March 28, 2024, 03:11:32 PM

Author Topic: Happy Days! Football won yesterday  (Read 14731 times)

Happy Days! Football won yesterday
« on: July 12, 2010, 10:58:26 AM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

SHAME ON HOLLAND!!!  :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :bs: :bs: :puking: :puking: :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :busshead: :busshead:

CONGRATS TO SPAIN!!  :beermug: :beermug:

Re: Happy Days! Football won yesterday
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 11:00:17 AM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

like you never watch a Chelsea game ah what?  :devil:

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 11:01:40 AM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2010, 01:53:07 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

SHAME ON HOLLAND!!!  :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :bs: :bs: :puking: :puking: :shameonyou: :shameonyou: :busshead: :busshead:

Oh lawd, oh lawd yuh just had to rub it een eh....steups.... ;D

Offline Red Mango

• because football, does bring we together...
  • We Comin'... Bless up!...
I wanted to bring a different style to the team, to play the Trinbagonian way. Everald "Gally" Cummings

« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2010, 04:31:11 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

from a fackin' manure fan!  ???

« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2010, 04:45:10 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

But diving and rolling round like yuh get gunned down, apparently does!   fack spain and dat macomareman diving brand ah football. dutch football will always be ah better brand ah football to me, and if yuh want to be honest, german football was the best brand i see in this entire WC.

PS: last i checked, football was ah mans game, not some little long haired wearing roll around on the ground sissy game.

« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2010, 04:50:57 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

But diving and rolling round like yuh get gunned down, apparently does!   fack spain and dat macomareman diving brand ah football. dutch football will always be ah better brand ah football to me, and if yuh want to be honest, german football was the best brand i see in this entire WC.

PS: last i checked, football was ah mans game, not some little long haired wearing roll around on the ground sissy game.

I didn't need any convincing, but seeing that you and I have different viewpoints on this matter, I'm now completely assured that not only did the better team win....it was the vastly superior team in every facet of the game that won as well.

Ah woulda have to check mehself if we did agree on this.  Now after readin your post...it jes confirms everything I originally thought.

« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2010, 04:54:11 PM »
german football was the best brand i see in this entire WC.

Did you watch the Germany - Spain game?

« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2010, 05:17:53 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

I didn't need any convincing, but seeing that you and I have different viewpoints on this matter, I'm now completely assured that not only did the better team win....it was the vastly superior team in every facet of the game that won as well.

Ah woulda have to check mehself if we did agree on this.  Now after readin your post...it jes confirms everything I originally thought.
I'm sure you're basing your opinion on one solitary game! holland had the better record going forward, from qualifying to the semi's, they actually saved their worst game for last.

they played the tougher teams, was in ah tougher group and they trumped brazil, something i'm sure spain would've never been able tuh do, they also scored more goals and had more impressive wins.

spain actually got lucky, BC this should've been germany's WC, they lost muller and pedolsky for that game, had those two guys been able to play, spain woulda lose!!

so put it in it's proper prospective, not the best team won, but the luckier team did!!!

« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2010, 05:23:28 PM »

Yes i did, and the team with the "BETTER PLAN" won! i don't remember spain doing anything that special either. 

it would've been ah different story if roben scored the first sitter and fell when he needed to on the 2nd chance.

BTW, it really hard tuh play yuh best football wid 7 yellow cards. don't forget the foul on ellia just before the goal scored, how come no one ain't talkin bout that?

« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2010, 05:29:59 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

my hate has no boundaries  :P

« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2010, 05:40:26 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

my hate has no boundaries  :P

Well, since yuh "hay-tin" on teams that beatin' up on yours, I guess Chelsea should welcome Spain to the club, not so?

« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2010, 06:26:42 PM »
Thuggery doh thrive.

I'm sure you're basing your opinion on one solitary game! holland had the better record going forward, from qualifying to the semi's, they actually saved their worst game for last.

they played the tougher teams, was in ah tougher group and they trumped brazil, something i'm sure spain would've never been able tuh do, they also scored more goals and had more impressive wins.

spain actually got lucky, BC this should've been germany's WC, they lost muller and pedolsky for that game, had those two guys been able to play, spain woulda lose!!

so put it in it's proper prospective, not the best team won, but the luckier team did!!!

I can assure you that based on their performances in the final game (who played who on the path to getting to the final does not matter come the final) between Holland and Spain, that Spain was the better team and it was indeed a victory for football!

Let Holland go back to the drawing board with that brand of anti-football they now specialise in.

So glad they did not win the cup with that vicious anti-football brand as the end does not always justify the means!  ;D

That game sort of reminded me of a typical Ja vs T&T game with Ja replacing Holland and T&T replacing Spain, anti-football against proper football!  ;)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 06:30:58 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2010, 07:24:41 PM »
Netherlands actually impressed me.   They were grossly overmatched and changed the plan half way thru the first half and resorted to some rough play and almost stole the game if Robben didnt choke.  The wild tackling took Spain out of their groove an open up the game especially in the second half. "Good" tactics by the Dutch imo.....

Football did win because the better team won...

« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2010, 07:30:44 PM »
How does one get to a point where one's judgement is so skewed that they just won't see reality ? It's crazy to say Spain got lucky. Every team plays defensively against them and apart from the first game all them get wood. Spain showed the whole world that the game at its core is about skill and craft not physical prowess and wild tackles from men like Van Bommel and De Jong. I applaud the Spaniards for their victory and their renaissance of the game, hopefully Brazil could get the act together for the next World Cup.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 07:52:30 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2010, 07:51:31 PM »
How does one get to a point where one's judgement is so skewed that they just won't see reality ? It's crazy to say Spain got lucky. Every team plays defensively against them and apart from the first game all them get wood. Spain showed the whole world that the game at its core is about skill and craft not physical prowess and wild tackles from men like Van Bommel and De Jong. I applaud the Spaniards for their victory and their renaissance the game, hopefully Brazil could get the act together for the next World Cup.

:thumbsup:

Also add T&T to that hopefully will get its act together for the next World Cup list!  ;)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 07:59:52 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2010, 08:09:33 PM »
How does one get to a point where one's judgement is so skewed that they just won't see reality ? It's crazy to say Spain got lucky. Every team plays defensively against them and apart from the first game all them get wood. Spain showed the whole world that the game at its core is about skill and craft not physical prowess and wild tackles from men like Van Bommel and De Jong. I applaud the Spaniards for their victory and their renaissance the game, hopefully Brazil could get the act together for the next World Cup.

Also add T&T to that hopefully will get its act together for the next World Cup list!  ;)

Dream on brother......

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2010, 08:15:05 PM »

If T&T qualify for 2014 I will name my first child (boy or girl) Jack.

« Reply #19 on: July 12, 2010, 09:22:00 PM »

If T&T qualify for 2014 I will name my first child (boy or girl) Jack.

Some people were saying the same thing about Jack becoming T&T Prime Minister!  :devil:

« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2010, 08:21:04 AM »

Podolski played in the Spain game but that aside the most perplexing thing to me in this WC was the level of praise heaped on Germany. I feel that goals does make people bazodee. I felt that they were excellent from a tactical and execution standpoint but they were flattered by a slow England team and an Argentina team with no protection in front of the defence. I think the win aginst Australia was a open game where they took iniative and tore them apart but Australia just does not have the players to ramp with Germany. The Argentina and England games were about packing 9 men back and countering intelligently. A good plan and credit to them but very limited and it showed when they met Spain. And even Ghana and Serbia teams that played them as underdogs and did not leave space at the back nullified them.

I was happey to read some Jonathan Wilson columns recently that echoed my sentiment exactly.

From Jonathan Wilson's Guardian Blog

Which brings us to Germany. They too play a 4-2-3-1 and, although Philipp Lahm breaks forward occasionally, theirs is essentially a defensive set-up. Here again goals are the great betrayers; it was bewildering how much praise was heaped on their supposedly fresh, open approach just because they scored four goals in three games. This Germany was superb on the counterattack, and the interaction of the front four of Miroslav Klose, Thomas Müller, Lukas Podolski and Mesut Ozil was at times breathtaking. But this was reactive football.

In three games, Germany scored an early first goal – against Argentina and England, it was essentially handed to them – and in those games they ruthlessly took advantage of the space opponents left behind them as they chased an equaliser. England, Argentina and Australia all defended idiotically against them, and were severely punished. In the other three games, teams defended decently against them and the early goal didn't arrive surrounded by watercress on a silver salver. In those games Germany managed one goal, and that a wonder-strike from Ozil. Against Spain their poverty of ideas was such they ended up sending the lumbering centre-back Per Mertesacker forward as an auxiliary striker, an idea so bereft of subtlety that the only time I remember it working was when Dennis Smith once sent Gary Bennett forward for Sunderland against Oxford in 1990.

Which is a rehash of a column he did for SI.com

With a relatively young team, Germany did wonderfully well to reach the last four. Its ability on the counter was stunning, testament to the work Löw had done on the training ground with four attacking players: Mesut Ozil, who is young and surely destined for great things; Mueller, who is young and unproven; Miroslav Klose, who struggled for pitch time at Bayern Munich this season; and Lukas Podolski, who was offloaded by Bayern last summer. That this quartet could look so devastating shows what effort, teamwork and self-sacrifice can achieve.

They are, though, counterattackers, not attackers, and Germany's soccer, devastating as it has been, has largely been reactive in this tournament, delighting those who see goals as the be-all-and-end-all of football. Spain, meanwhile, is about control, and it controlled the semifinal as utterly as it did the final of Euro 2008 against Germany. Back then, in Vienna, the goal came relatively early, 33 minutes in, which allowed those who can't see beyond the score line to delight in the way it kept the ball from Germany in the final hour. In Durban, South Africa, on Wednesday, Spain kept the ball from Germany just as surely; it was just that the goal didn't arrive until the 73rd minute.

« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2010, 09:28:03 AM »
^^ good post

« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2010, 11:03:00 AM »

The Argentina and England games were about packing 9 men back and countering intelligently.

Not true.  Germany's midfield had a presence.  Schweinsteiger in particular had alot of the ball against Argentina.... Argentina and England had their moments and there were significant spells when they pressed and could have gotten back into the game (England in particular- Argentina was all half chances, and nearly plays)....but what you wrote there is not true.  Germany may have scored primarily on counter attacks but in the run of play outside of counter-attacking, while the Germans were not as dominating as some might selectively remember, it was NOT nearly as one-sided as you make it out to be.

Germany had their weakness, and they rode some luck- just like EVERYONE else.  All in all, they were a top 3 or 4 team in this tournament, as their finishing position fairly represented. 
« Last Edit: July 13, 2010, 11:06:34 AM by kicker »

« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2010, 07:26:56 PM »

Podolski played in the Spain game but that aside the most perplexing thing to me in this WC was the level of praise heaped on Germany. I feel that goals does make people bazodee. I felt that they were excellent from a tactical and execution standpoint but they were flattered by a slow England team and an Argentina team with no protection in front of the defence. I think the win aginst Australia was a open game where they took iniative and tore them apart but Australia just does not have the players to ramp with Germany. The Argentina and England games were about packing 9 men back and countering intelligently. A good plan and credit to them but very limited and it showed when they met Spain. And even Ghana and Serbia teams that played them as underdogs and did not leave space at the back nullified them.

I was happey to read some Jonathan Wilson columns recently that echoed my sentiment exactly.

From Jonathan Wilson's Guardian Blog

Which brings us to Germany. They too play a 4-2-3-1 and, although Philipp Lahm breaks forward occasionally, theirs is essentially a defensive set-up. Here again goals are the great betrayers; it was bewildering how much praise was heaped on their supposedly fresh, open approach just because they scored four goals in three games. This Germany was superb on the counterattack, and the interaction of the front four of Miroslav Klose, Thomas Müller, Lukas Podolski and Mesut Ozil was at times breathtaking. But this was reactive football.

In three games, Germany scored an early first goal – against Argentina and England, it was essentially handed to them – and in those games they ruthlessly took advantage of the space opponents left behind them as they chased an equaliser. England, Argentina and Australia all defended idiotically against them, and were severely punished. In the other three games, teams defended decently against them and the early goal didn't arrive surrounded by watercress on a silver salver. In those games Germany managed one goal, and that a wonder-strike from Ozil. Against Spain their poverty of ideas was such they ended up sending the lumbering centre-back Per Mertesacker forward as an auxiliary striker, an idea so bereft of subtlety that the only time I remember it working was when Dennis Smith once sent Gary Bennett forward for Sunderland against Oxford in 1990.

Which is a rehash of a column he did for SI.com

With a relatively young team, Germany did wonderfully well to reach the last four. Its ability on the counter was stunning, testament to the work Löw had done on the training ground with four attacking players: Mesut Ozil, who is young and surely destined for great things; Mueller, who is young and unproven; Miroslav Klose, who struggled for pitch time at Bayern Munich this season; and Lukas Podolski, who was offloaded by Bayern last summer. That this quartet could look so devastating shows what effort, teamwork and self-sacrifice can achieve.

They are, though, counterattackers, not attackers, and Germany's soccer, devastating as it has been, has largely been reactive in this tournament, delighting those who see goals as the be-all-and-end-all of football. Spain, meanwhile, is about control, and it controlled the semifinal as utterly as it did the final of Euro 2008 against Germany. Back then, in Vienna, the goal came relatively early, 33 minutes in, which allowed those who can't see beyond the score line to delight in the way it kept the ball from Germany in the final hour. In Durban, South Africa, on Wednesday, Spain kept the ball from Germany just as surely; it was just that the goal didn't arrive until the 73rd minute.

Cant agree with this breakdown. Every team has its DNA on how they are going to win games.... Germany is a good counter attacking side because they have the tools to do that, but to suggest that the England and Argentina game as about packing 9 men and counter attacking is a bit  misleading.

The first goal agains Eng was a long punt by the keeper and klose muscle upast the defender and finish. Another one was a build up from the right back position and a finish in the 18 yard box. The other 2 was on the break because Eng was overcommiting, a good attacking team will make you pay.

Against Argentina, they got an early goal from a set piece, a good team will capitalize on set plays.. One goal came from a short corner with some nice exchanges and good composure in the 6  yard box and a good  finish . Germany imo showed they could score in multiple scenarios.

Against stronger defenses the goals and opportunities will be harder to come by.  Germany was totally outclassed by Spain who by the way,lost their first  and sored 1 goal in a fair amt of their games... are we to then suggest that Spain is not a good attacking team? or that they are just good at possessing the ball.  What this article fail to point out is that both counter attacking and keeping possession of the ball  are vialbe attacking options?

Germany and Spain have different types of players and as such it dictated the final product on the field in terms of how they approached the game.. they both performed admirably regardless  of stlye etc etc ..

« Reply #24 on: July 14, 2010, 06:44:06 AM »
Kicker and College don't misunderstand me. I undertsand why Germany played how they played and it was devastatingly effective when it worked. I am also not questioning their final placement. They were a superior team by far than Argentina and England. What I have a problem with is its characterization as a brilliant attacking team. So much so that several people are saying that they played the best football of the tournament.

I actually like watching them because it is superb execution of counter-attacking football. I also think that their two holding midfielders had more attacking threat (on the break) than similar pairs i.e Melo and Gilberto - Van Pummel and De Jong or even Xabi and Busquets. Conversely Muller and Podolski were the hardest working wide men in the 4-2-3-1 system in the tournament being able to sit right in front of the full-backs in defence and then break intelligently and on offense.

« Reply #25 on: July 14, 2010, 07:22:33 AM »
i dunno how ppl bigging up spain soo much. Their goal against Germany came from a set play from a defender for all of the possession they had. I could never like watching football where men making 50 passes across the midfield with no aim. They weren't making through passes into the box, they still had to kick the ball on the wing for Ramos (only) to make a cross which except for puyol in the first half went to no-one really. The othr "big" play came when Iniesta decided to run into the box and crossed the ball right across the face or the goal.

For all that possesion daiz all?? steups...T&T could play like spain too eh know, we keeper and defender could play raising in the back to pad the possession stats and hope for a set play to win.
OHO we could also bring some smallie indians on the side to fall down and roll with every lil touch to get free kicks to get the set play goals - look i go volunteer .

For all the hate I hate brazil, i glad they dont play that way. Imagine two sides meet up and only playing pass for pass across the half line.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2010, 07:24:49 AM by sammy »

« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2010, 07:59:13 AM »
jook it until it buss.

« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2010, 08:17:04 AM »
Spain played some of d most boring football I had seen in a while, I had looked forward to seeing this "attacking" football that they play, but never really left satisfied, sunday will be recorded as d fus time I fall asleep in a world cup final, as I fell asleep on d semifinal, I find it wasn't as true to say "they kept ball away from germany" as much as Germany made tentative efforts to get the ball....................in my view Germany didn't play like they played their earlier games because Spain had won d psychological battle even before dat game start..............maybe there is something to trying to play or feelin u could play better than u really are, because d teams dat jus say "Spain who?" went for it had some success..........even our very own hate bait USA

Offline willi

« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2010, 08:26:17 AM »
Spain played boring football?
Hahahahahahahahah

Kicks man!

As to only getting 2 chances against Gerrmany...did you forget Pedro's non-pass to a free torres or Llorentes near free header and Puyols first half header and, and and...

« Reply #29 on: July 14, 2010, 08:40:43 AM »
Spain played boring football?
Hahahahahahahahah

Kicks man!

As to only getting 2 chances against Gerrmany...did you forget Pedro's non-pass to a free torres or Llorentes near free header and Puyols first half header and, and and...

People who sayin Spain played boring football most likely brought up on a diet of helicopter football from the English Leagues.  One setta kick and rush ting.

Basically dem is a perfect example of de sayin...."Corbeaux cyah eat sponge cake!"