March 28, 2024, 03:43:30 AM

Author Topic: Group Stages Over: The Shakeout  (Read 2313 times)

Group Stages Over: The Shakeout
« on: June 25, 2010, 04:51:16 PM »
Now that the group stages are over, how does it look for the member confederations?

Round of 16

2 CONCACAF
 Mexico
 USA
(2 out of 3 qualifiers)

5 CONMEBOL
 Argentina
 Brazil
 Chile
 Paraguay
 Uruguay
(5 out of 5)

1 CAF
 Ghana
(1! out of 6)

2 AFC
 Korea Republic
 Japan
(2 out of 4)

5 UEFA
 England
 Netherlands
 Portugal
 Spain
 Slovakia
(5 out of 13)

The OFC had one entrant - New Zealand.

What does it all mean? The strong federations are still as strong as ever. I wouldn't say that there were any minnows in the groups -maybe teams that came not to lose and teams that couldn't overcome the odds.  North Korea I think had a letdown after the Brazil game. Honduras ended up with the same results as us in 2006 - two 2-0 losses and a 0-0 tie. They looked more overwhelmed than over matched though, we know from qualifying they are capable of playing better, esp at home.

The African teams I think wilted under the pressure. Cameroon and the Ivory Coast are better than the record suggests.

At this point, I'm still picking Brazil to go all the way, leaving Holland to ponder the empty trophy case.
USA for the semi-finals beating Ghana and Korea. (and I am a hater eh!)
Argentina doing in Mexico yet again, and then taking care of Germany.
Spain wins the Iberian battle and then goes on to defeat Japan.

Speculation, yes. That's why they play the games. We'll know the real answer soon enough.

Re: Group Stages Over: The Shakeout
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 05:05:26 PM »
Bitter, yuh eh reppin' de haters, Jed.  Yuh supposed to give in to de hate and NOT have the us gettin' past Ghana!  ;D

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 06:50:18 PM »
hmmm u do know Ghana IS Africa....they have an overwhelming advantage...USA eh going anywhere. Ghana bringing back 2006 all over again.

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2010, 07:04:04 PM »
South America only lost one game.  Today Chile 1 - Spain 2.

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2010, 08:25:52 PM »
hmmm u do know Ghana IS Africa....they have an overwhelming advantage...USA eh going anywhere. Ghana bringing back 2006 all over again.

Ghana have scored 2 goals so far. Both penalties.

« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2010, 09:51:24 PM »
ghana have to bring dey A++ game dis time arround, an dey eh show dat yet in dis world cup, dey missing finishin power an' if dey eh figure it out dey goh lose...................and I too am a hate............ hating is one ting, reading d scene is anodder, my two cents
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 09:53:10 PM by lefty »

« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2010, 11:03:18 PM »
It's 6 European teams through out of 13 (yuh leave out Germany).

Coincidentally all European teams play each other in the 2nd round.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 12:24:12 AM by JDB »

« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2010, 11:25:58 PM »
Meh I think it will be a rematch from confeds.. don't be surprised..
Last 16 - CONMEBOL 100%, CONCACAF 67%, AFC 50% and UEFA less than 50%. While UEFA sending 13 teams and only 6 make it to the last 16.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 11:48:18 PM by sHOTTA12 »

« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2010, 04:59:29 AM »

I am going to wash my keyboard off with soap when I'm done posting this but, the US team of 2010 eh the US team of 2006....Ghana MUST bring something more (what that is mih he know, a compass on dey shoes perhaps??) than what they've produced so far in this tournament.......

« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2010, 08:06:51 AM »
Before the tournament, the teams in the round of 16 were ranked by FIFA as follows...

1. Brazil
2. Spain
3. Portugal
4. Netherlands
6. Germany
7. Argentina
8. England
14. USA
16. Uruguay
17. Mexico
18. Chile

31. Paraguay
32. Ghana
34. Slovakia
45. Japan
47. Korea Republic

11 of the last 16 teams (69%) were in the top 20 in May......

« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2010, 11:33:36 AM »

I am going to wash my keyboard off with soap when I'm done posting this but, the US team of 2010 eh the US team of 2006....Ghana MUST bring something more (what that is mih he know, a compass on dey shoes perhaps??) than what they've produced so far in this tournament.......

these inspirational US montages they showing on ESPN i feel getting to allyuh head ;D :devil:

GO GHANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

edit: speak of the devil as soon as i finish this post ESPN just show one....lol