March 28, 2024, 10:45:17 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (11-Aug-2010).  (Read 50824 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Jamaica Game (11-Aug-2010).
« Reply #90 on: August 09, 2010, 05:47:57 AM »
Boyz depart for Warriors showdown
Jamaica Observer

Jamaica's national senior footballers are slated to travel to Trinidad today ahead of Wednesday's friendly international against the hosts.

The game was originally set for the Hasely Crawford Stadium, but due to FIFA inspection of the facilities for the Under-17 Women's World Cup, the game has been switched to the Marvin Lee Stadium at 6:00 pm (5:00 pm Jamaica time).

Thirteen local-based players have been selected by head coach Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, and they along with Eric Vernan, the European-based player, who is already in the island, will depart today at approximately 2:00 pm. They will be joined upon arrival in the twin-island republic by US-based players Donovan Ricketts, Shavar Thomas, Ryan Johnson and Dane Richards, as well as Rodolph Austin, who is also based in Europe.

Wednesday's game is a continuation of the Brazil 2014 World Cup campaign, which was launched on January 31 with a game against Canada at Kingston's National Stadium.

The game, the first of a two-leg series between the top two Caribbean nations, will be the fourth international for the Boyz this year, after the 1-0 win over Canada, a courageous 1-2 loss to Argentina in Mar Del Plata and a 0-2 loss to South Africa in Germany.

The return leg is slated for October 10 at the National Stadium, but before that the Boyz will entertain CONCACAF neighbours Costa Rica at the same venue on September 5.

Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss Captain Horace Burrell has promised that both teams would parade their best "available players", and while the English League players are not expected to participate, Trinidad and Tobago's head coach Russell Latapy is sure to field a number of his star players.

Jamaica's local-based players are Jermaine Taylor, Dicoy Williams, Andre Blake, Devon Williams, Oneil Fisher, Troy Smith, Adrian Reid, Richard Edwards, Ricardo Cousins, Devon Hodges, Kavin Bryan, Kenardo Forbes and Mario Swaby.

The touring party is completed by Head of Delegation Sheridan Samuels; Whitmore; assistant coach Bradley Stewart; team manager Howard Bell; team doctor Ivor O'Connor; and equipment manager Dwayne Blake.

« Reply #91 on: August 09, 2010, 06:45:06 AM »
Boyz will win - Burrell
André Lowe, Senior Staff Reporter

As Jamaica's 19-man Reggae Boyz squad gets ready to depart the island later this afternoon for Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell, is expecting his team to get the better of their regional arch-rivals on their own turf.

Speaking to The Gleaner last night, Burrell was extremely confident when asked to weigh the team's chances in the twin-island republic, as both teams get ready for their friendly international on Wednesday.

"I think that we have enough ammunition in our arsenal to take care of the Trinidadians in Port of Spain," said the captain.

"I'm expecting this to be a keenly contested game. It's not going to be easy as when both teams play each other it's normally a difficult game and I'm expecting no less this time around," he added. "But I believe our players are focused and are aware of the task at hand and I'm expecting a good performance from them."

Long-term plans

Burrell was also keen to highlight the importance of this encounter to the long-term plans of his administration with the Digicel Caribbean Cup and World Cup qualifications just around the corner.

"This game is very important for us to fine-tune preparations first of all for the Digicel Caribbean Cup to be held later this year and beyond," Burrell noted. "We recognised the need to get back to where we are expected to be in terms of Caribbean and CONCACAF football and this is a step in that direction."

Meanwhile, the squad, which is scheduled to leave the island shortly after 2 p.m, features three first-time senior team invitees; Devon Williams (Real Mona/St Georges), Oneil Fisher (Harbour View/St Georges) and Andre Blake (Sporting Central). The trio were all part of national Under-21 squad, which had been preparing for the Central American and Caribbean Games in July.

Six overseas-based players

The squad is highlighted by the inclusion of six overseas-based players - Shavar Thomas (Kansas City Wizards), Ryan Johnson (San Jose Earthquakes), Dane Richards (New York Red Bulls), Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy), Rudolph Austin (SK Brann) and Eric Vernan (Nybergsund).

Norway-based left-sided utility player, Demar Phillips, was also invited but could not make the trip after he picked up an injury two Sundays ago.

Jamaica squad: Jermaine Taylor, Dicoy Williams, Richard Edwards, Adrian Reid, Devon Williams, Kavin Bryan, Oniel Fisher, Kenardo Forbes, Ricardo Cousins, Troy Smith, Devon Hodges, Mario Swaby, Andre Blake, Shavar Thomas, Ryan Johnson, Dane Richards, Donovan Ricketts, Rodolph Austin and Eric Vernan.

« Reply #92 on: August 09, 2010, 06:48:42 AM »
Why didn't we launch a "Brazil 2014 World Cup Campaign"?  ???

« Reply #93 on: August 09, 2010, 02:08:15 PM »

We will, is not time yet, we usually do this 2 years before every WC, stay tuned for 2012  :beermug:

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #94 on: August 09, 2010, 03:12:24 PM »
Made a spin by the TT session, all I'll say is don't expect too much changes to the first XI on Wednesday  :)

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #95 on: August 09, 2010, 05:11:35 PM »
Do we have a first 11?? Cuz to me we have better players on d bench and not in d team

Offline royalian

« Reply #96 on: August 09, 2010, 05:30:21 PM »
was watching tonight's news, is it the stream quality or in fact that the pitch at Marvin Lee is stressed and may need replacing?

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #97 on: August 09, 2010, 05:44:51 PM »
Concerning the pitch, I'm still at M/Lee, with all this rain falling, expect a mudfield on Wednesday (unless God blesses us with sunshine); with regards to the first XI - Theobald is injured and there will be a change on the wings, daz all I'll say for now (since I don't know exactly wat Latapy will do between now and 6 pm Wednesday).

was watching tonight's news, is it the stream quality or in fact that the pitch at Marvin Lee is stressed and may need replacing?

« Reply #98 on: August 09, 2010, 08:23:03 PM »
tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

« Reply #99 on: August 09, 2010, 08:39:57 PM »
Bull them T&T....

can we not do that please ::)

« Reply #100 on: August 09, 2010, 10:25:10 PM »

Because d GK 4 D JA GAME IZ INCE.

« Reply #101 on: August 10, 2010, 09:16:42 AM »
Concerning the pitch, I'm still at M/Lee, with all this rain falling, expect a mudfield on Wednesday (unless God blesses us with sunshine); with regards to the first XI - Theobald is injured and there will be a change on the wings, daz all I'll say for now (since I don't know exactly wat Latapy will do between now and 6 pm Wednesday).

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do we not have an alternative venue for hosting these games? Is the Marvin Lee  venue privately owned? How is the revenue from the game allocated? Is there an obligation to inform the paying public? Is there an independent national stadium that could host these games? Are there any conflict of interest with any government ministers  and the hosting of these games? Should the public  money  subsidize these games? what would  a specific minister say to this?

If Marvin Lee stadium is in need of repairs , this hopefully would not be under the mandate of  'WORKS'

« Reply #102 on: August 10, 2010, 09:25:30 AM »
AB,

They are doing inspections and work on all the other stadia for the under 17 world cup.

Anil came on TV and said they are behind as no maintainence work was done.

Hence the COE...plus they do not have to pay rental fees. (assuming the old agreements are still in place)

This game was originally carded for the HCS.

« Reply #104 on: August 10, 2010, 12:02:23 PM »
any links for stream? because u know we eh getting no youtube highlights from mr fuentes

Offline Trin

« Reply #105 on: August 10, 2010, 12:15:24 PM »

Mud  ??? is an artificial field not so. A pretty new one at that

Re: Possible live stream
« Reply #106 on: August 10, 2010, 04:52:04 PM »

Offline nunu

« Reply #107 on: August 10, 2010, 05:54:33 PM »
This could be a live stream...not sure eh...

http://mamboof.blogspot.com/2010/08/live-stream-trinidad-and-tobago-jamaica.html

i see you take this source from thereggaeboyz.com , i advise the posters here to watch their computers
cause the guy who does this on thereggaeboyz.com is from africa and he's stealing people's identity ,
u were warned !

« Reply #108 on: August 10, 2010, 05:57:31 PM »
This could be a live stream...not sure eh...

http://mamboof.blogspot.com/2010/08/live-stream-trinidad-and-tobago-jamaica.html

i see you take this source from thereggaeboyz.com , i advise the posters here to watch their computers
cause the guy who does this on thereggaeboyz.com is from africa and he's stealing people's identity ,
u were warned !

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #109 on: August 10, 2010, 07:38:23 PM »
tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt tnt

Licks in de police van!

« Reply #110 on: August 10, 2010, 08:33:29 PM »
FF send meh some pics from today's trainin session.  Will try an upload later.

he say he cuss latas fuh not includin CB and security escort him outta de stadium to which he keep singing "we not givin up"

He say Ince was not in de 11 vs 11 scrimmage, read what you want from that...thanks FF, go brave, dey cyar stop yuh!

« Reply #111 on: August 10, 2010, 08:46:12 PM »

he say he cuss latas fuh not includin CB and security escort him outta de stadium to which he keep singing "we not givin up"

He say Ince was not in de 11 vs 11 scrimmage, read what you want from that...thanks FF, go brave, dey cyar stop yuh!

wahhh , all dat went orn  :o

« Reply #112 on: August 10, 2010, 09:15:12 PM »

wahhh , all dat went orn  :o

ENTTTTTTTT

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #113 on: August 10, 2010, 10:20:03 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dw381mWyl64&playnext=1&videos=5saljOq1538&feature=sub

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Dw381mWyl64" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Dw381mWyl64</a>
« Last Edit: August 11, 2010, 10:56:43 AM by E-man »

Offline reggae-fan

« Reply #114 on: August 11, 2010, 05:57:13 AM »
Jamaica's Donovan Rickets gives his views on the Ja vs T&T game
He also chose Red Strpe beer over Carib beer, and made a funny comment re his LA team-mate Chris Birchall

http://traffic.libsyn.com/lb/0806_Ricketts_II.mp3

Offline saint27

« Reply #115 on: August 11, 2010, 08:41:07 AM »
wats our squad for d game

« Reply #116 on: August 11, 2010, 08:43:42 AM »
Beat dem like ah bad child!!

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #117 on: August 11, 2010, 09:08:17 AM »
LA's Ricketts honored to suit up for Reggae Boyz

Goalkeeper will face Trinidad and Tobago in friendly Wednesday

Luis Bueno MLSsoccer.com August 10, 2010
Donovan Ricketts last represented the Jamaican national team in 2009. (Getty Images)

CARSON, Calif. — Los Angeles Galaxy goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts has been a fixture for his country for some time. Ricketts played all eight of Jamaica’s 2010 World Cup qualifying matches and started for Jamaica in the 2009 and 2005 Gold Cups.

Thus, it is no surprise that he has been called upon to help Jamaica usher in this World Cup cycle. Ricketts will try and help the Reggae Boyz on the long road to qualifying for the 2014 World Cup with a warm-up match against rivals Trinidad and Tobago on Wednesday.

Ricketts is likely to start in goal for the Boyz.

“It’s always an honor to play for your country, but sometimes you can’t go because of club commitments,” said Ricketts, who last played for Jamaica in the 2009 Gold Cup. “It’s not necessarily that you don’t want to play for your country, but sometimes their schedule is hectic and sometimes club comes first.”

Club seemed to come first this time around. A report in Jamaican daily The Gleaner said the Jamaican FA was threatening to approach FIFA over the Galaxy’s alleged denial to release Ricketts. But the big 'keeper said there was nothing to that report.

“The Jamaican federation jumped and put something in the paper but later apologized,” Ricketts said. “It was just a slight misunderstanding.”

Potential controversy notwithstanding, Ricketts is approaching the match against the Soca Warriors with excitement and confidence. If nothing else, Trinidad and Jamaica should provide an electric atmosphere.

“It’s like a Chivas-Galaxy game," he said. "It’s always a close rivalry between us and Trinidad. Every game is a competitive game between us, and I’m looking forward to it.”

As far as predicting a winner, Ricketts didn't hold back his confidence.

“We’re going to win down there on their turf,” he said. “Jamaica is the better team.”

Not only does Jamaica have the better soccer team, but Ricketts also ensured that their national beer – Red Stripe – was better than Trinidad’s Carib.

“Red Stripe, mon!” he exclaimed.

http://www.mlssoccer.com/news/article/las-ricketts-honored-suit-reggae-boyz

« Reply #118 on: August 11, 2010, 09:30:40 AM »

You is ah arse eh...

ah was not escorted out no stadium.. and yuh still ent post up meh pictures yuh lazy b!tch.

Who go be in the Marvin Lee later?

« Reply #119 on: August 11, 2010, 10:03:36 AM »

You is ah arse eh...

ah was not escorted out no stadium.. and yuh still ent post up meh pictures yuh lazy b!tch.

Who go be in the Marvin Lee later?

Hold on.....FF yuh in Trinidad??!!  Yuh going the game??  I will come off mih ban just to come Marvin Lee and meet THE one and only FF.... ;D