April 27, 2024, 10:00:53 AM

Author Topic: Kevon Carter double gives T&T 4-1 win over Antigua in friendly  (Read 3315 times)

Kevon Carter double gives T&T 4-1 win over Antigua in friendly
The Associated Press

Kevon Carter scored twice in the first half and set up another to lead Trinidad and Tobago to a 4-1 win over Antigua and Barbuda in an international friendly on Wednesday.

Carter opened the scoring in the 10th minute at the Marvin Lee Stadium after racing clear through the middle and sending his shot past the advancing Antiguan goalkeeper Molvin James.

Carter made a powerful run down the right and sent a low cross to Kerry Baptiste on the top of the box, where he drove the ball past James in the 18th minute .

Akeem Thomas headed in from close range in the 29th to pull a goal back for Antigua.

Carter scored his second goal just two minutes later when he eluded a number of challenges before driving a low strike into the net and Trinidad sealed the win in the 67th minute with a free-kick by Devon Jorsling from the top of the box.

Trinidad and Tobago hosts Jamaica on Aug. 11 at Port of Spain's Hasely Crawford Stadium as they build up to the upcoming Digicel Caribbean Championships.

Line-ups:
Trinidad and Tobago: Jan Michael Williams, Makan Hislop (Robert Primus 81'), Keston Williams, Kern Cupid, Aklie Edwards, Trent Noel, Kevon Carter (Hayden Tinto 66'), Devon Jorsling (Shahdon Winchester 76'), Densill Theobald (Hughtun Hector 81'), Kerry Baptiste (Jason Marcano 58'), Ataulla Guerra.

Antigua and Barbuda: Ranja Christian, Karanja Mack, Gayson Gregory, Quinton Griffith, Tamarley Thomas, Randolph Burton, Lawson Robinson, Roy Gregory, George Dublin, Molvin James, Akeem Thomas

Re: Kevon Carter double gives T&T 4-1 win over Antigua in friendly
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 07:24:32 PM »
slow day at d AP

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 07:43:46 PM »
Nice win .

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 07:48:43 PM »
I would like to see us go for a ten game win streak

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2010, 08:08:08 PM »

Ah tink de bess we ever do was 8 back in 1999.

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2010, 08:17:28 PM »

England was saying the same when they play we in 2006 World cup. So...and what you think they supporters saying bout we then?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2010, 08:57:44 PM by davyjenny1 »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 08:31:43 PM »
Yay we beat Antigua!!!! what a shocker, this was not expected at all  :o  :o  :o  :o

« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2010, 08:35:42 PM »
Yay we beat Antigua!!!! what a shocker, this was not expected at all  :o  :o  :o  :o

Given de results in de last two matches against dem, dis wasn't a guarantee.

« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2010, 08:36:49 PM »

Given de results in de last two matches against dem, dis wasn't a guarantee.

TELL DEM

« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2010, 08:52:35 PM »
why even "tell dem" ??

tnt is always shit for some people... is Chelsea for life...not tnt

we beat antigua..so we is shit because is antigua.... we loss to chile...so we is shit..and stern is shit.. and is blight yorke and latapee...da da da

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2010, 10:03:46 PM »
why even "tell dem" ??

we beat antigua..so we is shit because is antigua.... we loss to chile...so we is shit..and stern is shit.. and is blight yorke and latapee...da da da

calm down Big Man.
Is just the disillusionment talking. It go take a while before de warrior spirit rekindle

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2010, 10:23:55 PM »
why even "tell dem" ??

calm down Big Man.
Is just the disillusionment talking. It go take a while before de warrior spirit rekindle
A nice win streak will cure that .

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2010, 10:28:28 PM »
Actually, I was impressed. Yes, it was only Antigua, but the finishing for all 4 goals was superb. Also, it was all locals and most players were young enough for 2014, including an 18 and 19 year old. My worry is that Latapy may not have the tactical ability to change strategy mid match. Also, note that Antigua's team was basically the Barracudas who will play in USL next season!

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2010, 11:23:41 PM »
Am waiting to see what the people can find to complain about  :devil:

« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2010, 12:27:28 AM »
doh worry,dey will find someting

« Reply #15 on: July 22, 2010, 02:00:54 AM »
I eh guh lie I shock with this result. was antigua at full   strength guys? also the reporter there say kevin eluded several players before he score . things looking promising boi... who is this carter guy and also wha happen to di short man  I think tito or sumthing like dat was his name he playing?

« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2010, 10:39:24 AM »
I hope Latapy call up Julius James, Scott Sealy, Cornell Glen, Randi Patterson, Chris Birchall, Osei Telesford, Andre Boucaud and Yohance Marshall to play Jamaica.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2010, 10:44:19 AM by Sam »

« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2010, 11:57:00 AM »

Devon Jorsling got on the scoresheet as T&T beat Antigua and Barbuda 4–1 yesterday

press conference:

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/XVEZB3kV81M" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/XVEZB3kV81M</a>

« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2010, 12:43:55 PM »
I hope Latapy call up Julius James, Scott Sealy, Cornell Glen, Randi Patterson, Chris Birchall, Osei Telesford, Andre Boucaud and Yohance Marshall to play Jamaica.

why ??? how d locals suppose to build consistency when man always ready to dump dem for d foreign based, we win, we preparing for ah regional tournament, where most likely, all dem name u call dey goin an' be busy wit dey club, dem fellas (local team) need constant testing ....not to jus get dump after dey put in all d hard work,  how d ass dey go learn

« Last Edit: July 22, 2010, 03:53:46 PM by lefty »

« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2010, 01:20:14 PM »

why ??? how d locals suppose to build consistency when man always ready to dump dem for d foreign based, we win, we preparing for ah regional tournament, where most likely, all dem name u call dey goin an' be busy wit dey club, dem fellas (local team) need constant testing ....not to jus get dump after dey put all d hard work how d ass dey go learn

Indeed.  Man fail to realize dat some ah dem fellas does mostly be shakey because dey not sweatin enough in de sqaud.  The sad part is when ah man have something the coaches like but need games, fans see dem lookin shakey an raddah crucify de player than give dem ah chance to become what the coaches envision.  Is ah good thing none ah we here is de coach because we would squander ah lot ah talent being so reliant on foreign based so regularly.

« Reply #20 on: July 22, 2010, 03:14:07 PM »
Well 1st of all, I glad they won. Congrats.  Would like to see the game before I open my mouth. I would honestly like Latas to use local players for the Digicel, but the team needs about 5 more warm up games. I would prefer they play South American opposition. Ven, Colom, Possible som Brazilian club team. They need stronger opposition. We will have a hard time with Haiti, martinique, Quad, Cayenne.

« Reply #21 on: July 22, 2010, 07:37:24 PM »
Am waiting to see what the people can find to complain about  :devil:

Fuh ah second I read ^^^ dat and tort yuh say:

"Ah waiting to see what people find to complain about" yes... I had to look twice at the avatar and say "but Worm hanging around we too long"  :rotfl:

Highlights of match against Antigua and Barbuda
« Reply #22 on: July 23, 2010, 12:38:22 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/-1IZPkCMdao" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/-1IZPkCMdao</a>

« Reply #23 on: July 23, 2010, 10:32:06 AM »
thanks for de highlights theworm..I figured these highlights will be in its own thread  :(