read the leaders of the discord are Henry, Gallas, Abydal, and Anelka. Apparently they will never be selected to play for France again.

« Reply #93 on: June 22, 2010, 07:30:57 AM »
I read the leaders of the discord are Henry, Gallas, Abydal, and Anelka. Apparently they will never be selected to play for France again.

Big surprise. Henry done. Gallas might as well. Anelka too. Abidal is de only player with time...buh...no real loss.

Sad ting is doh...dah all ah dem black.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #94 on: June 22, 2010, 07:36:25 AM »

3 out of 4 ent bad. Henry nowhere there.
You need to add in Evra and Frank Ribery. Malouda's a maybe.

« Reply #95 on: June 22, 2010, 09:02:41 AM »
It go be interesting to see when EPL time how Evra tackle Anelka after all this.

Nah man...obviously Evra backing Anelka. I feel the coach say the team playing shite and blame Anelka and Anelka turn round and tell him "well what u expect me to do with the nonsense tactics and selection u choose?" And Domenech probly tell him he off and then he cuss d man. The players who all find Domenech is shite will understand Anelka frustration.

« Reply #96 on: June 22, 2010, 09:22:08 AM »

I was wondering why ah fellah like Henry on de bench to start

Jeez what a long long fall from grace

« Reply #97 on: June 22, 2010, 09:26:49 AM »

Nah man...obviously Evra backing Anelka. I feel the coach say the team playing shite and blame Anelka and Anelka turn round and tell him "well what u expect me to do with the nonsense tactics and selection u choose?" And Domenech probly tell him he off and then he cuss d man. The players who all find Domenech is shite will understand Anelka frustration.

One version of the story has him telling Domenech, "go f--- yourself, you and your shite tactics"

but I don't know how much of that is wish fulfillment and how much is truth.

« Reply #98 on: June 22, 2010, 09:28:01 AM »

I was wondering why ah fellah like Henry on de bench to start

Jeez what a long long fall from grace

Henry on the bench because he's barely fit and can't play 90 minutes of high intensity football anymore, simply put.

« Reply #99 on: June 22, 2010, 10:16:02 AM »
GOD DOH SLEEP AND HE DOH LIKE THIERRY "HAND OF GOD" HENRY!!!....

Go home cheaters!!!....you didn't deserve to be in this tournament!!!!

« Reply #100 on: June 22, 2010, 10:38:46 AM »

De same way you take liberty to brand people cheaters...life have a funny way of playing cruel jokes. 

Careful dem words doh come back to bite yuh in dat delicious.... 8)

« Reply #101 on: June 22, 2010, 10:47:23 AM »

Yeah buh on reflection ah feel he go think about it some more.

Personally ah like Anelka but the fella is one ah dem people that if he get mash in ah party. Watch out :devil: :devil:

« Reply #102 on: June 22, 2010, 10:53:31 AM »

De same way you take liberty to brand people cheaters...life have a funny way of playing cruel jokes. 

Ah doh understand dat last sentence. Like yuh fuhget out ah word. What it is yuh relly want tuh say?

« Reply #103 on: June 22, 2010, 10:57:03 AM »

Ah doh understand dat last sentence. Like yuh fuhget out ah word. What it is yuh relly want tuh say?

::)  :rotfl:

Speaking about God, Tallman ah think you does jus appear out of no where at just the right time, just when you are needed lol...ah sure somewhere in the General Section you are probably putting someone in dey place at this very moment  :)

« Reply #104 on: June 22, 2010, 11:52:22 AM »

Eh heh....Do tell Palos..... :-\  :devil:

« Reply #105 on: June 22, 2010, 12:28:06 PM »

and if yuh eh feelin articulate today...by all means post ah picture...in HHD

« Reply #106 on: June 22, 2010, 02:00:51 PM »

Ah could post de pichures from Carnival Tuesday gettin on bad on de people dem protective services  8)

« Reply #107 on: June 22, 2010, 02:01:27 PM »

Go ahead and play like you eh know  8)

« Reply #108 on: June 22, 2010, 05:20:44 PM »

Ah could post de pichures from Carnival Tuesday gettin on bad on de people dem protective services  8)

sssshhhhh...what the hell wrong wid yuh??.... ;D

« Reply #109 on: June 23, 2010, 07:00:36 AM »
France captain Patrice Evra has vowed to tell the French people the truth about what has happened this week, announcing he plans to hold a press conference in the coming days.

"I think this is not the time to give our accounts, but the time to apologise. This apology is for millions of French [people],” Evra told TF1.

“I wanted to do it yesterday but the coach [Raymond Domenech] would not let me,” continued Evra, possibly revealing the reason for his absence from yesterday’s press conference.

“I'll do a press conference this week. The French people need to know the truth because the team of France belongs to the French."

Evra, who informed Domenech that the team would not be training on Saturday following the exclusion of Nicolas Anelka, went on to confirm that the squad was unhappy with the treatment of their team-mate and that he will hold his press conference later this week.

“We were unhappy about the decision made for Nicolas Anelka, but you'll know everything very soon,” he said.

“I will detail everything in a press conference... You will know during the week.”

http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2890/world-cup-2010/2010/06/22/1990001/world-cup-2010-france-captain-patrice-evra-vows-to-reveal

« Reply #110 on: June 23, 2010, 08:07:02 AM »
Stay tune 4 As the French Turns

« Reply #111 on: June 23, 2010, 08:28:58 AM »
Stay tune 4 As the French Turns

Girl dis one is ah roti and ah red solo kinda news

« Reply #112 on: June 23, 2010, 11:52:33 AM »
Henry call Sarkozy for a meeting. When u big, u big. I sure Domenech can't do that.

« Reply #113 on: June 23, 2010, 11:57:26 AM »
Henry call Sarkozy for a meeting. When u big, u big. I sure Domenech can't do that.
more than a game

« Reply #114 on: June 23, 2010, 01:28:12 PM »

Actually i think Sarkozy summoned Henry for a meeting to explain. big difference..

level bouf going and pass.

« Reply #115 on: June 24, 2010, 07:37:14 AM »
Article said Henry requested the meeting to explain the player side of things.

"Henry called the president from South Africa to tell him that he wanted to see him on his return," read a statement from the presidential palace. - BBC

"French media say that Henry flew home in his own chartered plane for a meeting with President Sarkozy."
« Last Edit: June 24, 2010, 07:39:17 AM by spideybuff »

« Reply #116 on: June 24, 2010, 09:33:06 AM »
Racial Tinge Stains World Cup Exit in France
Franck Fife/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images

The French soccer team on Sunday before an aborted practice session in South Africa. Some in France have questioned the players' lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor.
By STEVEN ERLANGER
Published: June 23, 2010

PARIS — After France was booted from this year’s World Cup on Tuesday without winning a match — amid scenes of selfishness, indifference and indiscipline — the French news media piled on about the humiliation to the country and the misbehavior of its players. There were calls for a complete restructuring of the French team: its management, its method for choosing players, its training.

But there is a more troubling aspect to the reaction to the defeat, which has focused on lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor on a team with many members who are black or brown and descended from immigrants.

The philosopher Alain Finkielkraut, who has often criticized the failures of French assimilation, compared the players to youths rioting in the banlieues, France’s suburban ghettos. “We now have proof that the French team is not a team at all, but a gang of hooligans that knows only the morals of the mafia,” he said in a radio interview.

While most politicians have talked carefully of values and patriotism, rather than immigration and race, some legislators blasted the players as “scum,” “little troublemakers” and “guys with chickpeas in their heads instead of a brain,” according to news reports.

Fadela Amara, the junior minister for the racially charged suburbs who was born to Algerian parents, warned on Tuesday that the reaction to the team’s loss had become racially charged.

“There is a tendency to ethnicize what has happened,” she told a gathering of President Nicolas Sarkozy’s governing party, according to news reports. “Everyone condemns the lower-class neighborhoods. People doubt that those of immigrant backgrounds are capable of respecting the nation.”

She criticized Mr. Sarkozy’s handling of a debate on “national identity,” warning that “all democrats and all republicans will be lost” in this ethnically tinged criticism about Les Bleus, the French team. “We’re building a highway for the National Front,” she said, in a reference to the far-right, anti-immigrant, anti-Muslim party founded by Jean-Marie Le Pen.

Philippe Tétart, a sport historian at the Institut d’Études Politiques, said that the undercurrent of racism was “very unhealthy, but one of the predictable negative outcomes of the World Cup defeat.”

France is confused about its identity and uncomfortable with the growing numbers and sometimes the attitudes of its immigrants and their children, he said. “What is certain is that we are going through in France questions of disobedience, of incivility, of loss of bearings, and this group of irritated young kids is an excessive reflection of those questions.”

In 1998, the French team that won the World Cup was widely praised for its multiethnic nature — black, white and Arab, and seen as a symbol of a more diverse nation. But today, Mr. Tétart said, the talk is the opposite.

Today’s players, he said, “come from a generation who come from the banlieues, and they don’t necessarily have the cultural background to understand what they did.”

Luc Chatel, the education minister, said on television Wednesday that he was “terribly angry” and shocked that Raymond Domenech, the team’s coach, who is blamed for some of the team’s disunity and apologized to the nation for the failures, refused to shake hands with the South African manager after the team’s final game.

“But I’m going to go farther,” he added. “A captain of the French team who does not sing ‘The Marseillaise,’ ” the national anthem, “shocks me, there it is. When one wears the jersey, one should be proud to wear the colors, you’re an example.”

He was speaking of Patrice Evra, who was born in Senegal and who found himself caught between players and managers as the team refused to practice after another black player, Nicolas Anelka, swore at Mr. Domenech and was removed from the team.

Mr. Sarkozy himself called a meeting on the disastrous result on Wednesday, summoning Prime Minister François Fillon, Sports Minister Roselyne Bachelot and Rama Yade, the junior sports minister. In a statement, he said he had ordered them “to rapidly draw the lessons of this disaster.”

The racial makeup of the French team has long been an issue on the far right, even in a country where all the French are “citizens” and are supposed to have equal rights. Of the 22-man squad, 13 are men of color, with two born in French territories.

This month, Marine Le Pen, the vice president of the National Front and daughter of its founder, said that she did not see herself in the makeup of the team, whose players behaved as individuals, not as a team, and who were “fighting for advertising contracts more than for their country.”

“Most of these guys,” she added, “consider at one moment that they represent France at the World Cup, and at another they are a part of another nation or have another nationality in their heart.”

In her contempt, which carefully did not mention the factors of race and ethnicity but implied them, she was echoing her father, who in June 2006 criticized the team for containing too many nonwhite players and failing to accurately reflect society. He also went on to scold players for not singing “La Marseillaise,” saying they were not French.

On Tuesday, Mr. Le Pen said that “the myth of antiracism is a sacred myth in France.” He added, apparently with no irony, that he hated politicians who turned the national soccer team into “a flag of antiracism instead of sport.”

Now, the language of Mr. Chatel, the education minister, resonates with the themes of the Le Pens. That reflects, critics say, the general effort of Mr. Sarkozy and his party, over the last few years, to weaken the far right by playing on the same themes of patriotism, nationhood and identity.

« Reply #117 on: June 24, 2010, 10:19:15 AM »
Now these people blaming their failure on race? ???

« Reply #118 on: June 24, 2010, 10:25:47 AM »
Well, well, well. It's the black man's fault now.....my how times have changed.... ::)

« Reply #119 on: June 24, 2010, 10:36:47 AM »
Racial Tinge Stains World Cup Exit in France
Franck Fife/Agence France-Presse — Getty Images

The French soccer team on Sunday before an aborted practice session in South Africa. Some in France have questioned the players' lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor.
By STEVEN ERLANGER
Published: June 23, 2010

PARIS — After France was booted from this year’s World Cup on Tuesday without winning a match — amid scenes of selfishness, indifference and indiscipline — the French news media piled on about the humiliation to the country and the misbehavior of its players. There were calls for a complete restructuring of the French team: its management, its method for choosing players, its training.

But there is a more troubling aspect to the reaction to the defeat, which has focused on lack of patriotism, shared values and national honor on a team with many members who are black or brown and descended from immigrants.

The philosopher Alain Finkielkraut, who has often criticized the failures of French assimilation, compared the players to youths rioting in the banlieues, France’s suburban ghettos. “We now have proof that the French team is not a team at all, but a gang of hooligans that knows only the morals of the mafia,” he said in a radio interview.

While most politicians have talked carefully of values and patriotism, rather than immigration and race, some legislators blasted the players as “scum,” “little troublemakers” and “guys with chickpeas in their heads instead of a brain,” according to news reports.

Fadela Amara, the junior minister for the racially charged suburbs who was born to Algerian parents, warned on Tuesday that the reaction to the team’s loss had become racially charged.

“There is a tendency to ethnicize what has happened,” she told a gathering of President Nicolas Sarkozy’s governing party, according to news reports. “Everyone condemns the lower-class neighborhoods. People doubt that those of immigrant backgrounds are capable of respecting the nation.”

She criticized Mr. Sarkozy’s handling of a debate on “national identity,” warning that “all democrats and all republicans will be lost” in this ethnically tinged criticism about Les Bleus, the French team. “We’re building a highway for the National Front,” she said, in a reference to the far-right, anti-immigrant, anti-Muslim party founded by Jean-Marie Le Pen.

Philippe Tétart, a sport historian at the Institut d’Études Politiques, said that the undercurrent of racism was “very unhealthy, but one of the predictable negative outcomes of the World Cup defeat.”

France is confused about its identity and uncomfortable with the growing numbers and sometimes the attitudes of its immigrants and their children, he said. “What is certain is that we are going through in France questions of disobedience, of incivility, of loss of bearings, and this group of irritated young kids is an excessive reflection of those questions.”

In 1998, the French team that won the World Cup was widely praised for its multiethnic nature — black, white and Arab, and seen as a symbol of a more diverse nation. But today, Mr. Tétart said, the talk is the opposite.

Today’s players, he said, “come from a generation who come from the banlieues, and they don’t necessarily have the cultural background to understand what they did.”

Luc Chatel, the education minister, said on television Wednesday that he was “terribly angry” and shocked that Raymond Domenech, the team’s coach, who is blamed for some of the team’s disunity and apologized to the nation for the failures, refused to shake hands with the South African manager after the team’s final game.

“But I’m going to go farther,” he added. “A captain of the French team who does not sing ‘The Marseillaise,’ ” the national anthem, “shocks me, there it is. When one wears the jersey, one should be proud to wear the colors, you’re an example.”

He was speaking of Patrice Evra, who was born in Senegal and who found himself caught between players and managers as the team refused to practice after another black player, Nicolas Anelka, swore at Mr. Domenech and was removed from the team.

Mr. Sarkozy himself called a meeting on the disastrous result on Wednesday, summoning Prime Minister François Fillon, Sports Minister Roselyne Bachelot and Rama Yade, the junior sports minister. In a statement, he said he had ordered them “to rapidly draw the lessons of this disaster.”

The racial makeup of the French team has long been an issue on the far right, even in a country where all the French are “citizens” and are supposed to have equal rights. Of the 22-man squad, 13 are men of color, with two born in French territories.

This month, Marine Le Pen, the vice president of the National Front and daughter of its founder, said that she did not see herself in the makeup of the team, whose players behaved as individuals, not as a team, and who were “fighting for advertising contracts more than for their country.”

“Most of these guys,” she added, “consider at one moment that they represent France at the World Cup, and at another they are a part of another nation or have another nationality in their heart.”

In her contempt, which carefully did not mention the factors of race and ethnicity but implied them, she was echoing her father, who in June 2006 criticized the team for containing too many nonwhite players and failing to accurately reflect society. He also went on to scold players for not singing “La Marseillaise,” saying they were not French.

On Tuesday, Mr. Le Pen said that “the myth of antiracism is a sacred myth in France.” He added, apparently with no irony, that he hated politicians who turned the national soccer team into “a flag of antiracism instead of sport.”

Now, the language of Mr. Chatel, the education minister, resonates with the themes of the Le Pens. That reflects, critics say, the general effort of Mr. Sarkozy and his party, over the last few years, to weaken the far right by playing on the same themes of patriotism, nationhood and identity.

More lessons from the greed and hypocrisy of colonialism. Yes you do reap what you sow.