March 28, 2024, 08:30:54 AM

Author Topic: England are 'paying price of foreign Premier League'  (Read 6924 times)

England are 'paying price of foreign Premier League'
« on: July 09, 2010, 12:32:26 PM »
England are 'paying price of foreign Premier League'
By Jamie Jackson (guardian.co.uk)

England's dismal failure at the World Cup can be blamed on the Premier League's inability to promote home-grown talent, according to the president of Spain's La Liga.

José Luis Astiazarán has questioned the number of young foreign players at Premier League clubs and said the principal reason Spain have reached Sunday's final against Holland is that "77.1%" of footballers in their domestic league are Spanish-qualified, a direct result of home-grown players being given the opportunity in their clubs' first teams. In the Premier League fewer than 40% of players are English.

"In La Liga there are 77.1% Spanish players, 16.7% European and 6.7% non-European," Astiazarán said. "Our strategy is to work very hard with young home-grown players and to try to have a mix between them and experienced players.

"Why is it not a high number of foreign players in La Liga? Because we invest more and more in young Spanish players than in young foreign players. England has many times taken young players from outside who are 14, 16 years old. These kind of players are not English. This is one of the most important differences between Spain and England. We invest in young Spanish players. In Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United there are a lot of young Spanish, French and Italian players – maybe this is why at the moment you are not creating young English players.

"These [young foreign] players cannot play for the English national team. It's good to have goalkeepers from outside. But how many English goalkeepers are in the Premier League?"

Astiazarán said that unlike their English counterparts, Spanish clubs take youth development very seriously and are prepared to give young players opportunities in their first teams. "Spanish teams are working with a very serious strategy in the formation of young players," he said. "The players who become attached to clubs are from the local area and there is a fidelity [each way] and they start playing in the first division at 16 or 17."

He added that all La Liga clubs have academies and many have a holistic strategy that offers education and pastoral care to their young footballers . "At six to eight years old there is no competitive football in the academies, only coaching. Then from eight to 10, in some areas of Spain, they will play matches with controls. After this they start to play more competitively."

Spain are also the reigning European champions and Astiazarán does not deny that imported, established foreign stars have aided the development of domestic footballers. "OK, there are very good foreign players who help improve the Spanish players' level because we have players coming from the major leagues who have played in the Champions League and big competitions in Europe and this is important," he said.

"We have many young players who are playing in good teams. This is very important because they have opportunities to play in the first teams at the top level in the league. After this they know what it is to play with experienced players, they [too] have experience to play in the big competitions."

A criticism levelled at England during the World Cup was that big-name players formed cliques that damaged team spirit. Despite Spain including Xavi, Andrés Iniesta, David Villa and Carles Puyol, Astiazarán claims that the team's prevailing culture does not allow egos. "In Spain we have the results and everyone is just thinking to win," he said. "This is very important. With bigger stars it's very complicated to do it but we have bigger stars and they know the way."

Astiazarán also claimed that Spain have found a successful blend of youth and experience. "In the national team we have this with, say, Pedro, [who is 22], Jesús Navas [the 24-year-old midfielder] and [Carles] Puyol." The 32-year-old Barcelona defender's goal against Germany, of course, took Spain to their first World Cup final.

Though Germany redrew their youth structure after a dismal performance at Euro 2000, Astiazarán said: "It is more that we have been working [for] a lot of years towards this moment."

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
Re: England are 'paying price of foreign Premier League'
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 01:03:37 PM »
This is also applicabel to the Italians (as pointed out bythe commentators), Inter Millan won the Seirie A but the starting eleven does not included any Italians, in fact their are only tow italians on the team inclusive of the coach.

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2010, 01:30:44 PM »
The EPL teams have academies too and the larger ones have strategic partnerships with clubs all over the world. Playing time for young players is still critical though. The other issue is the training methods. Look at England's performance at the U20 world cup last year. It was abysmal for such a big footballing country. Its possible that the Spanish just do it better.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2010, 05:16:11 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 04:09:27 PM »
So when Italy win it in 2006 was it not the same? Excuses excuses!
Spain full of foreigners as well and so is Germany.  France had almost every player on their squad playing outside of France. So what is their excuse? England have the media calling them favorites and their players the best in the world,  when they breeze through the qualifications, now its too many foreigners. The bottom line England eh want to deal with, their key players failed to perform.

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2010, 04:29:54 PM »
This subject could have some bearing depending on how you want to look at it,this situation is rampant in all the leagues today because of the money that can be derived from it,it's all about the money involved that's what separates the top teams from the weaker teams,we know before any league starts who going to be the winner and it's who have the money.This article should not open any body eyes as though is something we don't know,just look right in our back yard(Pro league) and see how many foreigners compared to locals that play,it's what Football has come too,what the modern game requires.

« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2010, 07:12:06 PM »
The EPL teams have academies too and the larger ones have strategic partnerships with clubs all over the world. Playing time for young players is still critical though. The other issue is the training methods. Look at England's performance at the U20 world cup last year. It was abysmal for such a big footballing country. Its possible that the Spanish just do it better.

Nope England did not send their top young players to that competition that was not even a second string squad ...

« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2010, 07:16:38 PM »

Nope England did not send their top young players to that competition that was not even a second string squad ...
I guess that's working out well for them.

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2010, 08:49:13 PM »
LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDD
STEUPSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2010, 12:25:43 AM »

I guess that's working out well for them.

That tournament coincides with the league season and the best players don't get released by their clubs. You are correct though because that is a sign of the problem with England where the clubs are too powerful. The clubs have to be concerned with their own interest and even the FA is too focused on the clubs primarily the premier league because that is where the money is.

They dis make the Euro U21 finals and win the Euro U17 last year so their is talent at youth level when they can be bothered to put a squad together.

« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2010, 12:34:28 AM »
All England players have to do is forget  their egos like Spain, Lebron James, wade, bosh, etc and all play for Man U for years before the next worldcup.  I think the Barcelona/Spain experience will start a trend around the world... Hard luck to the South American teams because no South American club could afford to keep all their national stars in one club.

« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2010, 05:31:45 AM »
So wait, ent Italy won the 2006 World Cup and they have alot of foreigners in they league to.

Spain 2 best clubs have plenty foreigners.

Real Madrid have about 14 foreigners in they team, from Benzema, Diarra, Kaka, Cristiano, Higuaín, Garay, Pepe to Marcelo.

Barcelona have about 12, from Henrique, Eric Abidal, Alves, Marquez, Zlatan, Messi, Hleb, Keita, Maxwell to Milito and ent Spain in the 2010 WC final.

Spain is a racsist country. Ah hope Holland buss they ass.

England just not good enough. They missing a true creative number 10 in the center and they have to learn how to sub Lampard, Terry, Rooney and Gerrard when they not having a good game.

« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2010, 08:16:07 AM »
All England players have to do is forget  their egos like Spain, Lebron James, wade, bosh, etc and all play for Man U for years before the next worldcup.  I think the Barcelona/Spain experience will start a trend around the world... Hard luck to the South American teams because no South American club could afford to keep all their national stars in one club.

bosh, wade and lebron eh play ah game together yet u cant include dem as an example... ;D

« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2010, 08:34:34 AM »
So wait, ent Italy won the 2006 World Cup and they have alot of foreigners in they league to.

Spain 2 best clubs have plenty foreigners.

Real Madrid have about 14 foreigners in they team, from Benzema, Diarra, Kaka, Cristiano, Higuaín, Garay, Pepe to Marcelo.

Barcelona have about 12, from Henrique, Eric Abidal, Alves, Marquez, Zlatan, Messi, Hleb, Keita, Maxwell to Milito and ent Spain in the 2010 WC final.

Spain is a racsist country. Ah hope Holland buss they ass.

England just not good enough. They missing a true creative number 10 in the center and they have to learn how to sub Lampard, Terry, Rooney and Gerrard when they not having a good game.

Both countries have an equal share of their racists, just go to northern Holland and you will get a very nasty surprise! Look even T&T have our share of racists as well, no country is immune!
Hopefully the country that plays the better brand of football wins and I have a feeling that will be Spain, Paul yuh Mudder come say so!  ;D
« Last Edit: July 10, 2010, 08:39:02 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2010, 10:57:19 AM »
just go to northern Holland and you will get a very nasty surprise!

How far North?  I went up tuh Groningen and it was mostly Caucasian compared to Eindhoven and Utrecht but people were very hospitable. I was most impressed with d size of meals dem people does eat...I order 2 plate ah potato and beans......if I recall me and meh squeeze couldnt finish half of 1 plate...no wonder dem people so big

« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2010, 12:50:52 PM »

bosh, wade and lebron eh play ah game together yet u cant include dem as an example... ;D
not for that reason. just the ego part

« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2010, 12:57:24 PM »

not for that reason. just the ego part

James didn't make that choice because he set aside his ego; he did so because he realize he not good enough to lead the Cavs to a championship so he decide he runnin to Miami to be scottie Pippen tuh D Wade!

« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2010, 08:38:53 AM »

Spurs doing that...especially if Joe Cole go there. Is only the wingbacks and Rooney will be needed for the next World Cup. And Spurs have room to buy a english keeper and turn him into their number one too.

Villa was trying that, but until they in the champions league, i will have to go with spurs.