March 28, 2024, 12:08:09 PM

Author Topic: Under-23s blank Antigua & Barbuda 2-0.  (Read 2821 times)

Under-23s blank Antigua & Barbuda 2-0.
« on: July 23, 2010, 03:24:16 PM »
Under-23s blank Antigua & Barbuda 2-0.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Under-23 footballers (Olympic squad) registered a comfortable 2-0 win over the Antigua & Barbuda senior men’s team in a friendly encounter at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya yesterday.

The scorers for T&T were Sean De Silva in the first-half and substitute Marcus Joseph, with a late second-half item. De Silva opened the scoring in the 31st minute when he placed a right footer low and hard into the right corner from the left edge of the box past the dive of goalkeeper Javid Joseph from a Leston Paul feed.

At the start of the second-half, T&T’s Jamal Clarence, Micah Lewis and Abdullah Mohammed were all introduced for Trent Lougheed, De Silva and Jevon Morris as coached Zoran Vranes tried to give as players some playing time.

With T&T still ahead 1-0, defenders Aubrey David and Akeem Adams were also substituted for Curtis Gonzales and Robert Primus on the hour mark while striker Marus Joseph and goalkeeper Andre Marchan replaced Jean-Luc Rochford and Glenroy Samuel respectively, eight minutes later.

Despite the many changes, the young Soca Warriors still continued to enoy the better of the exchanges and six minutes from the end Marcus Joseph sealed the win when he drilled a low left footed shot past the out-of-position Javid Joseph to seal victory.

The win was a confidence booster for the T&T squad which is preparing for Olympic qualifiers, while it was the second defeat in three days for the visitors who were also whipped 4-1 by the senior Soca Warriors at the same venue on Wednesday night, as they continue preparations for Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifiers beginning on August 18.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2010, 05:50:13 AM by Flex »

Re: U-23 vz Antigua score ??
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 04:15:20 PM »
Under 23 win 2-0. (Sean Da Silva 31, Marcus Joseph 84)

T&T Team - Glenroy Samuel (Andre Marchan 68th), Aubrey David (Curtis Gonzales 60th), Akeem Adams (Robert Primus 60th), Leston Paul (Reshad Wint 84th), Sean Da Silva (Micah Lewis 46th), Jamal Gay (Kenaz Williams 84th), Trent Lougheed (Juma Clarence 46th), Jean Luc Rochford (Marcus Joseph 68th), Uriah Bentick, Daneil Cyrus, Jevon Morris (Abdullah Mohammed 46th).

Subs not used - Marvin Manswell, Joevin Jones.

Antigua Start Team - Javid Joseph, Ranja Christian (Jamie Thomas 50th), Karanja Mack, Gayson Gregory, Teran Williams (Tamarley Thomas 71st), Quinton Griffith, Randolph Burton, Lawson Robinson, Roy Gregory, George Dublin, Akeem Thomas.

Subs not used - Dave Carr, Damein Farrel, Desmond Bleau, Orlando Peters, Molvin James.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2010, 04:27:52 PM by Flex »

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2010, 04:16:32 PM »
danke Flex

LETS STORM THE TTFF ELECTIONS WITH PLACK CARDS AND A TV CREW

« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2010, 05:51:41 PM »
danke Flex

Dat eh guh help, we need to walk wid bulpistle and cat-o-nine

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2010, 05:55:43 PM »
danke Flex

WE NEED TO NOW WHEN IT IS FOR THAT 2 HAPPEN.

« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2010, 11:50:21 PM »
Now understand why i didn't see some of the players not in the squad for the senior friendly.

« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2010, 05:29:01 AM »
Under 23 win 2-0. (Sean Da Silva 31, Marcus Joseph 84)

T&T Team - Glenroy Samuel (Andre Marchan 68th), Aubrey David (Curtis Gonzales 60th), Akeem Adams (Robert Primus 60th), Leston Paul (Reshad Wint 84th), Sean Da Silva (Micah Lewis 46th), Jamal Gay (Kenaz Williams 84th), Trent Lougheed (Juma Clarence 46th), Jean Luc Rochford (Marcus Joseph 68th), Uriah Bentick, Daneil Cyrus, Jevon Morris (Abdullah Mohammed 46th).

Subs not used - Marvin Manswell, Joevin Jones.

Subs not used - Dave Carr, Damein Farrel, Desmond Bleau, Orlando Peters, Molvin James.
Damn poor antigua.Thats a bad squad they face.

« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2010, 05:49:36 AM »
Under-23s blank Antigua & Barbuda 2-0
T&T Guardian

T&T Under-23 footballers (Olympic squad) registered a comfortable 2-0 win over the Antigua & Barbuda senior men’s team in a friendly encounter at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya yesterday. The scorers for T&T were Sean De Silva in the first-half and substitute Marcus Joseph, with a late second-half item. De Silva opened the scoring in the 31st minute when he placed a right footer low and hard into the right corner from the left edge of the box past the dive of goalkeeper Javid Joseph from a Leston Paul feed. At the start of the second-half, T&T’s Jamal Clarence, Micah Lewis and Abdullah Mohammed were all introduced for Trent Lougheed, De Silva and Jevon Morris as coached Zoran Vranes tried to give as players some playing time.

With T&T still ahead 1-0, defenders Aubrey David and Akeem Adams were also substituted for Curtis Gonzales and Robert Primus on the hour mark while striker Marus Joseph and goalkeeper Andre Marchan replaced Jean-Luc Rochford and Glenroy Samuel respectively, eight minutes later. Despite the many changes, the young Soca Warriors still continued to enoy the better of the exchanges and six minutes from the end Marcus Joseph sealed the win when he drilled a low left footed shot past the out-of-position Javid Joseph to seal victory.

The win was a confidence booster for the T&T squad which is preparing for Olympic qualifiers, while it was the second defeat in three days for the visitors who were also whipped 4-1 by the senior Soca Warriors at the same venue on Wednesday night, as they continue preparations for Digicel Caribbean Cup qualifiers beginning on August 18.

Re: Under-23s blank Antigua & Barbuda 2-0.
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2010, 03:06:05 PM »
Happy for the win..Good to see De Silva and Joseph and on the scoresheet

« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2010, 05:06:45 PM »
danke Flex

I would very much like to be apart of this but I eh go be dong dey hope this materialize

« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2010, 06:03:20 PM »
Jamal Clarence not on contract in turkey 2nd division???

« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2010, 09:53:34 PM »
My question is simple why di f**k we playing a bunch a old man in di senior team. I  done know we cant win this digicel cup why dont we jes play our under 23 squad in this tournament and see wat di yutes dem could do .  I eh care wey allyuh fellas say dat local senior squad we have eat shit. team like haiti could put  3 on dem wid ease . I say play all we young players in this digicel tournament..

« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2010, 08:43:09 AM »
My question is simple why di f**k we playing a bunch a old man in di senior team. I  done know we cant win this digicel cup why dont we jes play our under 23 squad in this tournament and see wat di yutes dem could do .  I eh care wey allyuh fellas say dat local senior squad we have eat shit. team like haiti could put  3 on dem wid ease . I say play all we young players in this digicel tournament..

Actually using this Under-23 team in the Digicel would be IDEAL to give them the type of tournament match practice that would serve them in good stead as prep for the Olympic Qualifiers...UNLESS the two are at the same time? In fact, the Under-23's defence did NOT even concede a goal against Antigua, and but for some poor finishing at times, might have bettered the scoreline of theie Senior counterparts... I spoke to Team Manager Mohammed and LP and most of the U-23 starting 11 ARE in training with the Senior Team, so hopefuly MOST, if not all of them will be in the Digicel squad... FYI, Leston Paul's time in the US has seen him grow bigger, and recapture a lot of the form he showed at youth level... VERY impressive in the middle! He will develop into a fabulous Attacking Mid just behind the striker(s) if he continues to develop this way.

« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2010, 09:11:22 AM »
I think Latas said he only wanted player 25 and under from now til 2014. That said, he probably have the experienced players around to guide the younger ones (the ones not on the u-23 team) so that in a few(two?) years time they would have passed on enough to usher in the new brigade(u-23). Because the biggest setback to our football was the blacklist which prevented players like Yorke, Lawrence and Andrews to be around for the transition from 2006 to 2010.

I believe if we had a younger player around Andrews or Lawrence during the early days of the qualifying campaign they would have had enough experience by the time 2010 come around to pass on to the likes of Bakr and the u-20 centrebacks allowing us to be more solid in the middle now.

But we missed that opportunity of continuity. "The new ones must come before the old ones die"... instead they coming after.

However, he did turn around and say recently that if you good enough age doh matter either side.

« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2010, 10:15:46 AM »
In fact, the Under-23's defence did NOT even concede a goal against Antigua, and but for some poor finishing at times, might have bettered the scoreline of theie Senior counterparts...

I not sure wha yuh tryin to imply here Patriot.

Are you implying that de senior team concede a goal against Antigua & the U23's did not therefore that lends credence to your argument that the U23's should play the Digicel tournament?

Then you explain away that the fact the senior team scored TWICE the number of goals as the U23's as the U23's not taking their chances.

It have people on dis board dat take GC qualification very seriously.  In fact, if T&T does not qualify for the Gold Cup, for them that's justification for firing the coach...even if de same coach take T&T to de Hex.  Gold Cup qualification is priority 1 for some on here....even more so than World Cup qualification.  You really want to entrust qualifying for the most important tournament for T&T to U23 players? 

In your scenario, players like Kerry Baptiste, Hayden Tinto, Kevon Carter, Cornell Glen, etc go suck salt because dem cyah play fuh de National U23 team.  Besides....how will Scott Sealey ever make de national team if your suggestion is adopted?  :devil:

Right now....it have at least 2 U23 players on de senior mens National team.  Robert Primus and Shahdon Winchester (even tho he never play for dis U23 team).  Maybe de reason dey there is because they good enough.  Maybe the others not good enough to make the senior mens team at this time.

What a concept eh?  A national team comprised of players that actually merit selection.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 10:17:35 AM by palos »

« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2010, 10:54:26 AM »
In fact, the Under-23's defence did NOT even concede a goal against Antigua, and but for some poor finishing at times, might have bettered the scoreline of theie Senior counterparts...

I not sure wha yuh tryin to imply here Patriot.

Are you implying that de senior team concede a goal against Antigua & the U23's did not therefore that lends credence to your argument that the U23's should play the Digicel tournament?

Then you explain away that the fact the senior team scored TWICE the number of goals as the U23's as the U23's not taking their chances.

It have people on dis board dat take GC qualification very seriously.  In fact, if T&T does not qualify for the Gold Cup, for them that's justification for firing the coach...even if de same coach take T&T to de Hex.  Gold Cup qualification is priority 1 for some on here....even more so than World Cup qualification.  You really want to entrust qualifying for the most important tournament for T&T to U23 players? 

In your scenario, players like Kerry Baptiste, Hayden Tinto, Kevon Carter, Cornell Glen, etc go suck salt because dem cyah play fuh de National U23 team.  Besides....how will Scott Sealey ever make de national team if your suggestion is adopted?  :devil:

Right now....it have at least 2 U23 players on de senior mens National team.  Robert Primus and Shahdon Winchester (even tho he never play for dis U23 team).  Maybe de reason dey there is because they good enough.  Maybe the others not good enough to make the senior mens team at this time.

What a concept eh?  A national team comprised of players that actually merit selection.

YESSSSSSS IF YUH CYAH QUALIFY 4 GC FIRE YUH. This time around it eh have no HEX 2 Qualfy for 2 get a free pass. So no GC 1st flight back 2 Scotland. TALKKKKK DONEEEEEEEEE