March 29, 2024, 07:25:15 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 50 - Round of 16 : USA vs Ghana  (Read 49910 times)

WC 2010 - Match 50 - Round of 16 : USA vs Ghana
« on: June 26, 2010, 05:21:41 AM »
Fireworks expected in Rustenburg

No quarter will be asked or given when USA take on Ghana's Black Stars at Rustenburg's Royal Bafokeng Stadium for a place in the quarter-finals of the 2010 FIFA World Cup™. With both teams having already offered evidence of an attacking approach, an open, attractive game looks on the cards on Saturday.

The match
USA-Ghana, Round of 16, Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg, 26 June, 20.30

The Round of 16 meeting between USA and Ghana promises a feast of attacking football given both teams have looked stronger going forward than at the back. While USA teetered on the brink of elimination before scoring a stoppage-time winner in their final Group C game against Algeria, Ghana performed impressively in navigating their way through a tricky section where they faced Serbia, Australia and Germany. Though that may not necessarily ensure the west Africans the psychological upper hand in the face of single-minded opponents, several players who will be involved on Saturday have first-hand memories of the sides' meeting at the group stage in Germany four years ago - when Ghana's 2-1 victory sent the Americans home.

This time USA coach Bob Bradley will be relying on Landon Donovan, the gifted LA Galaxy forward whose two goals so far in South Africa included the decisive late winner against Algeria. Bradley's opposite number Milovan Rajevac, meanwhile, can call on Rennes front man Asamoah Gyan, who has scored six of Ghana's nine goals so far in 2010. To keep Gyan and Co at bay, the United States will need to tighten up a defence that at times has been found wanting, particularly in the first half of their 2-2 draw with Slovenia.

Players to watch
Clint Dempsey v John Pantsil

As team-mates at Fulham in the English Premiership since 2008, there can be little that these two do not know about each other. So, when Dempsey makes his characteristic runs from deep positions, he is sure to encounter the immovable force of Pantsil in the Ghana defence. And while the American perhaps has something to prove after missing a hatful of chances against Algeria, he will not expect any favours from an opponent who shrugged off a nasty clash of heads during the 1-1 draw with Australia to take his place against Germany four days later.

The stat
12 – the number of survivors from the group match between the two teams at Germany 2006: Ghana's Richard Kingson, John Mensah, Derek Boateng, Stephen Appiah, Pantsil and Matthew Amoah, and USA's Carlos Bocanegra, Steve Cherundolo, Dempsey, DaMarcus Beasley, Donovan and Oguchi Onyewu.

What they said
"The USA are a very good side, solid, full of running and they play well as a team. Still, we know we have the quality to beat them," Asamoah Gyan, Ghana forward.

"We'd be delighted with two more wins but why stop there? Nothing is impossible. Winning the World Cup is what we're here for," Jozy Altidore, USA forward.

The voice of the fans
"I will a bit sorry to lose one of these teams, as I would like to have seen them reach the quarter-finals. But if I have to choose, I reckon Ghana will go through," masry2zbone, FIFA.com user

The question
Can the Americans repeat their feats from last year's FIFA Confederations Cup and reach the Final? Or can Ghana push on and become the first African team ever reach the last four?

Re: WC 2010 - Match 50 - Round of 16 : USA vs Ghana
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2010, 06:20:44 AM »

GHANA!!!!!

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2010, 07:17:59 AM »
ah cant stand espn no more ah watching in spanish GOOOOOOOOOOO GHANAAAAAAAAAAA,Americans have no respect for the beautiful game & Lalas is ah DUNCE :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2010, 07:29:28 AM »
aaaaaahhhhhhh yesssss!!  Its a good day for scalping a yank....whey mih haters??!!   :devil: ;D

GO GHANA!!!!

« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2010, 08:01:34 AM »
Is not

aaaaaahhhhhhh yesssss!!  Its a good day for scalping a yank....whey mih haters??!!   :devil: ;D

GO USA!!!!

this supposed to read?  Like yuh fgettun' how yuh obeah does whuk or wha?  :devil:

« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2010, 08:04:59 AM »

GO GHANA!!!!

« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2010, 08:08:17 AM »
@ Mango Chow....LOL.....ah know ah supposed to eh, but the words just wont come out.... :devil: ;D

« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2010, 08:11:06 AM »
Yes let us start another USA hator thread!

Go Ghana, makes us proud!

« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2010, 08:25:20 AM »
If Ghana doesn't find their scoring shoes USA, hate them of love them, will be marching on..

Have not seen a legit scoring threat from Ghana all tournament- cause for concern. 

« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2010, 08:41:07 AM »
GH-GH-GH-GHANA
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2010, 08:51:53 AM »
Ghana need penalties to score. 

« Reply #11 on: June 26, 2010, 09:14:23 AM »

GO GHANA!!!!

That's kinda tasteless... and unnecessary.

« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2010, 09:30:06 AM »
Bakes please.....

« Reply #13 on: June 26, 2010, 09:39:58 AM »

GO GHANA!!!!

That's kinda tasteless... and unnecessary.

Dred you have posted in words just as tasteless if not more tasteless!

« Reply #14 on: June 26, 2010, 09:44:47 AM »
Ok....help me out.  Ah eh want to be blinded by mih biasedness against the US, but what is tasteless about this, considering I've used the term scalping on other occasions in similar situations.....

« Reply #15 on: June 26, 2010, 09:46:36 AM »
This should be a close exciting game..However I expect the US to win..

« Reply #16 on: June 26, 2010, 09:49:47 AM »
Ok....help me out.  Ah eh want to be blinded by mih biasedness against the US, but what is tasteless about this, considering I've used the term scalping on other occasions in similar situations.....

I just using the man's word tasteless- I understand the history but they still scalping people in the USA just using different tools! Doh study he; all of a sudden thing tasteless because it involved somebody else!

« Reply #17 on: June 26, 2010, 09:55:52 AM »

I was referring to the image, not the words used.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 10:03:00 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #18 on: June 26, 2010, 09:58:34 AM »

I just using the man's word tasteless- I understand the history but they still scalping people in the USA just using different tools! Doh study he; all of a sudden thing tasteless because it involved somebody else!

Well when I used the term I most certainly didn't mean to upset anyone.  I'm sure I've used the term before, I'm certain I've heard the term being used by others in a similar situation....

Any how....I'm being side tracked

GO GHANA!!!  

« Reply #19 on: June 26, 2010, 09:58:56 AM »

I have no idea what the f**k you going on about... but then again, that's no real surprise.  Sport and picong is one thing, showing somebody being murdered and their scalp being cut off is tasteless, posting it in the context which it was (throwing picong) was unnecessary.  Whoever feel to disagree that is their right, I not posting for support or agreement.

« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2010, 09:59:26 AM »

I was referring the image, not the words used.

OK....

« Reply #21 on: June 26, 2010, 10:11:44 AM »

Well when I used the term I most certainly didn't mean to upset anyone.  I'm sure I've used the term before, I'm certain I've heard the term being used by others in a similar situation....

Any how....I'm being side tracked

GO GHANA!!!  

Yuh might as well pack up and give up and look forward to tomorrow.  According to espn, the usa is going to play Uruguay next so that means they are heavy favourites to win this afternoon.  So.....gwan wit yuh Ghana.

« Reply #22 on: June 26, 2010, 10:14:37 AM »
ESPN??!!!.... :o :o  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Ah sure according to dem, the US done win the World Cup.... ::) ::)  steups...why dem doesn't hush and let people like dem.....double steups!!!

GHANA!!

GHANA!!

GHANA!!

« Reply #23 on: June 26, 2010, 10:14:46 AM »
GHANA or nothing  :flamethrower:

« Reply #24 on: June 26, 2010, 10:15:57 AM »

I have no idea what the f**k you going on about... but then again, that's no real surprise.  Sport and picong is one thing, showing somebody being murdered and their scalp being cut off is tasteless, posting it in the context which it was (throwing picong) was unnecessary.  Whoever feel to disagree that is their right, I not posting for support or agreement.

Oho-so when you have disagreed with another's point of view on this forum and decide to throw in/respond with contrived scenarios "involving that person getting bend over as a boy by an adult male" (child sex abuse), as a means to question their masculinity,that is picong not tasteless or unnecessary. Gotcha! :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 10:38:27 AM by giggsy11 »

« Reply #25 on: June 26, 2010, 10:31:38 AM »

Paging FF, Capo, Preacher, Lefty, DeSowa, Touches (he'll be back  :devil:)....whey all yuh??....We have work to do.... :devil: :devil:  ;D ;D

« Reply #26 on: June 26, 2010, 10:46:01 AM »

Paging FF, Capo, Preacher, Lefty, DeSowa, Touches (he'll be back  :devil:)....whey all yuh??....We have work to do.... :devil: :devil:  ;D ;D

Wake dem up, Sweetheat!  Wake dem to F*** UP!!!

« Reply #27 on: June 26, 2010, 10:46:52 AM »
The U.S state dept just issued a statement that dey eh taking no more refugees from T&T unless dey meet certain demands... :flamethrower:
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 10:49:29 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #28 on: June 26, 2010, 10:51:37 AM »
I usually support the teams from our region, but Ghana getting my support for this game. Still supporting Alti to score though.

Ghana better be prepared to fight all 90 + minutes, cause Sam's boys doh give up coming at you.

« Reply #29 on: June 26, 2010, 10:58:15 AM »
Keep d hate burning bright , FIRE BUN DEM  :devil: