March 28, 2024, 01:43:28 PM

Author Topic: TT Women U-17s in Brazil  (Read 6996 times)

Offline YoursTruly

TT Women U-17s in Brazil
« on: July 16, 2010, 01:40:21 PM »
Bake n Shark, have a lot of words for me, you got this story already?

Released by the TTFF

Dear All
Kindly find listed the squad of players comprising the National Women's Under 17 team along with the staff members that will depart for the two-match tour of Brazil next week.

Kind Regards

T&T U-17 Squad for tour of Brazil

1. Keri Myers
   2. Linfah Jones
   3. Shalette Alexander
   4. Camille Borneo
   5. Rehana Omardeen
   6. Khadisha Debesette
   7. Lauren Schmidt
   8. Patrice Vincent
   9. Jonelle Warrick
  10. Tineisha Cobham
  11. Victoria Swift
  12. Nia Walcott
  13. Khadidra Debesette
  14. Patrice Campbell
  15. Nykosi Simmons
  16. Diarra Simmons
  17. Jasmine Sampson
  18. Liana Hinds
  19. Kayla Taylor
  20. Jo Marie Lewis
  21. Camille Charles
  22. Anique Walker
  23. Brianna Ryce
  24. Emma Abdul
  25. Courtney Bahadursingh

Staff

1. Even Pellerud (Head Coach)
   2. Richard Hood (Asst. Coach)
   3. Jinelle James ( Manager)
   4. Ricarda Nelson (Asst. Manager)
   5. Chris Bailey (Trainer)
   6. Nicole Kistow (Physio)
   7. Claire George (Equipment Manager)
   8. Marius Rovde ( Goalkeeper Coach)
   9. Glennon Foncette (Asst. Goalkeeper Coach)

NB - The tour is from July 19-31

Re: TT Women U-17s in Brazil
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2010, 01:51:07 PM »
Real money flowing now breds ...a manager and asst manager...goalkeeper coach and asst. goalkeper coach ..
over 25% of de entourage are officials ...lil bit agin dey leave de girls home oui  :devil:

Offline gothic

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2010, 02:21:06 PM »
is under-seventeen girls you talking bout here, i'm sure you remember those days; is real chaperon they need  ;)

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2010, 02:24:28 PM »
Big up to meh girl Jonelle Warrick!! that lil girl have some touches.

Tringrove forever.

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2010, 04:34:20 AM »
U-17 women footballers for two-match Brazil tour.
By JOEL BAILEY (Newsday).

The Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 women football team will participate in a two-match tour of Brazil, from July 19 to 31.

A 25-member team, under Norwegian-born coach Even Pellerud, was announced yesterday, which will see Trinidad and Tobago (hosts of the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in September), face the Brazilians in two matches on July 25 and 30.

In a media conference yesterday at the CONCACAF office on Edward Street, Port-of-Spain, Pellerud is hopeful that the team will have top class competitive action before the World Cup.

“We will certainly have more games than these two,” he said. “But I’m not in a position now to tell you the exact number or what kind of opposition we’ll have in August. We’re working on that,” said Pellerud.

Hema Ramkissoon, Communications Manager of the World Cup’s Local Organising Committee (LOC), stated that the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) is reviewing Pellerud’s plans and recommendations, concerning warm-up matches for the national team.

“The TTFF is as committed as it can be to ensure that this Under-17 team gets as much exposure as it can get, to ensure that this team is fully ready to face any level of competition that it may face in the Under-17 tournament,” Ramkissoon said.. Since the team’s tour of South Korea in April, there have been no warm- up matches for the team, which is a blend of local and foreign-born players.

“What we noticed in Korea was that we needed to build some more strength and muscles in the players,” Pellerud noted. “They’re not small but they are smaller in size than the teams we’ll play in the World Cup.

“We found that we’re not strong enough so we have spent lots of hours in the gym since April and the girls have really started to enjoy finding out that building muscles is helping out in their play.

“We have really good experiences in the last couple months in the gym,” he added. “We’ve had a very high volume of training sessions as well.

“We’ve had days of three sessions and we’ve had no really big problems doing it because the girls have learnt to recover by eating well, drinking well and rest. We’ve started six o’clock in the mornings and finish seven o’clock at nights. So they’re really spent the time well.”

Pellerud remained philosophical about the team’s chances at the World Cup. “Whether we win all the games or lose all the games, we’re going to be very competitive,” he stated.

“It’s no doubt that this team will create a new landscape for sports in Trinidad and Tobago. I cannot even foresee any team outplaying us or beating us easily. It’s going to be very competitive,” he said. The national team was involved in a live-in camp at the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya since the end of June, with US-born Annette Mims and Amira Walcott failing to make the grade for the Brazil trip. But Walcott’s twin sister Nia is among the 25.

Under-17 Women’s Squad -

Players: Camille Borneo (capt), Keri Myers, Linfah Jones, Shalette Alexander, Rehana Omardeen, Khadisha Debisette, Khadidra Debisette, Lauren Schmidt, Patrice Vincent, Jonelle Warrick, Tineisha Cobham, Victoria Swift, Nia Walcott, Patrice Campbell, Nykosi Simmons, Diarra Simmons, Jasmine Sampson, Liana Hinds, Kayla Taylor, Jo-Marie Lewis, Camille Charles, Anique Walker, Brianna Ryce, Emma Abdul, Courtney Bahadursingh.

Officials: Even Pellerud (coach), Richard Hood (assistant coach), Jinelle James (manager), Ricarda Nelson (assistant manager), Chris Bailey (trainer), Nicole Kistow (physio), Claire George (equipment manager), Marius Rovde (goalkeeper coach), Glennon Foncette (assistant goalkeeper coach).

READY FOR WORLD CUP CHALLENGE: Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) president Oliver Camps (second from left) with national Under-17 players (left to right), defender and captain Camille Borneo, goalkeeper Keri Myers, coach Even Pellerud, defender Lauren Schmidt and goalkeeper coach Marius Rovde at yesterday's media conference. ...Author: ROGER JACOB
« Last Edit: July 17, 2010, 04:52:01 AM by Flex »

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2010, 06:45:33 AM »
Lauren Schmidt? is she local ?

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2010, 07:05:24 AM »
She's from California.

« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2010, 07:13:27 AM »
She's from California.

Yours Truly you have info on the under 16 boys CFU team ??

« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2010, 07:40:50 AM »

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2010, 07:51:01 AM »
I don't, at the present time, when I get any info, I'll post it....

« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2010, 09:50:25 AM »

Ah think she does play for MVLA Avalanche which have a very good women team.

« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2010, 10:45:44 AM »
i hope they continue to put money in women football. we have alot of wasted talent out there waiting to be found

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2010, 01:24:02 PM »
Don't you think Oliver Camps is being a little to friendly in that picture. Look where he has his hands around these girls hips. Coach Even Pellerud  is discrete enough to keep his hands high around the shoulders.

May be Camps is not thinking about it, but it does look a little too friendly.  :justkidding:

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2010, 04:49:29 PM »
U-17 Women footballers off to Brazil today

Issued by Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Media Officer, July 18,2010

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 Women’s Team will depart Piarco International Airport on Monday afternoon in two groups via Miami and Panama City en route to Rio de Janeiro where they are scheduled to arrive on Tuesday morning for their two-match training tour.

A contingent of thirty-four persons including twenty five players will be based at the Hotel Bel Air in Teresopolis which is five minutes away from the Granja Comary, the official training centre for the Brazil Football Federation where T&T will hold its training sessions and engage in two friendly matches against the Brazil National U-17 team.

There was one late change to the team with Jasmine Sampson replacing Trechelle Gibson-Serrette due to emergency reasons, according to team manager Jinelle James.

T&T will play Brazil on July 25 and 30. The Brazilians are one of the favourites to cop the title in September. Head coach Edvaldo Erlacher will call on players of the calibre of Paula, Glaucia and Thais. The latter youngster, a veteran of the New Zealand 2008 campaign, helped Santos to victory in the Copa Libertadores and Copa do Brasil in 2009 alongside compatriot and former youth standout Marta. Brazil will face Ghana, Republic of Ireland and Canada while T&T faces Chile, Nigeria and Korea DPR in September.

One of the new recruits on the T&T team, Canadian-born Emma Abdul, is eligible to represent this country through her father  Feeiaz Abdul who was born here. And Abdul who attends Riverdale Collegiate Institute and plays for Brampton Rebels, is eager to see how the team performs against the South Americans.

“For our trip to Brazil I think it’s very important for our team to make the most of it and play as hard as we can. If we go to Brazil with the right mind-set and win the games it will reflect all the hard work and progress we have been making and show all the other teams that we are ready for the World Cup in September,” Abdul told TTFF Media on Sunday.

And Abdul is already setting her sights on tacking fellow South Americans Chile in the opening game of the FIFA U-17 World Cup on September 5 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“Oh yes, I have been envisioning playing Chile since the day of the draw. Imagining a stadium full of fans supporting us in our first match gets me excited just at the thought of it. I think it’s going to be a very good opening game,” Abdul continued.

-end-

T&T team for Brazil

1. Keri Myers
   2. Linfah Jones
   3. Shalette Alexander
   4. Camille Borneo
   5. Rehana Omardeen
   6. Khadisha Debesette
   7. Lauren Schmidt
   8. Patrice Vincent
   9. Jonelle Warrick
  10. Tineisha Cobham
  11. Victoria Swift
  12. Nia Walcott

13. Khadidra Debesette
  14. Patrice Campbell
  15. Nykosi Simmons
  16. Diarra Simmons
  17. Jasmine Sampson
  18. Liana Hinds
  19. Kayla Taylor
  20. Jo Marie Lewis
  21. Camille Charles
  22. Anique Walker
  23. Brianna Ryce
  24. Emma Abdul

« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2010, 08:08:31 PM »

Ah think she does play for MVLA Avalanche which have a very good women team.

I didn't realize that at all.
Their youth teams play right here at the school my kids go to around the corner.

« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2010, 08:49:44 PM »
Don't you think Oliver Camps is being a little to friendly in that picture. Look where he has his hands around these girls hips. Coach Even Pellerud  is discrete enough to keep his hands high around the shoulders.

May be Camps is not thinking about it, but it does look a little too friendly.  :justkidding:

Camps ??? where he come from ? they have him down as the TTFF President ..dais true ?  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2010, 09:03:23 PM »
IT HUGGGSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #17 on: July 20, 2010, 03:07:46 PM »

« Reply #18 on: July 20, 2010, 03:13:55 PM »
U-17 Women footballers off to Brazil today

Issued by Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Media Officer, July 18,2010

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 Women’s Team will depart Piarco International Airport on Monday afternoon in two groups via Miami and Panama City en route to Rio de Janeiro where they are scheduled to arrive on Tuesday morning for their two-match training tour.

A contingent of thirty-four persons including twenty five players will be based at the Hotel Bel Air in Teresopolis which is five minutes away from the Granja Comary, the official training centre for the Brazil Football Federation where T&T will hold its training sessions and engage in two friendly matches against the Brazil National U-17 team.

There was one late change to the team with Jasmine Sampson replacing Trechelle Gibson-Serrette due to emergency reasons, according to team manager Jinelle James.

T&T will play Brazil on July 25 and 30. The Brazilians are one of the favourites to cop the title in September. Head coach Edvaldo Erlacher will call on players of the calibre of Paula, Glaucia and Thais. The latter youngster, a veteran of the New Zealand 2008 campaign, helped Santos to victory in the Copa Libertadores and Copa do Brasil in 2009 alongside compatriot and former youth standout Marta. Brazil will face Ghana, Republic of Ireland and Canada while T&T faces Chile, Nigeria and Korea DPR in September.

One of the new recruits on the T&T team, Canadian-born Emma Abdul, is eligible to represent this country through her father  Feeiaz Abdul who was born here. And Abdul who attends Riverdale Collegiate Institute and plays for Brampton Rebels, is eager to see how the team performs against the South Americans.

“For our trip to Brazil I think it’s very important for our team to make the most of it and play as hard as we can. If we go to Brazil with the right mind-set and win the games it will reflect all the hard work and progress we have been making and show all the other teams that we are ready for the World Cup in September,” Abdul told TTFF Media on Sunday.

And Abdul is already setting her sights on tacking fellow South Americans Chile in the opening game of the FIFA U-17 World Cup on September 5 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“Oh yes, I have been envisioning playing Chile since the day of the draw. Imagining a stadium full of fans supporting us in our first match gets me excited just at the thought of it. I think it’s going to be a very good opening game,” Abdul continued.

-end-

T&T team for Brazil

1. Keri Myers
   2. Linfah Jones
   3. Shalette Alexander
   4. Camille Borneo
   5. Rehana Omardeen
   6. Khadisha Debesette
   7. Lauren Schmidt
   8. Patrice Vincent
   9. Jonelle Warrick
  10. Tineisha Cobham
  11. Victoria Swift
  12. Nia Walcott

13. Khadidra Debesette
  14. Patrice Campbell
  15. Nykosi Simmons
  16. Diarra Simmons
  17. Jasmine Sampson
  18. Liana Hinds
  19. Kayla Taylor
  20. Jo Marie Lewis
  21. Camille Charles
  22. Anique Walker
  23. Brianna Ryce
  24. Emma Abdul

I hope the team learn alot from this tour and help improves their game

Offline soccerlover

« Reply #19 on: July 21, 2010, 09:13:27 PM »

It looks like the team management didn't learn too much from the Korea tour . I heard that Brazil is very cold right now and the girls don't have suitable clothing . Hopefully the Brazillians will help out with some of their jackets . :D

« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2010, 09:19:37 PM »

It looks like the team management didn't learn too much from the Korea tour . I heard that Brazil is very cold right now and the girls don't have suitable clothing . Hopefully the Brazillians will help out with some of their jackets . :D

Dey go fedex some.

Offline YoursTruly

« Reply #21 on: July 25, 2010, 03:25:10 PM »
T&T U-17 women hold Brazil

Issued by Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Media Officer, July 25,2010

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 17 Women footballers sent a signal to the world that they intend to be no push overs in the upcoming FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup when they gave a creditable showing in a 1-1 draw with Brazil’s National Under 17 team in Teresopolis on Sunday.
In the first of two friendlies against the “Samba Girls” at the Brazil Football Federation National Training Centre, T&T got a late equalizer from substitute Anique Walker to earn a well deserved draw and gain the much needed confidence ahead of the Championship in T&T in September.
According to head coach Even Pellerud, his team started the match well, applying relentless pressure which appeared to have surprised the Brazilians.
“Our team started in aggressive fashion by applying high and relentless pressure on the home team  and this seemed to surprise them a bit.  They made  judgement errors and technical mistakes that gave us a range of corner kicks and free kicks from dangerous zones and there were a number of chances to capitalise,” Pellerud told TTFF Media after the match.
Brazil stole the lead before half time though after an error by goalkeeper Kerri Myers but T&T battled back and were rewarded for their persistence through when substitute Brianna Rice hustled into the penalty box and Walker was in the right place to hit the ball past the Brazilian goalkeeper for the equalizer.
“The ball possession was rather even, but we kept producing the clearer goal scoring opportunities,” Pellerud added.
“Playing against the wind in the 2nd half helped the home team possess the ball for longer spells, and the match did not change until Briana Ryce came in and gave our team much needed energy and attacking power.
“We certainly earned the tie, as we overall were the somewhat better team – in an otherwise well and even played game. We have already identified some defensive issues that need to be addressed in the practice sessions leading up to next game. We are not defending with superior confidence yet, so we know what we need to do to rectify this from here on,” Pellerud concluded.
Both teams will meet again at the same venue on Friday. T&T open the Women’s World Cup against Chile on September 5 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium while Brazil face Republic of Ireland in their opening match on September 6.

T&T Line up

1. Keri Myers (GK)
2. Camille Borneo (DEF/ Captain)
3. Lauren Schmidt (DEF)
4. Khadisha Debesette (DEF) replaced by Anique Walker  in 70'
5. Jonelle Warrick (DEF)
6. Victoria Swift (MF) replaced by Jasmine Sampson (MF)  in 65'
7. Emma Abdul (MF)
11.Liana Hinds (MF)
8. Khadidra Debesette (FOR)
9. Kayla Taylor (FOR) replaced by  Brianna Ryce (FOR) 60'
10. Nykosi Simmons (FOR)

« Reply #22 on: July 25, 2010, 06:11:28 PM »
Good result. Hope they keep building on this.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #23 on: July 25, 2010, 06:25:20 PM »

Good result but most times these big teams rest their starters in the first game. I bet Brazil will run out a totally different team(stronger) for the second game.

« Reply #24 on: July 25, 2010, 06:47:39 PM »

Good result but most times these big teams rest their starters in the first game. I bet Brazil will run out a totally different team(stronger) for the second game.
Merely speculation b/c you don't know that.  Doesn't matter to me whether it's their second string anyway because this is a very positive result.  To play Brazil in Brazil and tie is a success, fullstop.....

Well done ladies......

« Reply #25 on: July 25, 2010, 06:56:49 PM »

Merely speculation b/c you don't know that.  Doesn't matter to me whether it's their second string anyway because this is a very positive result.  To play Brazil in Brazil and tie is a success, fullstop.....

Well done ladies......

Sense,  :applause:

« Reply #26 on: July 25, 2010, 09:01:05 PM »
well done ladies keep it up

« Reply #27 on: July 26, 2010, 12:42:04 AM »
Congrats on the tie but please don't do like the Korea tour and get mauled when Brazil bring out a stronger squad .......this is what the benefits of the previous tour must show, if there has been improvement or not in this aspect of their performance against quality opposition.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2010, 08:58:22 AM by Ngozi »

« Reply #28 on: July 26, 2010, 07:20:06 AM »

Well done ladies......

Notice i didnt get overjoyed with it. Its a good result..as you said.....playing Brazil and tie is good. But lets not get ahead of ourselves and rest on it. The whole point of this tour is for the world cup. We sweating in peace to bleed less in war. We only would see the true and beneficial results after september..and not even then....since if we dont build on it....it pointless.

Not taking anything away from the ladies......this is good. I almost positive that brazil higher than us in the rankings.....and i sure their program is quite good. Lets just keep building it and not rest on our laurels.

The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #29 on: July 26, 2010, 08:00:30 AM »

Well done ladies......

Notice i didnt get overjoyed with it. Its a good result..as you said.....playing Brazil and tie is good. But lets not get ahead of ourselves and rest on it. The whole point of this tour is for the world cup. We sweating in peace to bleed less in war. We only would see the true and beneficial results after september..and not even then....since if we dont build on it....it pointless.

Not taking anything away from the ladies......this is good. I almost positive that brazil higher than us in the rankings.....and i sure their program is quite good. Lets just keep building it and not rest on our laurels.

I agree but as you can attest, I didn't say or imply that we're getting ahead ourselves.  If anything the result is positive from a psychological standpoint.  What's interesting is that we beat South Korea then come back and get six, however, at the end of the day, I'm sure if we meet them again, those ladies will feel like that can compete.  I'm happy and from the results that we're getting, these kids will not be intimidated by anyone.   Sometimes before yuh even play yuh lorse because of the mental aspect.  Keep building your confidence ladies b/c it will take you far.