March 28, 2024, 01:58:46 PM

Author Topic: ELECTION NITE  (Read 11322 times)

Offline congo

Re: ELECTION NITE
« Reply #30 on: July 27, 2010, 01:45:38 PM »
I saw her wearing it, I thought I was seeing things...Ppl in this country too weak...Imagine election finally call and low voter turnout, ppl saying that they fed up of elections...If U fed up of elections go to Somalia or frigging Iran...Pick and side and vote..!!

« Reply #31 on: July 27, 2010, 03:37:52 PM »
Nobody cares. Kamla went and vote wit d Rising Sun on she chest. GR8 example Madam PM. Doh be vex when other peeps break d law.

why was she not wearing white??? ..... i guess dookeran gave up on becoming prime minister btw

D SYMBOL WAS WORN

whats your point?
Campaigns officially end the night before. Persons are not allowed wear party symbols at polling stations. 

in the express it shows her at her constituency office wearing the symbol. is there any visual proof from any credible source that captures her dawning the symbol at a polling station?

« Reply #32 on: July 27, 2010, 04:25:37 PM »
pics or it didn't happen  :devil:

« Reply #33 on: July 27, 2010, 05:48:38 PM »
Nobody cares. Kamla went and vote wit d Rising Sun on she chest. GR8 example Madam PM. Doh be vex when other peeps break d law.

why was she not wearing white??? ..... i guess dookeran gave up on becoming prime minister btw

D SYMBOL WAS WORN

whats your point?
Campaigns officially end the night before. Persons are not allowed wear party symbols at polling stations. 

in the express it shows her at her constituency office wearing the symbol. is there any visual proof from any credible source that captures her dawning the symbol at a polling station?
Perhaps my comment was incomplete. I was responding to the question you posed. It's obviously wrong for a person to wear party symbols at the polling station. I presumed this was the 'point' in the original statement. Whether or not the allegation is true needs to be verified.

« Reply #34 on: July 27, 2010, 06:05:27 PM »

D SYMBOL WAS WORN

whats your point?

Perhaps my comment was incomplete. I was responding to the question you posed. It's obviously wrong for a person to wear party symbols at the polling station. I presumed this was the 'point' in the original statement. Whether or not the allegation is true needs to be verified.

no scene :beermug:

« Reply #35 on: July 27, 2010, 06:06:06 PM »
'Extremely poor' voter turnout in Sando
By Keino Swamber South Bureau

YESTERDAY'S voter turnout to elect councillors to serve on the San Fernando City Council was described as extremely poor.

Returning officers for the three divisions pegged the turnout to be in the area of 30 to 33 per cent of those registered to vote.

"It was very, very slow today," said Merle Baird, the Returning Officer for Pleasantville, Cocoyea/Tarouba and Mon Repos/Navet.

"A turnout in the 50's and 60's is considered good. I think one of the reasons for an even lower turnout this year is the fact that it came so soon after such a vibrant general election."

When the Express spoke with Hubert Ramnarine, Returning Officer for Marabella West, Marabella East and Marabella South/Vistabella, at around 5.30 p.m., he said he was doubtful the turnout would reach 40 per cent of the registered voters.

"By lunch time, less than 3,000 people had cast their votes at the various polling stations."

Returning Officer for Springvale/Paradise, Les Efforts West/La Romaine and Les Efforts East/Cipero, Eddison Ramdeen, said the turnout was extremely poor. Continue..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/99294079.html

« Reply #36 on: July 27, 2010, 06:36:41 PM »
wat is the big deal if she wears the rising sun symbil..that is she party..a-a ah woulda be shocked if she was wearing de balisier

« Reply #37 on: July 27, 2010, 07:04:27 PM »
whaiz de appropriate action for the officials running de polling booth?

bar anyone wearing party logos from de booth - forcibly if necessary?
cover dem with a wrap?
distract anyone else in de vicinity lest dey vote get corrupted by hypnotic suggestion?

???

« Reply #38 on: July 27, 2010, 07:45:51 PM »
whaiz de appropriate action for the officials running de polling booth?

bar anyone wearing party logos from de booth - forcibly if necessary?
cover dem with a wrap?
distract anyone else in de vicinity lest dey vote get corrupted by hypnotic suggestion?

???

:D im a poli sci major and was wondering whats the logical reason behind the rule
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 07:56:54 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #39 on: July 27, 2010, 07:51:26 PM »
Check out how many comments under this article below that are drowned with racial slurs..(and its funny/ironic/sad that the supporters of the winning party that are making most of the racial slurs)...smh

...http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/99294089.html

« Reply #40 on: July 27, 2010, 07:52:40 PM »
wat is the big deal if she wears the rising sun symbil..that is she party..a-a ah woulda be shocked if she was wearing de balisier

Chups....you self.  Yuh not supposed to wear any symbols, colours or paraphanelia of your party anywhere near the polling station.  I didn't see the clip myself but if it did happen..... :busshead: for Kamla and the EBC.

On the elections itself.  I expected the PNM to lose.  However, I thought that with Rowley taking over the reigns they would have a better showing in the traditional areas since the overall feeling was that people just wanted to get rid of Manning in the General Elections.
So it is clear now that PNM supporters are very despondent about their party. That coupled with the fact that local gov't elections typically has a low voter turnout.  Talk about a double whammy.....

But ah have to say it.  PNMites only have they self to blame.  They allowed Manning to ride rough shod over a great party to what end??  What was the plan??  That Panday would have been in opposition forever??  

So PNMites what now??  Me eh planning to have to stomach Jack for more than 5 years but if all yuh eh get all yuh act together..... :whistling: :whistling:

« Reply #41 on: July 27, 2010, 07:54:46 PM »
Check out how many comments under this article below that are drowned with racial slurs..(and its funny/ironic/sad that the supporters of the winning party that are making most of the racial slurs)...smh

yeh im amazed , at the comments really sad, they hiding behind a computer to make doh

« Reply #42 on: July 27, 2010, 07:57:54 PM »

Online anonymity is like viagra for cowards.

« Reply #43 on: July 27, 2010, 08:00:15 PM »

:D racist slurs are unecessary from both sides, i believe tt needs a thorough cleansing of this.

« Reply #44 on: July 27, 2010, 08:13:47 PM »

but it must be said, rahael referring to POS as the jewel of the crown is also a wrong statement and disregards other parts of the nation. he should be reprimanded for this statement and people should not support it. despite being from POS, it think it is unfair to the other counties because tt as a whole twin republic is the jewel.

« Reply #45 on: July 27, 2010, 08:19:00 PM »

yeh im amazed , at the comments really sad, they hiding behind a computer to make doh

T&T is the only country i know where there is still hatred from one group of people to another group EVEN when their political party win at the poll! (could be either party)...its like one group dont want the other group to exist in politics so a win is not enough....sad

« Reply #46 on: July 27, 2010, 08:27:11 PM »

Me eh know bout allyuh...buh.....me eh surprised a bit. As i said since general elections...the racial overtones sickening. And i dunno if my ears tuned to pick up one side better....buh i hear a lot of it from one side. So it go.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #47 on: July 27, 2010, 08:30:09 PM »

but it must be said, rahael referring to POS as the jewel of the crown is also a wrong statement and disregards other parts of the nation. he should be reprimanded for this statement and people should not support it. despite being from POS, it think it is unfair to the other counties because tt as a whole twin republic is the jewel.
They just got there asses handed to them. I think he's grasping at straws, I don't think it's disrespectful though. The Port of Spain City Corporation has very significant role to play as the body responsible for the maintenance of the country's commercial center. Their budget tends to be significant as well. Rahael was trying to take something positive out a very grim situation.

« Reply #48 on: July 27, 2010, 08:35:36 PM »

Me eh know bout allyuh...buh.....me eh surprised a bit. As i said since general elections...the racial overtones sickening. And i dunno if my ears tuned to pick up one side better....buh i hear a lot of it from one side. So it go.

It was always there but remember is there time now. So dey tellin yuh 2 yuh face. Livin Central so I accustom just doh take dem on. May I recommend dat evrybody do d same.

« Reply #49 on: July 27, 2010, 08:38:53 PM »

They just got there asses handed to them. I think he's grasping at straws, I don't think it's disrespectful though. The Port of Spain City Corporation has very significant role to play as the body responsible for the maintenance of the country's commercial center. Their budget tends to be significant as well. Rahael was trying to take something positive out a very grim situation.

it is disrespectful, it shows that he is irresponsible and politically unaware of the statement he has made. immaturity with the substantial position he holds in the pnm. he should resign his position, how much more shame does he want to bring to the party?

there is no excuses that can be made for that statement.

« Reply #50 on: July 27, 2010, 08:44:44 PM »

It was always there but remember is there time now. So dey tellin yuh 2 yuh face. Livin Central so I accustom just doh take dem on. May I recommend dat evrybody do d same.

is who time now? is trinidad and tobago time to rebuild and re-structure with everyone working together. the use of the words like THERE and DEM should not be in your vocab because you are fueling the hatred, don't you think its about time you get rid of those words when referencing to your own trinidad people and yes they are your people too unless you think otherwise.

« Reply #51 on: July 27, 2010, 09:35:09 PM »

it is disrespectful, it shows that he is irresponsible and politically unaware of the statement he has made. immaturity with the substantial position he holds in the pnm. he should resign his position, how much more shame does he want to bring to the party?

there is no excuses that can be made for that statement.
Port of Spain is the most densely populated regional corporation. It is the home of the seat of government and the commercial capital of Trinidad and Tobago. Hundreds of thousands of people enter Port of Spain daily. The city corporation employs over 3000 staff and has a significant budget for good reason. Clearly Port of Spain is very important relative to local government. 

Idk I musbe a lil  insensitive but I don't see the disrespect. The PNM just lost and they lost bad, is 3 they get. Rahael is hardly an issue at all. The comments in that article are consistent with the letters to the editor in the news these days and even comments on facebook. The PNM has left office and the UNC supporters continue to attack. When Rowley's statements by some strange alignment of the stars manages to get a minute or 2 on the news it is thoroughly dissected in the press. Now Rahael's comment. Seriously ?
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 10:16:29 PM by Jah Gol »

« Reply #52 on: July 27, 2010, 10:01:15 PM »
:D im a poli sci major and was wondering whats the logical reason behind the rule

You was a "poli sci" major and cyah see the obvious link to voter intimidation down the slippery slope?  Is not like this is a new policy limited only to TnT.

Dred you ent bet you does talk real shit when yuh ready yes.  POS as the nation's capital; as the seat of both commerce and government; as the chief policy metropole... it the obvious crown jewel in any local election.

« Reply #53 on: July 27, 2010, 10:10:48 PM »
is who time now? is trinidad and tobago time to rebuild and re-structure with everyone working together. the use of the words like THERE and DEM should not be in your vocab because you are fueling the hatred, don't you think its about time you get rid of those words when referencing to your own trinidad people and yes they are your people too unless you think otherwise.

Ah know yuh go bawl how ah picking on yuh... but yuh on ah real roll with de shit talk tonite.  You chuckle and skin yuh face and bawl about how racist comments on "both sides" need tuh dun, when it clear it primarily coming from PP/UNC supporters.  Not one harsh word, just some fence-sitting kumbayah talk.  Yet Weary speaking what obviously on most people's minds... including those in government... and you giving she ah hard time fuh making an innocuous comment about what is likely popular sentiment.

You more outraged that Rahael talking about POS as de "crown jewel" than all de racist talk being spewed towards black people in dem comments.

Offline congo

« Reply #54 on: July 27, 2010, 10:17:40 PM »
It starts from the top...Imagine a man like Daaga telling people while on the platform that if you vote for a PNM representative, "you are a criminal". Kamla telling Diego Martin that they need to repent for voting PNM...Jack telling people in Mayaro that if they vote for a PNM councillour, he will ignore him and they will get nothing...Slippery slope ahead..!!

« Reply #55 on: July 28, 2010, 12:21:16 AM »

You was a "poli sci" major and cyah see the obvious link to voter intimidation down the slippery slope?  Is not like this is a new policy limited only to TnT.

Dred you ent bet you does talk real shit when yuh ready yes.  POS as the nation's capital; as the seat of both commerce and government; as the chief policy metropole... it the obvious crown jewel in any local election.

voter intimidation whether it be physical or verbal because of supporters loitering around the polling station is something I'm strongly against. However, I do not see the wrong in supporting your party openly by wearing an article of clothing that depicts the party symbol. Freedom of expression is very important and essential in any democracy, it separates yourself from being a banana republic where you cannot feel free to express your support for a particular political body.

I guess I am accustomed to elections where you don't have to call the metropolitan police because of voter intimidation. Once again it is a matter of my opinion on the subject as I am well versed in my field of study and have taken part in elections in a developed nation.

However, I am well aware of previous elections where voter intimidation has occurred and deterred individuals from voting because of the thuggery involved at various polling stations. This needs to change and I see it as a step away from the past and the thuggery associated with elections. We need TT to understand that you don't need to be afraid to wear a t-shirt in support of your party, voter apathy needs to be minimized.

I hope in future elections the police will be at hand at most of the stations to ensure voters are not intimidated because of what they wear in support of their party, whether it be a pnm shirt or pp shirt.

TT as a whole is the crown jewel, your opinion is your opinion, I love POS, i was born and bred in POS, however, Rahael was in essence saying, who cares about the rest at least we have POS. What you don't understand is other people from different areas will not take this lightly. You can sit behind your computer and type about POS is the crown jewel but individuals in other parts of the nation will say, we are important as well. We have the farming and agriculture, we have the pitch in our region and so forth, they all make up the nation. If you don't see that, then I can't help you because TT doesn't stop after the lighthouse.

« Reply #56 on: July 28, 2010, 12:33:14 AM »

Ah know yuh go bawl how ah picking on yuh... but yuh on ah real roll with de shit talk tonite.  You chuckle and skin yuh face and bawl about how racist comments on "both sides" need tuh dun, when it clear it primarily coming from PP/UNC supporters.  Not one harsh word, just some fence-sitting kumbayah talk.  Yet Weary speaking what obviously on most people's minds... including those in government... and you giving she ah hard time fuh making an innocuous comment about what is likely popular sentiment.

You more outraged that Rahael talking about POS as de "crown jewel" than all de racist talk being spewed towards black people in dem comments.

breds i not bawling about anything, its a discussion, a conversation where there will be varying opinions and perspectives. where did I chuckle and grin my face? are you referring to when I laughed at what ribbit said? because thats the reason I laughed. if you read above you will see that I said racism needs to stop to progress the nation.

I can't place the blame on one party, both have their racist supporters, neither of them I support, the comments by the indo-trini poster on the trinidad express is ignorant and shows his lack of intelligence with regards to the system itself. I have no time for those type of individuals and they exist on both sides, this particular article it was from one side.

so exactly what is the popular sentiment you speak of, please elaborate to me in detail?

two wrongs don't make a right, weary is biased in her opinion, so it would be hard to get an objective analysis from her, especially if you were to follow her comments.

How about AB Trini with his curry coloured map of the elections, what is your opinion of that statement?  8)
also i notice your avoidance to the terms i pointed out that weary used, a matter of convenience?

furthermore, rahael is a public figure for the pnm, he doesn't live in a bubble or a glass house to my knowledge.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2010, 12:41:22 AM by Controversial »

« Reply #57 on: July 28, 2010, 07:03:56 AM »

Listen friend if SOMEEEEEEEEE I USED D WORD SOME INDO TRINIDADIANS choose 2 say these things all ovah Chaguanas and Couva I eh fueling no hatred it is what is being said. Whether u like 2 believe it or not. Lets b honest for years some Indo Trinis have been spouting racial statements both locally and internationally.

Less u 4get d posse that ran 2 Canada and claim refugee status in d late 1980's because dey were being discriminated against. There are segments of d East Indian community that are racist and once UNC in power they tell yuh 2 yuh face. When they in opposition u will get d poor service because they will ignore u and sell their race 1st.

4 me is not an issue I have my own blacklist goin I know what businesses in Central I will not purchase from and b4 I drove it had some taxi drivers I will not travel with. I advise my peeps doh study it use your economic power.

« Reply #58 on: July 28, 2010, 10:35:53 AM »

Listen friend if SOMEEEEEEEEE I USED D WORD SOME INDO TRINIDADIANS choose 2 say these things all ovah Chaguanas and Couva I eh fueling no hatred it is what is being said. Whether u like 2 believe it or not. Lets b honest for years some Indo Trinis have been spouting racial statements both locally and internationally.

Less u 4get d posse that ran 2 Canada and claim refugee status in d late 1980's because dey were being discriminated against. There are segments of d East Indian community that are racist and once UNC in power they tell yuh 2 yuh face. When they in opposition u will get d poor service because they will ignore u and sell their race 1st.

4 me is not an issue I have my own blacklist goin I know what businesses in Central I will not purchase from and b4 I drove it had some taxi drivers I will not travel with. I advise my peeps doh study it use your economic power.

dem and there was used, that to me is general more than some of the indo-trinis, now you are changing your talk. there are plenty racist indo-trinis as well there are equally the same amount of racist afro-trinis at the same time, so doh get tie up.

neither of them i support, if you boycott the indo-trinis that are racist, then i applaud you but make sure you boycott the afro-trinis that are also racist towards indo-trinis. bc if you are just brushing that aside, you are fueling the hatred, also by referring in general with words like dem and there is not helping your case.

we are all one people, when you are living abroad in a foreign nation they say that to your face as well.

« Reply #59 on: July 28, 2010, 10:43:40 AM »

dem and there was used, that to me is general more than some of the indo-trinis, now you are changing your talk. there are plenty racist indo-trinis as well there are equally the same amount of racist afro-trinis at the same time, so doh get tie up.

neither of them i support, if you boycott the indo-trinis that are racist, then i applaud you but make sure you boycott the afro-trinis that are also racist towards indo-trinis. bc if you are just brushing that aside, you are fueling the hatred, also by referring in general with words like dem and there is not helping your case.

we are all one people, when you are living abroad in a foreign nation they say that to your face as well.

Yes they are racist African but I am yet to hear 1 say is we time now. Anybody who ever hear an Afro Trini say is we time know but I guess is always dey time because PNM in power long time. When I say dem evrybody in Tdad who is not in ostrich know what I am referring to.