April 29, 2024, 03:04:09 AM

Author Topic: Bruce will demand consistency from Kenwyne Jones  (Read 3727 times)

Bruce will demand consistency from Kenwyne Jones
« on: July 28, 2010, 02:08:06 PM »
Bruce will demand consistency from Kenwyne Jones
By Luke Edwards (The Journal)

Kenwyne Jones is a vital part of Sunderland's frontline but he is as unpredictable as ever. Chief sports writer Luke Edwards looks at what can be done to bring out the best in the striker.

STEVE Bruce has a full head of hair which may surprise even himself given the number of times he has felt like tearing it out while trying to coax the best out of Kenwyne Jones.

You cannot change a person’s temperament. You cannot turn someone into something they are not, but how Bruce must wish he could wave a wand over Jones which will suddenly turn him into the snarling beast of a centre-forward he could be.

Jones is the epitome of laid-back and you would be hard pushed to find a calmer, more balanced character in a Premier League dressing room than the 25-year-old from Trinidad and Tobago.

A mercurial talent, he is a manager’s dream one game and his nightmare the next. On his day, Jones is unplayable in the air, and strong and quick on the ground. On others, he is ineffective and apparently disinterested.

At times, Jones is the player who makes Sunderland tick as an attacking force, a goal threat and a link-up man upon whom the rest of the team can feed off. At others he is anonymous.

There will always be players like him and they infuriate managers like no other. But if Bruce needs Jones, he needs them. For all of the talk of Liverpool’s interest last season he will not find a better club than Sunderland unless he finds the one thing that eludes him more than anything else – consistency.

Getting the best out of Jones is Bruce’s biggest challenge at the Stadium of Light because if he can do that on a more regular and consistent basis alongside Darren Bent, Sunderland will have a strike-force which can rival almost any other in the top flight.

“Kenwyne gave me food for thought playing at centre-back against Hull City the other night, but in all seriousness we just want him to find some consistency,” said Bruce with that air of exasperation that always accompanies his thoughts on Jones. “Kenwyne is Kenwyne.

“He can be unplayable. We all know what his attributes are, we just need to see them more often. That’s the important thing. We want to see Kenwyne Jones every week, not every two or three weeks.

“We need to see him performing week in, week out. We need to see that endeavour in his game a little more often than we have seen. He can be a wonderful player, but I want to see him do it more often.”

He continued: “It is a challenge as a manager. The thing with Kenwyne, it his demeanour, his culture and his up bringing to be laid-back. He’s a lovely boy. What you see is what you get in his life. We all know what he can do and it’s the greatest challenge as a manager to get them out of him on a consistent basis.

“We all enjoy working with him. He is never a moment’s bother off the pitch or on it, but we want to see the real Kenwyne Jones more often.

“He’s got to strive to reach that level week in, week out. That’s the challenge for him.”

Bruce has been patient with Jones and, despite struggling to comprehend how a player with his talent can fail to make the most of it, he still sees him as an integral member of the first team squad. Yet there is also a warning from the manager as we gear up for his second season in charge. In Fraizer Campbell, Sunderland have a young, exciting striker who is itching to play in his favoured centre-forward role rather than in the right-wing position he slipped into last season.

Campbell has scored five goals in two friendlies out here in Portugal and has added intelligence to his game to go with the speed and finishing skills.

And, with Sunderland closing in on a season’s loan deal for Manchester United’s young centre-forward Danny Welbeck, the competition for places has cranked up a notch this summer.

Ever since Roy Keane brought Jones to Sunderland three years ago he has been an automatic selection and, without him, Sunderland probably would not have survived in the Premier League.

Times change, though, and Sunderland are no longer relegation fodder. They are a club with European ambitions and it is Bruce’s job to ensure they continue to move forward, progress and improve.

If Jones is not careful, if he does not push himself on a regular basis, if he goes through the motions when he is not in the mood for the rough and tumble of the Premier League, he might just find he gets left behind. It is a message Bruce hopes he takes on.

He said: “He’s got a challenge to be in the team now with the emergence of Fraizer Campbell and of course we’ve got Darren Bent. He is not guaranteed to play.

“He is not an automatic choice any more because of the competition for places we have got among the strikers. He has to rise to the challenge and hopefully we will see him do that this season.”

Re: Bruce will demand consistency from Kenwyne Jones
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 02:11:33 PM »
steups..

Steve Bruce, whats the problem with being laid back, yuh feel every footballer in the world need to grind dey teeth and buss dey lung to play good football like allyuh English or what??

Ronaldinho laid back too!

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 02:16:35 PM »
Dinho does produce. And when he was too laid back they was saying laters.

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 02:24:49 PM »
Berba is the exception ?  ::)

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 02:54:11 PM »
nothing wrong with being laid back but i feel dey being politically correct and eh want to say KJ blasted lazy.

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 02:59:20 PM »
nothing wrong with being laid back but i feel dey being politically correct and eh want to say KJ blasted lazy.

Well PC doh wuk 4 Trini so he betta tell him d judgement truth

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2010, 04:16:26 PM »
KJ was consistent last season, he just needs to be consistently good this year.

« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2010, 07:40:20 PM »
KJ will rip up CONCACAF in WC qualifying, he owe we (and himself) dat!

« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2010, 09:36:51 PM »
Not only Bruce. its the whole of T&T.  When last this man score for us?

« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2010, 09:41:12 PM »
Not only Bruce. its the whole of T&T.  When last this man score for us?

Nov 19th 2008 v Cuba he came off injury after d England fete match 2 score.

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2010, 07:49:45 AM »
KJ will rip up CONCACAF in WC qualifying, he owe we (and himself) dat!

you must believe in miracles. he not scoring many goals for TnT.
The same shit he do in the last campaign is what he doing he the next 2 years. Just like Yorke these big name forwards who leave TnT early just dont fit in when they come back to play.

better to give Baptise an extended run and see if he can score some goals.

KJ not doing nothing for Trinidad more than giving the announcers something to talk about.

Sad but true.

« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2010, 08:13:08 AM »
Kenwyne....  :waiting:

« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2010, 08:26:13 AM »
just thinking...
Consistency should flow both ways between the player and coaches for club AND country....doh talk bout supporters...dem want another Stern John in KJ, some want another Latapy in Theo, and even more will take another Yorke in anybody....buh what we have to work with is this KJ, this Baptiste, this Patterson, this Sealy etc.....both coaches have to consistently pick the top performers to execute a consistent long term development/game plan over a period of time, and very importantly,select  the best ppl to compliment and work with each other in execution of this long term strategy, not necessarily the next best person for the next position, whereby everyone trying to be some other individual who the coach wish they was...and no team...Pele would still have been Pele without a Tostao or Revelino, but would he have won that World Cup...anyway good luck to all ah dem, Bruce like everyone else (Latas included) getting new slate for this new campaign from me..well everyone except Sven.....hmmmnnnn :wavetowel:

« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2010, 08:27:36 AM »
He give him food for thought playing at Centreback vs Hull...hmm...

yes send him back in the defence, we have enough strikers. Better yet, send him in the defence and turn him into a defensive midfield who could burst forward and get on the end of crosses...that is what we really need.

« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2010, 09:01:36 AM »
He give him food for thought playing at Centreback vs Hull...hmm...

yes send him back in the defence, we have enough strikers. Better yet, send him in the defence and turn him into a defensive midfield who could burst forward and get on the end of crosses...that is what we really need.
aaappss...
I agree

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=1231.msg7204#msg7204

The modern wing back has to be

1- Athletic
2- Fast
3- Extremely fit
4- Able to recover QUICKLY when caught out of position
5- Put pressure on the opposing winger/wide player both offensively and defensively

This is why ah moving Jones back to where he should be playing...Because he young, good and has attacking abilities doesn't make his best position forWARD, jus because some desperate English coaches think so. Most goals he score with is head, not deft skills, and nose for goal, ability..
Ah pretty sure Leo and Kenwyn wil realize this..
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 09:20:32 AM by maxg »

« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2010, 12:11:07 PM »
So Bruce comin back wit dis bullshit again?  Why he doh concentrate on consitently playing KJ unless form or injury dictates different?  Man quick to pounce on dis bullshit like Bruce is some good f**kin coach.  dat shitsnake need to keep he focus on making SAFC perform rather than KJ disposition!

« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2010, 10:55:49 PM »
So Bruce comin back wit dis bullshit again?  Why he doh concentrate on consitently playing KJ unless form or injury dictates different?  Man quick to pounce on dis bullshit like Bruce is some good f**kin coach.  dat shitsnake need to keep he focus on making SAFC perform rather than KJ disposition!

KJ has played 30+ games for Sunderland each season since he been in the Premiership, and more often than not he has been a starter. What are you on about?

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2010, 11:16:01 PM »
The article doesn't really say much that hasn't been said on here.

But Bruce is talking shite about competition for his place, because as of yet we have no other forward of Kenwyne's type and until that happens then he has no real competition for his place.  Surprised its not happened yet (although very strong Heskey rumours ::) ) also seems very little interest in Kenwyne at the minute but coming to the last month of the window that can change very quickly.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 11:18:09 PM by kev »

« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2010, 04:57:01 AM »
 Heskey .....  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2010, 07:02:24 AM »
If KJ stays fit for te entire season i think he's good for 10-15 goals. They have a lot more creativity this time around and the service will be there for him, providing he stays at sunderland. He qualifies as a home-grown player so something might happen before the window closes. I would still like to see him at chelsea but thats unlikely to happen. As for Heskey, Bruce will not be so stupid to bring in Heskey as 'competition' for KJ but he has to look out for Fraizer Campbell cuz he's deadly when he's on his game. Saw the game on Setanta and KJ looked very impressive against Hull at centre back, switch to right back a times  ::)

« Reply #20 on: July 30, 2010, 08:24:24 AM »
I could understand Bruce frustration.

It come like yuh have a big breed pitbull in yuh yard dat yuh pay plenty money for...but the tail between he legs, it always hadda go to the vet for shots, it barking at bird and spranger dealing with yuh breathless.

...and the neighbour have a mangy pothound that find a home after he feed it two bone and a pot of stale pelau, that healthy like dat, barking at wind, dealing with spranger and resting iron on any other dog that pass tru.

Yuh ent see Bruce want to move him from the front gate and tie him up to the mango tree in the back.

« Reply #21 on: July 30, 2010, 08:32:14 AM »

KJ has played 30+ games for Sunderland each season since he been in the Premiership, and more often than not he has been a starter. What are you on about?

Dude last year he was yo-yoin KJ fuh no good reason.  He also did that at other positions on the team too so I suspect is part and parcell with his clueless approach.  Thre was a period of time where KJ was in fine enough form and he elected to bench him and give him sparse minutes in favor of Campbell.  I actually like Campbell but up to that point KJ did nothing to merit losing his spot in the starting XI.  My statements are specifically regarding Bruce' use and misuse of KJ while performing his role and not being injured yet being shuffled in and out of the lineup.  I also notice there is a rag on KJ culture around here that isn't relative to his club performances.  If we discussing what his club coach sees in him then what happens in the national team is absolutely f**kin irrelevant.

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #22 on: July 30, 2010, 09:59:24 AM »

It come like yuh have a big breed pitbull in yuh yard dat yuh pay plenty money for...but the tail between he legs, it always hadda go to the vet for shots, it barking at bird and spranger dealing with yuh breathless.

...and the neighbour have a mangy pothound that find a home after he feed it two bone and a pot of stale pelau, that healthy like dat, barking at wind, dealing with spranger and resting iron on any other dog that pass tru.

Yuh ent see Bruce want to move him from the front gate and tie him up to the mango tree in the back.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:....best analogy i have heard in a while...Touches move to the front of the class!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :rotfl:

« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2010, 12:42:19 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:....best analogy i have heard in a while...Touches move to the front of the class!!!!! :beermug: :beermug: :rotfl:
Touches was never at the back ah dis class....tie to no mango tree   :rotfl:

« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2010, 03:43:41 PM »

« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2010, 08:52:04 PM »

Dude last year he was yo-yoin KJ fuh no good reason.  He also did that at other positions on the team too so I suspect is part and parcell with his clueless approach.  Thre was a period of time where KJ was in fine enough form and he elected to bench him and give him sparse minutes in favor of Campbell.  I actually like Campbell but up to that point KJ did nothing to merit losing his spot in the starting XI.  My statements are specifically regarding Bruce' use and misuse of KJ while performing his role and not being injured yet being shuffled in and out of the lineup.  I also notice there is a rag on KJ culture around here that isn't relative to his club performances.  If we discussing what his club coach sees in him then what happens in the national team is absolutely f**kin irrelevant.

Not round here Dude!  8)
Like yuh forget dis is SocaWarriors.net where the health & performances of our national team is our main concern or what?!! 
If KJ is not performing when he plays for the Soca Warriors then we are licensed to knock him at every opportunity! ;)

« Reply #26 on: August 01, 2010, 10:42:37 AM »
Allyuh boy is tears yes if KJ not performing for he club then what kinda form allyuh think he gonna bring to the national team.
The same thing Bruce saying about his frustrating inconsistency is the same thing we say about the man on we national team only difference is he paying the man wages ... allyuh doh feel the man right to demand  the play expected of the man?

« Reply #27 on: August 01, 2010, 11:22:11 AM »
Allyuh boy is tears yes if KJ not performing for he club then what kinda form allyuh think he gonna bring to the national team.
The same thing Bruce saying about his frustrating inconsistency is the same thing we say about the man on we national team only difference is he paying the man wages ... allyuh doh feel the man right to demand  the play expected of the man?

Doh worry wid some ah dem fellas Ngozi! Some ah dem does miss the forest and only see the trees!  8)