March 28, 2024, 07:06:14 AM

Author Topic: If Uruguay can do it, so can T&T  (Read 8918 times)

If Uruguay can do it, so can T&T
« on: July 06, 2010, 01:25:03 PM »
If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, tt can do the bloody same thing. I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, tt can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull.

Re: If Uruguay can do it, so can T&T
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 01:28:09 PM »
i admire players like forlan and suarez bc they actually run back to defend and they play as a unit, no star boy mentality.

the defenders are fit and never give up. if you notice, uruguay was down but they started playing better afterwards, they never gave up. with the tt team when they are down they dont have that drive to even the scores. that lies with the team selection and the players mentality, we need an adjustment of this bc tt can be a world beater if they put everything in place.

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2010, 02:00:14 PM »
If Uruguay with a population of 3 million make the semi, tt can do the bloody same thing. I have been saying that for donkey years, the foreign based and locals need to believe with the right management, coaching and self belief, tt can reach very far in the world cup. Please don't say we don't have the talent because thats bull.

a pop of 3 million in which soccer is king .... yes a population pool in which mainly 1 ethnic  group plays football so about  500.000 and their is competition from track , basketball, cricket , hockey, rugby  etc  ... 
« Last Edit: July 06, 2010, 03:43:43 PM by Trini _2014 »

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2010, 02:01:09 PM »
 breds, I fall out bad bad wid a German fella sportin WE  jersey in London (Nottinghill Carnval) who was TELLING ME dat we could never play 5, 6 or 7 games at this level... telling me dat we is "ah small country" and dat we could never do big tings, so ah arks him....

"we small eh?..."  he shake he head as if to say yes... ah arks him "how tall Maradona is?..." and den ah tell him, take off de jersey... he not fit to wear it... yuh believe de man sen' fuh 2 more pardners to want to square up and spark it...

I believe we could do more than just qualify, and play de 3 games... but dais me... as long as we set it up right, I see no reason as to why we can't...

none at all...

shock de world ah say!!!...

I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2010, 02:48:19 PM »
I eh want to dampen anyone enthusiasm, but Uruguay rise after so many years is no fluke. Yet they struggled to qualify. That being said watch the squad list & where Uruguay players are playing and gaining experience. This is the first starting point. Only two players actually play in Uruguay

Fernando MUSLERA   16/06/1986   GK   Lazio (ITA)   190
2   Diego LUGANO   02/11/1980   DF   Fenerbahce (TUR)   188
3   Diego GODIN   16/02/1986   DF   Villarreal (ESP)   185
4   Jorge FUCILE   19/11/1984   DF   Porto (POR)   177
5   Walter GARGANO   23/07/1984   MF   Napoli (ITA)   168
6   Mauricio VICTORINO   11/10/1982   DF   Univ. de Chile (CHI)   182
7   Edinson CAVANI   14/02/1987   FW   Palermo (ITA)   188
8   Sebastian EGUREN   08/01/1981   MF   AIK Stockholm (SWE)   186
9   Luis SUAREZ   24/01/1987   FW   Ajax (NED)   181
10   Diego FORLAN   19/05/1979   FW   Atletico Madrid (ESP)   181
11   Alvaro PEREIRA   28/11/1985   MF   Porto (POR)   182
12   Juan CASTILLO   17/04/1978   GK   Deportivo Cali (COL)   181
13   Sebastian ABREU   17/10/1976   FW   Botafogo (BRA)   193
14   Nicolas LODEIRO   21/03/1989   MF   Ajax (NED)   173
15   Diego PEREZ   18/05/1980   MF   Monaco (FRA)   176
16   Maximiliano PEREIRA   08/06/1984   DF   Benfica (POR)   173
17   Egidio AREVALO   01/01/1982   MF   Penarol (URU)   168
18   Ignacio GONZALEZ   14/05/1982   MF   Valencia (ESP)   180
19   Andres SCOTTI   14/12/1975   DF   Colo Colo (CHI)   183
20   Alvaro FERNANDEZ   11/10/1985   MF   Univ. de Chile (CHI)   185
21   Sebastian FERNANDEZ   23/05/1985   FW   Banfield (ARG)   167
22   Martin CACERES   07/04/1987   DF   Juventus (ITA)   178
23   Martin SILVA   25/03/1983   GK   Defensor Sporting (URU)   187

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2010, 03:04:24 PM »
I eh want to dampen anyone enthusiasm, but Uruguay rise after so many years is no fluke. Yet they struggled to qualify. That being said watch the squad list & where Uruguay players are playing and gaining experience. This is the first starting point. Only two players actually play in Uruguay

Steupes....you really reply to dah chupid talk?

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2010, 03:34:36 PM »
Correct!. Uraguy is no johnny-come-lately. They have been around before the WC came in fruition. They almost reign on Brazil's parade in 1970 with they same type of football they played currently. Yes they have struggled in the modern era. But whever they qualify, they are not to be taken lightly. The players home should learn from U

« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2010, 04:13:27 PM »
A better arguement might be if the US and Mexico can do it so can we,that's where we have to start,some peeps watching too much Football on TV,is too much ifs when will we stop iffing.

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2010, 04:34:19 PM »

and what is so stupid about it? you think i am unaware that most of U players ply their trade abroad? Like you seem to forget that on many occasions tt had extremely talented players but never a coach to bring together as a unit.

nothing is impossible in modern football, most of tt players are also playing abroad, the problem exists with agents and scouts not picking them up outside the uk. its not that our players cant play in la liga, or serie a or eresdiva. it also lies with the coaching problem in tt, im sure observer is well aware of that.

where did i ever say they were johnny come latelys, palos does talk a pile of a#$ when he ready, always the pessimist, if U thought like him they would be content with a first round exit.

« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2010, 04:38:17 PM »

and the biggest joke of all is, how many of them ply their trade in the epl? like many football supporters on this board always brag about.

our agents and scouts for tt are poor, the players are limited to the uk and the us, roberts and a handful have gotten opportunities outside the uk but very scarce. look at even hylands current situation

we have a multi faceted problem with our football, with the right coach we made the world cup, with the wrong coaches and management we will fail to make it. plus our players need to start getting picked up other european leagues.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2010, 04:42:17 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2010, 04:43:27 PM »

and the biggest joke of all is, how many of them ply their trade in the epl? like many football supporters on this board always brag about.

our agents and scouts for tt are poor, the players are limited to the uk and the us, roberts and a handful have gotten opportunities outside the uk but very scarce. look at even hylands current situation

England is the comfort zone. Language may be the issue. The guys have to try other Euro places.

« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2010, 04:47:12 PM »

England is the comfort zone. Language may be the issue. The guys have to try other Euro places.

too much of a comfort zone, its almost a limitation, all youth footballers in tt should be made aware that they should learn spanish as a 2nd language in order for them to have greater opportunities in europe, if they are really good at languages, take up german and french as well.

the language barrier shouldnt be the main deciding factor as to the progress of our players. i really think emphasis should be placed on the youths in tt to learn new languages for their future instead of relying on uk clubs.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2010, 04:49:13 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2010, 07:03:26 PM »
Agree!!!!

« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2010, 07:29:07 PM »

too much of a comfort zone, its almost a limitation, all youth footballers in tt should be made aware that they should learn spanish as a 2nd language in order for them to have greater opportunities in europe, if they are really good at languages, take up german and french as well.

the language barrier shouldnt be the main deciding factor as to the progress of our players. i really think emphasis should be placed on the youths in tt to learn new languages for their future instead of relying on uk clubs.

Language is not the only issue, players coming from small countries like ours need proper representation with good connections outside of the UK. Most of the agents who handle our local players are based in the UK and as such will rely on connections with clubs to get trials where possible for our players.

« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2010, 07:23:04 AM »
Uraguay is not no small fry.

They have more world cup titles than : Holland,
England
Mexico
Spain

« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2010, 07:31:52 AM »
ah man compare we to uruguay... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:, we can't even handle costa rica and honduras.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2010, 08:09:38 AM »
no critical thinking by the poster

« Reply #17 on: July 07, 2010, 11:20:08 AM »
In theory, an abundance of gifted young players ought to make ... a global super-power in the game.

But insiders point to squandered talent, a national sport strangled by poor infrastructure, and football officials obsessed by gaining re-election for themselves. There is also evidence of corruption.

written of nigeria but same applies to trinidad.

source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/world/africa/10524059.stm

« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2010, 11:32:40 AM »

explain in stead of casting judgement, lets hear why no critical thinking was involved? some people like to talk but have no argument to back up the insult or judgement.

« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2010, 11:38:51 AM »
ah man compare we to uruguay... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:, we can't even handle costa rica and honduras.

and what? with some individuals on this board its better to think small or hence be small minded in their approach to our football. it is more in their comfort zone, thinking small is for people who have no vision and very little faith and self belief

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2010, 11:58:54 AM »

explain in stead of casting judgement, lets hear why no critical thinking was involved? some people like to talk but have no argument to back up the insult or judgement.
You didn't examine Uruguay's inherent advantages. History ( they actually won 2 world Cups albeit in the pre WW 2 era, several Copa americas and their teams have won Libertadores cups), Infrastruture and the human capital  necessary for development of a football programme. Added to the fact that they have very strong connections with Argentina and are placed in the highly competitive Conmebol zone ( imagine playing Brazil at every level almost every year)

I get your point about the challenges they must have had to overcome because of their small size but they have a lot of thing going for them apart from that disadvantage.

« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2010, 12:34:34 PM »

You didn't examine Uruguay's inherent advantages. History ( they actually won 2 world Cups albeit in the pre WW 2 era, several Copa americas and their teams have won Libertadores cups), Infrastruture and the human capital  necessary for development of a football programme. Added to the fact that they have very strong connections with Argentina and are placed in the highly competitive Conmebol zone ( imagine playing Brazil at every level almost every year)

I get your point about the challenges they must have had to overcome because of their small size but they have a lot of thing going for them apart from that disadvantage.

they have organization breds. something that is lacking with our football, self belief and excellent coaching as well. that is what makes a big differences, our fa is nowhere near U in terms of organization and planning. I am fully aware of their world cups and achievements. I know my football history very well and know even the tournament was different in their time of victory, in terms of format.

i also understand the level of competition they face on a regular, which is an integral part of their growth and progression. hence the reason our fa needs this organization and planning to prepare our players and have them exposed to various footballing regions that are the top in the world.

it all boils down to the ttff having poor organization and planning when it comes to our football, along with the players not being exposed to higher levels of football on the regular and lack of fitness that would allow them to compete at a high level consistently. 

we saw what an excellent coach can do with our talent and size of population, that was just a mere taste, we can achieve alot more as we have always been known as the perennial underachievers.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 12:36:48 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #22 on: July 07, 2010, 01:13:28 PM »

thank you for explaining to TI.

« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2010, 01:14:24 PM »

thank you for explaining to TI.

did you read my response or did you conveniently skip it?

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #24 on: July 07, 2010, 01:43:53 PM »
I second dah organization part.

But at the same time, players have decisions to make as well. We have had many players turn down opportunities to play in other countries where English is not the first language, or in countries that have a colder climate. Frig, we even had players turning down the MLS.

Our problem here in Trinidad is not one of an easy fix. Even if you fix management and agents, you have to deal with the players, and attitudes of players that, like it or not, some what a part of our culture.

We could go very far in football. Even with ah 1.3mil population. Is just to get men on d same page.

« Reply #25 on: July 07, 2010, 04:09:13 PM »

and what is so stupid about it? you think i am unaware that most of U players ply their trade abroad? Like you seem to forget that on many occasions tt had extremely talented players but never a coach to bring together as a unit.

nothing is impossible in modern football, most of tt players are also playing abroad, the problem exists with agents and scouts not picking them up outside the uk. its not that our players cant play in la liga, or serie a or eresdiva. it also lies with the coaching problem in tt, im sure observer is well aware of that.

where did i ever say they were johnny come latelys, palos does talk a pile of a#$ when he ready, always the pessimist, if U thought like him they would be content with a first round exit.

When in our history have we had extremely talented playerS ?..who were these players?..doh play yuhself and think because we had some fellas who could hit man spanner in our local league means they were extremely talented  :rotfl:

and I rhel laughing how you comparing T&T with Uruguay..a country who eat and drink football with a proud history in the game versus  a country who have only qualified for one world cup and has struggled since. Do some critical thinking before you make some threads nah man lol. Dont be misguided by their population and believe that is enough for you to make football comparisons with them and T&T
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 04:27:44 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #26 on: July 07, 2010, 05:29:28 PM »

it has nothing to do with thinking small but u have to creep before u walk...handle yuh backyard before yuh take over de park....for example, do u cook? how u start off?  I didnt start cooking ah 5 course meal on mih first attempt...i start off with crix and peanut butter, then bread and cheese, followed by hotdog, graduated to burgers, then rice and bake chicken, then rice and stew chicken, then i start to bubble ah serious pelau and now i could cook italian, chinese, vietnamese, etc....right now uruguay is ah rice and stew chicken in football and we in the bread and cheese stage.

« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2010, 06:05:02 PM »
Question:

Can Uruguay match T&T's history of accomplishments in Track and field?

Definitely not!

Each nation has a fortay or two. T&T have about three (Football, Track and Cricket). Half of the population supports all three (football, track and cricket) while the other half supports mainly cricket.

I will tell you something though, Track and Field is on the rise in T&T. I think we will see much more accomplishments in T&T Track and Field before we see a major accomplishment in T&T football.

Realistically, all we need is about six or seven players playing in a top flight league (and i dont mean MLS) and we will make it to the world cup again.

« Reply #28 on: July 07, 2010, 08:52:26 PM »
Question:

Definitely not!

Each nation has a fortay or two. T&T have about three (Football, Track and Cricket). Half of the population supports all three (football, track and cricket) while the other half supports mainly cricket.

I will tell you something though, Track and Field is on the rise in T&T. I think we will see much more accomplishments in T&T Track and Field before we see a major accomplishment in T&T football.

Realistically, all we need is about six or seven players playing in a top flight league (and i dont mean MLS) and we will make it to the world cup again.

That is a pretty tall order.

« Reply #29 on: July 07, 2010, 09:28:12 PM »
Question:

Definitely not!

Here's one for Tallman:
Have we ever had 6 players playing in top flight leagues outside of MLS AT THE SAME TIME?

I know it definitely wasn't the case in 06.