March 18, 2024, 11:27:52 PM

Author Topic: Was this the most boring WC ever?  (Read 19002 times)

Offline behind-de-bridge

Was this the most boring WC ever?
« on: July 08, 2010, 06:46:51 AM »
How many truly memorable matches were there? Not many if you ask me. Too many teams were ultra defensive. Germany and Ghana were the bright sparks in an otherwise dull tornament.

Re: Was this the most boring WC ever?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 07:23:41 AM »
How many truly memorable matches were there? Not many if you ask me. Too many teams were ultra defensive. Germany and Ghana were the bright sparks in an otherwise dull tornament.

WHat exactly was it about Ghana's play that made them a bright spark in this tournament?

Offline willi

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 07:36:35 AM »

Utter nonsense!

This was a great tourney.

« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 07:40:14 AM »
This World Cup was more exciting to me than the last one. Don't forget that Italy and France made it to the final last time. The first round of group games were BORING but after that I was very happy with the football.

My favourite Matches.

Chile v Switzerland
Ivory Coast v Portugal
Spain v Honduras
Nigeria v Greece
USA v Slovenia
Italy v Slovakia
Germany v England
Germany v Argentina
Spain v Germany
Ghana v Uruguay

Honourable Mentions

Argentina v Nigeria
Brazil v Ivory coast
Korea v  Denmark
Cameroon v Denmark
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 07:43:11 AM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2010, 08:30:11 AM »
The knockout stages were a vast improvement over 2006. The games were not great in quality, plenty tactical jousting, but what this tournament had was plenty drama.

In many ways it reminds of 1990. Lowish goal total and plenty tight games with evenly matched teams.

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2010, 08:32:03 AM »

I think yuh still nostalgic about the last World Cup because the Soca Warriors took part so ah cyah really blame yuh for dat!  ;)

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2010, 08:42:05 AM »
For me, this world cup was besss for the following positives..

- No walkover teams whatsoever = highest degree of unpredictability in any other world cup. Not even New Zealand lie down.

- South Africa's draw with Mexico in the opening game

- Refereeing controversy - The USA disallowed goal, the England goal missed against Germany to name a few

- Drama! I have never seen a game end in my life like Ghana v Uruguay. The sequence of penalties in Spain v Paraguay. The ending to the Italy v Slovakia game.

- Upsets.. Spain get beat opening game. Serbia beat Germany. Slovakia beat Italy. Holland beat Brazil.

- A new world cup winner

- The Vuvuzela (by the way i downloaded a vuvuzela ringtone thinking it would be cool to annoy my friends when the phone ring but the damn thing annoying me so much i does get vex when people call)

- The fans.. Love the action in the stands and love the cutaways to the celebrations in different countries when their team scores or wins.

... But was tempered by the following negatives:

- That forkin ball

- Emphasis on tactics that stifle creativity and also account for the lack of goals

- The failure of the big stars to shine

- No real surprise player to talk about world cup revelation

But all in all, no way i would say this world cup was boring.

« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2010, 08:51:38 AM »

- No walkover teams whatsoever = highest degree of unpredictability in any other world cup. Not even New Zealand lie down.

- Refereeing controversy - The USA disallowed goal, the England goal missed against Germany to name a few
- Drama! I have never seen a game end in my life like Ghana v Uruguay. The sequence of penalties in Spain v Paraguay. The ending to the Italy v Slovakia game.

- Upsets.. Spain get beat opening game. Serbia beat Germany. Slovakia beat Italy. Holland beat Brazil.

- A new world cup winner

- The Vuvuzela (by the way i downloaded a vuvuzela ringtone thinking it would be cool to annoy my friends when the phone ring but the damn thing annoying me so much i does get vex when people call)

- The fans.. Love the action in the stands and love the cutaways to the celebrations in different countries when their team scores or wins.

- That forkin ball

- Emphasis on tactics that stifle creativity and also account for the lack of goals

Controversy is a positive?

« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 08:57:15 AM »

might well get fifa to stop sittin on dey hands about about goal lne tech an' such so maybe :-\

« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2010, 09:11:26 AM »
Ghana pelt out the US :wavetowel: :flamethrower:
Ghana vs. Uruguay nearly kill mih
The big guns fart on dey self (countries and individual big stars)
My team in the Finals.... :flamethrower:

I love this World Cup.... ;D

« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2010, 09:12:10 AM »

- A new world cup winner

- That forkin ball

I was thinking that FIFA really likes controversy. It keeps us talking about the game and incident  for years. if video replay comes in and the problem is solved it takes away from all the what if's. Look it's 2010 and we still talk about 66

« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2010, 09:18:43 AM »

For me yeah of course..

If not for that, then what else we would argue in 10 page threads about? The history of race relations of the 32 participating nations of the 2010 World Cup??

« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2010, 09:48:21 AM »

For me yeah of course..

If not for that, then what else we would argue in 10 page threads about? The history of race relations of the 32 participating nations of the 2010 World Cup??

Dais why I disagree with you on the Jubalani as being a Negative...plus I think it's much ado about nothing, we see what can happen when you strike it well!

- That forkin ball

I was thinking that FIFA really likes controversy. It keeps us talking about the game and incident  for years. if video replay comes in and the problem is solved it takes away from all the what if's. Look it's 2010 and we still talk about 66

« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2010, 10:36:26 AM »
The knockout stages were a vast improvement over 2006. The games were not great in quality, plenty tactical jousting, but what this tournament had was plenty drama.

In many ways it reminds of 1990. Lowish goal total and plenty tight games with evenly matched teams.

1990 had more pk shootouts from what I remember. 

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2010, 10:43:27 AM »
This World Cup was one of the best ever for me.  It started slowly but the action picked up by the 2nd wave of games and it never looked back after that.  A good final in which the winner is decided within 120 minutes or less (i.e. no Penalty kicks) would top it off...

« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2010, 10:59:47 AM »
I cah even remember any memorable matches last world cup that didn't involve Trinidad and Tobago. 2002 wasn't that memorable either

« Reply #16 on: July 08, 2010, 11:06:33 AM »
the only world cup that stood out as bad to me was 1990.

« Reply #17 on: July 08, 2010, 11:25:57 AM »
New Zealand v Italy.

« Reply #18 on: July 08, 2010, 11:55:17 AM »
I cah even remember any memorable matches last world cup that didn't involve Trinidad and Tobago. 2002 wasn't that memorable either

Nah 02 was d revival of Ronaldo after d French obeah in 98.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #19 on: July 08, 2010, 03:09:31 PM »

Utter nonsense!

This was a great tourney.
You and I have a different understanding the word 'great'.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #20 on: July 08, 2010, 03:17:09 PM »

WHat exactly was it about Ghana's play that made them a bright spark in this tournament?

1. Youngest team ever at a WC
2. Very organised and discliplined defending (unlike most African teams). Jonathan Mensah is only 19
3. Anthony Annan (the new Makalele)
4. Gyan and Muntari goals against USA and Uruguay
5. Beating USA

« Reply #21 on: July 08, 2010, 03:21:24 PM »
This will always be a memorable WC.
It was played in Africa
Them blasted VuVU..... I get kinder of used to it
It was cold
jabulani
NZ, Slovenia, Ghana, Uraguay, Japan, US making a run for it
Spain and Germany 1st round losts. NZ/Italy and US/Eng tie. France and England implosions
Offside and goal line controversies
Brazil-Holland, Spain-Germany, Germany-Argentina, Ghana-Uraguay.US-Algeria(best games)
Vanbrockhorst goal. Diego Forlan goals(possible MVP and Golden Boot???)
The ordinary people of South Africa who were gracious hosts after their team was knocked out in the 1st round.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2010, 03:28:11 PM »

I think yuh still nostalgic about the last World Cup because the Soca Warriors took part so ah cyah really blame yuh for dat!  ;)

Nah, my nostalgia is for this team:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZxvYy5-ekI

That was WC football at its best!

« Reply #23 on: July 08, 2010, 04:13:40 PM »
I remebered that 82 WC. People say that the Dutch 74 WC was the best never to have won a WC. Well if this team was not the best, then they were very close. I was emotionally sick after that lost to the Italics

« Reply #24 on: July 08, 2010, 04:29:27 PM »
I remebered that 82 WC. People say that the Dutch 74 WC was the best never to have won a WC. Well if this team was not the best, then they were very close. I was emotionally sick after that lost to the Italics

74 Holland
82 Brazil
were definately two teams that fall into that category.

From all accounts Hungry 1954 was a remarkable team. I recently saw about 40 minutes of their games in 1954, they were something. Even injured Puskas was special

70 Peru was also a beautiful team, if you could get your hands on Peru vs Brazil 1970

« Reply #25 on: July 08, 2010, 04:50:11 PM »

74 Holland
82 Brazil

From all accounts Hungry 1954 was a remarkable team. I recently saw about 40 minutes of their games in 1954, they were something. Even injured Puskas was special

70 Peru was also a beautiful team, if you could get your hands on Peru vs Brazil 1970

Yeah, I have heard of the Hungarians 54 team. There was a movie made called the miracle at Berne. The German shocked the mighty Hungarians to win their 1st WC. 10 yrs after WW2. The Hungarians had beat the Germans in the 1st rounds but the Germans reversed in the finals. So add the Hungarians to that list.

« Reply #26 on: July 08, 2010, 05:01:57 PM »

74 Holland
82 Brazil

I had that game on tape.....in fact, I had all of Brazil's games from the '70 WC on tape....until somebody tief dem.  Sadly, I only got to see the Brazil - england and Brazil - italy games before the heist!  >:( >:(  :( :(

Offline willi

« Reply #27 on: July 08, 2010, 05:08:33 PM »

Nah, my nostalgia is for this team:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZxvYy5-ekI

That was WC football at its best!

82 was the best WCup since I have been following this stuff. Then 86 and then 2010.

This reflects the level of entertainment.

« Reply #28 on: July 08, 2010, 05:17:09 PM »

1. Youngest team ever at a WC
2. Very organised and discliplined defending (unlike most African teams). Jonathan Mensah is only 19
3. Anthony Annan (the new Makalele)
4. Gyan and Muntari goals against USA and Uruguay
5. Beating USA

So because dey was young, organised and disciplined (FOR AN AFRICN TEAM), had a decent defensive mid....not anywhere close to being THE MOST OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE MID.....dem was a bright spark in de tournament?

Gyan and Muntari goals?

So wha bout Tevez and Higuain goals?

Wha bout Fabiano and Roinho goals?

Wha bout Sjneider and Robben goals?

Wha bout Honda and Endo goals?

Beatin USA is a benchmark for being a spark in a world cup tournament now?

Allyuh like to talk dotishness yes. 

Bess yuh jes come out and say dey is a black team and daz de ONLY reason why yuh sayin so.

At least yuh would be honest den.

« Reply #29 on: July 08, 2010, 06:44:14 PM »
Palos,
          A lot of teams had black players. Ghana is an African team. More than likely all their will be black. And of course cause black people are drawn to them because out of all the African teams they played the most outstanding ball. Ivory Coast and especially Nigerian were hammered by most on this site for their poor play. Algeria and South Africa tried but they were ready this time around.