April 26, 2024, 12:59:36 PM

Author Topic: Wimbledon 2010  (Read 2344 times)

Wimbledon 2010
« on: June 21, 2010, 10:02:00 AM »
#1 seed, and world #2, Roger Federer needed 5 sets to win his first round match today:

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/22/sports/tennis/22federer.html?hp

Re: Wimbledon 2010
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 09:23:56 PM »
I think Roddick could make semis this year

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2010, 11:42:24 AM »
Isner vs Mahut is 39-39 in the 5th set on ESPN now. 

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2010, 11:58:09 AM »
Isner vs Mahut is 39-39 in the 5th set on ESPN now. 

That is madness

The commentary here is real kicks
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2010/jun/23/wimbledon-2010-tennis-live

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2010, 06:37:01 PM »
Whoever wins this will likely flop in the 2nd round

« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2010, 05:38:33 AM »
Whoever wins this will likely flop in the 2nd round

my thoughts exactly.

« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2010, 01:16:36 PM »
Isner wins 70-68; Isner is happier than Mahut.

« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2010, 02:59:49 PM »
Isner is happier than Mahut.

What gave it away?

« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2010, 03:45:22 PM »
I thought they would have stopped at 69 lol

« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2010, 10:09:27 AM »
WIMBLEDON, England (AP) -- One day after winning the longest tennis match ever, John Isner lost in about 75 minutes.
The Wimbledon marathon man looked weary from the outset Friday, required treatment for a neck injury and was beaten by unseeded Thiemo de Bakker 6-0, 6-3, 6-2.
Isner had no aces after hitting a record 112 in his epic three-day victory over Nicolas Mahut.
"The turnaround time -- he just didn't have enough time to get his body right," said Isner's coach, Craig Boynton. "He's one tired boy."
Starting shortly after noon in warm sunshine, Isner received a standing ovation when he walked onto court. He immediately lost his serve -- something that didn't happen once in his 70-68 fifth set against Mahut.
Justine Henin and Kim Clijsters, two Belgians making Wimbledon comebacks, won to set up a fourth-round showdown Monday.
Clijsters, seeded eighth, beat No. 27 Maria Kirilenko 6-3, 6-3. Henin, seeded 17th, defeated No. 12 Nadia Petrova 6-1, 6-4.
No. 4 Jelena Jankovic beat No. 28 Alona Bondarenko 6-0, 6-3. No. 11 Marion Bartoli, the 2007 runner-up, defeated Greta Arn 6-3, 6-4.
Isner didn't warm up before taking the court and showed up unshaven. He dropped the first set in 16 minutes, winning only nine points while committing 11 unforced errors.
After the set, he took an injury timeout and received a neck massage from a trainer. Boynton said Isner's neck began to stiffen after the Mahut match.
After the loss, Isner pulled out of doubles before his first-round match with partner Sam Querrey, citing a toe injury.
"Your body's like, 'Hey, what are you doing to me here?"' Boynton said. "I mean, that match seemed like it was two weeks long."
The crowd roared when Isner finally won a game after 32 minutes to trail 2-1 in the second set. His shots began to show more zip, but his movement remained sluggish. Several times he didn't even pursue shots, and when he buried a forehand in the net in the third set, he bent over with his hands on his knees.
Isner's average first serve was 114 mph, well off his normal pace, which often tops 130. He won less than half his service points and never reached break point on de Bakker's serve.
"I wouldn't have bet a lot of money on him today," said Isner's mother, Karen. "But he did his best."
The listless performance was hardly surprising, given the victory over Mahut lasted a record 183 games and more than 11 hours of play. The records were mind-boggling:
-- Longest match: 11 hours, 5 minutes
-- Longest set: 8 hours, 11 minutes
-- Most games in a match: 183
-- Most games in a set: 138
-- Most aces: 215 (Isner 112, Mahut 103)
-- Most consecutive service games held: 168 (84 each)
The drama of the match -- which started on Tuesday and was suspended by darkness over two nights -- overshadowed another historic occasion Thursday at the All England Club.
Queen Elizabeth II visited Wimbledon for the first time in 33 years, but stayed for only one match, sitting in the Royal Box to watch Britain's Andy Murray win his second-round match in straight sets over Jarkko Nieminen.
The queen did not see top-ranked players Rafael Nadal and Serena Williams win their matches.
Hours after the queen left the grounds, Nadal took Centre Court. He fell behind two sets to one before rallying to beat Robin Haase 5-7, 6-2, 3-6, 6-0, 6-3, winning all 20 service points in the final set.
Nadal had been invited to meet the queen with other players earlier in the day, but defended his decision to practice for his match instead.
"I am playing in Wimbledon. It's not a joke. I love this tournament," Nadal said. "I have a lot of respect for the queen. I have a lot of respect for this tournament. Today is a match day for me, no? So I have my things to do."
Serena Williams did meet the queen and was slightly disappointed by the curtsy she had been practicing for days.
"I couldn't get as low as I wanted to," she said.
Williams then went out and beat Anna Chakvetadze 6-0, 6-1 in 48 minutes, but wasn't happy the match was put on Court 2 instead of Centre Court in recognition of her status as defending champion and three-time winner.
"I don't think I should be out there," Williams said.
The Queen clapped politely at the end of Murray's victory, while Murray and Nieminen bowed in synchronized fashion coming on and off the court.

original location

« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2010, 09:53:09 AM »
Serena Williams playing like the young tennis player I used to love watching back in 2002/2003.

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2010, 05:58:26 PM »
Mon Jun 28 09:53am PDT

Venus shows up 10 minutes late for match, gets booed by fans
By Chris Chase-Yahoo Sports

Five-time Wimbledon champion Venus Williams was booed by fans at the All England Club on Monday morning after showing up 10 minutes late for her fourth-round match. It was a surprising breach of etiquette by the staid British crowd, particularly because past winners like Venus are usually held in high regard.

Critics claimed the late arrival was a bit of gamesmanship on the part of Venus. The story goes that she was upset about getting put on Court 2 instead of one of the bigger venues like Centre Court or Court 1, so she took her time getting out there to prove a point. Venus gave a simpler explanation in the post-match interview:

"I didn't know the procedure for Court 2, so I was waiting on someone to get me. No one came. So eventually I just came out (laughter).

"You know, it was like, 'no one's here.' Then I saw everyone else leave. I thought, 'Okay, time to go.' Usually they come and say, 'Okay, let's go.' So ... I just figured, 'Let me go out'. So when I went out, security was waiting. Usually there's like a court escort kind of person, they come and get you."

That sounds reasonable enough except for the part about her not knowing the procedure for Court 2. Venus has played on the court twice thus far during Wimbledon, both times during the doubles tournament with her sister, Serena. Maybe someone didn't come for her, but it's doubtful she didn't know the routine.

If Venus was angry at playing at the 4,000-seat court, she shouldn't have been. Each of the eight women's matches were scheduled for early in the day on Monday owing to the fact that the quarterfinals begin Tuesday. Venus was relegated to the third court for the very logical reason that hers was the third-best match. Sister Serena played Maria Sharapova on Centre Court, and Justine Henin and Kim Clijsters battled it out on Court 1. Even Venus herself can't argue that her fourth-round match against Jarmilla Groth was even close to as important as those two.

Venus won the match, 6-4, 7-6 (5).

« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2010, 12:59:41 AM »
Doh sleep on Federer !

« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2010, 12:20:49 PM »
Venus out. 

Just bringing myself up to speed in anticipation of the World Cup void during the next two days.

« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2010, 09:45:57 AM »
Tomas Berdych has just defeated Roger Federer in 4 sets 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, 6-4.

End of an era for the six-time champion.

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2010, 06:16:19 AM »

And he continues to be an ungracious douche which is one of the reasons I am no fan. May he never win another grandslam tourny!

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2010, 01:34:44 PM »

And he continues to be an ungracious douche which is one of the reasons I am no fan. May he never win another grandslam tourny!

Agreed. I am a big fan of his game, but not a fan of his personality.

Very poor reaction from Roger to his defeat.

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2010, 03:52:38 PM »
All I need to end this weekend is 4 Serena 2 lose d final. FADDER HAVE MERCYYYYYYY