March 28, 2024, 11:03:55 AM

Author Topic: WC 2010 - Match 64 - Final for 1st & 2nd place (11 July): Holland vs Spain  (Read 62166 times)

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
According to the german news this morning, Paul the Octopus in Oberhausen, Germany predicts the winner on Saturday to be Germany and on Sunday to be Spain. Let's C

Strange that both winners were in the same location, looks like Paul right cheek buring so he only sitting on the left/ the closer box.

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
Van Marwijk: We do not fear Spain
« Reply #31 on: July 09, 2010, 11:53:15 PM »
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1270778/index.html#van+marwijk+we+fear+spain

Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk admits Spain play a more attractive brand of football than his team - but he insists the Dutch do not fear them. The two European countries will both be bidding for their first FIFA World Cup™ success when they meet in the final on Sunday.

Vicente del Bosque's side are European champions and have been the most impressive international outfit for the past two years. They had struggled to hit top form in South Africa, though, losing their opening game to Switzerland before battling their way through to the semi-final, where their impeccable passing game returned in a 1-0 win over Germany.

click the link for more...
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vXCRWjedWqk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vXCRWjedWqk</a>

« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 07:40:01 AM by D.H.W »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/vXCRWjedWqk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/vXCRWjedWqk</a>

Some men living in fantasy land yes!  ::)

The real thing happening tomorrow and the result will be different, Paul yuh Mudder come say so!  :devil:

Pretty soon we will be seeing this guy
« Reply #34 on: July 10, 2010, 11:39:54 AM »

van persie and fabregas in the final against eachother, then back to arsenal  8)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8bRn8lt5M1Q&amp;feature=player_embedded" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8bRn8lt5M1Q&amp;feature=player_embedded</a>

Spanish Queen visits the dressing room after the Germany game.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/8bRn8lt5M1Q&amp;feature=player_embedded" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/8bRn8lt5M1Q&amp;feature=player_embedded</a>

puyol is really a bastard oui...he couldn't self put on a pants!

Spain will start off nervous but will end up 3-0.  David Villa will buss the net twice.  Xavi or someone else finally scores too... Don't need no Octopus for this.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 02:08:40 AM by Babalawo »

Spain will start off nervous but will end up 3-0.  David Villa will buss the net twice.  Xavi or someone else finally scores too... Don't need no Octopus for this.
Thank you oh great swammy. can you pre tell, give me the win 4 numbers for tomorrow?

puyol is really a bastard oui...he couldn't self put on a pants!

Wha..m! yuh think is only one head he could score with ! :devil:
« Last Edit: July 11, 2010, 03:58:31 AM by davyjenny1 »

Offline rickstaa

u sound like you so sure that happening Holland got to much guns up front to NOT score,but u sound like you see the game already :beermug:

ORANJE!!!!

:duel: :challenge: :duel: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower:

Dutch legend Johan Cruyff has said Spain have too much for the Netherlands and will go on to win the World Cup.

Cruyff, who endured the pain of losing the 1974 final to West Germany, and witnessed the 1978 final loss as an outsider is bracing himself for more woe as he writes off the Oranje's chances.

When asked by La Gazzetta dello Sport who would win Sunday's final in Johannesburg Cruyff said:

"I say Spain. For me the final will be like a derby. But la Furia Roja play better football."

The former Ajax man also claimed Italy flopped at the World Cup because of a lack of new talent coming through, as well as Italy's focus on signing foreign talent, rather than nurturing their own.

"Italy's elimination? There are too many foreigners," he said.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1863/world-cup-2010/2010/07/10/2018668/world-cup-2010-dutch-legend-johan-cruyff-believes-spain-will

In a way, the World Cup Final between Spain and Holland is a personal derby for Johan Cruyff. Vicente del Bosque might be a Madrid man through and through, but his side is practically Barcelona, with minor additions to replace non-Spanish players like Lionel Messi and Dani Alves. When Spain take the field at Soccer City tonight, no fewer than seven Barca players will line up for the anthems – Carles Puyol, Gerard Pique, Sergio Busquets, Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Pedro and newly-signed superstar David Villa. Del Bosque’s style is not really similar to what we are used to seeing at Camp Nou, but Barcelona spirit can be felt everywhere. And with Barca spirit having been built almost exclusively by the Dutch, the duel with Holland on the biggest stage of all is very ironic and intriguing.

It all started in 1971 when the legendary Rinus Michels came to Barca from Ajax, and brought his brilliant protege Cruyff two years later to win the Catalans the league title that ended a 14-year-long drought. Another Dutchman, Johan Neeskens, followed in 1974, and Ajax foundations at Camp Nou were laid. The Barcelona faithful really fell in love with the Dutch when Cruyff himself became the coach in 1988 and built his Dream Team that won not only four La Liga titles in a row, but even more importantly the club’s maiden European Cup in 1992, thanks to a goal by Ronald Koeman, another great Dutchman, in the final against Sampdoria at Wembley.

Louis van Gaal was next in the line, and he brought so many Dutch stars to Camp Nou that the team was soon nicknamed Oranje Barcelona, and even Barcajax. When his second tenure in Catalunya ended prematurely, the club gambled on another Dutchman, Frank Rijkaard, who overcame a difficult start and built a great team that won the second Champions League trophy.

Cruyff remains a very influential fugure at Camp Nou. He was a close ally of the former president Joan Laporta, and was behind Rijkaard’s successful spell, as well as being the man who advised the club to promote Pep Guardiola to the helm two years ago. Pep might be Catalan, but his football ideology is very much Oranje. He imbibed it when still a young deep-lying playmaker in Cruyff’s team in the early 90s, conducting the play faultlessly from the centre circle. Today Barca play a 4-3-3 very similar to that of Ajax, and even if Sandro Rosell forced Cruyff to step down as the club’s honorary president, since suggesting to him the post still “doesn’t exist”, the great Dutchman is still very much the man in control at Camp Nou.

No less than nine out of 12 championship titles Barca took in the last four decades were won by Dutch coaches. Two out of three Champions Cups were lifted by them. Despite the fact Pep has no Oranje players on his roster these days, Barcelona are a team with an Oranje philosophy. And so, inevitably, is the current Spain selection, even if they don’t play the classic Tiki-Taka.

Bert van Marwijk’s Holland are not playing 4-3-3 either, but they have a lot of connections to Blaugrana. The captain Giovanni van Bronckhorst enjoyed his best career spell at Barcelona and was very instrumental in the great 2006 season. Mark van Bommel also spent that year at Camp Nou, although he was eventually forced to leave for Bayern Munich. Even more importantly, both of van Marwijk’s assistants, Frank de Boer and Phillip Cocu, spent many years in the Catalan capital. De Boer’s best years were at Ajax, but Cocu is a Camp Nou legend, and is probably one of the most underrated players of all time. He still holds an appearances record for Barcelona for a foreign player at a whopping 292 matches. But then again, Dutch are not really foreigners in Catalunya. While this Spain have an Oranje scent about them, Holland are a little Blaugrana.

Who is Cruyff going to support this evening? This is not a straightforward issue. While he will definitely be proud if his countrymen win it, one cannot avoid thinking that he would prefer his 1974 Total Football selection to remain the greatest Holland representation ever, and rightly so. That team was infinitely more brilliant than van Marwijk’s, and Cruyff could be forgiven if deep in his heart he wants Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben to fail. Actually, he didn’t even hide his feelings, saying: “It is Spain's game to lose but I will take intense joy if they win it”.

If Spain win, Cruyff will feel his very own Barcelona are crowned as world champions. However, the cup will be lifted by Iker Casillas, the biggest Real Madrid symbol left with Raul packing his suitcases for Schalke. And that is probably the biggest irony of this Oranje and Blaugrana World Cup final.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1717/editorial/2010/07/11/2020057/world-cup-2010-final-comment-netherlands-versus-spain-is-a

Traitor!!!..... :flamethrower: :busshead:

uuuummmm DHW, yes ah want we team to win but no not the penalty route, ah eh goh be able to handle the stress....

don't worry no pnealty drama because spain winning 3-1.

Steups!!

Spain not winning it, this game, Spain will not dominate possession if u don't believe me wait till kickoff , ah hope d Spanish men still here after.

Steups!!

doh steups...according to my crystal ball, it will 1-1 at halftime, spain will score around the middle of the 2nd half and holland will go on all out attack that will be known as the best 20 minutes of attacking football seen in years then spain will score late on a counterattack.... ;D

Spain you can win this  :wavetowel:
Do this for all my favorite Spanish players who tried and failed before you like Butragueno, Michel, Zubizeretta, Jose Camacho, Rafael Martin Vazquez, Jose Bakero, Nadal, Hierro, Abelardo, Raul, Sanchis, Julio Salinas, Luis Enrique, Pep Guardiola, Jose Caminero, Kiko & Helguera.

LA FURIA ROJA!!!

i love u espana but netherlands taking this!! go oranje!!!!!

Very interesting comments by Kluivert and van Hooijdonk on Sky yesterday. Both are of the opinion Holland has not been playing well. Kluivert provided insightful comments regarding van persie's limited success during the WC ... attributed it to a lack of space under the formation .... distinct from Arsenal's set-up.

Offline rickstaa

just like Brazil was going to win,men jus hopping from team to team HOLLAND ALL THE WAY,like you see the game already too

Just to throw this out..but wasn't the Dutch and their decendents responsible for apartheid in South Africa?
and allyuh backing Holland?  :devil:

I could be wrong so don't take me too seriuosly  ;D

Just to throw this out..but wasn't the Dutch and their decendents responsible for apartheid in South Africa?

Oh gorm dis again!!!
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

just like Brazil was going to win,men jus hopping from team to team HOLLAND ALL THE WAY,like you see the game already too

men could hop for all i care..i still a brazil fan...doh get uptight if i dont like ur holland side.

:rotfl: :rotfl: u real wicked...it have more black men playing for holland than spain...all spaniards are racists... ;D

Everybody do shit including Africans. Take allyuh time with racism ting nah. Just watch the football.

I backing Holland cuz dat way i could say Brazil woulda win if wasnt for Melo and he dotishness.

Other dan dat it doh matter to me.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Everybody do shit including Africans. Take allyuh time with racism ting nah. Just watch the football.

ssshhhh! Doh talk too loud  :devil: