March 28, 2024, 10:19:41 AM

Author Topic: Ricky Shakes turns to Guyana.  (Read 9332 times)

Offline YoursTruly

Ricky Shakes turns to Guyana.
« on: August 01, 2010, 02:42:24 PM »
Professional footballer to play for Golden Jaguars
By Stabroek staff | August 1, 2010 in Sports

Ricky Shakes will on Sunday become the first ever professional English league player to play for the Guyana national team.

This was disclosed yesterday by head of Temptations Promotions Group Faizal Khan.

Khan told Stabroek Sport yesterday that Sunday’s historic encounter between Guyana’s Golden Jaguars and Cray Wanderers Football Club in England will see Shakes in action for the Golden Jaguars.

Temptation Promotions along with GT Promotions, are set to make football history by staging the first ever football match between a Guyana Football Federation (GFF) sanctioned ‘Guyana All Star XI’  and the second oldest football team in the world, the Cray Wonderers.

The match takes place this Sunday at the Dulwich Hamlet Football Club, Champion Hill Stadium, Edgar Kail Way, Dog Kennel Hill, London SE22 BD.
Khan said Shakes, who has played professional football for Bolton Wanderers on two occasions in the English FA Cup, will be remembered by soccer fans for scoring on his debut against Tranmere Rovers in the last minute to take the game into extra time in 2005.

He also disclosed that Shakes has represented Trinidad and Tobago.

“He has played 10 minutes for Trinidad in a friendly against Iceland in 2006. He only came on for a few minutes at the end of the game,“ Khan said.

“He never carried on looking at international football because he wanted to focus on his club career. He wanted to play for a nation that’s hungry for success and, although he has played for Trinidad, he sees Guyana as a far more attractive proposition to really start his international career especially with this game, Khan said yesterday.

According to Khan, Shakes, whose father is Guyanese by birth and mother Trinidadian, has played over 100 professional England league games.

Last season he played for Ebbsfleet United in League Three.

Khan said he hopes that Shakes will be the first of many professional English league players to see the light and switch allegiance and join the campaign for Guyana to qualify for their very first World Cup.

“If Jamaica can do it, Trinidad can do it then Guyana can do it,” he declared.

However Khan said football would need the general support of the public for this to be a reality.

He said that one of the biggest stars in the Major League Soccer (MLS) is Dwayne De Rosario.

“De Rosario plays for the Canada International team, although both is parents are Guyanese, simply because there was no means for him to play for Guyana.

“Temptation is bridging the gap to make sure that there will no longer be this type of problem,” said Khan who is the first FIFA licensed agent from this region after having been accredited by the English FA and FIFA.

“What I’d like this license to do is to open more doors like the upcoming match which should have happened 30 years ago,” he said.

“This is catch up time for Guyana football.  We need the continued support of the GFF and the Guyanese community,”  Khan added.
The Guyanese community must come out and support the team. Also, Guyanese all around the world must believe that we can qualify for the World Cup either this one or the next. If we don’t believe that it will happen then it won’t happen.”
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 05:38:50 PM by Flex »

Re: Ricky Shakes
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 04:10:50 PM »
best of luck ricky

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2010, 04:17:04 PM »
best of luck ricky
Yeah, I'd say its obvious T&T want nothing more to do with him so why not try for another country.  :beermug:

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2010, 04:43:31 PM »
LMAO.... Guyana more attractive proposition??? We dnt look at non-league players especially if is to improve d team. He didnt have a chance with us, and Guyana is rly a LAST resort. Is he even contracted to a team? Any interest? Good luck with ur Guyanese adventure anyways LMAO

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2010, 04:54:21 PM »
LMAO.... Guyana more attractive proposition??? We dnt look at non-league players especially if is to improve d team. He didnt have a chance with us, and Guyana is rly a LAST resort. Is he even contracted to a team? Any interest? Good luck with ur Guyanese adventure anyways LMAO

...and so, assuming everything you say is correct it only further underscores why "Guyana is a more attractive proposition" to him.  Reading is Fundamental.

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2010, 05:05:15 PM »
FOO

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2010, 05:59:46 PM »
Silvio Spann got called up while playing in the Conference with Wrexham on more than one occasion.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 06:01:51 PM by theworm2345 »

Re: Ricky Shakes turns to Guyana.
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2010, 07:01:06 PM »
good luck to de yute.

Offline fish

• "Study the past if you would define the future"
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2010, 08:04:23 PM »

Umm when Shakes was performing in League One when he didn't get call up

« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2010, 08:23:18 PM »
Man feelings does get real tender when people doh play for we, boy.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2010, 08:32:28 PM »
Wow dread  :o didnt expect that. Shakes got some skills, had a nice goal last season best of luck to him fuh real.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 08:34:15 PM by Trinidogg »

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2010, 09:27:32 PM »

...and so, assuming everything you say is correct it only further underscores why "Guyana is a more attractive proposition" to him.  Reading is Fundamental.
lol well i guess u cant read  ::)

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2010, 09:28:29 PM »
Silvio Spann got called up while playing in the Conference with Wrexham on more than one occasion.
and when did he improve the team??

« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2010, 09:29:06 PM »
He is only 25....we let him get away.

BTW can he really do that?...on wikipedia it said he was a halftime sub in the iceland match.

« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2010, 09:42:28 PM »
Chelsea...go and watch yuh dvd of the match in bahrain.. see spann come on for an injured Birchall...and you decide if he helped the team...like Obi Mikel nah

« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2010, 10:13:51 PM »
He is only 25....we let him get away.

BTW can he really do that?...on wikipedia it said he was a halftime sub in the iceland match.

The FIFA rules change last year that said u21 players can switch (why Jlloyd could switch and why BM's best buddy could still switch if he wants to) also allowed for players who have only played in friendly matches to swtich.  Thats how that German guy (Jermaine something?) switched to play for the USA.  I remember Jeff Cunningham got one friendly cap for Jamaica then switched to US too a while ago so maybe this rule isn't new as maybe Cunningham never played competitively for Jamaica's under-age teams.

« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2010, 12:40:21 AM »
i dunno why allyuh fighting down de man...he didnt get enough of a chance to prove himself and perhaps fallen off the T&T radar. he'll for sure get more playing time with guyana. i wish him all de best.

T&T better keep fellas like darryl roberts and them in check cuz they too might lose faith in international football and just forget de international scene.

« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2010, 01:11:20 AM »
Best of luck to Ricky.

Obviously Khan is trying to hype the Guyanese team. And they need all the hype they can get.

« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2010, 01:41:01 AM »
Best of luck Ricky .... good thing machomeh man on this board could only papyshow man on this site rather than have any kinda effect on the footballing world.

« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2010, 08:02:13 AM »

cya know a man for trying a ting!

« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2010, 08:02:59 AM »
Poor fella..that is really desperation to end up fighting for a spot in the mudland. See them come and beat we in our test match series of friendlies this year tho!

« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2010, 08:11:04 AM »
Best of luck Ricky .... good thing machomeh man on this board could only papyshow man on this site rather than have any kinda effect on the footballing world.

Just to clarify....Cray Wanderers are in the Isthmian League, the league below Conference South, the 7th tier in English Football. They are semi professional and rarely achieve attendances of more than 300. To be fair, the Guyanese team will include several of their regular internationals and Chris Nurse the English born guy who plays for Puerto Rico Islanders. In my opinion, this is just a way of getting these guys in front of English scouts, but good luck to the company for trying.

Also, regarding Shakes...he will probably be earning around TT$4,000 per week in England. This won't get him far, but if he came to the Pro League, he would earn maybe $6,000-$7,0000 per month. He probably has a nice place to live and a decent car. It would be very difficult to give that up to come back home, especially if he has a woman in England. Unfortunately, Trinidad football just doesn't offer enough incentives.

« Reply #22 on: August 02, 2010, 12:07:55 PM »
hell Guyana could make a full bomb squad with our discarded and unused players lol.

« Reply #23 on: August 02, 2010, 11:33:20 PM »
Leh the man play for who he want yes.  Good luck Ricky!  I hope you play against TT and show everyone that you made the right choice, because you surely not good enough to play for TT.

« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2010, 12:11:24 AM »
I hope that Guyana build a nice lil squad they need to stand up and be counted. In life it does not pay to be greedy which in fact the knowledge has to spread throughout for the development of the game in our region. I wish them well.

« Reply #25 on: August 03, 2010, 02:10:52 AM »
good luck to di yute. Di man beg TNT for a bly and dey didnt gave him. dey should have call di yute up and play him instead sum of di senior citizens we have playing on our squad and lock him in but dey didnt . Good Luck yute do ur thang and I hope yu buss di net in the digicel cup comming up..

« Reply #26 on: August 03, 2010, 07:23:10 PM »
Leh the man play for who he want yes.  Good luck Ricky!  I hope you play against TT and show everyone that you made the right choice, because you surely not good enough to play for TT.

Allyuh men wicked yes!!  :D
But seriously we need stiffer competition from our Caribbean neighbours so lets hope Ricky can help raise the standard of the Guyanese football team so that whenever we meet them in the future it could be a better workout for our Warriors!  8)

« Reply #27 on: August 03, 2010, 07:51:17 PM »
Glad for de fella, he waited for years for a second T&T call up, cant blame him but the TTFF.

« Reply #28 on: August 04, 2010, 08:54:30 AM »
Jlloyd never played for England A team this is why he was eligible to play for T&T, Shakes on the other hand played for T&T at the age of 21, how come he could switch.

Anyhow, glad for the youth, we always wanted to play for T&T but never got a fair chance.

« Reply #29 on: August 04, 2010, 01:35:25 PM »
Jlloyd never played for England A team this is why he was eligible to play for T&T, Shakes on the other hand played for T&T at the age of 21, how come he could switch.

Anyhow, glad for the youth, we always wanted to play for T&T but never got a fair chance.

he never played in an  fifa qualifying  match or tournament  it was a friendly ...