April 27, 2024, 11:03:57 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (11-Aug-2010).  (Read 51436 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (11-Aug-2010).
« Reply #30 on: July 16, 2010, 05:31:59 PM »
Thats the day I landing in trini what time is the game

Bally I landing on the 6th... we go have to lime... call meh later

« Reply #31 on: July 16, 2010, 06:44:45 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/fyIiJ7FI458" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/fyIiJ7FI458</a>

« Reply #32 on: July 18, 2010, 11:11:22 AM »
how much fuh shin pads ???

« Reply #33 on: July 21, 2010, 06:35:23 AM »
Boyz land friendly against C'Rica
Ian Burnett

JAMAICA'S Reggae Boyz have been booked to play their next home international friendly game against CONCACAF rivals Costa Rica here at the National Stadium on Sunday, September 5.

This latest confirmation brings the total number of friendly international games for the Reggae Boyz to three in as many months following an earlier agreement between the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) for a two-legged series.

"I can confirm that a strong Costa Rican national team will play against the Reggae Boyz here at the Office on Sunday, September 5," responded JFF president Captain Horace Burrell yesterday.

"It was not easy to organise this game, but we managed to pull it off in the end," added the JFF boss, who was able to successfully negotiate the home and away series against Trinidad and Tobago while on duty at the 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals in South Africa between June 11 and July 11.

Those games are slated for Wednesday, August 11 in Trinidad, with the return slated for the National Stadium on Sunday, October 10.

The local governing body's arranging of these three friendlies is all part of the continuation of the Brazil 2014 World Cup Qualification programme, as well as preparation for the Digicel CFU Caribbean Cup, which is slated for Martinique between late November and early December.

Being the first home game for the Boyz since opening their 2010 campaign with a 1-0 win over Canada on January 31, Captain Burrell is expecting both teams to be at full strength, which would bolster spectator support.

"We will be able to field the strongest squad possible, as all our overseas players will be available for selection seeing that it is a FIFA date," declared Captain Burrell, a CFU vice-president and CONCACAF executive member.

Costa Rica just missed qualifying for the South Africa World Cup Finals after being edged out by the odd goal (1-2) in their two-way play-off with South America's two-time World Cup champions Uruguay, who finished a creditable fourth in the 19th edition.

Outside of the friendly against Canada, the Boyz also engaged Argentina in a 1-2 loss in Mar Del Plata on February 10, then suffered a 0-2 loss to World Cup hosts South Africa in that country.

Captain Burrell is now looking to tie up another friendly for November 17, the last of the FIFA dates on the 2010 calendar.

« Reply #34 on: July 21, 2010, 09:08:27 AM »
T&T vs Jam thread on de 2nd page and only one yardie post...strange times.  ???

« Reply #35 on: July 21, 2010, 09:14:14 AM »
T&T vs Jam thread on de 2nd page and only one yardie post...strange times.  ???

dey fraid

« Reply #36 on: July 29, 2010, 08:04:52 AM »
Whitmore keeps faith with young Boyz
BY LIVINGSTON SCOTT Observer staff reporter

DESPITE mounting scepticism about the local-based squad, national senior football coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore believes he is on track as the Reggae Boyz continued preparations for next month's friendly match against Trinidad and Tobago yesterday.

The former national player came on as a substitute and played more than 70 minutes with the younger players of the national senior squad against Manchester High School in a practice game at the UWI Bowl yesterday.

However, before he entered the game it was very difficult to separate the teams based on their performance at that stage, which raised serious questions about the quality of the side.

But Whitmore insisted that the standard of his team is not an issue as most of the players used in the game were young players he was still looking at.

"There are three young players that you saw today that we'll be taking to Trinidad, so this was like a trial for the rest of players.

"It was just a little practise, scrimmage-like game... but if you notice, most of the seniors players that we'll be taking with us to Trinidad... were sitting down, so it was just for the younger players to really get a taste of things," he explained.

Despite looking a cut above everyone else, Whitmore said his presence on the field was mainly to give advice and motive his players.

"It was just to encourage and... really bring them up to date with what is happening on the field, because some of them have lost the fun out of the game and that's the most important thing," he stated.

Meanwhile, only one of the three players who were suspended recently for turning up late for training is now eligible for selection.

"The only player who is up for selection is Keammar Daley, but we still haven't heard anything from (Xavian) Virgo and we haven't heard anything from (Desmond) Breakenridge," Whitmore said.

The team has already played matches against St Thomas and St James Allstars and will continue their preparations against Trelawny this Sunday and Portland Allstars the following Saturday.

Whitmore says he is very pleased with how preparations are coming on presently and will be trimming his squad very soon.

"We will be taking 18 players to Trinidad and that will include about five overseas-based players," he said.

Manchester High school football manager Dr Carl Bruce (left), former Manchester High and national player Jason Johnson (right) and national senior coach Theodore Whitmore (2nd right) listen as assistant coach Bradley Stewart makes a point after a practise match between a local Reggae Boyz outfit and Manchester High at UWI Bowl yesterday. The Boyz won the game 5-1. (Photo: Garfield Robinson).

« Reply #37 on: July 29, 2010, 08:36:58 AM »
hmm jamaica playin real big sides to get ready for we boy

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #38 on: July 29, 2010, 03:06:08 PM »
‘Reggae Boyz’ warm up for Caribbean derby with T&T

Issued on July 29,2010

Jamaica National Senior Team head coach Theodore Whitmore says his team will be approaching the   August 11 friendly international against Trinidad and Tobago with serious intent and are likely to include five overseas-based professionals for the encounter at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

Whitmore, one of the heroes of Jamaica’s 1998 World Cup squad, now in charge of the team, made an appearance in a practice match between the national team and Manchester High School at the UWI Bowl on Wednesday as the “Reggae Boyz” warmed up for the friendlies against T&T and Costa Rica.

Whitmore insisted that the standard of his team in the friendly was not an issue as most of the players used in the game were young players he was still looking at. He is keen to get a good result over T&T after the “Soca Warriors” by passed his team as the Caribbean’s number one on the latest FIFA World rankings.

"There are three young players that you saw today that we'll be taking to Trinidad, so this was like a trial for the rest of players.

"It was just a little practice, scrimmage-like game... but if you notice, most of the seniors players that we'll be taking with us to Trinidad... were sitting down, so it was just for the younger players to really get a taste of things," he explained.

"The team has already played matches against St Thomas and St James Allstars and will continue their preparations against Trelawny this Sunday and Portland Allstars the following Saturday.

Whitmore says he is very pleased with how preparations are coming on presently and will be trimming his squad very soon but  was yet to  name his five overseas based pros for the match.

"We will be taking 18 players to Trinidad and that will include about five overseas-based players," he said.

Meantime, there was some controversy stirred up in another training match between the Jamaica Senior team and a Claro/St James XI at Jarret Park this week.

The game was aborted following a fight between former national captain Warren Barrett who is currently the senior team goalkeeper coach and referee Donat McKenley. At the end of the fight, Barrett was left nursing a bloody nose while blood was seen dripping from the lips of referee McKenley, who also had a dislocated finger.

Reports in the Jamaica Press on Thursday stated that Barrett seems likely to lose his job with the national team. It is understood that the Jamaica Football Federation's (JFF) Disciplinary Commission has recommended in its report, that the FIFA World Cup 1998 custodian be stripped of his duties with the organisation, following the incident, and that the final decision lies with the JFF's hierarchy led by president, Captain Horace Burrell.

Meantime, Russell Latapy will continue preparations for the match with two training sessions on Monday and Tuesday at the Marvin Lee Stadium ahead of the clash with Jamaica and the 2010 Digicel Caribbean Cup. That evening of football is likely to include a double header with the T&T Women’s Under 17 team facing a soon to be determined opponent in the earlier fixture.

« Reply #39 on: July 29, 2010, 03:07:37 PM »
shithongs

« Reply #40 on: July 29, 2010, 03:16:14 PM »

« Reply #42 on: July 29, 2010, 06:41:05 PM »
Jamaica 3- TnT 1.  Latas gets fired. Warner announces big changes and coach coming to TTFF

« Reply #43 on: July 29, 2010, 06:43:18 PM »
Jamaica 3- TnT 1.  Latas gets fired. Warner announces big changes and coach coming to TTFF

U need 2 play a mark wit dat dream u have dey.

« Reply #44 on: July 29, 2010, 09:56:33 PM »
Allyuh could talk all the "shithongs" allyuh want about JA... dem playing Costa Rica while de best we could hope for is ah Antigua.

« Reply #45 on: July 29, 2010, 09:58:58 PM »
 I REPEAT .. SHITFU#@CKINGHONGSSSSSS

and that dream not funny BABA

« Reply #46 on: July 29, 2010, 10:55:07 PM »
Allyuh could talk all the "shithongs" allyuh want about JA... dem playing Costa Rica while de best we could hope for is ah Antigua.

good point but remember tt dont play games for free, while ja does, so they will get better warm ups while we get teams that will pay to play us.

« Reply #47 on: August 03, 2010, 06:11:55 AM »
Ricketts released
Kwesi Mugisa, Staff Reporter

National goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts is expected to join up with the rest of the Reggae Boyz squad ahead of the Trinidad and Tobago friendly international, having been released by Major League Soccer (MLS) club LA Galaxy.

Initially, it had seemed that there was a confrontation brewing between the MLS outfit and local football's governing body, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), after initial hesitancy on the part of the club to release the player for the encounter. Despite a splendid run of form for LA Galaxy, which saw him recently earning a spot as starting keeper on the MLS All-Star team, Ricketts has not made an appearance for the national team since last year's Gold Cup.

According to the JFF, several requests to have the shot stopper released for a number of friendly internationals since then, a total of six in all, had been turned down for various reasons by the club, a situation that had seen the local body threaten to approach FIFA with a view to having regulation enforced.

Fifa regulations

According to FIFA regulations, "A club holding the registration of a player called up to play in the national team must release him to the national association on the fixed/set dates (FIFA dates) for international matches in each calendar year."

The Jamaica vs Trinidad game, which is set for August 11, will fall on an official FIFA friendly international match date.

"We are happy that a compromise could be reached. At any level of international football, there has to be a certain amount of give and take," head of the JFF, Captain Horace Burrell, told The Gleaner.

"We understand that there are times the player will not be available due to the fact that the club has an important fixture and we are willing to work around that, but cooperation is extremely important."

"However, the situation as it stood had become totally unacceptable and we were not willing to put up with it any longer," Burrell said.

It should be noted that in an unofficial response, officials from LA Galaxy had pointed out that they were well within their rights because of the six previous requests that were made by the JFF for Ricketts, only one fell on a FIFA match date. The official, who could not speak on record due to protocol, noted that the shot stopper was also injured at the point of other call-ups, and that some were made during or close to important fixtures for the club.

Meanwhile, Ricketts will be joined by MLS players Dane Richards of the New York Red Bulls, and Ryan Johnson, who plies his trade for the San José Earthquakes. Rodolph Austin of Norwegian Premier League side SK Brann and Eric Vernan, currently on loan to Nybergsund IL, also in Norway, will be the European additions. Despite the squad missing a number of regular invitees, including Luton Shelton, who recently caught the eye of Barcelona coach Pep Guardiola while playing for Valarenga, Burrell explained that it was part of an evaluation process being carried out by national coach Theodore Whitmore.

The 83rd-ranked Jamaicans will tackle the Trinidadians in Macoya and then prepare to host 49th-ranked Costa Rica at the Office on September 5.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #48 on: August 03, 2010, 09:27:17 AM »
Jamaica taking this game more serious than us it seems, doh even look like we go call up the few mls players we have.

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #49 on: August 03, 2010, 11:05:38 AM »

good point but remember tt dont play games for free, while ja does, so they will get better warm ups while we get teams that will pay to play us.

What a stupid remark. So how much money T&T earned from its last friendly with Antigua (by your logic T&T only play teams that are willing to pay them)

• it will cost the JFF around US$100K to bring Costa Rica to the Office on Sept 5th.
  • the JFF got roughly the same amount from its last last two friendlies played against Argentina and South Africa respectively

Not sure what agreement is in place between T&T and Jamiaca for the upcoming two games, but international games are never played for free, especially those play on FIFA match dates.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 11:15:44 AM by reggae-fan »

« Reply #50 on: August 03, 2010, 11:13:24 AM »
Oh great. Dey reach.

How much tickets for this game costing?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #51 on: August 03, 2010, 11:30:12 AM »

Nice one Controversial, yuh manage to pull Reggaefart out of his $hit hole!
I thought he had died from his own fumes!! ;D

What a stupid remark. So how much money T&T earned from its last friendly with Antigua (by your logic T&T only play teams that are willing to pay them)

• it will cost the JFF around US$100K to bring Costa Rica to the Office on Sept 5th.
  • the JFF got roughly the same amount from its last last two friendlies played against Argentina and South Africa respectively

Not sure what agreement is in place between T&T and Jamiaca for the upcoming two games, but international games are never played for free, especially those play on FIFA match dates.

« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 11:32:39 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #52 on: August 03, 2010, 01:10:53 PM »
OK IM BACK.  Since the players getting their WC money and the blacklist over Ill be back spending money on ttff games tickets ending my strike. Im going to this game after a nearly a decade of protest not giving Jack or Camps my money.  Hopefully a win will be presented by the team to make this even better.  Will take pics and video for sure and see who i can make out in the crowd. I'll be the one booing whenever Denzil Theobald touches the ball.  Is this game in the Hasely Crawford or MLS? Most likely ill be buying my tickets at the door.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2010, 01:13:58 PM by Babalawo »

« Reply #53 on: August 03, 2010, 08:05:26 PM »
tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #54 on: August 03, 2010, 09:03:05 PM »
Lawd why at the Marvin Lee Stadium??? wha happen to the National Stadium??

« Reply #55 on: August 03, 2010, 09:36:08 PM »
Lawd why at the Marvin Lee Stadium??? wha happen to the National Stadium??

It not ready

« Reply #56 on: August 03, 2010, 09:53:45 PM »
Listen guys, JA will give we a run run run. You see this is the difference, JA playing big games and regardless if they playing games for free .....they playing. Teams to pay money to play T&T.....steups. THe truth is that  teams are more interested in playing JA than T&T because of they are Jamaica. I telling yuh, the amount of good friendlies we play will help determine T&Ts qualification for 2014.

JA's downfall will be their financial woes.... While T&T will be the friendlies against the Grenadas, Antiguas, Dominicas, Tobago X1, Under 23, Over 40, Soca princesses, my sunday side, etc......At least get some matches with Venezuela and maybe some of the African teams. I pretty sure the Africans will love to give their Caribbean brothers a sweat.  

So far it is fair to say our game with JA is the biggest game of the year. And they are the only real opposition we have for this year.

I hope we pull off a win at home. Cause I pretty sure JA will give us at least 2 goals at the Office.

« Reply #57 on: August 04, 2010, 05:56:34 AM »
OK IM BACK.  Since the players getting their WC money and the blacklist over Ill be back spending money on ttff games tickets ending my strike.

Eh??  Where yuh getting this info from boss??  Make no mistake, this battle with the WC players eh over yet, in fact Jackula say so just last night on the news.  But surely, you self.  You really think this is over??....

« Reply #58 on: August 04, 2010, 10:11:14 AM »
OK IM BACK.  Since the players getting their WC money and the blacklist over Ill be back spending money on ttff games tickets ending my strike.

Eh??  Where yuh getting this info from boss??  Make no mistake, this battle with the WC players eh over yet, in fact Jackula say so just last night on the news.  But surely, you self.  You really think this is over??....

ENTTTTTTTTTT. I done tell dem fellas make sure d put this issue as part ah dey estate because dey chirren might get money.

« Reply #59 on: August 04, 2010, 10:48:26 AM »

ENTTTTTTTTTT. I done tell dem fellas make sure d put this issue as part ah dey estate because dey chirren might get money.

Lets hope if it takes that long that their chirren don't get less than the players was initially offered!  :-\